OpenRice Index
  
wahju
This is wahju living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Buffet , Pasta, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review39 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity115 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲34 Follower(s)
wahju  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 39 Reviews in Singapore
Sushi with great deal! Smile Sep 12, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

The great deal about this place? They have daily special sushi that can cost as low as $0.40 each. YES YOU ARE NOT READING ME WRONG. Meaning even if you order two sushi on a plate (similar to what you can find elsewhere, two sushi per plate) will only cost $0.80! Itacho also has a wide range of creative sushi available that is not only looks good but taste great as well.

 
The sashimi available is also very fresh, unlike some that you find in other sushi places.

 
Chawanmushi with crabmeat really comes with substancial amount of fresh crabmeat.

Overall, value for money indeed! Would visit this place againsmile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  abalone sushi,chawanmushi,sashimi
 
Spending per head: Approximately $34(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Love their XLB and La Mian~ Smile Sep 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Dim Sum

 
Love their Xiao Long Bao and La Mian~

The good thing about their service is that even if 1 of the Xiao Long Bao breaks when deliver to your table, they will serve you another extra new Xiao Long Bao as a compensation to you. Love the soup in them as they did not give a very sick greasy feeling! In my opinion, be it dumplings or Xiao Long Baos are all best eaten with vinegar.

Love their tangy noodles and also fried prawn cake. Especially the prawn cake taste really sweet and chewy. Only down side is too oily. Ding Tai Feng is always a favourite and never fail to deliver a great meal. smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Xiao Long Bao,La Mian,Fried Prawn Cake
 
Date of Visit: Jul 23, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dont like curry? fear not! OK Sep 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese | Restaurant | Zi Char

 
I went this place with a group of friends on a day I am having sore throat. The fact that I am having sore throat also means that curry is out for me so in the end I ordered their 卤肉饭, a.k.a braised pork rice set. As I have eaten authentic taiwanese style braised pork rice before, I cant help making a comparison and would say the one at Heng Heng is a little too sweet and unlike the taiwanese ones, it does not come with some pickled vegetable to help ease the greasy sick feeling. Such a waste. Other wise would taste alot better.

On the otherhand, my friend seated opposite me who also is having sore throat(Okay don't start judging us, out of 10 only the 2 of us have bad throat so we went along with majority's choice of restaurant) ordered chicken cutlet noodle. And yes. The chicken cutlet did make her sore throat worst. So advise to all, don't try to kid with your health over food. In the end she did not manage to finish her noodle and cutlet. Almost half a portion is leftover. According to her, the noodle was'nt too fantastic either. I've tried a mouth of the fish curry my friend ordered and I find them really spicy and not fragrant enough. It's like other than spicy, I don't seems to taste the fragrance of coconut milk, curry or even pandan. Their curry is more of nonya style, rather thick but could still be better. 美中不足,中看多过中吃。
 
Recommended Dish(es):  braised pork rice,home-made chrysanthemum tea
 
Date of Visit: Aug 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $14(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Private Event Smile Sep 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills

 
I went to this place for a private event. The ambience of this restaurant is really of a romantic ambience and upon walking in, there is a fun camera which you can take pictures and leave down a mark for yourself for being there before.

Personally I m a person who don't like really creamy pasta as I always feel that after eating half of the pasta you will start to develope a very sick feeling and not be able to finish the pasta as compared to let's say having a tomato base pasta. The creamy pasta here taste really good and thick but the same advise, best eaten hot. Once it start to chill, you will get the very sick feeling.

The beef steak taste really tender and good! medium rare steak is awesome. While on the other hand, the roasted chicken taste rather common. And my favourite of the day? Their mushroom soup wins my heart.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Beef steak,mushroom soup
 
Date of Visit: May 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

MEATBALLS FTW! Smile Sep 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western Variety | Kids-Friendly

 
What is one thing that people go for in IKEA other than buying furnitures for their house? MEATBALLS!!!

From the last time I heard, these swedish meatballs are made up of both beef and pork mix. For those looking for halal meatballs as far as I heard you can buy some frozen ones that is made up of chicken and beef mix from their frozen food department base at level 1.

These meatballs are best eaten with their cajun sauce mixed with cranberry jam. Yes it does looks funny and sounds rather not matching but let me tell you they are simply delicious. It's no wonder people always say never judge a book by its color. Well, I'll say never judge the food by the sauce mixture then. Would be alot better if the meatballs are juicier, of which I heard their standard was much better in the past. such a pity not able to keep the standard.
Comes with some boiled potato as carbo and would finish off well as a balance meal if it can come with some greens.

As for the chicken wings, my only advise is, best eaten hot. Skin would be crispy and savoury enough to add more colors to your meal.

Only down side? Way too noisy. Afterall, Ikea is a great place for all young and old, a place great for family bonding.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  meatballs,chicken wings
 
Date of Visit: Aug 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0