OpenRice Index
  
wahju
This is wahju living in Hougang/Kovan. I work in Alexandra. I like to hang out in City Hall, Orchard, Hougang/Kovan. Japanese, Korean, Taiwanese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Buffet , Pasta, Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review39 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity115 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos79 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5 Following
粉絲34 Follower(s)
wahju  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 39 of 39 Reviews in Singapore
Nice romantic ambience Smile Sep 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Japanese | Fusion

Hamburger Steak

Hamburger Steak

 
Totally a must try! looks small but totally filling. No beefy smell to the Hamburger patty. Patty is juicy and not over cook at all!
Blue Berries Tart

Blue Berries Tart

 
Love this tart that I have ordered as well. the blue berries are crunchy and yummy and not soggy at all! Sweet but not jelat. awesome sweet note to end a meal.
Mixed Berries Tart

Mixed Berries Tart

 
A little sour and if you don't love sour food like me, don't try their Strawberry Tart or Mixed berries Tart.
Tonkatsu

Tonkatsu

 
My big eater boyfriend picked their tonkatsu and initially I thought it would at least come with rice but apparently as you can see, it did not. The pork cutlet only come with additional lettuce salad. Their Japanese salad dressing is awesome and worth a try! According to him, the portion still fill his stomach just nice after all so not too bad I guess?

This place is a little noisy but ambience and lighting of this place is good for couple dates if you don't mind the noisy environment. The day I popped by I even witnessed a guy proposed to his teary girlfriend before her group of her girlfriends. smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  hamburger steak
 
Date of Visit: May 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Comfort food- cook it your way! Smile Sep 09, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Coffeeshop

 
Located near the famous Punggol Nasi Lemak place and yet still able to have a thriving business would really tell you a lot about the food that this place is selling and how much it attract the patrons to come back again and again to satisfy their taste buds.

Currently, they have 2 stalls situated along the same street. One which is an indoor location situated near Domino Pizza while the other one is an outdoor location as mentioned above, next to the Punggol Nasi Lemak in a coffee shop.

This place was first introduced to me by my aunty who is a 'China-Fanatic' who is crazy about everything about china, be it the country itself, the people or even the food they sell. Honestly, as a typical Singaporean, I was initially very sceptical about the chicken pot that was introduced to me but after the first bite, let me tell you I was totally bought over!

If you are a savoury food person like me, you would really love the taste of the chicken pot. Especially when you can add on additional plates of various ingredients that cost $3.30 each and customise the taste of the dish according to your taste buds.

However sad to say, when I first visited this place 2 years ago, per additional side dish cost only about $1.50 each. And over the span of the last 2 years, their prices were madly jerk up to $2+, $3 and later to $3.30(now). Be it vegetables or meatballs or bean curd skins, all the dishes have the same price and personally I don't feel that the portion justify the price at all.

The chicken pot comes in mild spiciness, mid spiciness and the most spicy ones. If you are not a spicy food lover, you can also request for they to make it none spicy specially just for you (But you would totally miss the point of eating it!) Personally mild spicy is totally enough for me and if you are up to more challenge you can try one level up which is mid spicy.

Over all, I would still consider it as my comfort food and miss having it once in a while and would visit it with 2 or more friends or family whenever I feel rich enough as the average you will spend would easily be at least $15 and up.
My advise to health conscious people is DON'T EVEN BTHER TRING THIS FOOD. you will totally find it too oily and salty. But for foodie like me, not too bad for a try after all.

This place opens till 2-3am in the night. Good for people who love heavy late night supper.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Qi Wei Chicken Pot (spicy)
 
Date of Visit: Sep 06, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Cheapo Food at Town area Smile Sep 06, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Restaurant | Ramen | Kids-Friendly

 
Don belittle the plain porridge they sell! The plain porridge is actually sweet potato porridge and it cost less than $3 and say, if you find it too miserable, you can actually order egg/ century egg/ salted egg to go along which cost less than $2 each as well. A good alternative if you want something light or cash-saving in town area.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  plain porridge,century egg
 
Date of Visit: Aug 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hot Pot | Buffet | Kids-Friendly

 
Since the dinner group consist of people all staying around northeast area (Especially Serangoon) we thought of just walking into any random restaurant in Nex would be a nice and easy idea. Big mistake. we totally under estimated the amount of people flooding the mall on a Valentines Day. (Okay my bad. I always thought people would pick a better place to celebrate than a neighbourhood mall.)

After screening quite a few makan places and realise prices have been jerked up like mad, we kinda stumbled into this restaurant 'DANRO Japanese Hot Pot' and thought that the price is not too scary considering it is afterall a buffet hotpot restaurant.

DANRO Japanese Hot Pot @ Serangoon Nex serves hot pots from the different regions in Japan (Nagoya, Kyoto, Hokkaido, Akita, Tokyo, Nara, Shikoku, Fukuoka and Osaka). Currently Danro offers customers a choice of 8 different kind of soup base: Wafu, Wafu Miso, Chicken Miso, Tonkotsu, Chicken & Milk, Chicken Spicy, Chicken Paitan and Tonkotsu Miso. Which out of curiousity i picked Chicken & Milk and Tonkotsu soup base for a try.

I have to admit the chicken milk broth is rather weird for my taste bud and my friend and I ended up stealing food from another table of friends that picked Chicken Miso and Chicken Spicy instead. If you do not have a adventurous taste bud I would really suggest you to try some other broth although it seems that chicken & milk broth are more of their specialty. Another interesting thing about this place is that they serve rice skewers thatcan be dipped into the hot pot soup or eaten with DANRO's Dips.

This place also serves side dishes along with their buffet hotpot such as sushi, Onsen Eggs (my love!), Japanese style potato salad, cakes and desserts.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tonkotsu,Chicken Spicy
 
Date of Visit: Feb 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $35(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0