OpenRice Index
  
thefoodchapter
This is thefoodchapter living in Kembangan. I work in Bukit Panjang. European, Japanese, Cantonese/Hong Kong are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, Bars/Lounges and Burgers and Sandwiches, Desserts and Cakes, Dim Sum.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review11 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity30 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos31 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲22 Follower(s)
thefoodchapter  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 11 Reviews in Singapore
Obsessed! Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

Pies, has become a staple in my dessert diet - thanks to Windowsill Pies. My visits have been so regular, I am still not tired of their limited range of pies.

I wonder what it took for someone to realise that our island is in dire need of a good pie. Windowsill has to be godsent. At the rate I am consuming their pies, I should be made ambassador soon enough - even more gregariously than my love for red velvet or carrot cake.

I shall not hide my infatuation with the vodka lime - the best of sweet and sour all in one and an alcoholic punch to end it off.

Smores, I've yet to try the real dessert but I am in love with the homemade graham crackers. Best eaten with the sour pies.

Similarly goes for blueberry pie that always gets me all excited - maybe they choose to experiment countlessly with either sugar crystals or pearl sugar entrusted tart cover, sweet tooth me prefers the former. Bring that back please!

Morello cherry is usually a by the way for me, takes a whole new level of sour to love this so I'm still heart and soul with their blueberry pies.

I have to be a stalker of Windowsill's instagram account to even stumble upon their latest offering - a collaboration with #symmetrycamp (There is also a collaboration with Symmetry cafe so do not get confused between the cafe and the project!) It is a showcase at garden's by the bay come 2 November, Singapore's very own indie music festival brought to you by Symmetry Entertainment.

So anyhow and anyway, the limited edition pie was launched on 21 August and is available till mid November before the christmas flavours take over. The pre-launch one I managed to get a slice of (the last one infact!) is a beautiful concoction of chocolate fudge, candied thyme, meringue mushroom and chocolate crumble infused with truffle. Herb gardens are all the rage now and this completely resembled one - I can have my garden and eat it!

I adore truffle quite shamelessly, even if its just truffle oil - cheap as can be, but a wonderful ingredient to have around the kitchen. This has to be a first white truffle dessert eaten and yes I am sold on the intricacies of the dessert - luxuriously smooth chocolate pudding with savoury cookie crumble, raisins and candied thyme. I could just nibble on candied thyme as a candy for-ever. Arguably their best chocolate attempt to date - unabashedly not a fan of either the caramel chocolate tart (retired flavour!), smores nor grasshopper.

$8 per slice and it sits in the premium range, their official tart will come sloshed in white chocolate - apparently more wicked and better than the one sampled - so yes, I will be camping out and making a return soon!

Full review and photos up at: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/09/windowsill-pies-revisited-horne-road.html
my favourite!

my favourite!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  truffle,vodka lime,blueberry
 
Date of Visit: Sep 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dessert Date! Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café

Five and Dime popped up one evening as I was nursing a dessert craving - I suppose having one perpetually does not make it a "craving" anymore. Located along River Valley Road, this black white shophouse is hard to miss, not when it is always packed regardless when.

Lemon White Chocolate Cheesecake ($8)

Recommended over carrot cake, this thick slice sported a simple baked lemon slice on top. Fluffy like a Japanese cheesecake and citrusy like a lemon drop. It is incredible how lemon and cheese go so well together. Hardly any of the cloyingness that a rich cheesecake has, this was as delightful a tea item as a dessert.

Truffs Earl Grey Chocolate Tart ($13)

Attempt this only if the dessert compartment is empty or if you are an absolute chocolate fan. I have been dying to try Truffs for the longest time now so it is a surprise find to have them stocked here! Buttery smooth chocolate summed this tart up, no sign of pastry except for the equally delish crumble on top. It does get too much at some point but no chocolate is enough for a diehard.

Iced Coffee ($5)

Not so much a coffee place, for the caffeine fix yes but not to silence any cravings.

Five and Dime is cosy and quaint. While I would recommend it for a first date, perhaps just a dessert date.
delicious bites

delicious bites

 
Full review and photos up: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/09/five-and-dime-river-valley-road.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  lemon yogurt cheesecake
 
Date of Visit: Sep 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Overhyped has-been Cry Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Hotel | Fine Dining | Brunch

Once known as Compass Rose, Equinox is no stranger to the dining scene having been touted as the city's tallest dining sky scraper before the likes of 1-Altitude appearing.

Perched on 70 floors, it still has the best view of the city and is still highly sought after for buffet lunch and sunday brunch.

The original intent was to head to Mikuni that was unsurprisingly full for the night and then we headed to Equinox. Why not, since none of us had been there before. City view seats we missed out but we had adequate time to enjoy the views before the patrons arrived.

Two rounds of bread were served before mains decided to make their grand appearance. A mighty long time to wait for food and truth be told, the bread filled us up considerably. Sour dough, mini baguette, onion olive and cheese bun all smelt heavenly. Personal favourite went to the onion olive roll for being fluffy and fragrant.

Salted french butter to top it off.

Amuse bouche of tomato and cucumber, a savoury yet refreshing starter.

Baked Scallop in Shell, White Wine, Fennel, Broad Bean Ragout, Warm Leek Vinaigrette ($30)

Theatrics aside of unearthing the overfed scallop, it looked hardly marinated.The bouncy texture was a gastronomical delight, the doneness was executed precisely and well, the broth was good enough to drink up on its own.

Yuzu Glazed Pork Belly, Butternut Squash, Sage, Crackling, Peas and Shimeiji Mushroom Broth ($68)

I should have been more wary with "roasted" nowhere mentioned in the description, neither did "slightly crispy" in the waiter's words not cause some alarm when I expected it to be done roast pork style with a cackling so addictive, I would give up my allegiance to roast pork.

Yet it was none to be. Jellied fats and meat in perfect layers, and though it melted into a greasy delicious, the over marinated meat was nothing more than ham. A great pity for a promising chunk.

Australian Pink Snapper, Bravas Potatoes, Broad Beans, Chorizo, Charred Squid, Black Ink Vinaigrette ($75)

The worst stoke of luck with a terribly fishy slab and all the waiter could manage was "anything else for you?", by then we were all too stuffed to bother with a replacement.

Poached Salmon Fillet, Star Anise Oil, Braised Lettuce, Beetroot Gnocchi, Razor Clam Sauce ($68)

Beautifully poached with some degree of rawness, I loved the razor clam inclusion.

Loin of Welsh Lamb, Slow-Cooked Shoulder, Tomato, White Bean Ragout, Confit Baby Shallots, Verde Sauce ($70)

Lamb done three ways and kudos to the white been ragout that was simple but yet so delicious with the crumbled topping.

Hazelnut Praline ($24)
Hazelnut creme, Espuma, Mandarin Orange, Lemon Coulis

Meant for one but good enough for four with a mouthful eat. I do not suppose I want more than a mouthful of this, however. Hazelnut cream and mandarin orange was an odd bittersweet then sour flavour. Crunchy bits of torched candy and the rest is all a mismatch.

Disappointing to say the least, we expected way much more out of Equinox apart from the unbeatable view. No wonder it is usually full during Restaurant Week - prices are more justifiable that way.

Full review and photos up on: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/09/equinox-restaurant-swissotel-stamford.html
average tart

average tart

 
delicious scallop

delicious scallop

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  scallop
 
Date of Visit: Sep 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $100(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nostalgia at a price Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Coffeeshop

Old school confectioneries have a soft spot and I would pay for a slice of history even if it did not have a ridiculously long history - the work of excessive marketing and answering to that side of me. CMC played and still plays a huge part in my life, somehow the lingering memories of luncheon meat buns, egg tarts and cream puffs never got wiped off from the memory bank.

And they are fiercely proud of this steady following. Hardly without a crowd, find a table or share one or well, just do a humble takeaway for a taste of their bakes.

Takeways head straight to the counter, else take a plate and bring the selection to the table. They probably have a secret device tracking what you have picked and I wonder how but nothing escapes the bill.

Kaya Bun with Butter

Seared over a charcoal grill, the charred crusty edges and slice of butter over a randomly smeared layer of kaya was a delicious treat for the morning. I love my kaya toasts but this take the toast for hearty and delicious all at once. The bread had enough bite for a start, who cares about greasy fingers or butter dripping all over.

Their custard filling is made without milk, tinted daffodil yellow with a gummy texture and collapsible puff pastry. I can wolf down 5-6 scrummylicious pieces for tea alone just to satiate the appetite.

Egg Tart ($0.90)

The same custard is used for the tart and still as delicious.

Luncheon Meat Bun

I remember the luncheon meat portions being larger than these but they bring glory to luncheon meat. I love my spam and having this always makes me one happy lark.

Luncheon meat Puff

Bun over puff for this, the sweetness of the puff got in the way of enjoyment.

Curry Puff

Their attempt at answering the peranakan influence in the area was met with a flat rejection, curry puff this is barely just a puff stuffed with curried potatoes.

If there's any takeaway, they do all the above better than their teacakes.

Grumpy old ladies make this place so endearing, I would feel as out of place as that visit to Lin Heung, if they suddenly turned cupcake-candyfloss-cheery and smiley. Let's just leave that for the fad-ilicious cupcake makers so that being said, prices are on the roll. A dollar for what would be cleaned out in two munches, I wonder if my mini mes will have a bite of this in their childhood - will I still want to fork out for history when I could very well be having something heartier?

Full review and photos up on: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/09/chin-mee-chin-confectionery-east-coast.html
favourite cream puffs

favourite cream puffs

 
old school breakfast

old school breakfast

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  cream puff,luncheon meat buns
 
Date of Visit: Sep 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Much ado about nothing Cry Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Brunch

We finally made a trip to Drips Bakery after getting over the top obsessed with Windowsill Pies. Well, a tart for a change.

I missed the fruit tart by a couple of minutes and was left to decide between macadamia, plum and cherry.

USA Blackforest Ham Sandwich ($15.80)

It did not quite dawn on us how exorbitantly priced and tragically portioned this was till we had a face off. No bigger than my palm, this sandwich looked as simple to put together as any other sandwich I have made for myself. Saving grace was perhaps their chilled eggplant and japanese cucumbers that gave this a crunch yet otherwise, the nagging thought was I could exchange this for 3 tummy bursting and mind-body-soul satisfying Bahn Mis from Namnam or even 2 gourmet sandwiches from Cedele would have been a better bang of the buck.

Cherry Brandy Tart ($8)

The brandy soaked cherries were bursting with alcohol - at least it made the 8 buckeroos somewhat worthwhile though the rest of it appeared pretty much as an almond cake with a crumble biscuit tart base.

One mentioned that Delifrance could have given a better deal, mmm..maybe?

Iced Long Black ($5.50)

Overcooked beans, the coffee ended up on a sour note.

Service was aloof and detached for most part of the short visit - not quite a place I would return just for service. Maybe it was the end of the day but hey, smile at least! Not hurrying back for a visit so soon, maybe just to try my luck at their fresh fruit tart.

Full photos and review up at; http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/09/drips-bakery-tiong-poh-road.html
too pricey

too pricey

 
mediocre at best

mediocre at best

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0