OpenRice Index
  
thefoodchapter
This is thefoodchapter living in Kembangan. I work in Bukit Panjang. European, Japanese, Cantonese/Hong Kong are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, Bars/Lounges and Burgers and Sandwiches, Desserts and Cakes, Dim Sum.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review11 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity30 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos31 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲22 Follower(s)
thefoodchapter  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 11 Reviews in Singapore
Queen of crepe cake OK Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes

When Lady M's shop space was still under renovation, I passed by one time too many and was tempted by the checker's cake - too beautiful to ignore in fact. They are poised to introduce what crepe cake is all about, I never had one that made me renounce my allegiance to red velvet nor carrot cake.

I suppose the hype created by
1) It is from New York. Anything from the US of A seems to create some buzz. Case in point: Garrett's popcorn that made us relook at the sinful snack and take it seriously - price included. Carl's Junior too made us sit up and look at burgers priced more than $10.
2) Crepe cake mania - fact is, the crepe cakes never quite took off like cupcakes.
3) Lady M, sounds like some regal high and mighty highness of cakes. Maybe the moniker, maybe the whole fuss about trying to effeminate a cake shop - it worked for me. A name like Master Bruce for pancakes would not work, since mainly females partake of the heavenly and whine till the cows come home about the calories.

First day I popped by, they had a decent selection and people were frantically taking away most of those out on display and I was not in the mood for dessert #horrorofhorrors.

Second visit, I had to wait for a table and all they had was crepe cake on display - 3 whole ones and the rest were slowly peeking out. Man, this sounds like an eternal wait for a Birkin. The moment the baker appeared with cakes, the queues started and a mini rush was created.

Crepe Cake ($7.50)

Do not attempt to leave the premises without trying a crepe cake - it is signature, afterall. Layers of crepe and cream made this a delectable dessert. Nothing fancy about crepe and cream but they nailed it brilliantly. A word of caution that one too many may cause an overdose of cream.

Checker's Cake ($8)

This only appeared there after and I had to have it since it was a love at first glance back in its reno days. Beautifully put together like kueh lapis, the vanilla and chocolate sponge were rather complementary with adequate amount of whipped cream to hold the cake together.

Iced Americano ($5)

The caffeine addict deemed this good for a cake shop and I suppose this is a signal for one too many visits to come.

Service is casual, pretty hit and miss. Queues for takeaway and ordering can get confusing - if all things fail, just raise your hand for a waiter. There is repetition of the same whipped cream in their cakes but one thing's for sure, I am enamoured.

Full review and photos on : http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/09/lady-m-marina-square.html
too beautiful to eat

too beautiful to eat

 
crepe cakes are a must

crepe cakes are a must

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  crepe cake
 
Date of Visit: Sep 21, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Average night joint OK Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | European | Café | Coffeeshop | Pasta | Kids-Friendly

Two Face, like Alibabar has gone down the path of nostalgia. Kopitiam by day and a bar by night. They recently opened another outlet at Tanjong Katong to bring rivalry to a completely new level. Yet for diners - we always welcome competition and truly, may the best prevail.

With tunes from the 70s-80s playing on the background, part of me wishes there were a gramophone somewhere to complete the experience. Everything screams old school from tiles to tables to signages and well, I really just needed an old ah pek to hobble over to take my orders. Blast from the past I must say.

The perils of being housed in a matured estate - uncles who insist on communal dining. Cai png from the template and a really hungry old man.

Truffle Fries ($10)

It was a tragic case of foie gras with fries versus truffle and the latter was highly recommended yet it was just a basket of fries with cheese. Wherein smells the truffle? Beats me, I actually questioned the smell buds of the order taker who claimed it signature.

Anatra Pasta ($18)

Reads pasta with duck ragout - an absolutely tasty dish with a generous portion of duck ragout, it could pass off as mee pok even and earn brownie points for marrying East and West. \

Meat Lovers Pizza ($18)

The molten cheese made this beyond delicious - well just the cheese since everything else was forgettable and pizza base was not the best eaten.

Two Face Signature Drink ($4)
Pineapple, Cai Xin, Sour Plum

Yes, chye sim or cai xin was blended into a wheatgrass lookalike and neutralised with the tropical flavours of pineapple and infused with sour plum which effectively turns the whole drink one flavour - like fairy godmother's wand would. Sour plum fans, only.

Average food with an ambience that speaks so much louder - in short, a pity. I would be back to check out their morning offerings - Jalan Tua Kong's famous Bak chor mee anyone?

Wait, I did not even know of its existence.

Full review and photos up on: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/09/two-face-pizza-taproom-eng-hoon-street.html
average

average

 
the best of the lot

the best of the lot

 
no trace of truffle

no trace of truffle

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Quaint cafe with a history OK Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Café


My late grandfather owned a dispensary and as a little girl the only recollections of it were his specially concocted bottles of calamine lotion and cold tar that would calm any raging bout of rashes. Medicinal smelling premises and toddlers or even kids does not reconcile and I regret never once stepping foot into it.

The Dispensary is a refurbished cafe retaining most of its previous charm - a dispensary complete with lovely touches like wooden chests and even the signboard.

Riding on the whole nostalgic theme that most of these cafes and nook and cranny shops have popped up along Tiong Bahru have adopted, I can only welcome them with open arms.

Red Velvet Cupcake ($3)

I was eyeing the red velvet cake but it was sold out so I made do with the cupcake version. Texture is amazingly moist and a tad sweet but the cream cheese frosting had a queer shortening texture. Not the red velvet to have in my last meal but I do look forward to its other cakes.

Iced Americano

Caffeine addict did not mention much here, mediocre at best.

Out we snuck from the backdoor and down the dark alleys of this beautiful gem of a neighbourhood. How I wish my grandfather had some foresight to save us some history but at least I have step foot on a dispensary before!

Full review and photos up at: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/09/the-dispensary-tiong-bahru.html
mediocre fare

mediocre fare

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Sep 20, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not quite worth the 4 month wait Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Sushi/Sashimi | Omakase

This visit was planned ahead of time, even before the last random visit. No different from the last, there were ready queues to go in before the stipulated 630pm (why am I not surprised) but what was surprising was the number of people eating ala carte that night. I presumptuously thought that everyone was there for omakase.

I get placed next to some dude celebrating the birthday of his babe and the whole meal, he was inching into my territory of comfort much to the chagrin of the companion. Talked loud, emptied half a bottle sake, indulged in the $80 sets and the bill came up to a beautiful tune of 400 odd.

Impressive or not, I leave that judgement to you.

The prices remained the same since the last visit but they seemed to have changed the selection a fairbit. $60 options no longer come with wagyu, instead that gets placed in the $80 bracket. Also in the $80 set is sushi instead of sashimi rice.

A strange revelation about this meal - I was hardly as stuffed as before and the companion even had space for a takeaway for chirashi don ($15). They may have shrunk their portions alongside with the value and if returns are necessary, it will be for ala carte and takeaway.

Chirashi don was a killer - fresh cubes of tuna, salmon and roe made it oooh-lala delicious. No wonder people return specially for alacarte. I am sure the Japanese get bigger portions but the value of Teppei is finally found once again.

Second visit completed, no more visits planned for 2013. Maybe 2014?'

Pictures and complete review up on: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/10/teppei-restaurant-revisited-orchid-hotel.html
sashimi rice a must order

sashimi rice a must order

 
eat it all down

eat it all down

 
orgasmic

orgasmic

 
crunchy tuna roll

crunchy tuna roll

 
value for money sashimi platter

value for money sashimi platter

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  sashimi rice,oyster,sashimi platter,
 
Date of Visit: Sep 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Happy hours got happier Smile Sep 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Bars/Lounges

The Black Swan has emerged in Raffles Place, giving diners and drinkers more options.Rising fast and furious above the waters and becoming the place to dine at made us all quite curious.The newest under the Lo and Behold Group, I am sure interest was piqued further because of their illustrious alumni that I could have raved nonstop before.

Enter into a world of tall ceilings, women in chic black (cocktail dresses and suits) and a bar counter that is as welcoming as the seats.

Mondays bring about a host of blues and even as the day draws to an end, nothing quite beats swiveling a glass of bubbly and slurping Canadian Rock Oysters and wishing this luxury would never end. 18 buckeroos for a decent swig and creamy aphrodisiacs, #mondaybluesaway indeed. May I add then that, that only applies during happy hours from 530-730pm

When can I return for these again? I could have the happiest hour around just sitting around slurping oysters and guzzling champagne all night long.

Fries ($9)
truffle

Crispy fries doused in truffle oil - as overpriced as it is, we all enjoyed it.

Crab Salad ($21)
handpicked crab, avocado, mango, orange, grapefruit, toasted sunflower seeds, citrus vinaigrette

If I could, I would have this over Caesar salad. Citrus vinaigrette worked for me without being too acidic for the tastebuds, infact, a light and delightful dressing over the fresh bed of greens and crabmeat.

Seafood Linguini ($32)
prawns, calamari, clams, tomato, garlic, chilli

Clams were not good so ours came with more prawns. Tastes quite like black bean sauce tossed with linguine, the strong flavours made this outstanding and worth seconds.

Duck Leg Confit ($34)
36 hour sous-vide, bacon potatoes, fresh thyme, mustard sauce

I find duck hard to ignore at a French restaurant and this was a really decent effort with crisp skin and succulent meat. Bacon potatoes were a huge distraction, speckled with bacon and panfried - no better way to have it.

Stockyard Australia Wagyu Ribeye Steak (for two persons) ($96)
16-18oz, 400 days grain fed beef, béarnaise, fries

Wagyu certainly did not shine through with parts that were not as marbled as desired but they do good steaks.

Date and Toffee Pudding ($14)
caramelised banana, medjool dates, rum, vanilla ice cream

A tad sweet and dense which resulted in a slightly disappointing dessert, definitely expected better.

Dark Chocolate Dome ($16)
70% varlhona chocolate, vanilla crème, seasonal berries

Somehow, this looks like any other dessert that the patisseries can produce. Coated with chocolate, the vanilla creme was a nice contrast. This is not quite a dessert I would order again.

We could have been spoilt rotten by the other restaurants to expect bread baskets and were met with none. Yet this gave us more reason to try the dishes on the menu. The meal was fulfilling and somewhat riveting at some points, desserts could have been dealt in a better manner but there is room for improvement for sure. Dying to be back to attempt more oysters, burger and lobster!
crab salad

crab salad

 
seafood pasta!

seafood pasta!

 
duck confit

duck confit

 
steak for the carnivores

steak for the carnivores

 
oysters are the perfect aphrodisiacs

oysters are the perfect aphrodisiacs

 
bubbly

bubbly

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  oysters,seafood pasta,crab salad,champagne
 
Date of Visit: Sep 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0