OpenRice Index
  
thefoodchapter
This is thefoodchapter living in Kembangan. I work in Bukit Panjang. European, Japanese, Cantonese/Hong Kong are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant, Bars/Lounges and Burgers and Sandwiches, Desserts and Cakes, Dim Sum.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review11 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity30 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos31 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲22 Follower(s)
thefoodchapter  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 11 Reviews in Singapore
Obsessed! Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

Pies, has become a staple in my dessert diet - thanks to Windowsill Pies. My visits have been so regular, I am still not tired of their limited range of pies.

I wonder what it took for someone to realise that our island is in dire need of a good pie. Windowsill has to be godsent. At the rate I am consuming their pies, I should be made ambassador soon enough - even more gregariously than my love for red velvet or carrot cake.

I shall not hide my infatuation with the vodka lime - the best of sweet and sour all in one and an alcoholic punch to end it off.

Smores, I've yet to try the real dessert but I am in love with the homemade graham crackers. Best eaten with the sour pies.

Similarly goes for blueberry pie that always gets me all excited - maybe they choose to experiment countlessly with either sugar crystals or pearl sugar entrusted tart cover, sweet tooth me prefers the former. Bring that back please!

Morello cherry is usually a by the way for me, takes a whole new level of sour to love this so I'm still heart and soul with their blueberry pies.

I have to be a stalker of Windowsill's instagram account to even stumble upon their latest offering - a collaboration with #symmetrycamp (There is also a collaboration with Symmetry cafe so do not get confused between the cafe and the project!) It is a showcase at garden's by the bay come 2 November, Singapore's very own indie music festival brought to you by Symmetry Entertainment.

So anyhow and anyway, the limited edition pie was launched on 21 August and is available till mid November before the christmas flavours take over. The pre-launch one I managed to get a slice of (the last one infact!) is a beautiful concoction of chocolate fudge, candied thyme, meringue mushroom and chocolate crumble infused with truffle. Herb gardens are all the rage now and this completely resembled one - I can have my garden and eat it!

I adore truffle quite shamelessly, even if its just truffle oil - cheap as can be, but a wonderful ingredient to have around the kitchen. This has to be a first white truffle dessert eaten and yes I am sold on the intricacies of the dessert - luxuriously smooth chocolate pudding with savoury cookie crumble, raisins and candied thyme. I could just nibble on candied thyme as a candy for-ever. Arguably their best chocolate attempt to date - unabashedly not a fan of either the caramel chocolate tart (retired flavour!), smores nor grasshopper.

$8 per slice and it sits in the premium range, their official tart will come sloshed in white chocolate - apparently more wicked and better than the one sampled - so yes, I will be camping out and making a return soon!

Full review and photos up at: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/09/windowsill-pies-revisited-horne-road.html
my favourite!

my favourite!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  truffle,vodka lime,blueberry
 
Date of Visit: Sep 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Dessert Date! Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café

Five and Dime popped up one evening as I was nursing a dessert craving - I suppose having one perpetually does not make it a "craving" anymore. Located along River Valley Road, this black white shophouse is hard to miss, not when it is always packed regardless when.

Lemon White Chocolate Cheesecake ($8)

Recommended over carrot cake, this thick slice sported a simple baked lemon slice on top. Fluffy like a Japanese cheesecake and citrusy like a lemon drop. It is incredible how lemon and cheese go so well together. Hardly any of the cloyingness that a rich cheesecake has, this was as delightful a tea item as a dessert.

Truffs Earl Grey Chocolate Tart ($13)

Attempt this only if the dessert compartment is empty or if you are an absolute chocolate fan. I have been dying to try Truffs for the longest time now so it is a surprise find to have them stocked here! Buttery smooth chocolate summed this tart up, no sign of pastry except for the equally delish crumble on top. It does get too much at some point but no chocolate is enough for a diehard.

Iced Coffee ($5)

Not so much a coffee place, for the caffeine fix yes but not to silence any cravings.

Five and Dime is cosy and quaint. While I would recommend it for a first date, perhaps just a dessert date.
delicious bites

delicious bites

 
Full review and photos up: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/09/five-and-dime-river-valley-road.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  lemon yogurt cheesecake
 
Date of Visit: Sep 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nostalgia at a price Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Coffeeshop

Old school confectioneries have a soft spot and I would pay for a slice of history even if it did not have a ridiculously long history - the work of excessive marketing and answering to that side of me. CMC played and still plays a huge part in my life, somehow the lingering memories of luncheon meat buns, egg tarts and cream puffs never got wiped off from the memory bank.

And they are fiercely proud of this steady following. Hardly without a crowd, find a table or share one or well, just do a humble takeaway for a taste of their bakes.

Takeways head straight to the counter, else take a plate and bring the selection to the table. They probably have a secret device tracking what you have picked and I wonder how but nothing escapes the bill.

Kaya Bun with Butter

Seared over a charcoal grill, the charred crusty edges and slice of butter over a randomly smeared layer of kaya was a delicious treat for the morning. I love my kaya toasts but this take the toast for hearty and delicious all at once. The bread had enough bite for a start, who cares about greasy fingers or butter dripping all over.

Their custard filling is made without milk, tinted daffodil yellow with a gummy texture and collapsible puff pastry. I can wolf down 5-6 scrummylicious pieces for tea alone just to satiate the appetite.

Egg Tart ($0.90)

The same custard is used for the tart and still as delicious.

Luncheon Meat Bun

I remember the luncheon meat portions being larger than these but they bring glory to luncheon meat. I love my spam and having this always makes me one happy lark.

Luncheon meat Puff

Bun over puff for this, the sweetness of the puff got in the way of enjoyment.

Curry Puff

Their attempt at answering the peranakan influence in the area was met with a flat rejection, curry puff this is barely just a puff stuffed with curried potatoes.

If there's any takeaway, they do all the above better than their teacakes.

Grumpy old ladies make this place so endearing, I would feel as out of place as that visit to Lin Heung, if they suddenly turned cupcake-candyfloss-cheery and smiley. Let's just leave that for the fad-ilicious cupcake makers so that being said, prices are on the roll. A dollar for what would be cleaned out in two munches, I wonder if my mini mes will have a bite of this in their childhood - will I still want to fork out for history when I could very well be having something heartier?

Full review and photos up on: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/09/chin-mee-chin-confectionery-east-coast.html
favourite cream puffs

favourite cream puffs

 
old school breakfast

old school breakfast

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  cream puff,luncheon meat buns
 
Date of Visit: Sep 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $8(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not quite worth the 4 month wait Smile Oct 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Sushi/Sashimi | Omakase

This visit was planned ahead of time, even before the last random visit. No different from the last, there were ready queues to go in before the stipulated 630pm (why am I not surprised) but what was surprising was the number of people eating ala carte that night. I presumptuously thought that everyone was there for omakase.

I get placed next to some dude celebrating the birthday of his babe and the whole meal, he was inching into my territory of comfort much to the chagrin of the companion. Talked loud, emptied half a bottle sake, indulged in the $80 sets and the bill came up to a beautiful tune of 400 odd.

Impressive or not, I leave that judgement to you.

The prices remained the same since the last visit but they seemed to have changed the selection a fairbit. $60 options no longer come with wagyu, instead that gets placed in the $80 bracket. Also in the $80 set is sushi instead of sashimi rice.

A strange revelation about this meal - I was hardly as stuffed as before and the companion even had space for a takeaway for chirashi don ($15). They may have shrunk their portions alongside with the value and if returns are necessary, it will be for ala carte and takeaway.

Chirashi don was a killer - fresh cubes of tuna, salmon and roe made it oooh-lala delicious. No wonder people return specially for alacarte. I am sure the Japanese get bigger portions but the value of Teppei is finally found once again.

Second visit completed, no more visits planned for 2013. Maybe 2014?'

Pictures and complete review up on: http://www.thefoodchapter.blogspot.sg/2013/10/teppei-restaurant-revisited-orchid-hotel.html
sashimi rice a must order

sashimi rice a must order

 
eat it all down

eat it all down

 
orgasmic

orgasmic

 
crunchy tuna roll

crunchy tuna roll

 
value for money sashimi platter

value for money sashimi platter

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  sashimi rice,oyster,sashimi platter,
 
Date of Visit: Sep 19, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Happy hours got happier Smile Sep 23, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Bars/Lounges

The Black Swan has emerged in Raffles Place, giving diners and drinkers more options.Rising fast and furious above the waters and becoming the place to dine at made us all quite curious.The newest under the Lo and Behold Group, I am sure interest was piqued further because of their illustrious alumni that I could have raved nonstop before.

Enter into a world of tall ceilings, women in chic black (cocktail dresses and suits) and a bar counter that is as welcoming as the seats.

Mondays bring about a host of blues and even as the day draws to an end, nothing quite beats swiveling a glass of bubbly and slurping Canadian Rock Oysters and wishing this luxury would never end. 18 buckeroos for a decent swig and creamy aphrodisiacs, #mondaybluesaway indeed. May I add then that, that only applies during happy hours from 530-730pm

When can I return for these again? I could have the happiest hour around just sitting around slurping oysters and guzzling champagne all night long.

Fries ($9)
truffle

Crispy fries doused in truffle oil - as overpriced as it is, we all enjoyed it.

Crab Salad ($21)
handpicked crab, avocado, mango, orange, grapefruit, toasted sunflower seeds, citrus vinaigrette

If I could, I would have this over Caesar salad. Citrus vinaigrette worked for me without being too acidic for the tastebuds, infact, a light and delightful dressing over the fresh bed of greens and crabmeat.

Seafood Linguini ($32)
prawns, calamari, clams, tomato, garlic, chilli

Clams were not good so ours came with more prawns. Tastes quite like black bean sauce tossed with linguine, the strong flavours made this outstanding and worth seconds.

Duck Leg Confit ($34)
36 hour sous-vide, bacon potatoes, fresh thyme, mustard sauce

I find duck hard to ignore at a French restaurant and this was a really decent effort with crisp skin and succulent meat. Bacon potatoes were a huge distraction, speckled with bacon and panfried - no better way to have it.

Stockyard Australia Wagyu Ribeye Steak (for two persons) ($96)
16-18oz, 400 days grain fed beef, béarnaise, fries

Wagyu certainly did not shine through with parts that were not as marbled as desired but they do good steaks.

Date and Toffee Pudding ($14)
caramelised banana, medjool dates, rum, vanilla ice cream

A tad sweet and dense which resulted in a slightly disappointing dessert, definitely expected better.

Dark Chocolate Dome ($16)
70% varlhona chocolate, vanilla crème, seasonal berries

Somehow, this looks like any other dessert that the patisseries can produce. Coated with chocolate, the vanilla creme was a nice contrast. This is not quite a dessert I would order again.

We could have been spoilt rotten by the other restaurants to expect bread baskets and were met with none. Yet this gave us more reason to try the dishes on the menu. The meal was fulfilling and somewhat riveting at some points, desserts could have been dealt in a better manner but there is room for improvement for sure. Dying to be back to attempt more oysters, burger and lobster!
crab salad

crab salad

 
seafood pasta!

seafood pasta!

 
duck confit

duck confit

 
steak for the carnivores

steak for the carnivores

 
oysters are the perfect aphrodisiacs

oysters are the perfect aphrodisiacs

 
bubbly

bubbly

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  oysters,seafood pasta,crab salad,champagne
 
Date of Visit: Sep 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0