OpenRice Index
  
happytummy dumpty
This is happytummy dumpty living in Clementi. I work in Outram. I like to hang out in Raffles Place, Orchard, Buona Vista. Japanese, Korean, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Bakery, Café and Sushi/Sashimi, Burgers and Sandwiches, Salads/ Acai Bowl, Cakes & Pastries .
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review92 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity434 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos282 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant84 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲66 Follower(s)
happytummy dumpty  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 92 Reviews in Singapore
Left with disappointment >< Cry Oct 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant | Vegetarian | Chinese Soup | Western Soup | Halal

I am all along a Soup Spoon fan. I love their beef rendition, Simon Chic Garfunkel, mushroom and tomato soup. Thus, I have naturally high expectations about this new establishment. Headed down to try out their new Brunch menu but aww what a let down sad

Had the Union's SouperBreakfast ($16.50) with sous-vide eggs and the Chicken Pho ($7.50). I like that the sausage tasted spicy, otherwise it was quite ordinary. Small portion and pricey, I could have a better breakfast set elsewhere and pay less even.
Union's SouperBreakfast

Union's SouperBreakfast

 


Adding on to that, the ultimate disappointment was with the Chicken Pho. The soup was plain, nothing whatsoever was nice about it. Had the hot Vietnamese Drip coffee add-on with the noodles, again, it was a disappointment too. The coffee was not strong at all. The cup looked cute, but the coffee was a no-no. I rather spend on buying kopi from Yakun.
Chicken Pho

Chicken Pho

 
Vietnamese Drip Coffee

Vietnamese Drip Coffee

 
In conclusion, I am disappointed with the new Farmer's Brunch menu. I don't think I would want to try the other food items in the menu anymore although my sweet tooth is calling me to try out the RedVelvet Waffles. I guess it would be better to just stick with the soups instead.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 13, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

A really good one indeed Smile Oct 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

The cafe has opened since 15/10/12. It was then their first anniversary. Having been hanging out around Holland V often, I have no idea how I would have missed out this really good d'Good Cafe indeed.

The cafe is actually on the second and third-storey near Starbucks. But you can't really miss it as the cafe signage board is easily noticeable. And for those too lazy to take the stairs, there is a in-built lift! I think it is quite cool haha lol

 
For food, I strongly recommend their pasta especially my favourite Prawn Aglio-Olio ($16) The prawns were really succulent and there were like seven chunky prawns in my pasta! ^^ This is generous for the price they are charging. Ordered the Portobello Pasta with tomato sauce ($14) too. I am a mushroom fan. So it satisfied me to have so much mushroom in my pasta hehe. But unfortunately the noodles were a bit overcooked and so it was kinda soft. I would have preferred the noodles with a springy kind of feeling mad
Prawn Aglio-Olio

Prawn Aglio-Olio

 
Portobello Pasta

Portobello Pasta

 
My friends ordered the Breakfast set ($16.50) and Egg Benedict ($13). I think one can give the Breakfast set a miss. It was just ordinary. The scrambled eggs were slightly too cooked but what was worse, was the burnt bacon. As seen in the photo, one can easily tell the bacon was way too charred. But the consolation was that at least the staff was apologetic about it and promptly re-did it. I guess they might have missed it during the busy lunch hours.
Breakfast set

Breakfast set

 
Egg Benedict

Egg Benedict

 
Coffee was good. It is just an additional $3 for a top up of latte if you order the Breakfast set or Egg Benedict. I would have requested for a bear for the latte art instead of the boring leaf. But decided against that since it was then the busy hours.
Latte

Latte

 
In a nutshell, pasta and coffee are both great in terms of taste and affordability. And the ambience is really good for relaxation and chilling out. There are two swings with tables for dining with a view facing outside, kinda romantic hehe smile And there is also alfresco seating area on the third floor which is beautifully decorated.. Ahh an ideal place to have dinner with the cool weather and night lightings

 

 
smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Prawn Aglio Olio
 
Date of Visit: Oct 15, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Selfish Gene Cafe Smile Oct 13, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café

Went there for lunch on a Sunday afternoon, found the place easily with my Google maps haha lol

 

 
It was about 10 min walking distance from Tanjong Pagar MRT. It was slightly packed, was lucky to get a table within a minute.

 
Ordered The Valerie ($11.80) and Breakfast Plate ($15.80) as well as a cup of cappuccino. For a person who have a "mild-sweet" tooth like me I enjoy The Valerie very much! ^^ It might seem a bit unbecoming, at least in my opinion initially, to have a combo of berry compote, cream cheese and scrambled eggs altogether with brioche but, awww, I find them matching together perfectly after trying it.
The Valerie

The Valerie

 
The Breakfast Plate

The Breakfast Plate

 
The Breakfast Plate was not too bad either for its reasonable price. It originally comprised scrambled eggs but I had it changed to my favorite poached eggs instead, with an additional charge though. The other cafes don't usually charge for that.

 
Coffee was not too bad though I think The Plain which is nearby Selfish Gene serves better coffee. Ordered banana cake ($5.80) for dessert to satisfy my sweet tooth. It was one of the recommended items but I personally would not recommend it. A bit pricey for a small portion of banana cake. However it was not too bad with its combination with some peanut butter sauce topping.
Banana Cake

Banana Cake

 
I would definitely return for the food. It is a nice spacious cafe in the quiet CBD area during the weekends.
 
Spending per head: Approximately $18(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Satisfied! Good and Reasonable Smile Feb 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

Went to this place for a quick bite before a movie and it was relatively quick. As there wasn't much dining crowd, I didn't have to wait too long before the food was served.

Located at the floor of Shaw Theatre, one would be able to watch all the trailers on the big projector screen.

Ordered a Carbonara pasta and a Apple Chicken Walnut salad. I like the refreshing mix of apples and walnut together with some sautéed chicken slices. The pasta, on the other hand, was actually quite creamy so it felt kinda gelat halfway through. But there was a generous serving of crispy bacon along with the pasta, adding on an addictive crunch to it.
Apple Walnut Chicken Salad

Apple Walnut Chicken Salad

 
Carbonara Pasta

Carbonara Pasta

 
Overall, I find the food quality here pretty much satisfying yet being reasonably-priced. But surprisingly it was relatively deserted on a Sunday evening shocked

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Carbonara pasta and a Apple Chicken Walnut Salad
 
Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges | Burgers and Sandwiches

Newly opened restaurant in Orchard Central, located high up at Level 11, it is only through reading HGW that I come to know of this place. Being a burger fan, I headed over since there is a 30% discount for HGW readers until end of Feb.

 

 

 
At the entrance, the decorations and layout of the restaurant is sure as eye-catching and quirky. You will see a punching bag hung at the side of the main entrance. The interior was kinda solemn and sombre. It is designed with a concept of a fighting ring I suppose with the decorations of some fighting gloves, head gear and Thai fighting shorts. A unique concept I would say.

Food variety, as the name of the restaurant suggests, is fairly limited to burgers and wings plus a few other options of pasta. Eager to try the burgers, I ordered the Pumpkin Rice Cracker with Beef patty ($16.90) and my friend had the Cajun Wings ($15.80). I was slightly disappointed to see that my burger was actually a 'rice burger', I did not read the food description properly before ordering. However, though not really getting a real burger, I was delightedly consoled by the food quality and taste. The beef patty was moist and flavourful, and the poached egg on top of it also made it not so dry, adding on a yummy eggy taste. Rice cracker below was also slightly crispy, especially the side parts of the rice.
Rice Burger

Rice Burger

 

 
Cajun wings

Cajun wings

 
On the other hand, the wings was not too bad too, well-marinated and thus was full of flavour of the Cajun spice. But I think if there were to be some spiciness, it would be added oomp while the wings size was not big. I like wings to be huge and chunky haha lol

There is a salad and tapas bar whereby one can have free flow salad, soup and dessert with an add-on of $4..90 during lunch hours. I think all the types of salad served were simply awesome. The tomato soup was good too but not sourish enough. My friend liked very much the thin crispy Papaderm with salsa topping which I find them addictive too.
Tomato soup

Tomato soup

 
Tomato Salad, Mushroom Salad, Purple Cabbage

Tomato Salad, Mushroom Salad, Purple Cabbage

 
Ponzu Egg

Ponzu Egg

 
Overall, good food quality and interesting concept. Staff are all friendly and attentive. I would head back definitely to try on a real burger the next time haha

lolsmile
 
Date of Visit: Feb 27, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0