OpenRice Index
  
sunflowergirl
This is sunflowergirl living in Dover. I work in Chinatown. I like to hang out in Arab Street, Clarke Quay, Bedok. Thai, Teochew are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Steaks and Grills, Ice Cream and Gelato, Buffet , Steam boat & BBQ .
Member 3 First(s)
No. of Review13 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity82 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos43 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant12 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲27 Follower(s)
sunflowergirl  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 13 Reviews in Singapore
Fantastic latte art! Smile Jan 20, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Hearing everyone in my clique saying that this is a "MUST GO" place. I've not been there to try their food hence decided to bring my Taiwan friends to CFOB when they're in Singapore. The cafe is pretty secluded area of changi however, it's pretty near the ferry point. To my surprise, it's totally full house when we arrived but we manage to get one tiny table for the 6 of us! Well, I prayed that it's worth the trip as we travel from one end to the other.

It crossed my expectations! Food was good, coffee is wonderful, ambiance still okay but it''s way better in the night! We reached the place about 3pm and decided to have our late brunch. Quite a number of food is available, unlike some other cafes.

 
Cubano Sandwich - $13

Cubano Sandwich ordered by my Taiwan's friend to share with another. Their verdict was okay, not that bad but well, I tried a bite and it was still piping hot when I tried. A combinations of many greens and ham. smile

 
Hot Chocolate - $5

My boyfriend order hot chocolate and this was what he got! A fat santa claus, no doubt that he is fat too and this totally matches him. Not only the hot chocolate is appealing, the taste is extremely good!

 

 
Caffe Mocha - $5.50

You can see how happy I was! For me, I preferred hot coffee and I've a sanrio character! I was hoping I get a hello kitty instead however, this is good too! It's so pretty that I barely stirred the coffee. Damn, it's too cute! The aroma is there and the mocha is so rich!

 
I forgotten the name of this spaghetti, it taste so damn awesome and I have never seen such a perfect poached egg! smile Still, it's piping hot, thick and quality creamy sauce. The spaghetti is cooked well, and they're pretty generous with the ingredient!

 
New York Cheese Cake - $6

Probably, their cheesecake can be better as it's a little too hard and not that cheesy but well, overall is still good!

 
A sum up of what we have order and ate! We finished almost everything! Not forgetting to mention how friendly the staff was!

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Caffe Mocha,Hot Chocolate
 
Date of Visit: Dec 22, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Thing could be better. Cry Jan 20, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

My friends introduced me a cafe near the city, my boyfriend, a couple of friends and I decided to try it out. To my disappointment, it was a not very nice experience. I will not introduce anyone to visit this cafe. Bad service and cold food.

When we arrived Holland Village, the cafe is pretty near the carpark, about 3 minutes walk. you'll definitely spot the backdoor of d'Good Cafe. It's a 3 storey tall building, with very nice and vintage decorations.

 
This depicts the back door stairway to the cafe. The main floor of the cafe is at the second level. The cafe is full of people queuing along the pathway waiting to take their orders. I was wondering if there were enough seats. It's so packed till the third level and we decided to sit on the alfresco area. It was pretty hot as it's late afternoon, about 3pm.

 
Once again, the deco was okay however, for that whole place, there was only one fan. It did not face my direction and I was perspiring when I'm having my food.

Next, we were not attended by the staff and we have to head back to the 2nd level to take the menu. Pathetically, 7 of us have to share one menu & we were really famished as we did not have our breakfast or lunch. Hoping to have a great brunch but not as what we expected. So we tried to shared the menu and realised the choices are really limited and the drinks are not in the menu. We walked down and ask for the menu however, the staff got us to see the board where the drinks menu were at. We have to make phone calls to our friends and tell them everything on the menu, luckily it was a short menu with not many choices of drinks.

So we ordered and was given a timer ringer to collect our food later on when it's done. Next, I was looking for a washroom, I couldn't find it till I went up to the third level and I asked a staff, where is the washroom. Pathetically, there was only 1 washroom which is next to the alfresco sitting area.

 
One of my friend who collected the drinks and did not count how many drinks were there and she missed my drink. So I head down with the receipt to ask for my drinks. The staff told me to wait for 2 minutes, fair enough. I was looking at how she did my Mocha Frappe and when she reach for the cup, the cup dropped on the floor. I was hoping that she will get a new cup instead of using that cup. To my surprise, she picked it up, quickly rinse it and she placed the Mocha Frappe into the cup. The other colleague of her offered her a new cup but she said, it's okay. Well, we are looking at hygiene when it comes to F&B right?

Fair enough, I wont wished to argue so much so I went back to my seat and realised she gave me chocolate cream instead of mocha frappe. Goodness, I was very frustrated as the weather is so hot, we didn't have enough fan and I have to rush down to get my drink again.

I went down and told her she gave me the wrong drink very nicely. Backfired. She gave me the attitude by asking me, how many drinks are not served. I told her that everything is served except this Mocha Frappe which you have done it wrongly. Being very pissed, she took 10 minutes to get my drink done. Fair, again, I won't want to make things ugly.

When I went back to my seats again, my boyfriend told me, his chocolate cream sizing was wrong as we order Large and they gave us Medium. I'm sorry but this time I got really angry and went down again. I looked at her in the eyes, and said how many wrong orders you guys have done. While waiting for my Mocha Frappe, I seen many orders given wrongly, orders not being done hence the long queue was there. So I told her, this is a wrong size, we paid $7.50 instead of $6 and this size is what we get? She got pissed too, asking us how many drinks we got again. Well, orders are taken by you guys, it's your responsibility to get it done right and also, when you have done an order wrongly, it's not the customer's fault. I've been very patient. So after repeating twice the story, she finally understood and made us the right size of chocolate cream again. Since our order were ready, we stood there and waited.

 
Egg Benedicts, it was alright. But it wasn't that hot when served hence it don't taste that good.

 
Homemade meatballs marinara, pasta was served really cool and I got sick of the meatballs after having 3 bites of it. Not a very good choice.

 
Bacon Carbonara, It can be better if they put in more effort to make the spaghetti softer and the sauce not that thick and creamy. It's overly done. My boyfriend was pretty upset with it.

 
Maple Sea Salt Cheesecake, this is probably the best of the whole brunch. The cheese cake is pretty soft and it melts in your mouth, the taste of it should be a little sweet and salty at the same time however it's a little too salty. It can be better.

 
The total amount, which I would say it's not very worth the price we paid. & did I mentioned that we didn't finish any of the food.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 19, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

I did't expect this. Cry Jan 06, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Brunch

This review ain't gonna be that nice though. To be very frank, I have a very bad experience over here and probably I won't want to visit again.

My boyfriend and I decided to have our breakfast over at the new mall, West gate. We walked thru most of the shops at 9am and mostly are closed hence we looked at the directory and found this place, we decided to give it a try as both of us have not tried this place and the place is fully occupied.

We look at the menu, to my surprise, we are spoiled for choices! There are eggs menu, meat menu and etc. So when we asked for air con seating as it's more comfy but like what I said, they're fully occupied. To an extend that we have to squeeze tables with another couple. Not very happy with this arrangement though. I wished they could be nicer to give us a bigger table.

Looking thru the menu, we decided to order 3 different sets of breakfast and try them out. The portion was okay.

 
This is the iced coffee that my boyfriend have ordered. It don't taste that good probably personal preference and the presentation was okay, not that bad.

 
I ordered a cafe latte for myself, well, the coffee is okay, but it can be better.

 
I order their house specialty, as I state, HOUSE SPECIALTY, benedict eggs. I have never expect this out from anything. It was bad, very bad. The rossetti was okay, not that bad however they are not very generous with the cream. Well, putting that aside, it was just 2 pieces of ham, 2 "not very nice" benedict eggs, potato rossetti, and greens. I wasn't impressed AT ALL. I was expecting a "wow" factor. Probably my expectations were too high.

 
This is probably the best thing I have tried over here. Sharing it with my boyfriend, just egg omelette with bacons, ham and mushroom. This is the genie omelette whereby you can choose the ingredients that can be stuffed inside. It was good, the omelette not too dry, taste a little milky and overall the combinations is okay! I'm glad that I've order this or I will go hungry coming out from the restaurant.

 
I've to comment alot on this. My boyfriend decided to get their breakfast steak. Well, for the pricing we have paid, I won't be expecting wagyu or even Australian steak. First mistake, when we ordered this meal, the waitresses/waiters didn't take the initiative to ask how well do we want this steak to be. I called the waiter and ask, "for the steak here, we don't get to choose how well it can be done?" Then he asked me how well we wanted, we said, "MEDIUM" I got very mad when they served. It comes with potato rossetti, greens, sunny side up and 3 pancakes. Personally, I take well done steak and my boyfriend takes medium; to my very surprise my boyfriend started to chew and he looked at me. He spit it out and say, this is way too hard. I tried, it's totally WELL DONE. We waited for about 30 mins and this is what we get? I'm trying to be fair, I understand that is very packed with customers and we need to be understanding to wait for our food, yes, I waited. And this is what we get? I called the waitress over and got it change. Fair, I've to wait for another 15 minutes to get it done again. It came withing 20 minutes and know what? The 3 pancakes are missing! I don't know where it went but I requested the waitress to get the pancakes here. What service is this? I paid for service charge and this is what I get? Fine, my boyfriend and I was hoping that the steak is medium this time. GUESS WHAT? It comes in well done again. It's not on the hotplate and I wondered if they understand what's medium. We were very unhappy this time.

We just walked away and get the bills. There are 2 counters and I see waiters chatting away and the manager is having some problem with the cashier. I waited about 10 minutes before they got my bills. It cost about $80 for this meal, to me the money doesn't matters; it's the service and the food I get. I will probably never come back here again and never recommend this place to my friends. I'm sorry but I have never been to a restaurant like this.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $40(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Oh well, first try. OK Dec 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella


My boyfriend and I were deciding what to have for our late lunch as we walked past Ambush, we wanted to give a try as both of us have not been there. It was pretty empty in the shop at about 4pm, I was pretty surprised. My friends actually recommend me this place as it serve affordable yet decent western food. I guessed, I set my expectations way too high.

We browse through the menu and the waiter was standing right in front of us waiting for our order, we felt pretty pressurize though.

It was pretty late in the afternoon and still, they've set lunches hence we went ahead. It comes with soup, drinks and a main course.

 
The soup of the day: Cream of corn. I was expecting something more quality than just starch, you can't even barely taste of corn. It was very thick and "creamy" but I wished it was much decent than what we're having.

 
This is my main course, beef bolognese; to my surprise, I did not expect it come with rice. It taste fairly okay but too much of it, you will get sick of it. The presentation was not very well done but overall is okay.

 

 
Probably this is the best thing I really enjoy of the whole meal I have there. For my set drink, I order cafe latte with an additional $1.80 upgrade but very worthwhile! The coffee is so smooth, loving the foam, thick and creamy. The aroma is so strong so is the coffee, loving this so much!

 
Last but not least, my boyfriend's main course, White wine spaghetti with clams; another huge disappointment. The food wasn't that hot and the overall is pretty plain, it was better when we place the clams and spaghetti together as the clams have normal salt. Afterall, okay, not that bad.

Probably, we did not try the specialty of ambush but we would like to go over and try out the other dishes too!
 
Date of Visit: Dec 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $13(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Soft melting cheesecake! Smile Dec 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bakery | Desserts and Cakes

 

 
On Friday night, went over to east side to check out Bedok Mall with my boyfriend! It's a huge huge shopping all, like a mini ION Orchard. I was surprised that there were many food stall and a huge foodhall at the basement!

Passed by a kiosk and the look of the cheese cake caught my boyfriend eye. The staffs are really friendly, they told us whee it came from and it's freshly made! In the back of my mind, I'm like it's gonna taste like normal cheesecakes.

My very first bite, it's so soft, I have never thought that it would be that soft, i barely used my lips and feel it, it melts. Tender, soft yet very flavorful! However, for 10 pieces of the cheesecakes, it cost about $19.80, well considering it freshly made, it flew from Hokkaido and the quality is good! I find it worthwhile.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cheesecake
 
Date of Visit: Dec 06, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0