OpenRice Index
  
This is cathyng_24 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity357 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos152 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant46 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲10 Follower(s)
cathyng_24  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
Mikoto Singapore Smile Dec 13, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

 

 

 

 

 
My sister highly recommends me this restaurant & brought me for dinner this evening. She mentioned that mostly japanese frequently the restaurant. All the staffs were japanese, spoke japanese & menu in mostly japanese wordings too (there is a simple english translation menu too but is slightly different from japanese menu). As my sister had stayed in japan for a couple of years, she is able to converse well with the staff when ordering our food.

Unfortunately, the restaurant was booked for the evening, so we could only took outdoor seats. But not to worry, it was very windy sitting outdoor & you could enjoy the scenary while eating. The restaurant offered a compulsory cold appetizer ($5 per person) to start off the meal. It was cucumber & pork in a slightly salty & sticky kind of sauce. The cucumber was very crunchy & paired nicely with the pork. Very appettizing & refreshing indeed. We were very curious about the sticky sauce, so my sister approached the staff & we were told that the sauce is actually some stock mix with a bit of gelatin. Brilliant idea I would say, making the dish unique & yummy.

We ordered their signature Mikoto salad as we were both vege lovers. The salad ($9) was really light & good. Love the crunchy roasted cashew nuts bits to max, it really add some texture to the plain salad. The salad sauce is extremely delicious with a light roasted sesame taste. All the vegetables are crunchy except the broccoli which we thought is a bit overcooked. Nevertheless, it is a great dish & we both really love it.

Chicken Nambah with tar tar sauce is a must to order dish. The chicken (5 pieces) were deep fried to perfection, cripsy outside & yet juicy & tender when you bite on them. The pinkish tar tar sauce with dice bringal is excellent! It paired so well with the chicken & vege. I guessed I am addcited to this dish already!

For our main, we share a plate of yakisoba. We both think that it is too salty & oily for our liking. However, my sister mentioned that she ate their yakisoba previously & tasted extremely yummy, so probably there is a change of chef this evening? The portion of yakisoba was very little tongue

I had yuzu juice ($4) while my sister had hot green tea ($4). We both think that it is slightly expensive as they are not refillable. Our bill added up to about $55+. Overall, the dinning experience was great! We love their food, ambience & staffs were very friendly. We will definitely go back to the restaurant again to try out other dishes =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 12, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

soon heng rojak Smile Dec 11, 2014   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

 

 
Soon Heng Rojak is very popular with neverending snake-like queues. It was really an interesting phenomenal! We were both puzzled, what is so great about their rojak? I then sent my hubby to join the queue to find out the truth ;)
Even though there were huge orders from customers, the line moved relatively fast. My hubby described the scene to me. It was like a production line where everyone had a role to play. One colleague is in charge taking down orders, another was busy cutting the you tiao (long dough fritters) into smaller pieces. Finally one was busy mixing & putting all the ingredients together on a plate.
My hubby finally got the rojak after waiting for about 15mins. Guess what? We were totally won over after tasting the rojak. The prawn paste was thick & sweet & yet watery enough to coat all the ingredients within.
What I love about the dish is that the peanut shavings were extremely generous & liberal. It certainly add a nice crunch to the entire dish. You tiao & tao pau were also cripsy & cut into mouth bite sizes. I also love the crunchy turnips, big slices of pineapples & thinly sliced cucumbers. All tasted very fresh & is so additive/appetizing!
My hubby never regret queueing for this yummy rojak. Thumbs up. Oh yes, the price is very reasonable starting from $2.50. Do give it a try if you are near the area, but be prepared foe the queue =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Soon Heng Rojak Smile Dec 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

Soon Heng Rojak is very popular with neverending snake-like queues. It was really an interesting phenomenal! We were both puzzled, what is so great about their rojak? I then sent my hubby to join the queue to find out the truth ;)

Even though there were huge orders from customers, the line moved relatively fast. My hubby described the scene to me. It was like a production line where everyone had a role to play. One colleague is in charge taking down orders, another was busy cutting the you tiao (long dough fritters) into smaller pieces. Finally one was busy mixing & putting all the ingredients together on a plate.

My hubby finally got the rojak after waiting for about 15mins. Guess what? We were totally won over after tasting the rojak. The prawn paste was thick & sweet & yet watery enough to coat all the ingredients within.
What I love about the dish is that the peanut shavings were extremely generous & liberal. It certainly add a nice crunch to the entire dish. You tiao & tao pau were also cripsy & cut into mouth bite sizes. I also love the crunchy turnips, big slices of pineapples & thinly sliced cucumbers. All tasted very fresh & is so additive/appetizing!

My hubby never regret queueing for this yummy rojak. Thumbs up. Oh yes, the price is very reasonable starting from $2.50. Do give it a try if you are near the area, but be prepared foe the queue =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Edge Smile Dec 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet

 

 

 

 
Edge offers Sunday Champagne Brunch, which is priced at $158++ per pax for 4 hours long, from 12pm-4pm. We usually make online reservation one week ahead to make sure we can get our sofa seats! We both think Edge is one of the best Champagne Brunch buffets around in Singapore with unlimited free flow of prestigious champagne brand Veuve Clicquot. Not to worry if you are not a fan of champagne because they also have unlimited serving of fruit juices (Orange juice, carrot, Sugar Cane juice), cocktails, tea & even gourmet coffee.
Our favourite dish is pan seared Foie Gras. Loved the presentation style of the dish. The foie gras is soft & can be served with or without a small piece of bread together with a slice of super sweet orange. Heavenly taste though very sinful for those who are watching your weight tongue
Duck Ravioli with truffle sauce is my favourite too. The sauce was really thick & yummy with flavourful duck meat fillings. The portion was small (only 2 ravioli in a bowl), which is what we wanted so that we had capacity to try more of others!
The Live Grill station is a must try. Their Ohmi Wagyu is to die for, that almost melt in the mouth palate experience! Grilled Pork Collar was good as well as it was very tender. Oh yes, I must higlight that there was also the normal Wagyu beef cut other than the grilled version, however we found them dry & tough. So, probably give that a miss & proceed straight to the live grill station instead! Remember to try the thick, long & flavourful sausages as well!
We love their dessert spread as well. Though I am not a sweet tooth person, but just by looking at the colourful spread of desserts, it really made me smile =)
There were the usual chocolate fondue, mini cupcakes, tarts, icecream, truffle chocolates, waffles, macarons etc. The pretty bluish candy crush mini cakes really caught my eyes. The colours were vibrant & were very well liked by kids.
We love the sticky mango glutinous rice. Chewy glutinous rice with generous mango slices drizzled with sweet, thick syrup. Oh my, I am salivating as I thought of the dessert spread again tongue
Overall, we really had a wonderful & cozy dinning experience at the Edge. We will definitely come back for their weekend brunch buffet again. Thumbs up for their spread of food & excellent staff services.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yakiyakibo Smile Dec 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Japanese BBQ/Teppanyaki

 

 

 

 

 

 
We had a craving for japanese food today & settled for yakiyakibo teppanyaki. We ordered a Tamago Salmon Set & also a prawn & chicken set. The set meal comes with a bowl of rice, a bowl of miso soup, a plate of fry vegetables, cold tofu with pork floss in light soya sauce & 2 pieces of oranges.

We both thought that the cold tofu was light & refreshing. The tofu is firm & tasteless, but when paired with the slightly salty soya sauce & sweet pork floss it becomes a brillant appetizer. We were seated right in front of the chef so we could sit back & witnessed the process of how our food were being cooked. 

What we like about the tamago salmon is that the tamago was cooked in perfection, very soft in texture & coated the salmon slightly. The salmon on the other hand is sweet (due to the sauce) & does not break into pieces when you picked them up with chopsticks. 

The chicken dices were flavourful & goes really well with rice. Prawns were fresh & sweet too. We both loved their potato salad. Chunks of potatoes with japanese cucumber were very addictive & appetizing!

There are just too many set meals to choose from. We will definitely come back to try out more dishes! Nice ambience, great food & friendly staffs.  
 
Date of Visit: Dec 10, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0