OpenRice Index
  
This is cathyng_24 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity357 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos152 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant46 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲10 Follower(s)
cathyng_24  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
Lime Breakfast Buffet Smile Dec 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet

 

 

 
We had a Staycation at Royal Plaza on Orchid Club floor on Christmas eve. We were entitled to Champagne breakfast at their Orchid Club lounge (Level 16) but we were curious to find out if there is any difference in their buffet spread at 'Lime' (level 1). Thus we made a trip down to level 1 & found that it was quite similar except that 'Lime' had a few extra dishes like fish ball noodles & fried mee. Of course, Champagne is a bonus for us.
The buffet spread is quite decent with assorted breads & a variety of jams. We simply love the chocolate chip croissant, so soft & fluffy, bursting with bits of sweet chocolate chips as you bite into them. Love the live station where we can choose the ingredients to be added in our eggs & the way they are cooked. Sausages, harshbrowns & bacon are the usual food found in breakfast buffet. I love the harshbrown particularly as they were still warm & very crispy.
Waffle is a must try item! The waffle is extremely light & crispy, drizzled with some sweet maple syrup, wow, yummylicious I will say & even better than Gelare waffles! Its a pity that they don't serve waffles with ice cream early in the morning, else we can each eat at least 2 waffles each! ;)
There were also porridge, oats porrridge & yoghurt with assorted fruits. All look very inviting but we were too full to try them all. Steamed Siew mai tasted normal though a bit on the dry side & the Har kow skin is slightly thick which we will not recommend. However, the food is great overall.

Staffs provide excellent services serving us a pot of earl Grey tea, orange juice & champagne. It is indeed a wonderful experience dining at the club lounge & enjoying the pretty scenary =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 25, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Edge Smile Dec 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet

 

 

 

 
Edge offers Sunday Champagne Brunch, which is priced at $158++ per pax for 4 hours long, from 12pm-4pm. We usually make online reservation one week ahead to make sure we can get our sofa seats! We both think Edge is one of the best Champagne Brunch buffets around in Singapore with unlimited free flow of prestigious champagne brand Veuve Clicquot. Not to worry if you are not a fan of champagne because they also have unlimited serving of fruit juices (Orange juice, carrot, Sugar Cane juice), cocktails, tea & even gourmet coffee.
Our favourite dish is pan seared Foie Gras. Loved the presentation style of the dish. The foie gras is soft & can be served with or without a small piece of bread together with a slice of super sweet orange. Heavenly taste though very sinful for those who are watching your weight tongue
Duck Ravioli with truffle sauce is my favourite too. The sauce was really thick & yummy with flavourful duck meat fillings. The portion was small (only 2 ravioli in a bowl), which is what we wanted so that we had capacity to try more of others!
The Live Grill station is a must try. Their Ohmi Wagyu is to die for, that almost melt in the mouth palate experience! Grilled Pork Collar was good as well as it was very tender. Oh yes, I must higlight that there was also the normal Wagyu beef cut other than the grilled version, however we found them dry & tough. So, probably give that a miss & proceed straight to the live grill station instead! Remember to try the thick, long & flavourful sausages as well!
We love their dessert spread as well. Though I am not a sweet tooth person, but just by looking at the colourful spread of desserts, it really made me smile =)
There were the usual chocolate fondue, mini cupcakes, tarts, icecream, truffle chocolates, waffles, macarons etc. The pretty bluish candy crush mini cakes really caught my eyes. The colours were vibrant & were very well liked by kids.
We love the sticky mango glutinous rice. Chewy glutinous rice with generous mango slices drizzled with sweet, thick syrup. Oh my, I am salivating as I thought of the dessert spread again tongue
Overall, we really had a wonderful & cozy dinning experience at the Edge. We will definitely come back for their weekend brunch buffet again. Thumbs up for their spread of food & excellent staff services.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

peony Jade Smile Dec 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Sichuan | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood

 

 
My family & I went for their ala cart lunch buffet. We noticed that there were slight changes in the menu compared to the previous visits (which is gd, will be boring if the menu remains the same all these years right?) =)

There were 5 dishes that we could only order once,
- Fresh salmon sashimi
I am the only fan of sashimi. I must say that they were very fresh & sliced into big pieces

- Mushroom dish with Abalone
Our favourite! Love the chewy, flavourful abalone & mushroom with crunchy vegetables

- Fried Soon Hock Fish
Our all time favourite! The fish is fried till very crispy & drizzled with the light soya sauce

- 3 different variety of dim sum
Fried spring roll is crispy. Love the fillings with lots of carrots & turnip
Siew mai is flavourful. I simply love the fish roes on top of the siew mai which added texture when you bite them
Har gao skin is thin & prawn fillings are generous

- spicy hot & sour soup / fish maw soup
We gave this a miss as we wanted to try other dishes

Oh yes, you must remember to try their fried soft shell crabs in thai sauce (can only order once & choose one out of a few other dishes)

 
Prawn & fruit salad is very refreshing & appetizing.

 
Crispy salmon skin, very addictive indeed

 
There were many desserts for us to choose such as ice cream, black sesame paste, red bean paste, mango with pomelo,  sea coconut, almond jelly with fruits & lemongrass jelly. We tried all of them & they are pretty good except the black sesame paste which is a bit too 'diluted'.

 
Of course, all their dishes were delicious. Overall, we had a pleasant dinning experience, the staffs were very efficient & attentive to our needs. Thumbs up for their food & services!
 
Date of Visit: Dec 09, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Himawari Japanese Restaurant  Smile Nov 26, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

This is one of our favourite japanese restaurant & we frequent them whenever we craves for japanese buffet. They serves A La Carte menu as well smile

We especially love their fresh sashimi, pumpkin croquette, soft shell crabs etc.

 
The staffs (mostly pinoy) are all very friendly & offer excellent services to customers! very nice ambience & is not crowded.

 
Date of Visit: Nov 01, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Brussels Sprouts Smile Nov 26, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Belgian | Bars/Lounges | Kids-Friendly

We simply love their mussels! For $40 a bucket (main size), we get to decide the sauce we like our mussels to be cooked in. Loved their free flow fries as well, cripsy on the outside & soft inside, very hard to stop once you started! =)

 
We love this beef stew spaghetti. The beef was very tender, full of flavours & melt in your mouth.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 23, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0