OpenRice Index
  
This is cathyng_24 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity357 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos152 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant46 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲10 Follower(s)
cathyng_24  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
Mikoto Singapore Smile Dec 13, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

 

 

 

 

 
My sister highly recommends me this restaurant & brought me for dinner this evening. She mentioned that mostly japanese frequently the restaurant. All the staffs were japanese, spoke japanese & menu in mostly japanese wordings too (there is a simple english translation menu too but is slightly different from japanese menu). As my sister had stayed in japan for a couple of years, she is able to converse well with the staff when ordering our food.

Unfortunately, the restaurant was booked for the evening, so we could only took outdoor seats. But not to worry, it was very windy sitting outdoor & you could enjoy the scenary while eating. The restaurant offered a compulsory cold appetizer ($5 per person) to start off the meal. It was cucumber & pork in a slightly salty & sticky kind of sauce. The cucumber was very crunchy & paired nicely with the pork. Very appettizing & refreshing indeed. We were very curious about the sticky sauce, so my sister approached the staff & we were told that the sauce is actually some stock mix with a bit of gelatin. Brilliant idea I would say, making the dish unique & yummy.

We ordered their signature Mikoto salad as we were both vege lovers. The salad ($9) was really light & good. Love the crunchy roasted cashew nuts bits to max, it really add some texture to the plain salad. The salad sauce is extremely delicious with a light roasted sesame taste. All the vegetables are crunchy except the broccoli which we thought is a bit overcooked. Nevertheless, it is a great dish & we both really love it.

Chicken Nambah with tar tar sauce is a must to order dish. The chicken (5 pieces) were deep fried to perfection, cripsy outside & yet juicy & tender when you bite on them. The pinkish tar tar sauce with dice bringal is excellent! It paired so well with the chicken & vege. I guessed I am addcited to this dish already!

For our main, we share a plate of yakisoba. We both think that it is too salty & oily for our liking. However, my sister mentioned that she ate their yakisoba previously & tasted extremely yummy, so probably there is a change of chef this evening? The portion of yakisoba was very little tongue

I had yuzu juice ($4) while my sister had hot green tea ($4). We both think that it is slightly expensive as they are not refillable. Our bill added up to about $55+. Overall, the dinning experience was great! We love their food, ambience & staffs were very friendly. We will definitely go back to the restaurant again to try out other dishes =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 12, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Soon Heng Rojak Smile Dec 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

Soon Heng Rojak is very popular with neverending snake-like queues. It was really an interesting phenomenal! We were both puzzled, what is so great about their rojak? I then sent my hubby to join the queue to find out the truth ;)

Even though there were huge orders from customers, the line moved relatively fast. My hubby described the scene to me. It was like a production line where everyone had a role to play. One colleague is in charge taking down orders, another was busy cutting the you tiao (long dough fritters) into smaller pieces. Finally one was busy mixing & putting all the ingredients together on a plate.

My hubby finally got the rojak after waiting for about 15mins. Guess what? We were totally won over after tasting the rojak. The prawn paste was thick & sweet & yet watery enough to coat all the ingredients within.
What I love about the dish is that the peanut shavings were extremely generous & liberal. It certainly add a nice crunch to the entire dish. You tiao & tao pau were also cripsy & cut into mouth bite sizes. I also love the crunchy turnips, big slices of pineapples & thinly sliced cucumbers. All tasted very fresh & is so additive/appetizing!

My hubby never regret queueing for this yummy rojak. Thumbs up. Oh yes, the price is very reasonable starting from $2.50. Do give it a try if you are near the area, but be prepared foe the queue =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Teppei Syokudo Smile Jan 02, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

 

 

 
We love to eat japanese food. Spotted this store at Takashimaya basement sometime ago & finally get to try today. Tried out one of their best selling product - Big Fry Vegetable & a Aburi Sashimi Salmon Don. I must say the big fry vegetable's price is a bit steep but we reckon their food must be good to earn the long queue & crowd. We were right, the fry vegetable is simply awesome! It was about a 6 inch round fry vegetables. Though it was no longer warm, the vegetables still tasted very yummy & crunchy. In fact, it tasted even better when compared to those being sold in restaurants! We highly recommend this big fry vegetables to all =)

Their Aburi sashimi salmon don is another amazing dish. We can watch the chef prepared the dish on the spot. He was quick in his fish slicing skills & marinating the sashimi. Thereafter he topped the simple bowl of rice with a generous helping of the marinated sashimi & sprinkled some white sesame & spring onions on top. The sashimi were very fresh, well seasoned & flavourful. Thumbs up for the don! =)
 
Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Canton Paradise Smile Dec 02, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

 
We are fans of Canton Paradise & had tried out their food on many occasions. This restaurant offers Cantonese & Shunde specialties (Shunde is a culinary city in Guangdong, reputed to be the birthplace of Cantonese cuisine). It is best to call the restaurant to make reservations especialy during weekends.

We love their beautifully caramelized char siew, very moist & flavourful. Their roast pork on the other hand is very cripsy.  BBQ Pork Belly with Honey Sauce is awesome with the rich honey glaze & caramelized finish. I personally love their steamed kampung chicken as it is extremely smooth & tender smile

Baked BBQ Honey Pork Bun is a must when we came to Canton Paradise. We think their buns are pretty good & comparable to Tim Ho Wan. Their petite char siew soh is very addictive, buttery flaky skin with sweet tender char siew fillings. Love their silky smooth porridge. Their deep fried stuffs were yummy though they were a tad oily.

Overall, food are awesome. On a side note, do take a look at your plates, drinking glass & utensils before you use them. I find them not cleansed properly with food stains on them tongue
 
Recommended Dish(es):  char siew soh,baked BBQ honey pork bun,steamed kampung chicken
 
Date of Visit: Dec 01, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tonkotsu Kazan Ramen Smile Nov 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

 

 

 
This is my no. 1 ramen stalls in Singapore. I frequent the restaurant at least 2-3 times a month. A metal "hood" is placed above the hot stone ramen to retain its flavours while it is being cooked with its hot soup. Very generous helping of vegetables & the soup is refillable! Comes with complimentary hard boil egg to go with the ramen as well. We were given a small bowl of rice to be added into the hot soup after finishing the ramen. Best of both worlds isn't it? esp for those who can't decide to eat ramen or rice ;)
The soup is very flavourful (a bit salty though). Most of their staffs were Japanese, they were very friendly & efficient. We highly recommend this ramen restaurant, definitely yummy ramen & value for $! =)
 
Date of Visit: Nov 28, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0