OpenRice Index
  
This is cathyng_24 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity357 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos152 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant46 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲10 Follower(s)
cathyng_24  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
Sandaime Mikoto Smile Dec 16, 2014   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

 
My sister highly recommends me this restaurant & brought me for dinner this evening. She mentioned that mostly japanese frequently the restaurant. All the staffs were japanese, spoke japanese & menu in mostly japanese wordings too (there is a simple english translation menu too but is slightly different from japanese menu). As my sister had stayed in japan for a couple of years, she is able to converse well with the staff when ordering our food.

 

Unfortunately, the restaurant was booked for the evening, so we could only took outdoor seats. But not to worry, it was very windy sitting outdoor & you could enjoy the scenary while eating. The restaurant offered a compulsory cold appetizer ($5 per person) to start off the meal. It was cucumber & pork in a slightly salty & sticky kind of sauce. The cucumber was very crunchy & paired nicely with the pork. Very appettizing & refreshing indeed. We were very curious about the sticky sauce, so my sister approached the staff & we were told that the sauce is actually some stock mix with a bit of gelatin. Brilliant idea I would say, making the dish unique & yummy.

 

We ordered their signature Mikoto salad as we were both vege lovers. The salad ($9) was really light & good. Love the crunchy roasted cashew nuts bits to max, it really add some texture to the plain salad. The salad sauce is extremely delicious with a light roasted sesame taste. All the vegetables are crunchy except the broccoli which we thought is a bit overcooked. Nevertheless, it is a great dish & we both really love it.

 

Chicken Nambah with tar tar sauce is a must to order dish. The chicken (5 pieces) were deep fried to perfection, cripsy outside & yet juicy & tender when you bite on them. The pinkish tar tar sauce with dice bringal is excellent! It paired so well with the chicken & vege. I guessed I am addcited to this dish already!

 

For our main, we share a plate of yakisoba. We both think that it is too salty & oily for our liking. However, my sister mentioned that she ate their yakisoba previously & tasted extremely yummy, so probably there is a change of chef this evening? The portion of yakisoba was very little tongue


I had yuzu juice ($4) while my sister had hot green tea ($4). We both think that it is slightly expensive as they are not refillable. Our bill added up to about $55+. Overall, the dinning experience was great! We love their food, ambience & staffs were very friendly. We will definitely go back to the restaurant again to try out other dishes =) 
 
Date of Visit: Dec 12, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

soon heng rojak Smile Dec 11, 2014   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

 

 
Soon Heng Rojak is very popular with neverending snake-like queues. It was really an interesting phenomenal! We were both puzzled, what is so great about their rojak? I then sent my hubby to join the queue to find out the truth ;)
Even though there were huge orders from customers, the line moved relatively fast. My hubby described the scene to me. It was like a production line where everyone had a role to play. One colleague is in charge taking down orders, another was busy cutting the you tiao (long dough fritters) into smaller pieces. Finally one was busy mixing & putting all the ingredients together on a plate.
My hubby finally got the rojak after waiting for about 15mins. Guess what? We were totally won over after tasting the rojak. The prawn paste was thick & sweet & yet watery enough to coat all the ingredients within.
What I love about the dish is that the peanut shavings were extremely generous & liberal. It certainly add a nice crunch to the entire dish. You tiao & tao pau were also cripsy & cut into mouth bite sizes. I also love the crunchy turnips, big slices of pineapples & thinly sliced cucumbers. All tasted very fresh & is so additive/appetizing!
My hubby never regret queueing for this yummy rojak. Thumbs up. Oh yes, the price is very reasonable starting from $2.50. Do give it a try if you are near the area, but be prepared foe the queue =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Saveur Smile Dec 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Seafood | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

 

 

 

 
Saveur's pasta ($4.90) is one of our favourite. It was tossed with chilli oil, fine-chopped Japanese konbu & sakura ebi with minced pork sauce. Indeed very appetizing as a starter.
Foie Gras ($9.90) - Pan-seared duck liver with apple-infused port wine & vanilla bean. The liver was seared & seasoned nicely. We couldn't get enough of this!
Duck leg confit ($10.90). The mashed potato was sinfully creamy & mushrooms were flavourful. The duck leg looked slightly dry & a bit salty, but when eaten together with the mashed potato, the taste is well balanced. 
Pan fried fish (forgot what fish is that tongue) is done to perfection. The potato cubes were brilliant, slightly crispy outside while soft inside, flavourful & addictive.
Overall, afforable french cuisine with great food. Will definitely dine in saveur again smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Saveur's Pasta,Foie Gras,Duck leg confit
 
Date of Visit: Dec 04, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tsukada Nojo Smile Nov 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sukiyaki/Shabu Shabu

 
This restaurant is known for its chicken collagen hotpot (supposed to make your skin beautiful). We tried the hotpot sometime ago & were hooked to it. This round we had their chicken ramen for lunch. The chicken broth is to die for! Their ramen differentiates itself from the common pork broth you get elsewhere, so concentrated & flavourful. Heavenly.... I really don't mind having the broth everyday ;) The noodles were chewy & the chicken is tender & juicy. They use organic vegetables here.

Very good service & healthy food. We will definitely go back next time.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 28, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shisen Hanten Smile Jan 03, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Sichuan | Hotel | Vegetarian | Dim Sum | Seafood

 

 

 

 

 
This is our first time to dine in at Shisen Hanten restaurant at 35th storey of Mandarin Orchard Hotel. We occupied the sofa seats & we must say the view outside was spectacular. We tried a few dim sums such as fry carrot cake, custard buns, fry prawn dumplings & char siew soh. We think the fry carrot cake is really awesome, full of flavours & paired with their special shallot oil, wow.. they are really to die for smile Custard buns are prety good, the fillings just 'burst' out as you bite into them. So fragrant & flowly, best eaten while they were hot! Fry prawn dumplings are piping hot & crispy when served to our table, pretty good as well though a bit oily. Char Siew soh pastry skin is a bit too thick, we still prefer canton Paradise version with fragrant butter pastry skin.

We ordered Pipa duck, wagyu beef & fry mee as main. Wagyu beef was cooked medium rare which is really perfect for our taste buds, so tender & juicy. We highly recommend this dish smile
Pipa duck is another awesome dish. It was all sliced up nicely on a big plate when served to us. The duck meat was tender & juicy with crispy skin attached. The flavour of the duck meat is enhanced as you dipped them into the sweet sesame sauce. Yummylicious we would say for this signature dish! The fry mee was pretty good & flavourful with fresh big prawns, scallops & fish. The only flaw is that this dish is a bit too salty.

Its not a good meal without dessert. So we had fry red bean pancake as finale. Highly recommend this red bean pancake! Very crispy as you bite into them, bursting with smooth & sweet red bean paste. Really make you want to eat one piece after another. 

Overall, the food are really good but the prices are not so 'friendly' to our pockets. Its still a good dinning experience. Staffs are very friendly & attended to our needs promptly. Superb services rendered! =)
 
Date of Visit: Jan 03, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0