OpenRice Index
  
This is cathyng_24 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity357 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos152 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant46 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲10 Follower(s)
cathyng_24  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
Hock Lam Beef OK Jan 19, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Noodles

 

 
Went to have our lunch at Hock Lam Beef. My hubby ordered a angus beef set meal ($15.90) which consists of a serving of braised Australian Angus beef paired with beef flavoured rice ($2.50), braised egg, firm tofu & completed with a serving of fruits. The beef is pretty good. Tender, juicy & flavourful. The little braised egg & tofu is really nice, soft & delicate. Very appettizing when eaten with rice & paired with the thick salty braised sauce.
The rice on the other hand is cooked with beef broth for the extra beef flavour.

I had beef noodles ($9.90) instead. I choose yellow mee (or kway teow / thick mee hoon) with beefballs & ribeye slices in herbal broth. You can choose beef tendon, brisket slices or even mixed beef depending on your preferences. The broth is very flavourful as it is stewed overnight in 13 herbs & ingredients. I love the tender ribeye slices & slightly chewy soft beefballs very much. I add on $2 to have a braised egg, a serving of fruits, salad & a drink which I think is quite worth it.

Overall, we think the food is pretty decent & reasonably priced. However, the variety is very limited so I guess we may not return for dinning again.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Jack's Place OK Jan 11, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills

 

 

 

 
Went to jack's place with my family for lunch today & tried their set meals . The set meal includes soup of the day (broccoli), a slice of garlic bread, main course (choose either grilled chicken or sirloin steak), dessert of the day (panna cotta), complete with either a cup of tea/coffee.

The broccoli soup was good & creamy with tiny bits of prawns in it. Love to dip the garlic bread into the warm soup to enjoy maximum flavours =) My mum & sister ate grilled chicken with orange sauce, mashed potato & broccoli while my father & I had medium rare sirloin steak, mashed potato & broccoli. The chicken is pretty yummy, tender & flavourful paired very well with the sauce. The steak however is not very delicious. I guess is due to the cut of the beef - too much tendon, making it too tough to chew & slice. We all love the mashed potato as it was very smooth & creamy. The broccoli on the other hand was a bit too hard.
Panna cotta was served in a very small dessert glass, topped with red bean. It is a nice combination but I guess it will be even better if the panna cotta is softer.

I guess I will not return to Jack's place for meals again. The set is considered reasonable & cheap but the food is not really that nice.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 11, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mado cafe OK Jan 10, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | Café | Ice Cream and Gelato

 

 
This is our first time having a meal at Mado cafe. They serve western food, pastas & desserts (waffles, ice creams & cakes).

We had a prime ribeye steak ($24.90) & chicken parmigiana ($16.90). The ribeye we had was 200g, medium rare. The ribeye was really tender, juicy & full of flavour with a tinge of herb taste. It comes with a big spoon of black pepper sauce & a bit of mustard with some salad & fries. Pretty presentation & very yummy!

The chicken parmigiana was a southern Italian recipe- breaded chicken layered with cheese & tomato. The breaded chicken was fried till very crispy & goes very well with the melted cheese & tomato, very flavourful indeed.

Unfortunately, we do not like the salad. The menu picture shows broccoli but we were served salad instead. I reckoned they ran out of broccoli? The salad dressing is not very nice, my hubby said it had a weird taste.

Overall, the food is still quite good.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 10, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shisen Hanten Smile Jan 03, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Sichuan | Hotel | Vegetarian | Dim Sum | Seafood

 

 

 

 

 
This is our first time to dine in at Shisen Hanten restaurant at 35th storey of Mandarin Orchard Hotel. We occupied the sofa seats & we must say the view outside was spectacular. We tried a few dim sums such as fry carrot cake, custard buns, fry prawn dumplings & char siew soh. We think the fry carrot cake is really awesome, full of flavours & paired with their special shallot oil, wow.. they are really to die for smile Custard buns are prety good, the fillings just 'burst' out as you bite into them. So fragrant & flowly, best eaten while they were hot! Fry prawn dumplings are piping hot & crispy when served to our table, pretty good as well though a bit oily. Char Siew soh pastry skin is a bit too thick, we still prefer canton Paradise version with fragrant butter pastry skin.

We ordered Pipa duck, wagyu beef & fry mee as main. Wagyu beef was cooked medium rare which is really perfect for our taste buds, so tender & juicy. We highly recommend this dish smile
Pipa duck is another awesome dish. It was all sliced up nicely on a big plate when served to us. The duck meat was tender & juicy with crispy skin attached. The flavour of the duck meat is enhanced as you dipped them into the sweet sesame sauce. Yummylicious we would say for this signature dish! The fry mee was pretty good & flavourful with fresh big prawns, scallops & fish. The only flaw is that this dish is a bit too salty.

Its not a good meal without dessert. So we had fry red bean pancake as finale. Highly recommend this red bean pancake! Very crispy as you bite into them, bursting with smooth & sweet red bean paste. Really make you want to eat one piece after another. 

Overall, the food are really good but the prices are not so 'friendly' to our pockets. Its still a good dinning experience. Staffs are very friendly & attended to our needs promptly. Superb services rendered! =)
 
Date of Visit: Jan 03, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Teppei Syokudo Smile Jan 02, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

 

 

 
We love to eat japanese food. Spotted this store at Takashimaya basement sometime ago & finally get to try today. Tried out one of their best selling product - Big Fry Vegetable & a Aburi Sashimi Salmon Don. I must say the big fry vegetable's price is a bit steep but we reckon their food must be good to earn the long queue & crowd. We were right, the fry vegetable is simply awesome! It was about a 6 inch round fry vegetables. Though it was no longer warm, the vegetables still tasted very yummy & crunchy. In fact, it tasted even better when compared to those being sold in restaurants! We highly recommend this big fry vegetables to all =)

Their Aburi sashimi salmon don is another amazing dish. We can watch the chef prepared the dish on the spot. He was quick in his fish slicing skills & marinating the sashimi. Thereafter he topped the simple bowl of rice with a generous helping of the marinated sashimi & sprinkled some white sesame & spring onions on top. The sashimi were very fresh, well seasoned & flavourful. Thumbs up for the don! =)
 
Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0