OpenRice Index
  
This is cathyng_24 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity357 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos152 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant46 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲10 Follower(s)
cathyng_24  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
Soon Heng Rojak Smile Dec 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

Soon Heng Rojak is very popular with neverending snake-like queues. It was really an interesting phenomenal! We were both puzzled, what is so great about their rojak? I then sent my hubby to join the queue to find out the truth ;)

Even though there were huge orders from customers, the line moved relatively fast. My hubby described the scene to me. It was like a production line where everyone had a role to play. One colleague is in charge taking down orders, another was busy cutting the you tiao (long dough fritters) into smaller pieces. Finally one was busy mixing & putting all the ingredients together on a plate.

My hubby finally got the rojak after waiting for about 15mins. Guess what? We were totally won over after tasting the rojak. The prawn paste was thick & sweet & yet watery enough to coat all the ingredients within.
What I love about the dish is that the peanut shavings were extremely generous & liberal. It certainly add a nice crunch to the entire dish. You tiao & tao pau were also cripsy & cut into mouth bite sizes. I also love the crunchy turnips, big slices of pineapples & thinly sliced cucumbers. All tasted very fresh & is so additive/appetizing!

My hubby never regret queueing for this yummy rojak. Thumbs up. Oh yes, the price is very reasonable starting from $2.50. Do give it a try if you are near the area, but be prepared foe the queue =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shinkei Restaurant OK Dec 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

 

 
Shinkei japanese ala cart buffet is priced at $32++ for lunch & $38++ for dinner. We must say that the food is not exactly of premium quality, but considering the wide selection of food, I guess the price is still reasonable.

 
Buta Kimchi Itame (Stir Fried Pork with Kimchi) is pretty good. Tangy crunch & flavorful pork slices, quite appetizing. Gyozas & tako yaki were yummy. The outer skin of tako yaki is thin & crisp, with generous filling within. The octopus meat is quite chewy.

We recommend their Garlic Fried Rice, very fragrant & the garlic taste lingered in your mouth. Sashimi Moriawase is so so, we had tasted better  & fresher ones. There were many grilled dishes to choose from but noting too fancy that worth mentioning.

Will we go back to the restaurant again? well, probably not unless you are nearby the area & wanted some japanese buffet.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Edge Smile Dec 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet

 

 

 

 
Edge offers Sunday Champagne Brunch, which is priced at $158++ per pax for 4 hours long, from 12pm-4pm. We usually make online reservation one week ahead to make sure we can get our sofa seats! We both think Edge is one of the best Champagne Brunch buffets around in Singapore with unlimited free flow of prestigious champagne brand Veuve Clicquot. Not to worry if you are not a fan of champagne because they also have unlimited serving of fruit juices (Orange juice, carrot, Sugar Cane juice), cocktails, tea & even gourmet coffee.
Our favourite dish is pan seared Foie Gras. Loved the presentation style of the dish. The foie gras is soft & can be served with or without a small piece of bread together with a slice of super sweet orange. Heavenly taste though very sinful for those who are watching your weight tongue
Duck Ravioli with truffle sauce is my favourite too. The sauce was really thick & yummy with flavourful duck meat fillings. The portion was small (only 2 ravioli in a bowl), which is what we wanted so that we had capacity to try more of others!
The Live Grill station is a must try. Their Ohmi Wagyu is to die for, that almost melt in the mouth palate experience! Grilled Pork Collar was good as well as it was very tender. Oh yes, I must higlight that there was also the normal Wagyu beef cut other than the grilled version, however we found them dry & tough. So, probably give that a miss & proceed straight to the live grill station instead! Remember to try the thick, long & flavourful sausages as well!
We love their dessert spread as well. Though I am not a sweet tooth person, but just by looking at the colourful spread of desserts, it really made me smile =)
There were the usual chocolate fondue, mini cupcakes, tarts, icecream, truffle chocolates, waffles, macarons etc. The pretty bluish candy crush mini cakes really caught my eyes. The colours were vibrant & were very well liked by kids.
We love the sticky mango glutinous rice. Chewy glutinous rice with generous mango slices drizzled with sweet, thick syrup. Oh my, I am salivating as I thought of the dessert spread again tongue
Overall, we really had a wonderful & cozy dinning experience at the Edge. We will definitely come back for their weekend brunch buffet again. Thumbs up for their spread of food & excellent staff services.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 07, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Yakiyakibo Smile Dec 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Japanese BBQ/Teppanyaki

 

 

 

 

 

 
We had a craving for japanese food today & settled for yakiyakibo teppanyaki. We ordered a Tamago Salmon Set & also a prawn & chicken set. The set meal comes with a bowl of rice, a bowl of miso soup, a plate of fry vegetables, cold tofu with pork floss in light soya sauce & 2 pieces of oranges.

We both thought that the cold tofu was light & refreshing. The tofu is firm & tasteless, but when paired with the slightly salty soya sauce & sweet pork floss it becomes a brillant appetizer. We were seated right in front of the chef so we could sit back & witnessed the process of how our food were being cooked. 

What we like about the tamago salmon is that the tamago was cooked in perfection, very soft in texture & coated the salmon slightly. The salmon on the other hand is sweet (due to the sauce) & does not break into pieces when you picked them up with chopsticks. 

The chicken dices were flavourful & goes really well with rice. Prawns were fresh & sweet too. We both loved their potato salad. Chunks of potatoes with japanese cucumber were very addictive & appetizing!

There are just too many set meals to choose from. We will definitely come back to try out more dishes! Nice ambience, great food & friendly staffs.  
 
Date of Visit: Dec 10, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

peony Jade Smile Dec 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Sichuan | Restaurant | Dim Sum | Seafood

 

 
My family & I went for their ala cart lunch buffet. We noticed that there were slight changes in the menu compared to the previous visits (which is gd, will be boring if the menu remains the same all these years right?) =)

There were 5 dishes that we could only order once,
- Fresh salmon sashimi
I am the only fan of sashimi. I must say that they were very fresh & sliced into big pieces

- Mushroom dish with Abalone
Our favourite! Love the chewy, flavourful abalone & mushroom with crunchy vegetables

- Fried Soon Hock Fish
Our all time favourite! The fish is fried till very crispy & drizzled with the light soya sauce

- 3 different variety of dim sum
Fried spring roll is crispy. Love the fillings with lots of carrots & turnip
Siew mai is flavourful. I simply love the fish roes on top of the siew mai which added texture when you bite them
Har gao skin is thin & prawn fillings are generous

- spicy hot & sour soup / fish maw soup
We gave this a miss as we wanted to try other dishes

Oh yes, you must remember to try their fried soft shell crabs in thai sauce (can only order once & choose one out of a few other dishes)

 
Prawn & fruit salad is very refreshing & appetizing.

 
Crispy salmon skin, very addictive indeed

 
There were many desserts for us to choose such as ice cream, black sesame paste, red bean paste, mango with pomelo,  sea coconut, almond jelly with fruits & lemongrass jelly. We tried all of them & they are pretty good except the black sesame paste which is a bit too 'diluted'.

 
Of course, all their dishes were delicious. Overall, we had a pleasant dinning experience, the staffs were very efficient & attentive to our needs. Thumbs up for their food & services!
 
Date of Visit: Dec 09, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0