OpenRice Index
  
This is cathyng_24 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity357 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos152 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant46 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲10 Follower(s)
cathyng_24  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hot Pot | Buffet | Kids-Friendly

 

 

 

 

 
This is our first time dining here & we were totally disappointed. We needed to pay at the cashier before going into the restaurant. To our dismay, this place is not an aircon restaurant. Though there were fans around, but can you imagine eating steamboat & bbq for lunch around 12pm? Totally discomfort, hot & sweaty++ due to the scorching sun. All seats are placed outdoors with insufficient shelters and the unbearable heat that is coming out from the bbq & steamboat stove. The fans were also blowing hot air/fumes from other tables bbq stove from different directions. Thus we reckoned eating lunch is definitely a no no but was too late.

We proceed to get some ready to eat food from cooked food section. There were glutinous rice, stir fry broccoli with mushrooms & baby corns, fried nuggets, fried prawns, herbal chicken, shark fin soup. The herbal chicken is quite tasty, the meat is tender & flavourful. We like the herbal chicken soup with a tinge of herbal taste. There is a sushi section with assorted sushi. Nothing special or worth mentioning as they were just basic sushi. We tried a few sushi but they were not very yummy, can't taste the usual vinegar in the rice & the rice was a bit hard.

There were meat section, where different kinds of meat (chicken, beef, duck, chicken wings) can be found. All were marinated (black pepper, cajun, oyster, spice, etc) & put on big plates for people to take. As the meat were prepared & marinated in huge quantity, those meat on the top of the plate appears dry. We must say that the chicken satay were quite good, very flavourful & taste almost like those satay sold outside. The beef were not as good. We tried a few different beef flavours & they all had a bit of weird taste sad Chicken wings were all time favourites for bbq. Most tables including us ate quite a fair bit of the chicken wings. Well marinated wings!

As for the steamboat, there were many ingredients to choose from. Sad to say that my favourite 'tau pok' & beancurd were not very fresh & had a sour taste after we tried them sad The fu zhou fish ball, mushroom balls, fish balls were not bad. There were free flow of drinks & desserts (fresh fruits, 'Cheng Teng', jellies, cream puffs, mini eclairs, mini cakes, assorted ice cream).

The plates & utensils appeared to be not washed properly with stains. We had to wash them ourselves before they were fit for usage. I am really glad that I got a habit to look at my food before I consumed. Guess what did I find? Lots of dead ants & some still crawling in the pool of water where the ice cream scoop was being soaked! I showed my hubby & reminded him to pay attention to his food before consuming.

We are not going back to this place again for dining definitely due to the poor hygiene & dinning atmosphere. Even though there were a variety of ingredients to choose from, but we believe the quality is more important than quantity. I should say this is the worst dining experience we had so far.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 14, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 1  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

天外天潮洲鱼头炉  OK Feb 06, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Seafood | Steamboat/Hot Pot | Zi Char

 
We had tian wai Tian fishhead steamboat for dinner. Being a teochew, I prefer promfet to other fish in the steamboat. The promfet is quite fresh & chopped into pieces for easy eating. The soup has a tinge of ginger taste & there are huge chunks of yam & cabbage as well as a bit of seaweed. I must say the soup is very flavourful. The soup is refillable just in case you need more. However, we are both very thirsty after the meal. We wonder how much ajinomoto is added to the soup tongue 
On the whole, we still enjoy the steamboat. Of course, 黄埔庆鱼头卢 still remains as number 1 in our hearts ;)
 
Date of Visit: Feb 06, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Bali Thai Smile Feb 02, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Indonesian | Vegetarian | Halal

 

 

 

 

 
We wanted to try out a variety of food, so we ordered a total of 5 dishes for our dinner. The Thai mango salad is very refreshing, love the slightly sour mango strips paired with the crispy dried shrimps drizzle with sweet sauce with a bit of chopped red chili. Their combination platter includes rice crackers, Thai fish cake, spring rolls, satay with peanut sauce. I love their fish cake & satay particularly. Very flavourful & chewy fish cake while the chicken satay is soft & tender. The peanut sauce given is pretty generous!

We love the crispy Tahu telok drizzled with the sweet peanut sauce. Simple addictive! Tom yum soup is my all time favourite. Love the fresh seafood (prawns, sotong, mussel) in the soup. A little spicy & sour soup which opens up your appetite & lets you craves for more! Eggplant with minced meat & basil is another awesome dish that you must try. Very flavourful dish, every bite is infused with the basil taste.

The staffs are very attentive to our needs & prompt in their services. Thumbs up. Will definitely come back to Nex to try out other dishes in future.

 
Date of Visit: Feb 02, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hock Lam Beef OK Jan 19, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Noodles

 

 
Went to have our lunch at Hock Lam Beef. My hubby ordered a angus beef set meal ($15.90) which consists of a serving of braised Australian Angus beef paired with beef flavoured rice ($2.50), braised egg, firm tofu & completed with a serving of fruits. The beef is pretty good. Tender, juicy & flavourful. The little braised egg & tofu is really nice, soft & delicate. Very appettizing when eaten with rice & paired with the thick salty braised sauce.
The rice on the other hand is cooked with beef broth for the extra beef flavour.

I had beef noodles ($9.90) instead. I choose yellow mee (or kway teow / thick mee hoon) with beefballs & ribeye slices in herbal broth. You can choose beef tendon, brisket slices or even mixed beef depending on your preferences. The broth is very flavourful as it is stewed overnight in 13 herbs & ingredients. I love the tender ribeye slices & slightly chewy soft beefballs very much. I add on $2 to have a braised egg, a serving of fruits, salad & a drink which I think is quite worth it.

Overall, we think the food is pretty decent & reasonably priced. However, the variety is very limited so I guess we may not return for dinning again.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Jack's Place OK Jan 11, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills

 

 

 

 
Went to jack's place with my family for lunch today & tried their set meals . The set meal includes soup of the day (broccoli), a slice of garlic bread, main course (choose either grilled chicken or sirloin steak), dessert of the day (panna cotta), complete with either a cup of tea/coffee.

The broccoli soup was good & creamy with tiny bits of prawns in it. Love to dip the garlic bread into the warm soup to enjoy maximum flavours =) My mum & sister ate grilled chicken with orange sauce, mashed potato & broccoli while my father & I had medium rare sirloin steak, mashed potato & broccoli. The chicken is pretty yummy, tender & flavourful paired very well with the sauce. The steak however is not very delicious. I guess is due to the cut of the beef - too much tendon, making it too tough to chew & slice. We all love the mashed potato as it was very smooth & creamy. The broccoli on the other hand was a bit too hard.
Panna cotta was served in a very small dessert glass, topped with red bean. It is a nice combination but I guess it will be even better if the panna cotta is softer.

I guess I will not return to Jack's place for meals again. The set is considered reasonable & cheap but the food is not really that nice.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 11, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0