OpenRice Index
  
This is cathyng_24 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity357 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos152 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant46 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲10 Follower(s)
cathyng_24  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
Poh Cheu Smile Dec 22, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese

 

 
Poh Cheu sells many kinds of handmade kuehs such as Ang Ku Kueh, Soon kueh, Png kueh, Ku Chai Kueh, Bamboo shoot kueh, Abacus seeds & glutinous rice. There are different fillings of Ang Ku Kueh ($0.80 each) like Yam, Durian, Peanut, Green tea, salted tau sar, Sesame, mango etc. My favourite filling is Peanut. It is very yummy with chunks of peanut bits & the sweetness is just nice to my liking. The Ku Kueh skin is soft, sticky & chewy. Salted bean filling is very yummy too.

Soon kueh ($0.80 each) are very tasty also with generous turnip fillings. Png kueh fillings are mainly glutinous rice with mushroom, dried shrimps & peanuts. The glutinous rice is of the right texture with a delightful softness & fragrance. It goes well with the usual thick black sauce & their special chilli sauce.

The abacus seeds are moulded into bite sized then boiled before stir-fried with ingredients like mushroom & dried shrimps to give it the desirable taste. It is then garnished with dried shallots & chopped coriander before served. This is my first time eating abacus seeds & I must really give a thumb up.

Overall all their kueh are really superb! We really love it except the long queue tongue
 
Date of Visit: Dec 20, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

momiji japanese Buffet Restaurant Smile Dec 22, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Sukiyaki/Shabu Shabu

 

 

 

 
Momiji Japanese Restaurant offers collagen hotpot in buffet style where you can have it as a steamboat, shabu shabu or even Zosu (Japanese rice porridge). The collagen pudding is simmered over long hours with Kampung chicken. To start off, the collagen pudding will have to cook till it melts, then add some pink rock salt & shoyu into the soup. If you fancy spicy soup, you can add some kimchi paste too.

There is a cooked food section. Our favourite were scallop fried rice & prawn paste mid wings. Rice were fragrant with generous scallops scattered all over the rice while the wings were crispy & well marinated. Lasangna is pretty good too, bursting with cheese as you take a bite!

There are meat section where they serve 3 kinds of meat, beef, pork collar & pork belly. Noodle section consists of somen, udon, instant noodles & crispy noodles. Seafood section is pretty good especially their prawns, so big & fresh! I love the cheese tofu very much, soft & cheesy. Mushroom balls, fishballs, Fu Zhou fishballs etc were very fresh & yummy =)

What we love most is we can create our own dipping sauces. Miso Sesame is my favourite sauce for dipping the meats. They have raw minced meat on bamboo shoot, but I find them not very nice & they separated into smaller chunks till 'disappear' after cooking in the soup tongue

There are dessert corner with fresh fruits, assorted ice creams & petite cakes. The sliced pineapple at the fruit corner were already dried up & looks totally inedible.

Overall, the dinning experience is a good one with lots of hotpot ingredients to choose from.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 21, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sandaime Mikoto Smile Dec 16, 2014   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

 
My sister highly recommends me this restaurant & brought me for dinner this evening. She mentioned that mostly japanese frequently the restaurant. All the staffs were japanese, spoke japanese & menu in mostly japanese wordings too (there is a simple english translation menu too but is slightly different from japanese menu). As my sister had stayed in japan for a couple of years, she is able to converse well with the staff when ordering our food.

 

Unfortunately, the restaurant was booked for the evening, so we could only took outdoor seats. But not to worry, it was very windy sitting outdoor & you could enjoy the scenary while eating. The restaurant offered a compulsory cold appetizer ($5 per person) to start off the meal. It was cucumber & pork in a slightly salty & sticky kind of sauce. The cucumber was very crunchy & paired nicely with the pork. Very appettizing & refreshing indeed. We were very curious about the sticky sauce, so my sister approached the staff & we were told that the sauce is actually some stock mix with a bit of gelatin. Brilliant idea I would say, making the dish unique & yummy.

 

We ordered their signature Mikoto salad as we were both vege lovers. The salad ($9) was really light & good. Love the crunchy roasted cashew nuts bits to max, it really add some texture to the plain salad. The salad sauce is extremely delicious with a light roasted sesame taste. All the vegetables are crunchy except the broccoli which we thought is a bit overcooked. Nevertheless, it is a great dish & we both really love it.

 

Chicken Nambah with tar tar sauce is a must to order dish. The chicken (5 pieces) were deep fried to perfection, cripsy outside & yet juicy & tender when you bite on them. The pinkish tar tar sauce with dice bringal is excellent! It paired so well with the chicken & vege. I guessed I am addcited to this dish already!

 

For our main, we share a plate of yakisoba. We both think that it is too salty & oily for our liking. However, my sister mentioned that she ate their yakisoba previously & tasted extremely yummy, so probably there is a change of chef this evening? The portion of yakisoba was very little tongue


I had yuzu juice ($4) while my sister had hot green tea ($4). We both think that it is slightly expensive as they are not refillable. Our bill added up to about $55+. Overall, the dinning experience was great! We love their food, ambience & staffs were very friendly. We will definitely go back to the restaurant again to try out other dishes =) 
 
Date of Visit: Dec 12, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Prima Deli Smile Dec 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery

 
We got a Truffle logcake from Prima Deli since Christmas is just round the corner. This is our first time eating logcake from Prima Deli & we think that their truffle logcake is pretty yummy. This 1kg logcake is quite huge so is definitely more than enough to share among our whole family (7 adults + 1 kid).

All of us love the pretty presentation with chocolate roses & dark chocolate shavings on the sides of the logcake. One thing that I do not like is the mushy, soft raspberries on top of the cake, not hard to guess that the raspberries were not fresh or were kept too long. 

Apart from that, the chocolate sponge cake is very soft & fluffy. The cream is rich, velvety-smooth & not too heavy. My family members were all chocolate cake lovers, so they enjoyed the cake very much! =) 
 
Date of Visit: Dec 19, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Seoul Yummy Smile Dec 14, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Restaurant

 

 

 

 
My hubby knows that I am a big fan of Korean food, so he brought me to Seoul Yummy for our lunch today. Everything looks nice on the menu & we had difficulty choosing what to eat for lunch! We finally settled for their signatures combo for two ($48.90). We can choose one signature dish, appetizer, dessert & complimentary assorted side dish. Top up another $1.90 for ice lemon tea with Aiyu jelly. 

We had potato pancake for appetizer but it was served only after we were in the midst of eating our main dish! Haha tongue The potato pancake tastes good with the dipping sauce. Love the crispy skin, really made us craved for more. We shared the ice lemon tea as it is quite a big glass. Aiyu jelly with lemon tea is really a nice combination, very thirst quenching. 

Army's stew with assorted meat is very yummy! There are many ingredients inside the big pot such as noodles, beef, chicken, pork, luncheon meat, beancurd, carrot, vegetables, sausages, fish cake, korean rice cake, etc. The soup is very sweet & I love the tomato taste as baked beans are added as well. Very satisfying meal on a rainy day =)

There are 6 small portions of side dishes, simply love them all. My hubby's favourite is the spicy fried ikan bilis. Very addictive indeed! Kimchi is very flavourful & crunchy. The highlight is the dessert. We had Pat Bingsoo, its a bowl of crushed ice, top with soft azuki beans & bits of jelly cubes plus a swirl of yoghurt ice cream. It is a very nice & refreshing dessert but we can't finish the whole bowl as we were already quite full. 

We will definitely return to the restaurant to try their other set meals in future! Thumbs up for the food =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 14, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0