OpenRice Index
  
This is cathyng_24 .
Member 2 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity357 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos152 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant46 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲10 Follower(s)
cathyng_24  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
Sushi Express Cry Dec 13, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

 

 

 
We always see long queues at sushi express at most outlets during peak & non peak hours. We were thus curious to find out how's the food like & why this restaurant attracts people from all walks of life.
Well, ginger, wasabi & green tea are complimentary. There are no Menu available & everything is display on the belt. The most attractive part is that each plate cost only $1.50! That simply explains for the long queue since most restaurants charge at least $2.50 or more per plate! tongue
We had been to the branch at Tampines 1 previously & this round we ate at Westgate outlet as we were nearby shopping. We felt that the variety at Westgate is very limited compared to Tampines 1. We were disappointed having to wait for quite sometime before we found a plate that we wanted to eat. And throughout our 30min meal no more new food is added (except for more inari, salad & desserts like cheesecake, mini cream puffs, jelly pudding) We ate a total of 10 plates but out of these 10 plates, a few were repetition. My hubby were still waiting for new variety to be placed on the belt but gave up eventually & head down to the Johan bakery (basement suprmarket) to buy mentaiki baguette as dinner part 2!
I guess we will not visit sushi express again. Overall food is still ok, well you can't expect much when you are paying only $1.50 per plate right? Guess what, the previous time at Tampines 1 the restaurnt ran out of hot water & customers were told not to take water from the push button in front of us for the green tea. However, they only have one small electric kettle to boil water, thereafter go round the tables to refill customers drink, thus many of the customers including us need to wait for a very long time before we can have our water refill.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 13, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Mikoto Singapore Smile Dec 13, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

 

 

 

 

 
My sister highly recommends me this restaurant & brought me for dinner this evening. She mentioned that mostly japanese frequently the restaurant. All the staffs were japanese, spoke japanese & menu in mostly japanese wordings too (there is a simple english translation menu too but is slightly different from japanese menu). As my sister had stayed in japan for a couple of years, she is able to converse well with the staff when ordering our food.

Unfortunately, the restaurant was booked for the evening, so we could only took outdoor seats. But not to worry, it was very windy sitting outdoor & you could enjoy the scenary while eating. The restaurant offered a compulsory cold appetizer ($5 per person) to start off the meal. It was cucumber & pork in a slightly salty & sticky kind of sauce. The cucumber was very crunchy & paired nicely with the pork. Very appettizing & refreshing indeed. We were very curious about the sticky sauce, so my sister approached the staff & we were told that the sauce is actually some stock mix with a bit of gelatin. Brilliant idea I would say, making the dish unique & yummy.

We ordered their signature Mikoto salad as we were both vege lovers. The salad ($9) was really light & good. Love the crunchy roasted cashew nuts bits to max, it really add some texture to the plain salad. The salad sauce is extremely delicious with a light roasted sesame taste. All the vegetables are crunchy except the broccoli which we thought is a bit overcooked. Nevertheless, it is a great dish & we both really love it.

Chicken Nambah with tar tar sauce is a must to order dish. The chicken (5 pieces) were deep fried to perfection, cripsy outside & yet juicy & tender when you bite on them. The pinkish tar tar sauce with dice bringal is excellent! It paired so well with the chicken & vege. I guessed I am addcited to this dish already!

For our main, we share a plate of yakisoba. We both think that it is too salty & oily for our liking. However, my sister mentioned that she ate their yakisoba previously & tasted extremely yummy, so probably there is a change of chef this evening? The portion of yakisoba was very little tongue

I had yuzu juice ($4) while my sister had hot green tea ($4). We both think that it is slightly expensive as they are not refillable. Our bill added up to about $55+. Overall, the dinning experience was great! We love their food, ambience & staffs were very friendly. We will definitely go back to the restaurant again to try out other dishes =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 12, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

soon heng rojak Smile Dec 11, 2014   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

 

 
Soon Heng Rojak is very popular with neverending snake-like queues. It was really an interesting phenomenal! We were both puzzled, what is so great about their rojak? I then sent my hubby to join the queue to find out the truth ;)
Even though there were huge orders from customers, the line moved relatively fast. My hubby described the scene to me. It was like a production line where everyone had a role to play. One colleague is in charge taking down orders, another was busy cutting the you tiao (long dough fritters) into smaller pieces. Finally one was busy mixing & putting all the ingredients together on a plate.
My hubby finally got the rojak after waiting for about 15mins. Guess what? We were totally won over after tasting the rojak. The prawn paste was thick & sweet & yet watery enough to coat all the ingredients within.
What I love about the dish is that the peanut shavings were extremely generous & liberal. It certainly add a nice crunch to the entire dish. You tiao & tao pau were also cripsy & cut into mouth bite sizes. I also love the crunchy turnips, big slices of pineapples & thinly sliced cucumbers. All tasted very fresh & is so additive/appetizing!
My hubby never regret queueing for this yummy rojak. Thumbs up. Oh yes, the price is very reasonable starting from $2.50. Do give it a try if you are near the area, but be prepared foe the queue =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Soon Heng Rojak Smile Dec 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Food Court

Soon Heng Rojak is very popular with neverending snake-like queues. It was really an interesting phenomenal! We were both puzzled, what is so great about their rojak? I then sent my hubby to join the queue to find out the truth ;)

Even though there were huge orders from customers, the line moved relatively fast. My hubby described the scene to me. It was like a production line where everyone had a role to play. One colleague is in charge taking down orders, another was busy cutting the you tiao (long dough fritters) into smaller pieces. Finally one was busy mixing & putting all the ingredients together on a plate.

My hubby finally got the rojak after waiting for about 15mins. Guess what? We were totally won over after tasting the rojak. The prawn paste was thick & sweet & yet watery enough to coat all the ingredients within.
What I love about the dish is that the peanut shavings were extremely generous & liberal. It certainly add a nice crunch to the entire dish. You tiao & tao pau were also cripsy & cut into mouth bite sizes. I also love the crunchy turnips, big slices of pineapples & thinly sliced cucumbers. All tasted very fresh & is so additive/appetizing!

My hubby never regret queueing for this yummy rojak. Thumbs up. Oh yes, the price is very reasonable starting from $2.50. Do give it a try if you are near the area, but be prepared foe the queue =)
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shinkei Restaurant OK Dec 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Sushi/Sashimi | Buffet

 

 
Shinkei japanese ala cart buffet is priced at $32++ for lunch & $38++ for dinner. We must say that the food is not exactly of premium quality, but considering the wide selection of food, I guess the price is still reasonable.

 
Buta Kimchi Itame (Stir Fried Pork with Kimchi) is pretty good. Tangy crunch & flavorful pork slices, quite appetizing. Gyozas & tako yaki were yummy. The outer skin of tako yaki is thin & crisp, with generous filling within. The octopus meat is quite chewy.

We recommend their Garlic Fried Rice, very fragrant & the garlic taste lingered in your mouth. Sashimi Moriawase is so so, we had tasted better  & fresher ones. There were many grilled dishes to choose from but noting too fancy that worth mentioning.

Will we go back to the restaurant again? well, probably not unless you are nearby the area & wanted some japanese buffet.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0