OpenRice Index
  
Melon Soda
This is Melon Soda . Japanese, Korean are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bakery, Café and Desserts and Cakes, Dim Sum, Ice Cream and Gelato, Cake and Chocolate.
Member 94 First(s)
No. of Review174 Review(s)
編輯推介數目16 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity4449 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos795 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant389 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲191 Follower(s)
Melon Soda  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 174 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fast Food | Halal

It has been quite a while since I last ate breakfast at KFC. Then I came across an advertisement for their new Chocolate Banana Pancakes with Eggs & Hash Brown breakfast and was sold by the time I finished reading the words "Chocolate Banana Pancakes". lol

 
We went to the KFC branch at Fuchun Community Club in Woodlands. We were expecting it to be less crowded than the branch at Causeway Point and to our surprise, there was already quite a number of people having their breakfast. However, there were still several empty seats and so we just chose one near the window. Despite the small crowd, the place was still very clean and neat.

 
We ordered a set of Chocolate Banana Pancakes with Eggs & Hash Brown ($2.95) and a set of Blueberry Pancakes with Eggs & Hash Brown ($2.95). It took a while to prepare our order but we were okay with it since it meant that our food came hot and freshly prepared! Unfortunately, they gave us the wrong order and we got two sets of Chocolate Banana Pancakes with Eggs & Hash Brown instead. We decided to just accept it instead of waiting for them to redo our Blueberry Pancakes order.

 
The pancakes were quite soft and there was a generous amount of chocolate chips in it! I ate it plain and also ate it with the maple syrup for the additional sweetness and I found that I prefer to have the pancakes plain since the chocolate was already sweet enough. However, I thought the banana taste was underwhelmed by the chocolate and I couldn't really taste the banana in a few bites. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the meal! The egg were done just right for me (I added a little butter to it for additional flavour) and the hash brown was crispy on the outside, which added quite a fair bit of crunch when eaten hot!

 
You can also add on a cup of Iced Milo for just $1.00 with the Chocolate Banana Pancakes with Eggs & Hash Brown set, which we did. Unfortunately, the Milo was a bit of a disappointment as I found it too watery and mild in taste.

 
We also got the Egg Tart ($1.00) to try. It was actually written as $1.30 on their menu but the guy who served us took the initiative to inform us that it was only $1.00, which we didn't mind of course. The crust was quite flakey although the inside was like a slightly smoother version of the scrambled egg. However, it was pretty decent in taste!

Overall, the price was quite reasonable and affordable for a fast food restaurant. The fact that the food was yummy was a big bonus, although for the pancakes, it'd have been better if taste of the banana was a little stronger. Nevertheless, I still found it to be value for money. Do give the Chocolate Banana Pancakes with Eggs & Hash Brown set a try if you're going to KFC for breakfast!

Personally, I'd also have love to try their new Chocolate Lovers' Cake ($2.00) but unfortunately, this was only available at lunch time. I guess perhaps this just mean another trip to KFC again pretty soon! lol

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chocolate Banana Pancakes with Eggs & Hash Brown
 
Date of Visit: Nov 17, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Quality Bread @ Four Leaves! Smile Feb 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery

There are quite a number of bakeries located at Causeway Point, leaving consumers really spoilt for choices when it comes to bread varieties. I've tried several breads and cakes from all the bakeries here. One of them is Four Leaves, a long-established chain known for their consistently good quality breads and cakes.

 

 
The Four Leaves branch at Causeway Point is not very big, so the selection of buns offered here can sometimes be a tad limited, at least on two or three times I've been here. But there are usually enough variety in this small but clean and neatly organized outlet to keep me happy!

 
Belgian Waffle ($1.20​)
There was a fresh batch of freshly baked waffles when I went so I took the chance to grab one. These waffles certainly taste good when they are just out from the waffles maker. Slightly sweet and crispy on the outside, it is really quite a pleasure to munch on! Recommended especially if you can get them freshly made!

 
Custard Milk Bits ($1.80)
These are like mini bread and are very soft and moist with a thin layer of custard in between. These little treats are just right especially if you want something light, although I'd recommend enjoying having these with a nice cup of hot chocolate! Yummy!

 
An Pan ($1.20)
I have tried the An Pan (Red Bean Bun) from several bakeries here such as BreadTalk and Mugiya and I personally prefer the one from Four Leaves. The bun is consistently soft and the red bean paste is just the right texture and not overly sweet. Out of the three bakeries, the taste of the An Pan at Four Leaves is the best for me and the portion of red bean paste is also the most plentiful (at least based on the ones I've tried).

 
Coco Exotic ($3.80)
The soft sponge cake is layered with light chocolate mousse with bits of crunchy hazelnut in it, topped with a layer of smooth chocolate ganache. Chocolatey and nutty but not too sweet is how I'd describe it. At $3.80, this is more affordable but just as equally tasty as the other cute cakes from bakeries like the Icing Room.

 

 
Mini World (1 for $0.80, 3 for $2.20, or 5 for $3.30)
Top: Brownie, Little Chocolate Danish, Little Double Twist
Bottom: Little Croissant (Ham & Cheese), Little Chicken Ham

Four Leaves also has a popular range known as "Mini World" which are basically mini breads. It costs $0.80 per piece for each mini bread but if you get 5 pieces, it is only $0.66 each, which is really quite value for money. There are a variety and a balanced mix of both sweet and savoury flavours like Little Chocolate Danish, Little Hawaiian Ham Pizza, and Little Potato Bacon Bun among others. The breads are quite tasty despite the small size and my personal favourites are mini croissant, brownie, chocolate danish and all the other mini chocolate buns and pastries like the oreo one. My only grouse is that not all flavours are available at all times.

In general, I find their breads and cakes here lower priced and more affordable than those like BreadTalk. Four Leaves may not have fancy breads but they make up for it in taste and quality, which has remained consistent throughout the times I've been here. Admittedly though, one thing I would like to see is more new variety of flavours being introduced.

I also find the staff here more courteous and approachable, and they are also quite helpful with queries. Look like Four Leaves will continue to remain as my favourite bakery at Causeway Point for time to come. lol

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Coco Exotic,Snow Blanc,Custard Milk Bits,An Pan,Mini World Series
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Candylicious Wonderland Part 2! Smile Dec 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Kids-Friendly

 
After my trip to Candylicious at the Orchard branch earlier last week, I was thrilled to spot another branch at Sentosa when we went there this week. This store is even bigger than the Orchard branch with 3 big, pretty "trees" outside to up the wow factor. I spotted someone coming out of the store with a really yummylicious-looking chocolate ice cream which got me really revved up for exploring this candy wonderland like I did with the Orchard branch.

Unfortunately, due to time constraints, we were not able to fully browse the store and check out everything in range, much to my disappointment. Our trip was very short and limited to only the front part of the store near the entrance, which incidentally also happened to be where the Butlers chocolate section was. Not that I minded. lol

Being a newly converted fan of Butlers Chocolates, I was thrilled to find that the smaller chocolate boxset that I wanted, which was not available at the Orchard branch when I went, was available here!

 
Butlers Chocolate Assortment ($18.00)
"Butlers signature chocolate assortment features a premium collection of luxury chocolate truffles and pralines in milk, dark and white chocolate."
At $2.00 a piece, it is probably considered a tad steep but generally still comparable to chocolates from some other chocolatiers. The simple yet elegant-looking box came packaged with a ribbon which would make it a really nice gift. My friend was also tempted by the pretty looking Butlers gift boxes and got the Butlers Marc De Champagne flavoured Chocolate Truffles ($19.00) as a gift as well.

Sadly, we didn't get to explore the rest of the shop and try the ice cream that we saw the other customers carrying. But on my next trip to Sentosa, I'll definitely be back to complete my tour to this Candylicious Wonderland! lol

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Butlers,Hershey's
 
Date of Visit: Dec 23, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Candylicious Wonderland! Smile Dec 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook

 
Stepping into Candylicious, I wondered if this was how Hansel and Gretel felt like the moment they first stepped into the candy house. From the catchy exterior to the colorful and lively interior, and not to forget the rows of shelves of candies and chocolates all purposefully displayed with the sole intent of thinning your wallet while fattening you up, this was really no less than a candy wonderland (with a price)!

 
To add to the impression, there was even a small little candy tree in the middle of the store. Just too cute!

 

 
Walking around, I spotted popular and easily obtainable brands like Hershey's & M&M's, but there were quite a number of lesser known brands or brands that are not as accessible as the popular ones like Bloomsberry or Butlers. Also spotted was a "Hello Kitty" section for fans of the cat. If you like Japanese snacks, there was also a section at a corner selling imported snacks like Meiji's MeltyKiss.

 
Other than candies, there were also merchandises like tote bags, cups and other stuff that would also make great gifts! At Candylicious, there is certainly quite a number of possibilities when it comes to gift ideas. If you are short on time or feeling lazy, you can grab one of the nicer packaged chocolate box or hamper to go, or if you want a more "customized" gift, then you can just grab any of their products like the teddy bear, or a "container" like the trolley or tin can, buy a few candies, chocolate bars or lollipops and throw them all together and wrap it up as a gift!

 
Like this example, just wrap it up and it's all good to go!
- Tin Can ($5.00)
- Butlers Hazelnut Milk Chocolate Bar ($5.50)
- Hershey's Symphony Chocolate Bar ($2.50)
- Reese's 2 Peanut Butter Cup ($2.50)
- Meiji Torotto Chocolate Cubes ($2.50)

I was initially planning to get the above set but then I changed my mind and got these instead:

 
Butlers Chocolate Caramels & Hazelnut Pralines ($16.00)
Butlers Hazelnut Milk Chocolate Bar ($5.50)
Reese's 2 Peanut Butter Cups ($2.50)


Total price came up to $24.00, which was a tad pricey in my opinion, but I think it's okay to indulge once in a while! The Butlers Hazelnut Pralines were pretty awesome by the way! I'm definitely a converted fan of this brand despite the price. Unfortunately, the boxset that I wanted in a smaller size was not available for sale in the store despite seeing the same boxset in a hamper sold in the store. However, the staff who was walking around assisting customers was very patient and helpful with all my queries which more than made up for the disappointment. He was also very attentive and there was an instance when he took the initiative to pass me a basket to put the chocolates I was carrying in. I put the basket back since it was easier for me to walk around without the basket, but he passed me another basket after a while! Thumb up for the excellent service and for making the "tour" in wonderland a pleasant experience!

Overall, the stuff here can get a tad pricey, but I think that there are some really nice finds here which would make really decent gifts as well! Worth paying a trip to Candylicious whether you just want a treat for yourself or a gift for someone special! lol

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Butlers Chocolate,Reese's Peanut Butter Cups,Hershey's Symphony
 
Date of Visit: Dec 19, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Sushi and Desserts at Kuriya! Smile Nov 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi


 

Wanted something light so I went to Kuriya for their range of sushi. As they are also sharing the premise with Wadori and Ichiban Bento, the place was very crowded when I went. I changed my mind about dining in and decided to takeaway instead due to the lack of seats.

 

I love the rows of colourfully displayed sushi. Despite the variety, everything was well organized and neatly arranged with carefully placed signs stating the sushi name and price. Service was also decent. While it was mostly pay-and-go for me, I noticed that the counter lady was patient with the customer before me who took her time paying. 

 

I got the Egg Mayo Sushi ($0.70), Tamago Maki ($0.60) and Kani Mayo Sushi ($0.80). The sushi came with one packet of soy sauce. I like that the sushi were very fresh. I chilled them for a while upon reaching home so that they were cold when I ate them and they tasted great! These sushi are best eaten fresh and chilled!

 

I also got the California Handroll ($2.40), which had crab stick, tamago, cucumber slices and roe wrapped in seaweed. It was very fresh and tasty. The crabstick and tamago were firm and slightly springy - not soggy - and the seaweed was crisp. The cucumber slices also gave an additional crunch to the handroll!

I have also tried a few of their sushi previously, such as the Inari Sushi ($1.80) which was basically beancurd skin stuffed with a decent portion of rice inside and was delightfully sweet.

Other than sushi, Kuriya also sells a range of Japanese desserts such as Konnyaku Jelly ($1.20 for one piece), Mango Pudding ($2.10), and Mochi ($3.00 for Peanut, Match and Red Bean, and $3.20 for Strawberry, Chocolate, Mango, Yam and Black Sesame). My favourite dessert from Kuriya is the Coronet ($2.40 for 2). This chilled pastry came in custard or chocolate filling and was delightfully sweet and delicious! To my disappointment, this was not available for sale when I visited Kuriya this time. 

 

Instead, I got the Fiesta Mini Japanese Cheesecake ($2.40) which was also sold at Kuriya. It came looking somewhat like steamed cake with a cute cow embross on it. It was very, very light and airy and had a slight cheese taste. I liked that it was not too sweet, though it was just a tiny wee bit dry and broke off way too easily. 

 

I have also previously tried their Chocolate Mousse ($2.10), Peanut Mochi ($3.00) and Green Tea Mochi ($3.00). The Chocolate Mousse was very smooth and creamy with a decent chocolate taste. It was also slightly thicker than I had initially expected. The Mochi were very soft and chewy and the fillings were smooth and tasty. 

 


Overall, their food, especially the sushi, were very fresh. Their prices were also reasonable although Kuriya's sushi costed slightly more than the other nearby sushi store at Woodlands MRT. However, when it came to quality, Kuriya won hands down. The rice portion was also slightly more at Kuriya and their sushi were more carefully packed. I personally felt that it was worth paying a bit more for the quality and freshness! Other than their sushi, I'd also recommend trying the desserts at Kuriya, especially the Coronet, Cheesecake and Mochi. Just be sure to check the expiry date of the desserts if you plan on keeping them for a while as I have noticed that most tend to expire within a few days.

[Review from mobile]
 
Recommended Dish(es):  California Handroll,Coronet,Mochi,Japanese Cheesecake
 
Date of Visit: Oct 27, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0