OpenRice Index
  
zeec
This is zeec . Japanese, Indian, Vietnamese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Ramen, Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 17 First(s)
No. of Review136 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity377 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos565 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant119 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲119 Follower(s)
zeec  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 136 Reviews in Singapore
Won't be coming back Cry Dec 20, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

I ate at the Raffles City branch a few years back and remembered the food and service to be pretty good. However, last night's meal at the Central branch makes me feel that the standard has dropped vastly. Either that or it's just this branch that needs major improvements.

Self-grilled Beef Steak

Self-grilled Beef Steak

 

I ordered the Self-grilled Beef Steak set ($29) for myself, which consists of the beef, rice, miso soup, salmon sashimi (3 slices), chawanmushi, sliced cucumber appetizer, cold tofu and a wedge of orange.

Here's why I was pretty unhappy with my meal (everything added up and made the experience quite unpleasant).

1) The cup that my plain water came in had a lipstick mark on it. When I told a waitress about it, she didn't apologize or say anything, just nodded her head and gave me another cup. Surely you should apologize for using a dirty cup?

2) The beef steak was served on a hot plate and lo and behold...the hot plate wasn't...hot. Yes, you heard me right. It was only slightly hot and the temperature dropped before I could finish cooking all the sliced beef. The beef slices are thin and the fact that all of them were still quite red on one side shows how un-hot the plate was. I didn't complain because the staff were all very nonchalant and I could make do with medium rare slices.

3) My set includes chawanmushi but I think there wasn't enough chawanmushi at that time so they served my set without it, which is fine but they should have informed me. I only realized it after a while and asked them how come the chawanmushi was left out, and the waiter said they will serve it to me later. However, nearing the end of my meal, it still hadn't come so I checked with them. After I finished my meal, it still wasn't here so I asked them about it again. We waited for about 10 mins and the chawanmushi was finally out. Even then, it wasn't very nice as the egg was really really soft, as though too much water was added or it wasn't steamed long enough.

Next to us was this guy who also repeatedly asked the staff for his sushi roll because he had waited really really long for it (I was there later than him and I also waited reallyyyy long for my food to come, and even then, my set came earlier than his sushi roll).

Because of all that I had encountered last night, I'm very sure that I will not be coming back again, at least to this outlet. Hope their management sees this and will do something to improve their standards.
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Substandard & Expensive Food Cry Nov 17, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Multi-Concept | Kids-Friendly

I think this was the only restaurant within the River Safari compound, so we had lunch here out of convenience.

Dumpling Ramen

Dumpling Ramen

 

I got myself the dumpling ramen which was quite bad. Everything tasted pretty artificial and processed. I couldn't even bring myself to eat more than one dumpling. I'm the kind who hates to waste food, hence this says a lot. My boyfriend had the chicken cutlet ramen which was a better choice.

Lotus Chips & Pickled Cucumber

Lotus Chips & Pickled Cucumber

 

These were the sides that came with our noodles. Nothing nice either.

Panda Pau with Red Bean Filling

Panda Pau with Red Bean Filling

 

My friend got the panda pau which was cute but not sure how it tasted.
 
Spending per head: Approximately $17(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tuna San - Seared Tuna Salad Cry Feb 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Stall / Kiosk | Salads

 
This is my second time at Salad Stop and I had the Tuna San this time, which consisted of seared tuna slices, romaine, diced avocado, edamame, cherry tomatoes, mandarin orange wedges, black & white sesame seeds and wasabi honey soy dressing.

Somehow I was not very satisfied this time and I preferred Go Geisha which I had previously. I felt like the ingredients did not go well together, especially the orange wedges. For those who are afraid the dressing might be too spicy, it is not. There is only the slightest hint of wasabi. I feel that this salad is really way too expensive and it was not even nice (in my opinion). I'll probably still try out the other salads next time but definitely not Tuna San.

 
Date of Visit: Feb 14, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $13(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Food was soso Cry Dec 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Pasta

My family and I had dinner here on a weekday evening. Even though it was a Wednesday, the restaurant was filled up by 7pm. This place has a very casual ambience which is great for big group gatherings. We ordered the following to share among the 4 of us – the amount was just right and filled us all up smile

Wild Truffled Mushroom$26
This is their most popular pizza hence we decided to order this. The toppings included shitake and button mushrooms, wild rocket leaves, onions, some truffle shavings and truffle oil, and parmesan cheese. Perhaps I’m not a fan of truffle hence this pizza was pretty ordinary to me. Not something I’d order again.

 
Mushroom Risotto $20
My sister really loved this dish but not for me... While their mushroom risotto was nice and flavourful, they had added other ingredients such as peas, carrot, herbs and hazelnuts which did not spoil the taste but had overpowered the mushroom fragrance. As such this was the dealbreaker for me - a mushroom risotto that looked and tasted more like a mixed ingredients risotto sad

 
Old-Fashioned American Sliders $24
We chose the mushroom and bacon option for our sliders (min-burgers), which were served with normal French fries as well as sweet potato fries. The beef patty was extremely dry and tasteless and the mushroom & bacon were kinda dry and tasteless as well. French fries were so-so while the sweet potato fries were really sweet, I think they were even coated in sugar or something?

Thai Crispy Beef Salad $15
This was a chef’s recommendation but when it arrived at our table we were all disappointed as it was not what we had expected. Basically what was presented on the plate was a bunch of green salad leaves on one side, and some fried beef strips on the other side. Extremely mediocre, not something I’ll order again as well.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Really failed my expectations :( Cry Dec 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant

We bought the groupon for MAD'S champagne brunch for $58 (UP$108), which includes free flow champagne, juices, coffee/tea, dim sum, as well as 1 starter, 1 main course & 1 dessert per person. The menu can be found here: http://www.modernasiandiner.com/menu.php

The restaurant interior was very spacious with brightly coloured hot pinks walls and tables. My partner and I were shown to a cozy little booth which I really liked. At each table, there was an iPad so we could just send our order electronically, which was way more convenient than trying to get a waiter's attention. That said, even though there was a self ordering system, there were sufficient staff around who were helpful and responded very quickly.

 
Josper-grilled Cuttlefish and Teriyaki Portobello Mushroom Toast (starter): I ordered this for myself. The white strips are the cuttlefishwhich were a little fishy. The entire dish was served at room temperature too so this was pretty disappointing. The only saving grace was the mushrooms, which were extremely flavourful.

 
Lobster and Crab Benedict (main): This dish was served cold so it was yet another disappointing dish. The lobster and crab meat were placed between the 2 poached eggs and one piece of bread. While the yolk was runny, just the way it should be, everything else was mediocre and just really ruined my meal.

Other dishes that were ordered..

Butter Chilli Soft Shell Crab (starter): Ordered by my partner, this was soft shell crab drizzled with chilli sauce. Even though it was a recommended dish, this was not nice at all. The soft shell crab was hard and the chilli was just extremely normal chilli sauce.

Josper-grilled Wagyu Beef Claypot Rice (main): Ordered by my partner, this was sliced wagyu beef served on top of claypot rice. Both of us felt that the beef was okay, however the rice was really dry and not flavoured at all, with some mushroom slices mixed in.

Watermelon Granita Panna Cotta Parfait (dessert): This was served in a cup with the panna cotta at the base, followed by watermelon slush then topped with poached pear and sago. Everything was just ok or glen, nothing memorable.

Chilled Mango Sago and Pomelo and with Honeycomb Ice Cream (dessert): This was nice, sweet and creamy with mango goodness.the only dish that didn't fail our expectations.

Towards the end of our meal, we ordered two dimsum items. After a pretty long time they still didn't arrive so we checked with the waitress, who said that all the dim sum items are finished. However, we still saw the staff serving baskets of them to other customers when we left, and even saw that dimsum were still being made in the kitchen. Was a little unhappy about this but didn't clarify with thestaff since we were already quite full. Anyway I couldn't believe that the dimsum items which were supposed to be free flow could be sold out so quickly, hmph.

With the price I paid, I really expected much much better food. We'll not return again.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $58(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0