OpenRice Index
  
zeec
This is zeec . Japanese, Indian, Vietnamese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Café and Ramen, Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 17 First(s)
No. of Review136 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity377 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos565 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant119 My Restaurant(s)
Follow10 Following
粉絲119 Follower(s)
zeec  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 136 Reviews in Singapore
Frozen Yoghurt Smile Feb 21, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Frozen Yogurt


Menchie’s is a pretty new frozen yoghurt place in Vivocity. I went to check it out one day during lunch. The store was pretty big with quite number of seats and a private room for parties/big groups of people.

It’s a self-service kind of place but don’t worry, there’s a friendly staff who’s always looking on you just in case you need any help. There’s no small/medium/large cup size at Menchie’s, instead how much you pay depends on the weight of your cup after you’ve filled it up with your frozen yoghurt and toppings. Hence it’s totally customizable to how much you want to eat.

First you grab a cup then proceed to walk all the way in to the frozen yoghurt station, where there are many flavours of yoghurt ice cream (around 10 flavours if I don’t remember wrongly, ranging from tart, cookies & cream, vanilla, peanut butter etc) for you to take your pick from. There’s no limit as to how many flavours you can put into one cup. After picking the flavour, you go to that machine and pull a lever down, and the yoghurt ice cream will come swirling out slowly. Next, go to the toppings section on your right, where there’re fruits, granola, nuts, seeds, cereal and gummy toppings. Add whichever toppings you want and when you’re done, proceed to the cashier and place your cup directly on their digital weighing machine. Over there you can see the weight of your cup and how much you need to pay.

 
I selected ‘Tart’ (which is the original flavour) and added some cereal, coco pops and sunflower seeds. My cup weighed about 135g and the cost came up to $4.55. It was not bad, though I feel it’s pretty expensive. The tartness was just right and the frozen yoghurt was really really cold. Toppings were also fresh and crispy. The only thing that might make me think twice about buying their frozen yoghurt again is the cost sad If you look at the photo above, you can see that they provide really cute spoons which are of a really good material! Some of you may even want to give it a wash and bring it back home, as it’ll really be a waste to throw it away after one use tongue
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tart Frozen Yoghurt
 
Date of Visit: Feb 21, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Baby Crayfish Salad! Smile Feb 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Restaurant

It's my dad's birthday month and as he's a member, he gets to enjoy 50% off the total bill for his first visit, and 30% off for the 2nd visit. We had already utilized the first visit and we're back to utilize the 2nd visit discount as their food is great smile which is unbeknownst to most people.

 
Baby Crayfish Salad $15
I had a really heavy breakfast so I decided to get a salad for lunch. Their crayfish salad was quite a big portion, consisting of chunks of romaine lettuce, sliced avocado, baby crayfish coated in mayo topped with flying fish roe. Their dressing was homemade wafu dressing with a drizzle of chilli mayo, hence you can taste the slightest hint of spice in the dressing. Everything was really nice and fresh, and I loved the different textures of all the ingredients - the crunch of the lettuce, the sweet and bouncy crayfish and creamy mayo, and the tiny bursts of flying fish roe. I loved this smile Highly recommended!

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Baby Crayfish Salad
 
Date of Visit: Feb 25, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Love their steamboat! Smile Feb 05, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Steamboat/Hot Pot

I had dinner here with my colleagues previously and I liked it so much that I decided to bring my family here to try out their steamboat!

The tables were big and the whole place was pretty spacious, so we felt very comfortable dining here. Service was also good and prompt and all their staff are all really friendly and helpful.

We ordered the following for 4 of us and the portions were just right for us.

 
Superior Broth & Tom Yam Soup $15.60
We got the yuan yang pot, meaning we chose 2 kinds of soup. The tom yam soup was way too spicy for me, but my mom and colleague who love spicy food really liked it. However even they found it spicy. The superior broth was normal, nothing special. Previously I had the pork bone broth which I thought is much better than the superior broth.

 
Marinated Sliced Pig Trotter $11.50
My sis wanted to try this cooked dish in addition to the steamboat. This was not bad, it was well marinated and not too salty.

 
Sliced Beef $11.80
We got the more expensive version (which isn’t listed on their normal menu) as the waitress had recommended it the last time I was here and I liked it. I thought this was really quite good, the portion and quality was well worth the price.

Sliced Kurobuta Pork $6.90
This was also nice with a nice amount of fats to give the meat flavour.

Beef Tripe $5.90
This wasn’t nice.. it was just tasteless & rubbery.

Pig Skin $4.90
This was nice and fresh and provided a nice ‘crunchy’ bite to it.

 
Spinach $3.90
The first thing I noticed was how fresh, clean and beautiful the leaves were.

Lamian $4.90
There was a strong kee/alkaline taste, like yellow noodles. Didn’t like this.

Golden Mushroom $4.90

Button Mushroom $4.90

Prawn Paste $6.90

I loved this! The prawn meat wasn't mashed completely such that you could still taste a few small prawn chunks here and there, and the sweet prawny taste was still very evident even though it's a paste. Very fresh.

Handmade meatball $6.90
I don't normally like meat balls but these were reallyyyy good. You could obviously tell these were handmade and you could still see the meat sinews. Highly recommended.

 
Handmade fried beancurd $5.90
I loved this too. Apparently you can eat it straight when it's served but I did not try it this way.

Bitter Gourd $3.90
Nice and fresh.

I really love the quality of the food here and I'll definitely be back even though it's 1 hr journey from my house!

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork Bone Broth,Sliced Beef,Sliced Kurobuta Pork,Prawn Paste,Handmade Meatball,Handmade Fried Beancurd
 
Date of Visit: Jan 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $32(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Delicious food! Smile Dec 19, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indonesian | Halal

We were here on a weekday night. Since this was in the CDB area and it was after office hours, the entire mall was rather quiet, including the restaurant. However, while we were here, there were about 10 other tables that were occupied too and just like us, everyone seemed to be enjoying their food very much smile

While we were waiting for our food, the waitress served us a small basket of belinjau chips (chips that are made from the belinjau fruit) like most other Indonesian restaurants do. We thought these were complimentary however we realized that they cost $1.20 when we looked at the receipt. I think they should let customers know that they aren't complimentary as just serving it to us without saying anything is very misleading. I guess this is like how Chinese restaurants serve peanuts which are actually not complimentary.

 

 
We ordered the following 2 dishes to go with our rice, which was wrapped in banana leaf, giving the rice a subtle fragrance. The rice is free-flow so don't be shy to ask for more servings to go with the delicious dishes!

 
Petai Beans with Sambal
Petai beans are not commonly eaten in Chinese cuisine, I think it's more common in Malay and Indonesian cuisine. For those who have not heard of petai beans, they are flat beans that are green in colour, and when they're cooked, the texture is crunchy and brittle in a good way. I LOVE petai beans hence when I saw this on their menu, I immediately ordered it. Their petai beans are stir-fried in sambal, a very lovely sweet and spicy sauce. The beans were nice and crunchy (very addictive) and the sauce was extremely yummy even on it's own. Just give me the sauce to eat with plain white rice and I'd be happy tongue

 
Fish with Otah
This was a whole fish with otah paste slathered over and around the fish, 'marinating' the fish with the otah spices in the process. The otah here wasn't the firm type of otah you tend to eat outside. Instead, it was kinda watery and mushy but not in a gross way, it still tasted very good.

We saw that most of the other tables ordered tahu telur, will try it the next time we come back! smile

P.S. There's 15% off everything for Citibank cardholders, no min spend!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Petai beans with sambal,fish with otah
 
Date of Visit: Dec 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Eggs Florentine @ Symmetry! Smile Nov 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | French | Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Brunch


An indie cafe located somewhere along Haji Lane/Arab St area - much more accessible than I thought - it was really crowded when my friend I and dropped by on a Sunday around 2pm. Hence it's advisable to make a reservation at least a week in advance if you intend to drop by during the weekend.

 
Most restaurants in Singapore only serve Eggs Benedict, hence when I saw that when they had Eggs Florentine (spinach in place of ham), I ordered them immediately. The eggs were done PERFECTLY, runny and full of yolky goodness mad And the spinach was really nice too - soft and creamy smile This is honestly the best eggs florentine/benedict I've had in Singapore. With the added hashbrown, this dish really filled me up hence I thought it was pretty value for money smile

I'll DEFINITELY return!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Eggs Florentine
 
Date of Visit: Nov 24, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0