OpenRice Index
  
jacqsowhat
This is jacqsowhat living in Sengkang. I am a Audio Producer I also love Desserts and Cakes, Ramen, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review46 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity124 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos44 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant45 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲21 Follower(s)
jacqsowhat  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 46 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya | Halal

Full review:http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2015/07/old-bibiks-famous-peranakan-rendang.html

The idea behind Old Bibik now is to package traditional Nyonya dishes in a fast food concept at wallet friendly prices. Old Bibik's Peranakan Kitchen started out in 2012 as a food stall at the former Lavender Food Square, I'm sure some of us would know of. They have then expanded the menu to include traditional favorites such as the Ayam Buah Keluak, Udang Nenas Masak Lemak etc. No doubt the Beef Rendang was the highlight, braised beef is slow cooked for hours till tender in their special rempah sauce. The beef chunks were soft and tender, accompanied with the rich rempah sauce. It is also an ideal place for lunch with it's affordable lunch sets a5 $5 nett. Fellow muslim friends can find joy dining here too with a wide range of items.

 
 
Date of Visit: May 28, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Known for their taro desserts OK Feb 11, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Hotel | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Chinese Soup | Steaks and Grills

http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2015/02/froth-cafe-big-hotel.html
I've been seeing plenty of instagram post about this place especially the hype of their signature Taro waffle, which looks so appetizing. The menu is pretty extensive ranging from burgers to meats and seafood. For sides we had the signature Doritos Crust Winglets ($11.90). The spicy Doritos were topped on the confit winglets, a crunch in every bite. And the best thing (for me) is, this winglets were boneless! The chicken meat were tender and juicy but overall be warned that it's a tad spicy. Seafood Tom Yum Risotto ($23.90). The richness of the tom yum flavour is fragrant but too overwhelming for me. It's so strong that it became quite spicy and salty for the whole dish. Cheesy Lobster Sandwich ($22.90) which is their all time signature. Unfortunately, this dish was a big disappointment. The lobsters weren't too fresh and felt mushy. Fried Chicken Steak ($18.90). It's fried chicken thigh, roasted mushrooms, greens and truffle mash. The chicken texture were juicy and tender but felt that it's under seasoned.

 
Taro Waffle ($12.90) served with single scoop of ice cream: deconstructed taro waffle were presented beautifully, drizzled over with taro sauce. Go for the earl grey ice cream! The waffle were stuffed with taro paste in it. It's not the crispy and light kind of waffle due to the yam filling in it. It leans more towards the pancake kind of texture instead. Just wondering about consistency as I've seen many different versions on Instagram. Overall, the food werent pretty decent, froth sure look promising but still lacking.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 07, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Revamped Sakura Smile Feb 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Halal | Buffet

Full review: http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2015/02/sakura-international-buffet-yio-chu-kang.html
Sakura YCK has recently revamped it's storefront and showcase 8 different cuisines from Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Thailand, US, France and Singapore - all in one place. Some of the special dishes like Boston Lobster & Argentina Red Prawn Hokkien Mee, Baked Egg Tart w Bird's Nest and free flow of Liu Sha Bao. most of these are avaliable for dinner only $30.90++ onwards. My favorite top item were the bird nest egg tarts, they were crispy on the crust and a slight tinge of bird nest flavor in the egg.

 
I like how there's a mini steamboat for every table now for shabu shabu dining. Another highlight now is Belgian Chocolate Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream with Chocolate Lava Cake. This is truly indulgence on every level especially if it's free flow. also dinner only. So i would suggest going for the dinner because most of the good food are there. And it's halal!

 
 
Date of Visit: Jan 15, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable & good OK Jan 17, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Brunch

Full review: http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2015/01/23-jumpin-cafe-tai-seng.html
23 Jumpin Cafe is probably one of the newest kid in the cafe hopping scene, being a few months old. Located in the isolated industrial estate but thankfully it's a stone throw away from Tai Seng MRT Station. Upon reaching the Commerze building, I was surprised to find a stretch of restaurants and salad bars together with 23 Jumpin. Tried Egg Benedict, the hollandaise sauce were rich and creamy, the english muffins were slightly toasted as they soak up the egg yolk. The eggs were poach perfectly, with the ham adding on the savoury taste. Overall nicely done. Went ahead with Spicy Bacon & Ham Aglio Olio ($12) in the specialities menu. The spiciness was strong enough to get the kick, as well as a generous portion of bacons and ham. Other than the noodles being a tad hard, the overall taste were delectable.
Charcoal Waffle w Ice Cream ($9), was my main reason for visiting 23 Jumpin. Choice of ice cream, Vanilla or Chocolate. For a gourmet waffle with ice cream priced below $10 is really reasonable. The texture of the waffle were crispy and fluffy within, the only let down was the ice cream. A small space with minimal decor, no fanciful walls or anything. But I've to say the service were sincere, reasonable pricing and tasty food.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fresh seafood Smile Dec 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Multi-Cuisine | Seafood

Full review: http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2014/12/oceans-of-seafood-pasarbella-singapore.html
I was impressed at the freshness of the seafood here. It allows me to experience Japan once again, at the famed Tsukiji Fish Market right here at Oceans of Seafood in PasarBella. They are currently a tuna feast promotion where 50% off usual prices. This is also where you get to enjoy top-notch quality seafood without the hefty price tags. I'm thankful to have the honoured to witness an exclusive live Bluefin Tuna cutting demonstration performed by Chef Mizu San. This live demonstration has indeed transport me back to the heart of the Tsukiji Fish Market in Tokyo.
The Chutoro Sashimi - Total shiokness and freshness. There weren't any fishy taste and it's so fresh that it sort of melts in your mouth on your first bite. Really good! Lastly for the tuna dishes, there's Negitoro Chirashi. The rice grain used were from Hokkaido, slightly more fragrant than the usual sushi rice. I wish they used Chutoro in the Chirashi instead of Negitoro. Also we had the Boston lobster. The meat within were so fresh and succulent, every bite full of satisfaction. Be sure to dip into the sauce given, especially the garlic butter sauce, my eye literally lit up after I took a bite of it.
It's worth value especially with the various promotions going on.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 10, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0