OpenRice Index
  
jacqsowhat
This is jacqsowhat living in Sengkang. I am a Audio Producer I also love Desserts and Cakes, Ramen, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review46 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity124 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos44 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant45 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲21 Follower(s)
jacqsowhat  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 46 Reviews in Singapore
Known for their taro desserts OK Feb 11, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Hotel | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Chinese Soup | Steaks and Grills

http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2015/02/froth-cafe-big-hotel.html
I've been seeing plenty of instagram post about this place especially the hype of their signature Taro waffle, which looks so appetizing. The menu is pretty extensive ranging from burgers to meats and seafood. For sides we had the signature Doritos Crust Winglets ($11.90). The spicy Doritos were topped on the confit winglets, a crunch in every bite. And the best thing (for me) is, this winglets were boneless! The chicken meat were tender and juicy but overall be warned that it's a tad spicy. Seafood Tom Yum Risotto ($23.90). The richness of the tom yum flavour is fragrant but too overwhelming for me. It's so strong that it became quite spicy and salty for the whole dish. Cheesy Lobster Sandwich ($22.90) which is their all time signature. Unfortunately, this dish was a big disappointment. The lobsters weren't too fresh and felt mushy. Fried Chicken Steak ($18.90). It's fried chicken thigh, roasted mushrooms, greens and truffle mash. The chicken texture were juicy and tender but felt that it's under seasoned.

 
Taro Waffle ($12.90) served with single scoop of ice cream: deconstructed taro waffle were presented beautifully, drizzled over with taro sauce. Go for the earl grey ice cream! The waffle were stuffed with taro paste in it. It's not the crispy and light kind of waffle due to the yam filling in it. It leans more towards the pancake kind of texture instead. Just wondering about consistency as I've seen many different versions on Instagram. Overall, the food werent pretty decent, froth sure look promising but still lacking.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 07, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Affordable & good OK Jan 17, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Brunch

Full review: http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2015/01/23-jumpin-cafe-tai-seng.html
23 Jumpin Cafe is probably one of the newest kid in the cafe hopping scene, being a few months old. Located in the isolated industrial estate but thankfully it's a stone throw away from Tai Seng MRT Station. Upon reaching the Commerze building, I was surprised to find a stretch of restaurants and salad bars together with 23 Jumpin. Tried Egg Benedict, the hollandaise sauce were rich and creamy, the english muffins were slightly toasted as they soak up the egg yolk. The eggs were poach perfectly, with the ham adding on the savoury taste. Overall nicely done. Went ahead with Spicy Bacon & Ham Aglio Olio ($12) in the specialities menu. The spiciness was strong enough to get the kick, as well as a generous portion of bacons and ham. Other than the noodles being a tad hard, the overall taste were delectable.
Charcoal Waffle w Ice Cream ($9), was my main reason for visiting 23 Jumpin. Choice of ice cream, Vanilla or Chocolate. For a gourmet waffle with ice cream priced below $10 is really reasonable. The texture of the waffle were crispy and fluffy within, the only let down was the ice cream. A small space with minimal decor, no fanciful walls or anything. But I've to say the service were sincere, reasonable pricing and tasty food.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 03, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Laid back ambience OK Nov 03, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Pasta | Burgers and Sandwiches

It's a great place to chill out with friends with it's laid back ambience like cafes in Aussie. Coffee brews starting from $5.50 feature blends by local roasters such as Nylon beans.

Matcha Latte was decent, the powdering taste was quite overbearing that itches the throat. Truffle Fries ($10), The fries wasn't infuse richly with truffle flavor though. Otherwise, it's pretty pleasant. Carbonara ($18), the cream sauce was rich in flavor, the poached egg brings it to a whole new level with it's yolk. Rosti Omelette ($14.50), For that price, I wish they would be more generous with the portion.

 
Heard that it was homemade pizza crust so we decided to go ahead with Pulled Pork Pizza ($18). Thin crust pizzas can never go wrong, pulled pork was well marinated and flavorful. Definitely works well for sharing. The Assembly Ground would be one of my choice for cuppa in town or probably before a movie at the Cathay.

Full review: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/11/the-assembly-ground-cathay-singapore.html
 
Date of Visit: Oct 03, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Colored burgers OK Oct 24, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Restaurant | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Salads | Brunch

Eggs and berries have recently launched their colored burgers in all 3 branches. glad to be able to try it at the third branch, which is newly opened at jurong point. We tried all burgers except the black one which is squid ink. the prices are charged based on the patty, chicken, pork, beef and lamb. I personally like the pork and beef more which it's tender and juicy that i can sink my teeth into. Out of the 3 buns we tasted, the turmeric curry bun has the most distinctive taste while the rest were very subtle.

 
One of the mains to expect is Aglio Olio King River Prawn ($19.90), it was quite disappointing though. The flesh werent fresh. Egg Benedict was not bad but the hollandise sauce was lacking imo. For desserts, we go for mango tango which are mini pancakes stucked as well as Over the rainbow which are waffles with medley of fresh fruits. Overall, some were good while some fell short. Burgers worth trying in my opinion! smile

Full review:http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/10/eggs-berries-jurong-point.html

 
Date of Visit: Oct 09, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

nice place to chill over meat OK Jun 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

The garden slug is highly raved to be a hidden gem in the east by bloggers and online reviews. Out of curiosity, we decided to check them out during the weekend. It may seems inaccessible as it's not walk-able from any MRT, the nearest would probably be Bedok station. The menu is pretty extensive, from pasta, burgers, steaks and even all day breakfast dishes.
We had, Wasuga Chicken Wings which was kinda disappointing. TGS Mixed Grill Platter inclusive of ribeye steak strips, lamb loin chops, bratwurst sausage, mash potato and greens was good! We had a few kinds of pasta as well. Desserts was decent, we had tiramisu - nothing to rave about.

Overall, the quality of the food were average - some were good, some weren't worth the cost. If you're looking for a place to satisfy your steak craving without spending a bomb, this would be an ideal place to chill over meat smile

For full review: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/06/the-garden-slug-lorong-l-telok-kurau.html
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0