OpenRice Index
  
jacqsowhat
This is jacqsowhat living in Sengkang. I am a Audio Producer I also love Desserts and Cakes, Ramen, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review46 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity126 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos44 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant45 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲21 Follower(s)
jacqsowhat  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 46 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Hotel | Ramen

Be it during lunch or dinner, the long queue outside the store probably says it all. The ramen scene in Singapore is getting explosive these days but personally, this could be one of the best Tonkotsu pork base ramen in Singapore. Just like the eateries in Japan, open kitchen concept in a small shop. It is constantly crowded due to it's small capacity, so be prepared to queue longer especially during peak period. Like your usual ramen dining, you'll be given an order slip to tick your ramen preference.
Tonkotsu Ramen

Tonkotsu Ramen

 
Tonkotsu King has unlimited serving of hard boiled eggs & really awesome bean sprouts. These appetizers add on to satisfy your ramen fix. Tonkotsu King Ramen ($10.80) + All toppings ($4), reasonably priced. Very rich and flavorful pork base soup, 2 big slices of char siew, nicely done runny egg, springy noodles, your best ramen experience.

Though this is not the best ramen I ever had in my life but is probably the closest you can get to an authentic bowl of ramen in Singapore. Highly recommended! Nonetheless, Ichiran will still be the best ramen I've had till date. Full post - http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.com/2014/02/ramen-keisuke-tonkotsu-king-orchid-hotel.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tonkotsu Ramen
 
Spending per head: Approximately $18(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Freshly baked everyday! Smile Jan 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Brunch

Looking for a nice place to chill with freshly baked home-made cakes and pastries? Located in Upper Bukit Timah, along the stretch of eateries at Lorong Kilat, you'll find vintage cafe; Carpenter and Cook.

 
There were a variety of cakes and sweets to pick from. For sweets, we tried Caramel Walnut Cheesecake ($7) and Sticky Toffee Walnut Brownie ($6.50). They tasted really fresh like it's just taken out from the oven. Cheesecake was satisfying while the brownie was a little too sweet and dry for me personally.

 
Worthy bites such as Passion Fruit Meringue Tart, Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake and Banoffee Tart as recommended by the staff.

 
The unique vintage atmosphere, definitely a place to go for with freshly baked pastries and cakes everyday. Perfect setting for a cosy high tea session with your loved ones especially over a cup of freshly brew coffee.

 
With a touch of nostalgic feel to the cafe, be sure to check them out if you're in the vicinity of Bukit Timah. Read full review at http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/01/carpenter-and-cook-artisan-bakery-cafe.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Caramel Walnut Cheesecake, Sticky Toffee Walnut Brownie
 
Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Huge variety of food to pick from Smile Jan 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Seafood | Buffet

It has always been one of the buffet restaurants I wanted to check out. Even though the buffet isn't exactly affordable, The Line remains as one of Singapore's favourite destinations for buffet lunch and dinner. Started off w chilled fresh prawns, mussels, clams, crabs & very fresh oysters where they open e shell right in front of you. Besides the seafood spread, the Japanese counter is the next most popular counter in The Line. Fresh! I'm impressed by the spread of selections, Sushi, Maki, cha soba, sashimi, tuna sashimi, tempura - you name it. Overall, all of them tasted really good.

I must say The Line has pretty impressive array of desserts lined up and it definitely satisfy a sweet tooth person like myself - worthy bites such as Lemon Meringue Tart, Creme Brulee & Carrot Cake. I must say this is one of the best desserts lined up I ever had in a buffet.

 
From fruits, warm desserts and a variety of ice creams and toppings to pick from. They've a very wide selection in their buffet lines for an international buffet. There's definitely plenty of choices for everyone to choose from - from your local dishes to fresh seafood, Japanese delight, dim sum, Indian cuisine, western dishes, local kuehs and very delicate desserts. I can't find any reason not to come back to The Line again. Read more on my trip to the line at, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/01/the-line-buffet-shangri-la-hotel.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lemon Meringue Tart, Creme Brulee & Carrot Cake
 
Date of Visit: Nov 29, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nydc Christmas Special 2013 Smile Dec 16, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

We attended the Xmas party at nydc hosted by food blogger, ladyironchef and sponsored by nydc. We get to sampled 10 festive dishes nydc has specially came up with for this year's Christmas.

 
Here are some of the highlights of the dishes we had at nydc's Christmas party. One of the festive beverages we had, Gingy's Butter Rum Bath Elephanccino ($8.80) It's warm chocolate w ginger bread cookie dipped. Sweet! We started off with Elves' Salmon Logs and Elves' Mini Meat Munchies, $9.80 each. The crepe is stuffed with Smoked salmon and cream cheese filling, while the meat munchies is served on toast topped w jam on the top. Very good combination and love it!

 
Main courses - We were given to choose from Santa's Wagyu Steak Frites ($28.80), Merry Merry Mixed Grill ($26.80) or Traditional Cornish Hen ($16.80). We tried the Merry Merry Mixed Grill and Wagyu Steak which is our favorite. Steak grilled to perfection with the pink meat within, tender and juicy! And it satisfy a steak lover like myself. Nydc is famous for their desserts and mud pies. And for this year's Christmas, nydc has specially came up with Tutti Frutti Mudpie ($11.80). It's really good, must try! Thank you Brad for having us!

 
For complete review of the 10 festive dishes, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2013/12/nydc-singapore-christmas-dinner-special.html

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Merry Merry Mixed Grill
 
Date of Visit: Nov 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best table side view Smile Dec 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Hotel | Fine Dining | Brunch

The first thing you notice at Equinox is not its food. It's the beautiful view at 69 floors high, that overlooks Singapore’s CBD and all over Marina Bay. Overall, it's a good experience with such an idyllic setting, view, service and spread. Everyone should dine at least once up there! We made our reservation days back for a high tea buffet which is 330-5pm.

 
There were the breads, scones, the local snacks such as egg tarts, kueh lapis, malay kuehs etc. Other side were the chocolate mousse cakes, walnut carrot cakes & etc. Other worthy bites are the mini lemon meringue tarts and chocolate fruit tarts. The tart itself were really crunchy and simply delicious.

 
Western selection include salmon sandwiches, baked pasta, stew beef, meatballs and some main dishes. There were Beijing roast duck wraps and salads. The Chinese selection includes dim sum buns and dumplings - and there are bentos of sushi assortment for sushi lover. Despite it being a high tea buffet, I find the spread rather wide. The buffet includes free flow of TWG teas such as Honey Chamomile, English Breakfast, Grey Earl etc. However, Premium tea flavors are additional charged. Ice cream of diff unique flavors is available as well! The food quality for its high tea buffet will definitely simpler in comparison to the lunch and dinner buffet.

I find the high tea duration is too short, it's only 90 mins & we were chomping our food down quickly. It would be great if it's 2 hours or so. Read more on the food here, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2013/06/swissotel-equinox-restaurant-high-tea.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lemon meringue tarts, Chocolate fruit tarts
 
Date of Visit: Jun 18, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0