OpenRice Index
  
jacqsowhat
This is jacqsowhat living in Sengkang. I am a Audio Producer I also love Desserts and Cakes, Ramen, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review46 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity124 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos44 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant45 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲21 Follower(s)
jacqsowhat  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 46 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya | Halal

Full review:http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2015/07/old-bibiks-famous-peranakan-rendang.html

The idea behind Old Bibik now is to package traditional Nyonya dishes in a fast food concept at wallet friendly prices. Old Bibik's Peranakan Kitchen started out in 2012 as a food stall at the former Lavender Food Square, I'm sure some of us would know of. They have then expanded the menu to include traditional favorites such as the Ayam Buah Keluak, Udang Nenas Masak Lemak etc. No doubt the Beef Rendang was the highlight, braised beef is slow cooked for hours till tender in their special rempah sauce. The beef chunks were soft and tender, accompanied with the rich rempah sauce. It is also an ideal place for lunch with it's affordable lunch sets a5 $5 nett. Fellow muslim friends can find joy dining here too with a wide range of items.

 
 
Date of Visit: May 28, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Revamped Sakura Smile Feb 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Halal | Buffet

Full review: http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2015/02/sakura-international-buffet-yio-chu-kang.html
Sakura YCK has recently revamped it's storefront and showcase 8 different cuisines from Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Thailand, US, France and Singapore - all in one place. Some of the special dishes like Boston Lobster & Argentina Red Prawn Hokkien Mee, Baked Egg Tart w Bird's Nest and free flow of Liu Sha Bao. most of these are avaliable for dinner only $30.90++ onwards. My favorite top item were the bird nest egg tarts, they were crispy on the crust and a slight tinge of bird nest flavor in the egg.

 
I like how there's a mini steamboat for every table now for shabu shabu dining. Another highlight now is Belgian Chocolate Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream with Chocolate Lava Cake. This is truly indulgence on every level especially if it's free flow. also dinner only. So i would suggest going for the dinner because most of the good food are there. And it's halal!

 
 
Date of Visit: Jan 15, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fresh seafood Smile Dec 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Multi-Cuisine | Seafood

Full review: http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2014/12/oceans-of-seafood-pasarbella-singapore.html
I was impressed at the freshness of the seafood here. It allows me to experience Japan once again, at the famed Tsukiji Fish Market right here at Oceans of Seafood in PasarBella. They are currently a tuna feast promotion where 50% off usual prices. This is also where you get to enjoy top-notch quality seafood without the hefty price tags. I'm thankful to have the honoured to witness an exclusive live Bluefin Tuna cutting demonstration performed by Chef Mizu San. This live demonstration has indeed transport me back to the heart of the Tsukiji Fish Market in Tokyo.
The Chutoro Sashimi - Total shiokness and freshness. There weren't any fishy taste and it's so fresh that it sort of melts in your mouth on your first bite. Really good! Lastly for the tuna dishes, there's Negitoro Chirashi. The rice grain used were from Hokkaido, slightly more fragrant than the usual sushi rice. I wish they used Chutoro in the Chirashi instead of Negitoro. Also we had the Boston lobster. The meat within were so fresh and succulent, every bite full of satisfaction. Be sure to dip into the sauce given, especially the garlic butter sauce, my eye literally lit up after I took a bite of it.
It's worth value especially with the various promotions going on.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 10, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great ambience, decent food Smile Dec 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet | Brunch

Full review, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/12/kitchen-table-w-hotel-sentosa-cove.html

The kichen table at W hotel sentosa seems to focus on quality rather than quantity. I've to say the spread isn't much if you compare to The Line or Carousel. Came here for their dinner buffet for my company's corporate event. Desserts spread were of unique cheesecakes n crumbles rather than your usual chocolate mousse cake. The best was the seafood spread - lobster, oyster, snow crab leg, mussels, sashimi, tuna etc. They were fresh and sushi segment were of good quality with special treat of tea rice. Noodles were the usual, laksa, char siew noodle and fish maw soup, nothing over the world. Indian cuisine were of wide spread as well, from freshly fried papadum, grilled prawns, briyani etc. Pasta section - only 1 kind is available, Squid ink w crab meat pasta. Service were efficient too.
Overall, a decent dinner place great for chilling but I wouldn't be back though smile

 
Date of Visit: Nov 14, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $70(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

wide range of food Smile Dec 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Seafood | Buffet

Full review: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/11/christmas-special-oyster-festival.html

Momiji is currently having a christmas special/ osyter festival promotion when we were there. We dine at the quiet branch at Revenue house, located at newton road. The oysters featured are prepared in 8 different ways. (only 5 kinds will be served during lunch buffet.) Such as Goma Oyster, Ponzu Oyster, Japanese Apple Dressing Oyster, Panko Fried Oyster, Miso Teppan Oyster, Lobster Mayo Yaki Oyster, OysterShabu Shabu and Hot Plate Oyster. The oyster promotion is happening now till the end of 2014. I personally like the goma, lobster mayo and mentaiko ones, really good.  Christmas items is available during this festive season such as Honey glazed turkey ham with mushroom sauce, Turkey ham tempura with nacho cheese, Baked salmon lasagna and Christmas log cake. 

I'm impressed by the wide range of raw dishes with many kinds such as tuna, salmon, swordfish etc. There's even temaki (hand roll), chuka hotate (seasoned scallop) and many sort of makimono. There's shabu shabu, teppanyaki, fried and cooked food. FREE FLOW Sapporo beer is available at Momiji during specific timing. For dinner, it will be from 630pm - 730pm daily. Momiji is the first place I ever know which features DIY waffle. It was simple with the instructions stated clearly at the side. And 6 different kinds of Haagen Dazs ice cream to pick from. Overall, a value for money buffet for a wide spread of seafood.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 18, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0