OpenRice Index
  
jacqsowhat
This is jacqsowhat living in Sengkang. I am a Audio Producer I also love Desserts and Cakes, Ramen, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review46 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity124 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos44 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant45 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲21 Follower(s)
jacqsowhat  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 46 Reviews in Singapore
Best quality wagyu beef Smile Oct 27, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Bars/Lounges | Steaks and Grills | Sushi/Sashimi | Fine Dining

Decided to check out Fat Cow to celebrate the homz's birthday and as well as using the entertainer app for 1 for 1 mains. Fat Cow offers high quality cuts of well marbled beef from Australia, Japan and USA.I made a reservation at 2pm for lunch, last order is 230pm. I went for lunch instead cuz I wanted to try the highly raved 'The Fat Cow Donburi' ($39) from the lunch menu set. It's charcoal-grilled wagyu beef with onsen egg and shiro negi. Note that each set includes salad, chawanmushi, miso soup and dessert. I finally know why everyone says this is a must eat from the lunch menu. The shiro negi enhance the whole bowl which makes every bite so delicious.

 
We had Grade A3 Sirloin (100g) in Sukiyaki style ($78) and Blackmore Ranch 220g ($85) as well. Both were heavenly, more in review.
Two weeks before while making my reservations online, I causally put a special note which says, 'celebrating a friend's birthday'. After that, I totally forgotten about it. But to my surprise, we were served with a happy birthday platter with a scoop of ice cream after our meals. Ah best service ever. smile

Full review: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/10/fat-cow-camden-medical-centre-singapore.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  The Fat Cow Donburi
 
Date of Visit: Sep 13, 2014 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $80(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best table side view Smile Dec 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Hotel | Fine Dining | Brunch

The first thing you notice at Equinox is not its food. It's the beautiful view at 69 floors high, that overlooks Singapore’s CBD and all over Marina Bay. Overall, it's a good experience with such an idyllic setting, view, service and spread. Everyone should dine at least once up there! We made our reservation days back for a high tea buffet which is 330-5pm.

 
There were the breads, scones, the local snacks such as egg tarts, kueh lapis, malay kuehs etc. Other side were the chocolate mousse cakes, walnut carrot cakes & etc. Other worthy bites are the mini lemon meringue tarts and chocolate fruit tarts. The tart itself were really crunchy and simply delicious.

 
Western selection include salmon sandwiches, baked pasta, stew beef, meatballs and some main dishes. There were Beijing roast duck wraps and salads. The Chinese selection includes dim sum buns and dumplings - and there are bentos of sushi assortment for sushi lover. Despite it being a high tea buffet, I find the spread rather wide. The buffet includes free flow of TWG teas such as Honey Chamomile, English Breakfast, Grey Earl etc. However, Premium tea flavors are additional charged. Ice cream of diff unique flavors is available as well! The food quality for its high tea buffet will definitely simpler in comparison to the lunch and dinner buffet.

I find the high tea duration is too short, it's only 90 mins & we were chomping our food down quickly. It would be great if it's 2 hours or so. Read more on the food here, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2013/06/swissotel-equinox-restaurant-high-tea.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Lemon meringue tarts, Chocolate fruit tarts
 
Date of Visit: Jun 18, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lobsters goodness but mad queues Smile Sep 22, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Seafood

When there's seafood and good bargain, there are bound to be queues. It's no surprise that there are often 2-3 hours waiting time as no reservations is allowed.

 
Dining at Pince & Pints is really a hassle free with only 3 choices on the menu - Live Whole Lobster, The Lobster Roll and Chilli Lobster. All lobster dishes are priced at $48. We had all 3 dishes but the live whole lobster was my fav. With a choice of Grilled or Steamed. Serving it along with Mesclun Salad, Sour Cherry & Balsamic Dressing, Shoestring Fries and Herbed Butter Sauce. We were recommended to go along with Steamed to taste the natural sweetness of the lobster meat within. Though it looks really pale on the picture but the sweetness taste of the meat really got me 'Wow'.
The only obstacle to beat is the long waiting time before having an awesome lobster feast. But I must say, it's definitely worth a try especially if you're dining for the first time. Just avoid busy hours as the waiting time can get really long.

Review on individual dishes on http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/09/pince-pints-restaurant-bar-duxton-road.html
 
Date of Visit: Aug 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great food at the waterfront Smile Aug 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Hotel | Seafood

The Pelican Seafood Bar & Grill serves classic east coast American cuisine with a focus on fresh seafood and wood-fired grilling. We used The Entertainer voucher for a 1-for-1 main course which we had the ribeye steak as well as unlimited Belvedere cocktails.

 
Ribeye Cap Steak ($58) - I quite like the texture of it - juicy and tender. The steak itself tasted great even without any condiments. Skate Wing Chop ($36) - with burn lemon butter. It tasted more like the angmoh style of our usual sambal stingray. Fresh and soft meat, accompanied with crispy fries. Double Atlantic Linguini & Clams ($58) - with chili flakes, garlic and white wine. Double says all which also means double the portion. $58 for double pasta may seems like a rip-off. But I'm impressed at the generous servings of clams, it's more than the pasta. Overall, it's decent but certainly satisfying.
We were attended by the manager most of the time and thank you for the great service. We dined outdoor during the National's Day Parade full dress rehearsal last week, our stunning table view was facing the exact spot for fireworks. Overall, my dining experience at The Pelican was such a joy especially spending it w great company. Special thanks to The Entertainer.

full review: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/08/the-pelican-seafood-bar-grill-unlimited.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ribeye Cap Steak ($58)
 
Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Sichuan | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hot Pot

They are known for their extremely great service such as providing free medicure and free flow of snacks/drinks during your waiting time. And of course their good quality meats and broth! After hearing the epic hype about how great the food/service at Hai Di Lao is, I made a reservation on a Friday night. As usual, it was already crowded at 7 pm but we were well taken care of in terms of having a seat and getting our drinks.

Unlimited serving of fruits, desserts, pickles and 20 over different sauces. Note that this is chargeable at $4 for each person. We were not told about it but we realised after scanning through the menu. So once you take something from the sauce bar, it will automatically charged into your bill. For the broth, we had Ma La and Black Chicken w Herbs. I personally like the black chicken one while the Ma La was too oily and spicy for my liking. Note that 2 soup base is charged at $20 flat. Recommended sides are Select Beef, Black Pork and Handmade Dumplings/Noodles.

After reading, you will come to realise that dining at Hai Di Lao isn't cheap at all. For a table of 2 diners, the bill came up to almost a hundred bucks - but it is certainly satisfying.

Full review: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/08/hai-di-lao-hot-pot-clarke-quay.html
 
Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $50(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0