OpenRice Index
  
jacqsowhat
This is jacqsowhat living in Sengkang. I am a Audio Producer I also love Desserts and Cakes, Ramen, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review46 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity124 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos44 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant45 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲21 Follower(s)
jacqsowhat  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 46 Reviews in Singapore
Known for their taro desserts OK Feb 11, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Hotel | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Chinese Soup | Steaks and Grills

http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2015/02/froth-cafe-big-hotel.html
I've been seeing plenty of instagram post about this place especially the hype of their signature Taro waffle, which looks so appetizing. The menu is pretty extensive ranging from burgers to meats and seafood. For sides we had the signature Doritos Crust Winglets ($11.90). The spicy Doritos were topped on the confit winglets, a crunch in every bite. And the best thing (for me) is, this winglets were boneless! The chicken meat were tender and juicy but overall be warned that it's a tad spicy. Seafood Tom Yum Risotto ($23.90). The richness of the tom yum flavour is fragrant but too overwhelming for me. It's so strong that it became quite spicy and salty for the whole dish. Cheesy Lobster Sandwich ($22.90) which is their all time signature. Unfortunately, this dish was a big disappointment. The lobsters weren't too fresh and felt mushy. Fried Chicken Steak ($18.90). It's fried chicken thigh, roasted mushrooms, greens and truffle mash. The chicken texture were juicy and tender but felt that it's under seasoned.

 
Taro Waffle ($12.90) served with single scoop of ice cream: deconstructed taro waffle were presented beautifully, drizzled over with taro sauce. Go for the earl grey ice cream! The waffle were stuffed with taro paste in it. It's not the crispy and light kind of waffle due to the yam filling in it. It leans more towards the pancake kind of texture instead. Just wondering about consistency as I've seen many different versions on Instagram. Overall, the food werent pretty decent, froth sure look promising but still lacking.
 
Date of Visit: Feb 07, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Revamped Sakura Smile Feb 05, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Halal | Buffet

Full review: http://www.jacqsowhat.com/2015/02/sakura-international-buffet-yio-chu-kang.html
Sakura YCK has recently revamped it's storefront and showcase 8 different cuisines from Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Thailand, US, France and Singapore - all in one place. Some of the special dishes like Boston Lobster & Argentina Red Prawn Hokkien Mee, Baked Egg Tart w Bird's Nest and free flow of Liu Sha Bao. most of these are avaliable for dinner only $30.90++ onwards. My favorite top item were the bird nest egg tarts, they were crispy on the crust and a slight tinge of bird nest flavor in the egg.

 
I like how there's a mini steamboat for every table now for shabu shabu dining. Another highlight now is Belgian Chocolate Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream with Chocolate Lava Cake. This is truly indulgence on every level especially if it's free flow. also dinner only. So i would suggest going for the dinner because most of the good food are there. And it's halal!

 
 
Date of Visit: Jan 15, 2015 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

wide range of food Smile Dec 01, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Seafood | Buffet

Full review: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/11/christmas-special-oyster-festival.html

Momiji is currently having a christmas special/ osyter festival promotion when we were there. We dine at the quiet branch at Revenue house, located at newton road. The oysters featured are prepared in 8 different ways. (only 5 kinds will be served during lunch buffet.) Such as Goma Oyster, Ponzu Oyster, Japanese Apple Dressing Oyster, Panko Fried Oyster, Miso Teppan Oyster, Lobster Mayo Yaki Oyster, OysterShabu Shabu and Hot Plate Oyster. The oyster promotion is happening now till the end of 2014. I personally like the goma, lobster mayo and mentaiko ones, really good.  Christmas items is available during this festive season such as Honey glazed turkey ham with mushroom sauce, Turkey ham tempura with nacho cheese, Baked salmon lasagna and Christmas log cake. 

I'm impressed by the wide range of raw dishes with many kinds such as tuna, salmon, swordfish etc. There's even temaki (hand roll), chuka hotate (seasoned scallop) and many sort of makimono. There's shabu shabu, teppanyaki, fried and cooked food. FREE FLOW Sapporo beer is available at Momiji during specific timing. For dinner, it will be from 630pm - 730pm daily. Momiji is the first place I ever know which features DIY waffle. It was simple with the instructions stated clearly at the side. And 6 different kinds of Haagen Dazs ice cream to pick from. Overall, a value for money buffet for a wide spread of seafood.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 18, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Korean food w a twist Smile Nov 16, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion

Full review: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/11/sync-korean-tapas-bar-12-maju-ave.html

 
The first outlet is home to winners such as Kimchi Cheese Fries, Korean Fried Chicken Wings and Army Stew at Westgate Mall, Sync Bistro. SYNC™ has put a new spin on these beloved dishes, turning them into lovely tapas. It is nestled in Maju Avenue and it offers a cosy environment. One of my fav pick among the tapas served was Dak-Kangjung ($9.90). Deep-fried sweet and spicy chicken bites with ricotta chilli tempura. Sounds simple, but the one at Sync tasted really good. As well as Sogogl Jowl ($10.90). This is our favourite among the rest, we were wowed by the smoking flavour of the char-grilled Angus beef jowl, sandwiched between a fresh sesame leaf and garlic confit to complete this slab of meat. One of Sync's recommendation.

 
We cap off our meals with SYNC's version of the traditional korean snack - Hotteok ($8.90). Sync's very own twist - Banana foster served with pan-fried chewy korean pancake and topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. This is a really good sweet and savoury dessert. The much-praised Matcha lava cake is also available here, along with a new version. Misugaru Lava Cake ($8.90), sync's top favourite. Misugaru also means korean's brown rice barley, topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, strawberries & lime compote. Overall, nice place to chill, tapas great for pairing with craft beers & it's soju mojito!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  desserts at sync,Tapas best for beers
 
Date of Visit: Oct 31, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Highlight: BEAST Burger Smile Nov 11, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Burgers and Sandwiches

The burpple tastmakers community gathered and feast at The Beast, a Southern Kitchen & Bourbon bar situated at Jalan Klapa. One of the bar bites, Freshly-baked cornbread ($6), serve with maple syrup. I was taken away by this homemade cornbread, it looks firm and dry but I was clearly deceived. We also had Bacon Mac & Cheese ($9). It was overall rather decent but it would be good if more cheese is added. That amount served didn't satisfy a Mac n' Cheese lover myself. Best pair with beer: Jack & The Beast Stalk ($12) - deep fried green beans with secret seasoning. It's tasty and addictive.

Moving on to the mains, one of them you can expect is Chicken & Waffles ($20). Buttermilk fried chicken served on top of crispy waffle drizzled with a bourbon maple butter sauce. Highly recommended. Introducing The Beast Burger ($125). The mother of all burgers: 1.6 pound of juicy beef patty, 1 pound of slow cooked pulled pork, 1 pound of southern buttermilk fried chicken and a good serving of slaw, lettuce and tomato. Wedged between a custom-made 9 inch bun, served with a bucket of fries. Take the beast challenge!

 
Desserts we had, Bourbon Pecan Pie ($12), Bacon Maple Glazed Donut ($5) and Peach Crumble ($12). We ended off with Bacon Maple Glazed Donut ($5). Do note that this is only available on the brunch menu. Quite a filling dessert I must say, with a mini whole donut. I like the combination of bacon and maple syrup, a balance of sweet and savour. A mouthful of super sweet goodness.


For full review: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/11/the-beast-jalan-klapa-singapore.html
 
Date of Visit: Oct 29, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0