OpenRice Index
  
jacqsowhat
This is jacqsowhat living in Sengkang. I am a Audio Producer I also love Desserts and Cakes, Ramen, Steaks and Grills.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review46 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity124 View(s)
Replies in Forum2 Comment(s)
Upload Photos44 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant45 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲21 Follower(s)
jacqsowhat  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 46 Reviews in Singapore
Matcha Fondueee Smile Jun 09, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Hotel | Buffet

Thanks to 'The Entertainer' app, we are entitled to a 1-for-1 dinner buffet at Lime Restaurant in PARKROYAL Hotel on Pickering. It is serving peranakan cuisine cooked by chef Nancy Teo who has many years of experience. The matcha fondue was the main highlight in the desserts segment, everyone just whoah at the sight of it. worthy bites are the crème brulee and freshly baked tarts in different flavours especially the key lime pie.
The peranakan corner serving authentic peranakan classic dishes such as Kueh Pie Tti, Ayam Bbuah Keluak (spicy chicken cooked with black nuts), Babi Pongteh and many more. The best one I had was 'Udang Assam', very flavourful Tamarind prawns - must try.
Seafood and salmon sashimi corner - serving fresh prawns, mussels, oysters and clams! Limited assorted sushi and they were all raw seafood on it. Thankfully, all of them tasted fresh & not fishy. Their savoury food tasted good overall. Some were slightly above average, while others fell short of it. While I feel the desserts were something to raved about with the excellent quality of it.

Full review - http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/06/lime-restaurant-dinner-buffet-parkroyal.html
 
Date of Visit: May 17, 2014 

Celebration:  生日 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nicely done scramble eggs! Smile May 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes

For full review, photos: http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/05/november-8-coffee-company-upper-thomson.html
Located in the vicinity of Upper Thomson where lots of eateries and cafes are, you'll find recently opened November 8 Cafe in the same building as OZ Specialty Coffee as well. An ideal place for your all day breakfast and caffeine fix. November 8 is probably known for their highly raved Potato Rosti. We ordered this as well as their Big Breakfast and Baked Portobello Mushroom as a side.

 
Potato Rosti ($16) - Rosti served with generous serving of scrambled eggs, bacon and gourmet pork sausage. November 8 is known for their highly raved rosti and no doubt it tasted heavenly!
Baked Portobello Mushroom ($10) - 2 huge mushrooms baked with bacon and mozzarella cheese. It tasted ordinary but for that price, I probably won't order it again.
Big Breakfast ($20) - I feel it was kinda overpriced for these but no doubt the toast and scrambled eggs were delish.
After trying out several breakfast set, this is one of the place I would go back for a good scramble egg fix.
 
Date of Visit: May 12, 2014 

Celebration:  生日 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great place to chill for brunch OK Apr 29, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Café

Stateland Cafe in Bali Lane is recently opened by three young man, whom is in their early 20s. Definitely a place with great ambience to chill with your friends. For the dessert menu, there were thick toast to six different waffle flavours. A classic waffle with berries and syrup starts at $9.90. We decided to try Black Forest Waffle ($14.90) which is topped w cherry compote and chocolate ice cream. And the Plain Waffle ($11.90) with a scoop of honey yoghurt ice cream. Overall, the waffles were a little disappointing, they were crispy on the outside but hollow and dry on the inside. Maybe that's just me. And there were too much of cherry compote on the black forest waffle which makes it soggy and overpowering the taste of the waffle itself. But the classic waffle was good!
It was average and fell short my expection

It was average and fell short my expection

 
Moving on to the breakfast menu, we decided to try the popular ones like Eggs Benedict and Statelander's Big Breakfast. I personally think the quality of food here isn't worth the cost. But I'll definitely be back for coffee and others! smile
Full review on brunch dishes at http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/04/stateland-cafe-bali-lane-singapore.html
 
Date of Visit: Apr 24, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great place for coffee OK Apr 20, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

We decided to check out chock full of beans as they're known to serve cute latte art in their coffees. We had Ice Caramel Macchiato ($6.50) as 3D art is only available for ice beverages. Do note that 3D latte art is only available upon request. It will be random design as we were told that they were busy. We had brunch - Banger & Eggs, very simple dish with scrambled eggs, a croissant & German sausages. Overall, it tasted average and this is definitely not worth the value of $17 bucks. We ordered their big breakfast version as well.
Read full review here, http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/04/chock-full-of-beans-changi-village.html

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 05, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese

Gyoza-Ya is a new 50-seat Japanese restaurant that specializes gyoza or Japanese style dumplings under Japanese restaurant chain Akashi. You can choose either pan-fried or boiled gyoza served with a special sauce, each serving at $4.80 for five pcs. Previously was 6 pcs. There are 2 kinds of filling, pork and vegetable. The other highlight beside gyozas include Jyajya Men ($6.50) which is served with minced pork in miso based. Quite similar to Chinese dish, zhajiang mian. There are steps to follow to enjoy the best taste of Japanese's style Jyajya men. Personally, it was nothing fantastic. It wasn't flavorful enough for my liking.
Pork and vegetable filling

Pork and vegetable filling

 
The price at Gyoza-Ya are pretty much affordable. We decided to try the pan-fried dumplings for both filling as we wanted to compare it to Keisuke Gyoza King & Osaka Ohsho. Though the gyozas here were the best among the rest whereas I like the side dishes offered at Keisuke Gyoza King. Anyway, all the gyoza are undoubtedly delicious. On a gyoza hunt!
Read more at http://jacqsowhat.blogspot.sg/2014/03/gyoza-ya-robinsons-orchard-singapore.html
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pan fried gyoza
 
Spending per head: Approximately $14(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0