OpenRice Index
  
leehcken
This is leehcken living in Sengkang. I am a Manager, work in Jurong East. I like to hang out in Serangoon, Hougang/Kovan, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Coffeeshop, Food Court, Restaurant and Zi Char, Chinese Soup, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 10 First(s)
No. of Review40 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity178 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos263 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant52 My Restaurant(s)
Follow18 Following
粉絲44 Follower(s)
leehcken  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 40 Reviews in Singapore
ok dinner with lots of choice OK Jan 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Korean | Army Stew

There are lots of choices here. The set meal is very worth it as it comes with dessets and a side dish. Taste wise, the army stew is so so only, despite having chesse in the hot pot, which kinda makes the soup a bit sticky and thick. To me, it has too many flavours and none stand out. Really taste like rojiak. I prefer to have Chinese steamboat.

The stewed pork is a real surprise though. The meat is very tender and flavoured. It must have been stewed for a long time. We loved it.

The rest of the dishes did not wow us as they were just passable. Service was ok. I dropped a chopstick and asked for a new one. It was swiftly replaced. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 11, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice dinner at affordable prices Smile Jan 22, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai

There aren;t many cheap and good eating places in Hougang area but this is a raw gem - looking at the long queue outside, folks patiently waiting for a slice a Thai heaven.

We tried almost all the key dishes as we have a group of 6. Our fav turns out to the Thai fish cake - it's so soft and fragrant with hint of lemon grass, lime leaves, fish and all things nice. Every bite is a piece of heaven and you will want to crave for more! 

Aside to that, the pandan chicken also makes it to the top 5. Juicy meat wrapped in pandan flavor. The meat seems to have been seasoned as it is very smooth to the mouth. 

Honey chicken is a must have for my son too! Sweet, crispy and juicy chicken is always a crowd fav! 

I have no space to put the fried tang hoon but it is also worth mentioning as it has the wok hei! smile

If you are here, leave some spaces for desserts too. We sampled all 3 and they were all great! I esp like the mango with sticky rice as the mango is very fragrant and smooth. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 15 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 14, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

tastes of "home” OK Dec 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Kids-Friendly

Came here to try the Assam fish head so many raved about but is disappointed. It is not as sour, spicy and fragrant as I have expected. The fish head is not big enough and the dish does not give the wow factor. I recommend that if they serve in a claypot,the dish might taste better - so that the dish can retain the heat and flavors.

Dining in air con comfort is nice of course. The service is really good and the ambience is great. We also tried the mushroom with toufu dish. The sauce is good and toufu is soft. 

Overall, the main dish did not meet our expectation but there may be other Tze Cha dishes to try here if you prefer to dine in a nice ambience. This place is crowded during dinner so it might also be a good idea to make reservations.

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Sep 13, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tea time in the neighbourhood Smile Dec 18, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Fusion | Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato | Burgers and Sandwiches

This place is like a museum of old and memorable stuff. The owner seems to like collecting old clocks, signs etc and proudly displays them in the shop. Even the table is converted from an old sewing machine!

I wouldn't call this place exactly romantic for a place to have a nice cuppa as I feel that too much of these antiques make the place looks a tad messy somewhat. I like things clean and tidy in general but that's just me. However, the owners are very sweet and charming, so it makes this place special somewhat with the human factor.

Food wise, recommended is the Coconut Kueh with French Vanilla Ice Cream ($6.50) which we tried. We loved the coconut taste and it is served hot. The taste is good and we live it. However, it seems to be microwaved hot and I am not a fan of microwave too.

We did not have time to try the rest of the food here as we just had a heavy dinner. Next time we are nearby, we might just drop in again to taste other specials. smile

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Coconut Kueh with French Vanilla Ice Cream
 
Date of Visit: Oct 11, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Peranakan / Nonya

This place is crowded during lunch time from nearby office crowd. We went there during the weekends as our parents stay nearby and we heard good reviews for this place. 

The deco for the place is quite decent. You can choose to sit outside if you prefer to have fresh air. It's actually very cooling and nice in the evening. 

Food wise, we choose a few of their favourites. Most main dishes cost around $7.50 - $9.50 only, so it is very affordable. The Assam Prawn is a surprise as it has a hint of vinegar and sweetness, flavoured with lots of spices as well. We only wish they could serve more of it. 

The Jueh Pie Tee is very good and freshly made too. Their advice is to eat it asap (before the crispiness of the shell is gone). It is as flavourful and juicy as you will expect.

The pineapple salad is another surprise. I have not tasted this before in any peranakan places. This salad is very appetitising of course, and it goes well with any meat dishes you decide to take. 

The meat dishes are ok for us. The meat is tender and juicy. However, it does not have the wow factor for me. Service is good and fast.

Do drop by if you are around Safra Mount Faber. smile It's not eactly very near but a good 10 mins walk to reach.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Outside dining area

Outside dining area

 
Outside dining area

Outside dining area

 
 
Table Wait Time: 7 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 11, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0