OpenRice Index
  
leehcken
This is leehcken living in Sengkang. I am a Manager, work in Jurong East. I like to hang out in Serangoon, Hougang/Kovan, Punggol. Japanese, Thai, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Coffeeshop, Food Court, Restaurant and Zi Char, Chinese Soup, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 10 First(s)
No. of Review40 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended7 Recommended
Popularity185 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos263 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant52 My Restaurant(s)
Follow18 Following
粉絲44 Follower(s)
leehcken  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 40 Reviews in Singapore
Nice Tim Sum place Smile Nov 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Dim Sum | Noodles

This place is very near Chinatown, so it fits into the culture of the place very nicely. However, it is not in the heart of chinatown, just a little bit away (near the Buddhist Relic temple). 

This place is crowded in the moring time, lots of tourist comes here too. Food takes a while to arrive so you need to wait. Every dish we tried were so good and satisfying. I personally think the xiao long bao better than Ding Tai Fong, and much cheaper too! 

The red bean pancake has a crispy coated skin with lots of sesame with smooth like silk red bean. If you are a read bean lover, this is a must try!

The hghlight is the pan fried meat dumpling. The shape is different than normal shapped dumplings but we loved it this way. It goes perfect with the vinegar and ginger. Definitely juicy on the inside and crispy on the outside. Yummy! 

 
$5

$5

 
$7

$7

 
$7

$7

 
$10

$10

 
$10

$10

 
$3

$3

 
$3

$3

 
8 for $10

8 for $10

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  LittleJuicySteamedMeatDumplings (7 pieces),LittleJuicySteamedMeatDumplings,CrispyRedBeanPancake,SweetOsmanthusFlowerRiceBallSoup,PanFriedMixedSeafood&PorkDumplings
 
Date of Visit: Nov 08, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $12(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Noodles

Tried this stall near the coffee shop next to Fernvale LRT (next to the newly opened Seletar Mall), the sub-branch from the Depot Road. 

Long queue here, so prepare to wait. The beef brisket noddles are really good. Generous serving of beef with my fav kai lan vegetables. The taste is perfect - with the right level of seasoning. Meat is a bit tough but still ok. After all, the dish is only $5. Be thankful we still have such stalls around. 

The Dumpling soup is also very nice - only $4 for 7 pieces. The fillings are generous too. Will be back for sure! 

Ambience is coffee shop type so no air con but after an afternoon rain, it is really comfortable and nice! 

 

 
$5

$5

 
$5

$5

 
$4.50

$4.50

 
$4

$4

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Beef Brisket Noodle (Dry)
 
Date of Visit: Nov 29, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : German | Café

This place has been opened quite a while, just next to the famous Nakhom Kitchen Thai restaurant. The deco is simple but classy at night. No air con here but plenty of fans to ventilate the place. It was night time when we had dinner here (with candle light) so it was really comfortable and relaxing.

We tried their knuckle dish ($10) and Ribeye Steak ($12). Portions are big enough and filling. Each comes with a mash potato (silky smooth), very nice! Just hope to see more greens in the dish next time. Their greens are very fresh and tasted great with a dash of vingeratte. 

The truffle fries are ok. Most tables order beer along with the food. It was a nice touch.  

Service is great - there's a glass of free plain water given automatically when you sit down. Makes u feel very welcome. 

Overall, it was good place to dine if nearby. Do note that they accept cash only. So bring some along if you come by for visit. 

$4

$4

 
$5

$5

 
$4

$4

 
$10

$10

 
$10

$10

 
$12

$12

 
$12

$12

 

 

 

 
$3

$3

 
Supplementary Information:
They accept cash only
 
Recommended Dish(es):  German Knuckle
 
Table Wait Time: 8 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 29, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $17

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Nice place for waffles Smile Nov 30, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

This place is quite crowded with young people. Most of them are here to enjoy their signature dish - Waffles. We tried it with Pandan ice ice cream with a Gula Melak Sauce. The taste is quite good (taste almost like Kaya). Cost $8.90 each. My son likes it so much he's thinking of a second helping...

The tart is so so for us, but it has a unique sour taste that is very appetitising. 

The deco of the place is based on the concept of Alice in Wonderland, dropping into a rabbit hole to find a dash of fantasy here. The owner tries to handpaint the concept here so it looks rather raw but you can appreciate the effort put in. 

U can get free water here (self service). Food Service wise is good - friendly and cheerful staff. ;)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Waffles with Pandan Ice cream
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 29, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Supper)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Nice ice cream offerings! Smile Nov 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato

We tried the salted butter scotch and it was really good. Considering it is a hot afternoon! We also tried the grape yakult yogurt. It was very creamy and light, flavourful too! It contrusted so well with the salted butterscotch. 

Ambience was really good too. This was was operated by youngsters and frequented by youngsters too. Makes me feel young once again!

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Oct 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0