OpenRice Index
  
HungryBytes
This is HungryBytes living in Eunos. I am a Marketer, work in Orchard. I also love Hawker Centre and Desserts and Cakes, Dim Sum, Zi Char.
Member 3 First(s)
No. of Review10 Review(s)
編輯推介數目5 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1004 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos860 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews13 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant30 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5913 Following
粉絲2707 Follower(s)
HungryBytes  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 10 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Restaurant | Halal

After much convincing, I agreed to give PapaRich @ OneKM a try and lets just put it out there that it would probably be the last time I step into another restaurant by that name.
Sad food makes one sad. The interior of the restaurant is lavish but does nothing to elevate the food.
Super Rich Combo

Super Rich Combo

 
As advertised, The Super Rich Combo includes aromatic nasi rich, served with fried chicken drumstick, aromatic braised beef, sweet & spicy squid, potato, hard boiled egg, lady finger, papadum and sambal. With all the haphazard mishmash of ingredients, the dish just doesn’t add up. The nasi is flat and dry, the braised beef is fibrous and tough, egg (as you can see with the grey ring) is over cooked, sambal is spicy and not aromatic at all… Granted, having tried really good nasi in a foodcourt at half this price didn’t help either. Lets just skip this altogether.
Ipoh Kuay Teow Soup with Steamed Chicken

Ipoh Kuay Teow Soup with Steamed Chicken

 
On a slightly better note is the Ipoh Kuay Teow Soup with Steamed Chicken. The soup base is average and abit on the sweet side. The first few mouthfuls were enjoyable but it went straight downhill the more you eat. I’m guessing there’s too much msg in it but I could be wrong.

 
The saving grace of the mains we ordered is the Steamed Chicken that is has a silky and tender texture. However, the sauce again is over cloyingly sweet. Its more like a sugar gravy instead of one that includes soy sauce.
Chendol

Chendol

 
The chendol is so ordinary, I have problems describing it.
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 29, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $16(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Style over substance Cry Jul 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Seafood | Salads

Decided to treat ourselves to a nice dinner and decided to try Table Manners.
Table Manners Storefront

Table Manners Storefront

 
The restaurant is a chic design and makes one feels like you're dining in a place that's a cross between a designer furniture store, a library and a cafe. We were seated in the corner of the place beside the bookshelf that was frightfully filled with huge cobwebs (which also explains the lack of a photo here). Nevertheless, we decided to plough on.

We ordered two mains: King's Burger and Mary's Lamb.
Mary's Little Lamb, $24.00

Mary's Little Lamb, $24.00

 
Mary's Lamb, as its name says, is braised lamb shank with mash potatoes. The dish itself is average and does not impress. The lamb itself is easily removed from the bone but texture is oddly bouncy and does not have much taste save for the gravy it came with. The mash potato fared better than the lamb, unfortunately. My guess is that the dish could do with a longer braising time and more gravy.
King's Burger, $20.00

King's Burger, $20.00

 
The saving grace of the dinner is probably its King's Burger. We requested for medium doneness for the patty but it came out well done instead. The sunny side up was gorgeous, running over the burger when cut. I can't find fault with this main, save for the cold fries it came with.
Lemon & Lime Tart with Strawberries, $6.50

Lemon & Lime Tart with Strawberries, $6.50

 
For dessert, we decided to share a Lemon & Lime Tart with Strawberry. The dessert is average though, with a dull crust and creamy filling that lacks that delectable tanginess associated with good lemon tarts. Edible though not entirely enjoyable.
Brothers Toffee Apple Cider, $14.00

Brothers Toffee Apple Cider, $14.00

 
For drinks, we order a Chamomile Citron Tea and Brothers Toffee Apple Cider. You can probably never go wrong with Brothers Cider but I cannot understand why the tea is served with warm water instead of boiling water. Needless to say, the tea wasn't really well received.

The restaurant was not crowded for a Saturday at 8pm but the waiter and waitresses seemed more interested to huddle in the corner talking amongst themselves then to serve, than collect my bill.

Overall, I think the place scores for its gorgeous deco (minus the dust and cobwebs) but doesn't impress me with its food offerings and service quality.

 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Underwhelmed by the Cakes OK Mar 04, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Café | Desserts and Cakes

Been hearing about the much hyped about Mille Crêpes from Lady M and decided to try it for ourselves.
Personally, I am rather underwhelmed by their service and the desserts.

Even though the restaurant was practically empty, with only 3 tables besides us, it took ages for our order of a slice each of the Vanilla Mille Crêpe, Green Tea Mille Crêpe and Gâteau aux Marron to be served.
Lady M cakes - Mille Cr�pes & G�teau aux Marrons

Lady M cakes - Mille Cr�pes & G�teau aux Marrons

 
There's too much cream in the cakes which made the cakes mushy and overall everything was too sweet. Of the three we tried the Green Tea Mille Crêpe was probably the best as the matcha took down the sugary sweetness a notch. Not the best Mille Crêpes I've had definitely. I found the sponge layers in the Gâteau aux Marrons too dry.
Coffee was normal.

We ordered:
Vanilla Mille Crêpe - $8 per slice
Green Tea Mille Crêpe - $ 8.50 per slice
Gâteau aux Marrons - $7.50 per slice
Cafe Mocha - $5.00 per cup
Lady M Ice Cafe - $5.50

Prices subject to 10% service charge and 7% GST.
 
Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Awesome lunch sets Smile Apr 21, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

Lunch sets at Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya

Lunch sets at Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya

 
Sometimes, I come across something so good, that every bite felt soul shining and that I momentarily lose myself in my food. Lunch at Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya @ Orchard Central is just that and perhaps abit more.
Hidden in a little loft at Orchard Central, this gem of a restaurant is one of Orchard’s best kept secret that I almost didn’t feel like sharing.
Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya, Orchard Central

Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya, Orchard Central

 
Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya, Orchard Central

Sumiya Charcoal Grill Izakaya, Orchard Central

 
Sumiya is offering an awesome lunch set deal where you can get a Mix Bara Kaisen Don set for a steal of $18.80 and other equally irresistible options.
Mix Bara Kaisen Don

Mix Bara Kaisen Don

 
The delectable set is food-coma inducing, with a generous bowl full of assorted sashimi cubes, avocado and blanketed with toboki and salmon roe. It comes with sesame sauce should you need that additional umami kick but its hardly required here. Completing the set are other side kicks like chawanmushi, an appetizer, miso soup, salad and mochi. This set is a force to be reckoned with.
Ni Anago Don Set

Ni Anago Don Set

 
Less belly bursting but still delicious is the Ni Anago Don Set (Simmered Conger Eel) with delicately simmered conger eel. Look Ma! I can’t see my rice!
Teriyaki Chicken Don

Teriyaki Chicken Don

 
A hearty choice would be the Teriyaki Chicken Don set. Tender morsels of teriyaki chicken makes a satisfying lunch. I’m not sure how long the lunch set promotion would last, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be visiting Sumiya again and again.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mix Bara Kaisen Don,Ni Anago Don
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 14, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Like Name, Like Restaurant! Smile Jan 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach and the same goes for The Beast.
The Beast, Southern Kitchen and Bourbon Bar is a dimly lit, 2 storey restaurant located along Jalan Klapa. I got there during opening time on a Saturday but only managed to snag myself bar seats because most of the tables have been reserved. First tell tale sign how popular this place has become.
Bourbon Bar Selection

Bourbon Bar Selection

 
The wide variety of bourbon and whisky is a welcoming sight indeed for the thirsty. I decided on Mama June’s Sweet Tea. I would have expected it to be at least a tad similar to sweet lemon tea but its a rather bland (or diluted) mix of Redemption High Rye Bourbon and House-made Honey Sweet Tea. The beer is good, as expected of draught beer. Crisp and refreshing.
Mama June’s Sweet Tea ($18.00) & Draught Beer ($12.00)

Mama June’s Sweet Tea ($18.00) & Draught Beer ($12.00)

 
Drinks aside, the food was much better. In fact so good it made me forget about ‘em crappy drinks.
Pulled Pork Sliders

Pulled Pork Sliders

 
The pulled pork sliders were the first to arrive at the table and sure as hell didn’t disappoint. The pulled pork was juicy, tender and the crispy, fresh slaw gave the whole thing a welcoming texture. Gone in 60 seconds.

 
Next came the The Jack and the Beast Stalk. Give me these battered, fried green beans over truffle fries any day. I would share my fries any day but I’ll need to think twice about these. Its addictive. The batter is airy and lightly fried and finally coated with their ‘secret seasoning’. I occasionally still crave for these.. thats how good I think it is.
Southern Fried Chicken

Southern Fried Chicken

 
The Southern Fried Chicken is good but not memorable though. Exactly what you would expect of fried chicken, very tender and juicy, probably due to its purported 24 hr brine. I also realise they left out our house-made buttermilk biscuits too. =(
Bacon Waffle Sundae

Bacon Waffle Sundae

 
The Bacon Waffle Sundae for me, is the highlight of the entire meal. You get a choice of ice-cream between Fig & Honey or Vanilla Bean. We picked the Fig & Honey. Crispy, fluffy waffles with candied bacon, pecan brittle and drizzled with butter scotch. Its like a celebration on a plate. I would definitely order this again.
Overall, I had a good meal there. The prices are perhaps on the steep side but as a treat, I’ve already mentally worked out my next trip to The Beast. I’m all game to try their Chicken & Waffles ($20) with bourbon maple butter sauce. Also, I’m going to gather some fellow gluttons and go for their Beast Burger ($125), the mother of all burgers. 
Restaurant Fascade

Restaurant Fascade

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 21, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0