OpenRice Index
  
HungryBytes
This is HungryBytes living in Eunos. I am a Marketer, work in Orchard. I also love Hawker Centre and Desserts and Cakes, Dim Sum, Zi Char.
Member 3 First(s)
No. of Review10 Review(s)
編輯推介數目5 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1001 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos860 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews13 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant30 My Restaurant(s)
Follow5914 Following
粉絲2707 Follower(s)
HungryBytes  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 10 Reviews in Singapore
Like Name, Like Restaurant! Smile Jan 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Bars/Lounges | Burgers and Sandwiches

 
The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach and the same goes for The Beast.
The Beast, Southern Kitchen and Bourbon Bar is a dimly lit, 2 storey restaurant located along Jalan Klapa. I got there during opening time on a Saturday but only managed to snag myself bar seats because most of the tables have been reserved. First tell tale sign how popular this place has become.
Bourbon Bar Selection

Bourbon Bar Selection

 
The wide variety of bourbon and whisky is a welcoming sight indeed for the thirsty. I decided on Mama June’s Sweet Tea. I would have expected it to be at least a tad similar to sweet lemon tea but its a rather bland (or diluted) mix of Redemption High Rye Bourbon and House-made Honey Sweet Tea. The beer is good, as expected of draught beer. Crisp and refreshing.
Mama June’s Sweet Tea ($18.00) & Draught Beer ($12.00)

Mama June’s Sweet Tea ($18.00) & Draught Beer ($12.00)

 
Drinks aside, the food was much better. In fact so good it made me forget about ‘em crappy drinks.
Pulled Pork Sliders

Pulled Pork Sliders

 
The pulled pork sliders were the first to arrive at the table and sure as hell didn’t disappoint. The pulled pork was juicy, tender and the crispy, fresh slaw gave the whole thing a welcoming texture. Gone in 60 seconds.

 
Next came the The Jack and the Beast Stalk. Give me these battered, fried green beans over truffle fries any day. I would share my fries any day but I’ll need to think twice about these. Its addictive. The batter is airy and lightly fried and finally coated with their ‘secret seasoning’. I occasionally still crave for these.. thats how good I think it is.
Southern Fried Chicken

Southern Fried Chicken

 
The Southern Fried Chicken is good but not memorable though. Exactly what you would expect of fried chicken, very tender and juicy, probably due to its purported 24 hr brine. I also realise they left out our house-made buttermilk biscuits too. =(
Bacon Waffle Sundae

Bacon Waffle Sundae

 
The Bacon Waffle Sundae for me, is the highlight of the entire meal. You get a choice of ice-cream between Fig & Honey or Vanilla Bean. We picked the Fig & Honey. Crispy, fluffy waffles with candied bacon, pecan brittle and drizzled with butter scotch. Its like a celebration on a plate. I would definitely order this again.
Overall, I had a good meal there. The prices are perhaps on the steep side but as a treat, I’ve already mentally worked out my next trip to The Beast. I’m all game to try their Chicken & Waffles ($20) with bourbon maple butter sauce. Also, I’m going to gather some fellow gluttons and go for their Beast Burger ($125), the mother of all burgers. 
Restaurant Fascade

Restaurant Fascade

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 21, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Too good! Smile Jan 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Coffeeshop

Since we found out that Mr & Mrs Mohgan’s Super Crispy Prata stall is within comfortable walking distance from our house (read: 10 minutes), our lives changed. Every weekend, I would ask Mr what would he like for breakfast and its always, “Prata!” Even though my usual response would start with some eye rolling, I would oblige. Its so good, it has become our gold standard for roti pratas.
Fair bit of warning though: Be patient as there is bound to be a queue and go early because I heard they usually sell out by noon.
Simple store with fantastic food

Simple store with fantastic food

 
The quaint little shop resides in a coffee shop tucked away at the junction of Crane Rd and Onan Rd somewhere along sleepy Joo Chiat. The entire coffeeshop has a rustic feel to it, which adds to the dining atmosphere.
Located in Poh Ho Restaurant along Crane Rd

Located in Poh Ho Restaurant along Crane Rd

 
Poh Ho Restaurant is also home to very old school style of wanton mee, Hock Thye Noodle House that serves up some really good wanton mee and dumpling soup. There’s also a stall called Boon Lay Power Nasi Lemak but is always closed in the mornings when we visit.

But we digress, let’s go back to our Prata.
Mr & Mrs Mohgan’s Super Crispy Prata Shop is a family run business. Mrs Mohgan expedites and serves, Mr Mohgan and son makes the pratas. The family is soft-spoken and very friendly. Why, Mrs Mohgan happened to walk past our table and noticed our diminishing plate of curry and cheerfully offered to top up,”Do you want more curry?”
There are three different types of curry to choose from: Dhal, Mutton and Fish. I got a low threshold for spice so I didn’t try, but I do observe that there are also some avid fans of their sambal ikan bilis with the frequent top ups and quickly emptied container.
Mrs Mohgan expediting

Mrs Mohgan expediting

 
Family Business

Family Business

 
Mr Mohgan making edible magic

Mr Mohgan making edible magic

 
Serving

Serving

 
Prata Kosong

Prata Kosong

 
There are other variations of Roti Prata, egg, mushroom and cheese but my favourite is still the kosong prata. Everything is made fresh and as the name entails, its super crispy on the outside but soft inside. Such is its appeal, that I was transformed into a glutton and inhaled 3 slices at one sitting.
Mutton Curry

Mutton Curry

 
For those who likes mutton curry, do not miss out on Mr & Mrs Mohgan’s version. Its $3 for a generous plate of super tender, flaky mutton pieces swimming in rich, savoury curry.
Whenever people discuss about best Roti Prata places, I always rave about Mr and Mrs Mohgan’s and I believe rightly so. With their commitment to the quality of their food, you’ll bet these artisanal roti pratas will continue to have their cult following.
 
Table Wait Time: 25 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 18, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

No Frills, Comfort Food! Smile Jan 26, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

This year, I wish for everyone to eat better.
What a better way to start on this resolution than to have some good ramen at Keisuke Tonkotsu King! I’m chuffed to bits that this new outlet is a stone’s throw from where I stay. I sense more Ramen goodness in the days ahead.
Keisuke Ramen, Tonkotsu King

Keisuke Ramen, Tonkotsu King

 
Like its store at Orchid Hotel, the restaurant is small and seats about 22, albeit rather cramp.
Cosy, albeit tight interiors

Cosy, albeit tight interiors

 
The interiors are decorated similar too. The quirky wall posters and signages transports its patrons to good ol’Japan. Tables space is precious commodity as its already crowded with condiments and the free flow eggs and bean sprouts the restaurant provides.
Free flow boiled eggs

Free flow boiled eggs

 
Free flow spicy  bean sprouts

Free flow spicy bean sprouts

 
I’ve never helped myself to the eggs before as I’m not a fan of hard boiled eggs but I do know that some consider that as a bonus selling point for the restaurant. On the other hand, I love the spiced beansprouts. Crunchy and just a tiny bit spicy, it freshens up the palate and balances out the super rich ramen broth really well.
Simple Menu

Simple Menu

 
Just a few simple ticks and your order is whisked away by one of their super efficient staff and very soon you’ll have your meal ready. Japanese standard of effiency. Impressive!
Japanese Green Tea Cola

Japanese Green Tea Cola

 
Made specially for the restaurant, Japanese Green Tea Cola. We just had to order this. Rather addictive for me. I like that its not super sweet like most soft drinks and yet is refreshingly sparkly. Also, I’m a sucker for green tea items.
Gyoza

Gyoza

 
Honestly I wasn’t expecting much from the Gyoza. I came for the ramen anyway. However, these babies were well fried. Very crispy on one side and with the tender steamed dumpling skin on the other. The tiny morsel burst with juicy broth from the minced meat. I love gyoza and I do love their version of it.
Sesame for Ramen

Sesame for Ramen

 
You got to earn your dinner. Before you start digging into your prize ramen, start working those muscles and grind those sesame seeds. By breaking them, it releases the fragrant sesame seed flavour and elevates the ramen. Grind it, break it, then blanket your ramen with it.
Tonkotsu Ramen King

Tonkotsu Ramen King

 
Take a sip of the luxuriously rich tonkotsu broth and let out a satisfied sigh. I could bask in this richness all day long. I’ve opted for the flavoured soft boiled egg as a topping. Its so good. Gone in 30 seconds.
Keisuke Tonkotsu King: Black Spicy Tonkotsu King ($13.90)

Keisuke Tonkotsu King: Black Spicy Tonkotsu King ($13.90)

 
This sexy, spicy ramen has a broth that’s not as creamy as that of the Tonkotsu King (above) probably to balance the spicy oil. Look at that. Drool.
If food is an art, Keisuke Tonkotsu King has perfected the ballet of Ramen.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tonkotsu Ramen King,Japanese Green Tea Cola
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 01, 2015 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Style over substance Cry Jul 28, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Desserts and Cakes | Pasta | Seafood | Salads

Decided to treat ourselves to a nice dinner and decided to try Table Manners.
Table Manners Storefront

Table Manners Storefront

 
The restaurant is a chic design and makes one feels like you're dining in a place that's a cross between a designer furniture store, a library and a cafe. We were seated in the corner of the place beside the bookshelf that was frightfully filled with huge cobwebs (which also explains the lack of a photo here). Nevertheless, we decided to plough on.

We ordered two mains: King's Burger and Mary's Lamb.
Mary's Little Lamb, $24.00

Mary's Little Lamb, $24.00

 
Mary's Lamb, as its name says, is braised lamb shank with mash potatoes. The dish itself is average and does not impress. The lamb itself is easily removed from the bone but texture is oddly bouncy and does not have much taste save for the gravy it came with. The mash potato fared better than the lamb, unfortunately. My guess is that the dish could do with a longer braising time and more gravy.
King's Burger, $20.00

King's Burger, $20.00

 
The saving grace of the dinner is probably its King's Burger. We requested for medium doneness for the patty but it came out well done instead. The sunny side up was gorgeous, running over the burger when cut. I can't find fault with this main, save for the cold fries it came with.
Lemon & Lime Tart with Strawberries, $6.50

Lemon & Lime Tart with Strawberries, $6.50

 
For dessert, we decided to share a Lemon & Lime Tart with Strawberry. The dessert is average though, with a dull crust and creamy filling that lacks that delectable tanginess associated with good lemon tarts. Edible though not entirely enjoyable.
Brothers Toffee Apple Cider, $14.00

Brothers Toffee Apple Cider, $14.00

 
For drinks, we order a Chamomile Citron Tea and Brothers Toffee Apple Cider. You can probably never go wrong with Brothers Cider but I cannot understand why the tea is served with warm water instead of boiling water. Needless to say, the tea wasn't really well received.

The restaurant was not crowded for a Saturday at 8pm but the waiter and waitresses seemed more interested to huddle in the corner talking amongst themselves then to serve, than collect my bill.

Overall, I think the place scores for its gorgeous deco (minus the dust and cobwebs) but doesn't impress me with its food offerings and service quality.

 
Table Wait Time: 2 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $45(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 2  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

How would you like your coffee? Espresso, Cold Drip, Aeropress, Pourover or by the Clever Drip?

Nestled in the middle of busy Chinatown, CBD is Kaldi's Berry - The coffee connoisseurs' ideal hideout.
Kaldi's Berry Storefront

Kaldi's Berry Storefront

 
Approach the nondescript outlet and immediately, my attention is drawn onto this gargantuan brewing apparatus on the right. It's the Korean-imported Cold Drip Maker, Ridge3.2 by Korean Coffee Drip machine makers, Coffeega. The interiors are also tastefully designed with coffee related paraphernalia, including upcycled V60 lampshades.
Cosy ambience

Cosy ambience

 
Ridge3.2: Cold Drip Coffee Maker by Coffeega

Ridge3.2: Cold Drip Coffee Maker by Coffeega

 
To prepare cold drip coffee, the glass dome is filled with ice-cubes and ice water. It takes no less than 8hrs for the bottom flask to be filled with the extracted cold brew. Amazingly, due to the fermentation process during the cold drip extraction, the body of the coffee continues to deepen the longer you let it sit in the fridge. Coffee like fine wine indeed. Kaldi's Berry serves cold drip coffee that's at least 2 days old if supply permits.
Cold Drip Coffee

Cold Drip Coffee

 
My personal favourite is the Ethopian Yirgacheffe (Grade 1) made with the Pour Over method. Kaldi's Berry uses the Kalita Wave Dripper for extraction and the resulting brew is a complex but very smooth cup. However, for the unforgiving tropical weather, I would opt for the smooth cold drip coffee which is perfect for drinking all day long.
Pour Over & Cold Drip Coffee - Sample Size Cups

Pour Over & Cold Drip Coffee - Sample Size Cups

 
For espresso lovers, why not give the Aeropress coffee a shot. (pun not intended)
Aeropress Coffee & Espresso Maker

Aeropress Coffee & Espresso Maker

 
This nifty gadget, is supposed to produce a rich flavoured brew with lower acidity and without bitterness. A nugget of interesting fact, this gadget is invented by AEROBIE, the designers of high performance sports toys like the Aerobie flying disc. First taste brings to mind an espresso, but cleaner, smooth, and without the crema. A very good morning coffee option for folks like me, who needs that extra caffeine kick to feel whole and ready to conquer the world.

The beverage's equivalent of the comfort food is perhaps Kaldi's Berry's Cafe Latte, made with the Speciality Houseblend. I really enjoyed this cup of coffee, smooth, comforting and the latte art is an adorable bonus.
Cafe Latte - HouseBlend

Cafe Latte - HouseBlend

 
Kaldi's Berry offers a wide array of pastries for you to pair with your selected brew. However, if you are looking for something more filling, I would recommend - Kaldi's Waffles or the All Day Breakfast.
All Day Breakfast with Bacon, $9.90

All Day Breakfast with Bacon, $9.90

 
Fluffy scrambled eggs served with gently crisped bacon with toast and freshly tossed greens. Portion is huge too so you might want to share, or choose to indulge in entirety yourself!
Kaldi's Waffles with Chocolate Syrup, $6.90

Kaldi's Waffles with Chocolate Syrup, $6.90

 
Kaldi's Berry got the texture of the waffles right. Just the right amount of chewy, though I would personally prefer the outer crust to be a tad crispier. However, the generous scoop of vanilla icecream with fresh fruits tips the scale in its favour. Thumbs up I say.
Affogato

Affogato

 
Those with a sweet tooth might want to round up the meal with an Affogato - A scoop of vanilla ice-cream doused with a shot of espresso.
Overall, Kaldi's Berry impresses with their impeccable knowledge of coffee brewing and the passion for serving the best brew for each individual customer's tastes. I would love to drop by for my caffeine fix or for some of those waffles again.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cafe Latte,Pour Over & Cold Drip Coffee,Cold Drip Coffee,Kaldi's Waffles,All Day Breakfast
 
Table Wait Time: 1 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jul 21, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Other)

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend