OpenRice Index
  
jingeileen
This is jingeileen . I like to hang out in Orchard, Kallang, Bedok. French, Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, DIm sum.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review95 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity735 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos657 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow53 Following
粉絲247 Follower(s)
jingeileen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 95 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | Bars/Lounges

Do you have that one food which you can never say no to? I know some of my foodie friends can't say no to a good juicy burger !!

There are so many places in our little island to get a burger.. but do you know where to find reasonably priced and delicious burgers at the same time?

Alex has the answer for you ..

Medzs has recently introudced their

Signature Foie Gras Burger !

 
How about some beer to go along with your food!

The prices are just so affordable!

Let me recommend the Kirin Frozen Fruit Beers to you !

 
See this big ass of a glass? The one we were served look just like this

except it's smaller of course ! lol

 


Medzs at Clifford Center is conveniently located just at the exit of Raffles Place MRT.

It has a very casual setting, with some outdoor seating that is just nice if you like to chill and people watch around Raffles Place

 
Ok, why don't we start with some drinks?

This is the Medzs Ice MelonDew Tea

Quite refreshing..would have been great if it's really

icy cold smile there are bits of melon in the tea .

 
Now you can see the melon bits ...

 
We literally went 'WOW'

when we were served with the Foie Gras Burger!!($19.90)

It comes with some greens and tortilla chips with salsa

 


Just look at at piece of foie gras on top!

Centred between the soft burger bun is a juicy gourmet beef patty
infused with

provencal herbs and special seasonings.

Topped with a
generous slab of pan-seared foie gras and layered with pesto aioli and
spicy salsa

 
Another delicious shot smile

I must say this is a yummy burger and the price wouldn't

burn a hole in your pocket!

 
We were served with the Honey Glazed Pork Ribs next.

It is also one of Medzs signature dish smile ($17.90)

 
Oven roasted pork ribs served with sauteed veggies &

truffles balsamic sauce . As much as the meat was quite tender,

we found that the meat didn't really got infused with the sauce..

nevertheless we wiped the plate off..

I was delighted to see this beautiful piece being served..

Oven baked semi-cured salmon ($18.90)

Herbs crust homemade semi cured Salmon

served with French potatoes, Micro herbs salad

& Lime vinegerette

 
Pity the fish didn't quite blow me away.. It was the least favorite dish to the 4 of us

( we shared all the dishes with the couple next to us ) We were told that the fish is slightly saltier to the

usual way salmon is cooked as this has been cured. Personally I wouldn't recommend this dish , unless you have a high tolerance for salty food or you like food with bold flavors. Another foodie friend however, found the salmon nice smile It's quite subjective ..

I think the Kirin Frozen Lychee Fruit Beer did help in washing down the food lol

I love the fruity note to this beer~has a slight sweet taste to it.

Alcohol contend is low..but still know your limits when you drink!

You can choose from Strawberry, Peach and Mango to name some smile

 
And so you thought dinner ended here? No! Hahahah...we have to end on a sweet note shouldn't we?

It's time for some desserts!

Voted one of the best Rainbow Cake in Singapore,

Medzs Rainbow Cake ($6.90) is really something!

 
Overall taste of the cake is moist and light, the cream is not

cloyingly strong ..it makes you wanna eat more..unlike some

rainbow cakes whereby you just wanna stop eating at first taste.

It's a small price to pay to enjoy a rainbow ! Plus it's so Instagrammable!

 
We also ordered a Salted Caramel Cheesecake

 
We really do have an extra stomach for desserts!

Despite being fed so much food, we still managed to polish this off..

The salted caramel goes really well with the cake ..

Texture of the cake is smooth and not really heavy bodied..

Lastly, one of our fellow foodie friends decided to try out their coffee

Little did we expect it to come with such a cute art !!

 


Everyone just wanted a piece of the cute bear!!

(Or is that a pig? )

It was quite an enjoyable evening spending with fellow foodies at Medzs. Do note that the two other Medzs restaruant has a different theme and setting to the Clifford Center one.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 08, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Have a Merry Momiji Christmas  OK Dec 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Seafood | Buffet


* Jingle bells , Jingle bells, Jingle all the way * Oh yes, the malls have started airing these jolly good ole christmas tunes way before you can even say Merry Christmas smile

Restaurants and cafes alike have also started rolling out their festive specials just for you foodies this December!

To usher in Christmas, Momiji Japanese Buffet Restaurant has not only Extended their Oyster Festival to 31st Dec 2014, they have also included a spread of goodies to add on to the extensive range of buffet items!

If you have read my earlier review of Momiji Shabu Shabu, you will find that Momiji Japanese Buffet Restaurant is somewhat similar in style smile This is because both comes under the Suki Group smile

Momiji Japanese Buffet Restaurant is conveniently located on the 2nd level of Revenue House and it is just a 5 mins walk from Novena MRT station .

 
Get to enjoy oysters cooked 7 ways!

 
Husband can't help but wanna dig in already!

 
Here's the Christmas spread that you will get to

enjoy on top of the buffet line

 
An overview of all the different types of OYSTERS!

* let's hear you scream! lol! * You can eat as much as you want!

 
Before I bring out some of the oysters, let's see what are the other delectable items there are in the buffet line smile

I guess some of us would like some cooked food

I know how some friends can't do without rice ..

Top: Cereal Prawns, Fried Rice

Bottom: Chili Snowcrab!!

* I went straight for the kill..seafood and oysters! *

 


some selection of the sushi & chawanmushi available

 


How does one say no to SNOWCRAB!!

Because I can't!! Had quite a few of these

 


#sweetesthusband He was the one who picked out

all the crab meat for me.. heapful of it lol

 


* I normally skip these* tongue

 
The lure of fresh sashimi

 
place your order of hot pots and kushiyaki items

by hooking table number tags *found on your table*

to the side metal of desired dish

 
This got us hooked the whole night!

Grilled cuttlefish with mentaiko

The chewiness of cuttlefish and bold flavors from

the mentaiko just makes this a flawless combination

 
Juicy fat oysters drenched in goma sauce ( sesame sauce )

The ones in the background are in Japanese apple dressing

 

 
Mentaiko Oysters ..mentaikio overpower

any unpleasant oyster taste

 
Lighting at our table wasn't to our advantage ..

This is the hot plate oysters in spaghetti sauce smile

 
Some other types of oysters in the line are Panko Oyster , Oyster Shabu Shabu .Oyster Lobster Mayo Yaki..some of which I may not have eaten smile

Surely we need some sweet bites to end the evening. There is a waffles making machine for diners to prepare their own waffles!

All of us were really excited about this and were crowding around the machine taking turns to churn out waffles to our likening ..quite a fun experience ! oh but sure is a messy one too

 
Here's one of our waffles topped with

macadamia nut ice cream and coffee ice cream

* from Häagen-Dazs no less !! *

 
If waffles are not your kind of desserts, perhaps you can have some cakes and elcairs

 


Gobbled a few of these chocolate eclairs

 
Great variety for fruit lovers

 


It is truly an affordable buffet line to indulge in given the pricing !

 
Thanks to Momiji and Jaslyn for the invite smile

 
Date of Visit: Dec 07, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American

 
Home grown well liked cafe chain, O'Coffee Club brings to guests its Christmas range of confectionery this year as part of its 2014 festive collected themed " My Favorite Things"

I joined several instagrammers and bloggers at its stand alone cafe at Raffles Place for a fun filled afternoon partaking in pretty and irresistible sweet treats .

 
Guests at O'Coffee Club are in luck smile Be pampered and indugled in 4 exquisite

log cakes- White lychee Christmas, Mont Blanc Yuletide , Santa's Macadamia Noel and last but not least, Chocolate Wonderland . The first 3 are new while the last is a hot favorite at the cafe . We were treated to 2 of the log cakes smile

Top: Chocolate Wonderland 1kg $53.50 nett

Bottom : White Lychee Christmas 1kg $58.85 nett

 
White Lychee Christmas is a refreshing surprise . It's light orange sponge cake layered with fragrant lychee emulsion and raspberry jam, and with rose essence cream in the center is sure to win the hearts of those who loves fruit cakes .

Being a big chocoholic , the Chocolate Wonderland appeals to my taste buds . Luscious chocolate sponge has layers of ganache, nuggets of cream cheese and crunchy praline feuilletine. I like how the different textures comes together.

The above mentioned log cakes are available for orders and dine in ( in slices ) as well.

Can you feel the fun festive mood already lol

 
Another of " My Favorite Things " that we really enjoyed

are these Artisanal Christmas Cookies

Each type of cookies shown here are sold separately

My personal fav.is the Oats & Raisins (right side ) ( $13.50/jar)

 
These beautiful gems once again makes perfect gifts

These are O'Coffee Club's Praline . The flavours are pretty exotic!

There's Earl Grey Raspberry, Grand Marnier Seasame,

Baileys and Crispy Choclate Feuilletine .

They are packed in a box of 12 and retails at $24

 
These macarons 'colors makes me feel delighted!

Just looking at them lifts up my mood!

 
Again, these make great gift ideals. I mean you can't go wrong withsweet treats !!

They come in flavours like Earl Grey Marashallow, Gingerbread & Grand Marnier Sesame

Christmas Gift Set : Box of 4- $9.65 nett / Box of 12 - $25.70 nett

Not overly sweet ..just nice for me lol

( I am not a macaron fan..but I ate one this time! )

 
We were also treated to these slices of Traditional Fruit Cake

( it's avai.for order at $18 nett / 400g)

The fruits have been soaked in rum before baking!! ooh lala lol

 
How about some cold refreshing drinks to wash all that food down?

This is mm's pretty pink Ice Rambutan and also one

of O'Coffee Club's signature drinks!

 
Lets continue with the feasting shall we?

Here are some of the special dishes from the Christmas dine in menu ,

great as a main course or order a few and share with friends!

Do note that dish presentation will differ from the party presentation below smile

Smoked duck salad $12

Great mix of sliced smoked duck, mecslun veg, dark cherries and citrus vinaigrette

 
Turkey Roulade $18

Turkey & mushroom roulade served with buttered baby carrots,

asparagus, mashed potatoes and cranberry compote

 
Chicken Truffle Mushroom $16

This is the hot favorite that afternoon!

Spaghetti with roasted chicken , mixed mushrooms & truffle cream

 
Perhaps another cool drink to go with the savory food smile

This is the Green Apple and Moijto Mint Soda

Cool and minty! Great on a hot day smile

 
We ended the session on a sweet note!

There is always room for desserts!

Speically created for Christmas are

Jolly Mud Pie $12.20 ( left) and Joy $9.00 (right)

 
cross section of Joy

Grand marnier parfait with raspberry sorbet & sweet almond nibs

This captured my heart

 


Jolly Mud Pie is a festive version of O'Coffee Club's Mud Pie smile

Layers of strawberry sorbet honey parfait, crunchy almond & Italian mint meringue

What's not to like about something so well crafted ? smile

 
Exclusive Promotions from 13 Nov- 31 Dec 2014

O'Coffee Club Royalty Card members get to enjoy 20% off festive items & dining

DBS / POSB Card members enjoy 15% off festive items & dining

CIMB Card members enjoy 15% off festive items & dining

You can place orders for the log cakes and sweet treats at any of their 20 outlets

All orders take THREE days to process and

Last day for self collection or delivery is 31st Dec 2014

O'Coffee Club Facebook

O'Coffee Club Website

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mushroom Truffles pasta
 
Date of Visit: Dec 01, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Seafood

Just last week, I was caught in a dilemma. It wasn't too difficult to get myself out of it..I just needed some time , a good sense of directions as well as knowledge of getting myself from Point A to Point B in the shortest of time and the least of public transport transfer.

Last week's food tasting saw me going from the east to west , spending almost an hour or so on public transportation . At the end of dinner, I was glad I made the choice of attending ~~! To be honest, I was already sold when I took the first bite of food at Joyden Canton Kitchen. Being located at a relatively new mall, HillV2, it may be daunting to travel there especially if one stays in the east.

Joyden Canton Kitchen is part of the popular Joyden Seafood Restaurant located at West Coast. Frankly, I have never tried their food before so I have no expectations whatsoever that evening.

Upon entering the spacious restaurant , I was attracted to the minimalistic interior, and I particularly like the use of wood for some of the decor. It took Joyden 6 mths that involved extensive trips to various parts of Guangdong , trying out dishes etc to conceptualized the menu.

Soups at Joyden

It is without a doubt that Cantonese love their soups. Joyden certainly lives up to expectations with its interpretation of a Foshan Classic - Chicken with Fresh Huai Shan and Wolfberry in Old Coconut Soup.

 
Can't believe how clear and light the soup is, and simply love the after taste sweetness

that comes across the palate. Great for sharing among 2-3 persons. $12.80

The 2nd dish isn't really a soup but has a broth..

Signature Sliced Grouper Fillet with Pine Mushroom &

Black Fungus in Rice Wine Broth $17.80

Freshest of ingredients ,cooked in rice wine, makes this

a very comforting dish ! I love the usage of rice wine !

 
Chickens at Joyden

There are two must try chicken dishes at Joyden. It was a tough choice if you ask me which one of the two is my favorite. Both are cooked differently and both taste equally good!

This is one of their signature dish - Soy Sauce Chicken. It looks as good as it taste!

Marinated with secret blend of supieroir light sauce and other herbs, the chicken is tender.

Rosewater is being used as well and it adds a refreshing and slight floral sweetness to this dish

 
This
may look like hainanese chicken to you but wait ..

it is actually Hakka
salt poached farm chicken ($17). It is cooked in a salt and herbal stock

and rested to fully absorb the flavours before it is eaten by us with

Joyden's homemade ginger puree !

Served at room temperature, the meat is
tender n we love it with the ginger smile

 
You will love this dish

Braised homemade beancurd coin with poached shanghai baby cabbage

if you enjoy cooked till super soft cabbage!

These are homemade patties of beancurd, seafood and veggie fried till golden brown.

I particularly enjoy the easy to eat beancurd and the milky broth that was made from

boiling pork bones for hours . The combination goes pretty well !

 


This is another NOT TO BE MISSED dish !

Just
by looking at this pic is enough to make me salivate ! Home made by
Joyden is the premium XO sauce made of dried scallops( 干贝) and jin hua
ham ( 金华火腿)which is used in this Fish Maw & Prawns with glass
noodles dish everything is mixed with this slightly spicy sauce and I
like how the tang hoon ( glass noodles ) soak up the sauce..Being a chili lover, I though this could have been spicier

 
There is no ending to Joyden's star dishes..coz it seems like the food we tried

tasted just amazingly good!

Braised pork ribs in aged mandarin peel

isn't like the usual Chinese zi char kind. The meat is "chopstick tender"

Almost like what you eat at some ribs restaurant. Cooking method is pretty interesting..

first braised, then infused with special aged mandarin peel sauce before being broiled!

 
Joyden not just serves meat dishes,

they also have seafood inspired ones!~

Signature Traditional Rice Vermicelli with Poached Egg White, Crab meat & Scallop

hehee..protein laden dish !!

The bee hoon is soaked with the gravy and I love it with lots of vinegar and pepper smile

 
Mix it all up !

 
To complement your meal at Joyden, you can try the cooling

Homemade Hawthorne and Apple Drink

山楂苹果水

 
Healthy and great for digestion!

We gotta end the meal on a sweet note shouldn't we? lol

Most of us chose the Red Bean soup with dumplings

Unlikely some places where their red bean soup is thick and overly sweet

Joyden's verions is not as thick and tasted really healthy ! I like it..plus

the tang yuans are generously filled with peanuts!

 
龟苓膏

Chilled herbal jelly

Highly recommended after the meal smile great for cooling down

and good for those with a 'heaty' disposition smile

 
One can't go wrong with ordering this classic favorite

白果薏米 Barley and gingko nuts drink.

Just the right taste of sweetness for me smile

 
Joyden Canton Kitchen is truly a gem and is the ideal location a birthday celebration,

get together with friends and family or just a meal after work !

 
It is a place I can go back again and again lol
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tang hoon prawns in xo sauce,hawthorn apple drink,soy sauce chicken
 
Date of Visit: Dec 16, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills

I always have a thing for checkered table cloths . They kinda appeal to me smile One of my favorite steak house uses just that! Yes, I am referring to our local steak house , Jack's Place.

My earliest memories of Jack's Place would be the outlet at Bras Basah Complex. It is the 2nd oldest outlet ! My aunt would treat me to lunch once awhile after school back then.

Well known for its sizzling beef steaks on hot plates and array of food variety, Jack's Place has launched a new hearty U.S Premium Selection menu at 2 of its selected outlets: - Great World City & The Grandstand .

Some bloggers and I were privileged to have tried some of the wonderful new dishes recently. Featuring 6 new dishes, which includes the finest Kurobuta Pork aka ' black hog' pork, USA Brandt steak cuts and trust me super delicious Char grilled baby Back Ribs

Before I bring out the meats, here are two soups we tasted at Jack's Place.

Cream of Shitake Mushroom

 
Here's the all time fav.

Lobster Bisque

Been simmered slowly to bring out that rich seafood taste!

All soups come served with toasted garlic bread

 
Meat lovers sit tight!

You will fall in love with this

Grilled Kurobuta Rack of Pork ($32)

 
We were totally caught off our guard by how tender the meat was. It was a good lean cut.

Moist and juicy with Jack's Place home made caramelized onion brown sauce coupled with mash potatoe and greens

Always love how a real German pronounces the name schnitzel! I can never get it to sound authentic!

But it's okay as long as I get to eat one!

This kurobuta fillet uses meat from the pork neck

and is coated with crushed biscuit crumbs and herbs and paired with

arugla salad and roasted almonds.

Kurobuta Pork Schnitzel ( $18.80)

 
Perhaps try not to drizzle the lemon wedge on the crust as it may leave it too soggy smile

Next up is yet another hot favorite!

Fork tender slab of ribs!

Shhh..don't tell anyone but I really love this!

 


The Chargrilled BBQ Baby Back Ribs ($36.00) has been marinated overnight with paprika spice and drizzled with pineapple BBQ sauce ( not enough sauce in my opinion) . It is served with lattice fries and greens. The fries can be better served. It was tad cold by the time we ate it..

Jack's Place is quite synonymous with steaks!

We definitely have to try the USA Brandt Striploin ($35.80)

 


It is a 365 day grain fed beef striploin steak , marinated with home made garlic and paired with special black pepper sauce . While you are at it, you 'die die' have to try the baked potato!

It's one of the few places that does justice to baked potatoes

Here's another premuim dish for beef lovers.

USA BRandt Ribeye cuts($36.80)

This gets my thumbs up smile Love the tender meat that melts in my mouth

 
A meal is not complete without some desserts ,

don't you think so? lol

Can't go wrong with a banana split!

 
I had this..coz I am a big mango fan!

Mango Jelly Delight

 
If ice cream aren't your" cup of tea "

perhaps you can have a slice of mango cake!

 
And our meal is complete!

The U.S Premium Selection is exclusively available at Jack's Place Great World City and The Grandstand outlets. Do check them out today!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chargrilled baby back ribs
 
Date of Visit: Nov 04, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0