OpenRice Index
  
jingeileen
This is jingeileen . I like to hang out in Orchard, Kallang, Bedok. French, Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, DIm sum.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review95 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity735 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos657 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow53 Following
粉絲247 Follower(s)
jingeileen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 95 Reviews in Singapore
First and last time  Cry Jun 14, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Seafood | Buffet

My friend promoted me about this Qoo10 coupon deal that was going on one evening. We were discussing where to celebrate a friend's birthday. The deal seems good: $29.90 for Japanese buffet and can have free flow of beer from 6.30 - 7.30pm.

Upon arriving, we were told that we can only have the beer opened for us instead of taking as many as we want as stated. So okay, fine with us since we were there for the food.

Decor wise, really nothing impressive since there isn't much of a theme or decor to start with.

I can safely say this is one of the not so nice Japanese buffet I have ever eaten. Could have eaten at a hotel Japanese buffet with just a bit more of money.

We were really disappointed as we went around to get our food. True indeed we did eat a lot of salmon sashimi. A bit too much to the extent that was all we were eating because the rest of the food were quite normal. How much fried chicken can we eat?

And the promised Hokkiado crabs, don't get me started. There was only a small amount of the crabs available. Anyway they were okay to eat. But don't expect much.

Overall it is okay to eat there, but don't put too much hope to the food. Eat to fill up your tummy is okay.

But to feel satisfied..hmm..it really depends smile

 


Oh, one dish that was really bad was the tuna sashimi. It was all fishy and just tasted bad. Perhaps it was just our unlucky day. But for sure i am not returning to any Momiji buffet smile
 
Date of Visit: Apr 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $30(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Have a Merry Momiji Christmas  OK Dec 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Seafood | Buffet


* Jingle bells , Jingle bells, Jingle all the way * Oh yes, the malls have started airing these jolly good ole christmas tunes way before you can even say Merry Christmas smile

Restaurants and cafes alike have also started rolling out their festive specials just for you foodies this December!

To usher in Christmas, Momiji Japanese Buffet Restaurant has not only Extended their Oyster Festival to 31st Dec 2014, they have also included a spread of goodies to add on to the extensive range of buffet items!

If you have read my earlier review of Momiji Shabu Shabu, you will find that Momiji Japanese Buffet Restaurant is somewhat similar in style smile This is because both comes under the Suki Group smile

Momiji Japanese Buffet Restaurant is conveniently located on the 2nd level of Revenue House and it is just a 5 mins walk from Novena MRT station .

 
Get to enjoy oysters cooked 7 ways!

 
Husband can't help but wanna dig in already!

 
Here's the Christmas spread that you will get to

enjoy on top of the buffet line

 
An overview of all the different types of OYSTERS!

* let's hear you scream! lol! * You can eat as much as you want!

 
Before I bring out some of the oysters, let's see what are the other delectable items there are in the buffet line smile

I guess some of us would like some cooked food

I know how some friends can't do without rice ..

Top: Cereal Prawns, Fried Rice

Bottom: Chili Snowcrab!!

* I went straight for the kill..seafood and oysters! *

 


some selection of the sushi & chawanmushi available

 


How does one say no to SNOWCRAB!!

Because I can't!! Had quite a few of these

 


#sweetesthusband He was the one who picked out

all the crab meat for me.. heapful of it lol

 


* I normally skip these* tongue

 
The lure of fresh sashimi

 
place your order of hot pots and kushiyaki items

by hooking table number tags *found on your table*

to the side metal of desired dish

 
This got us hooked the whole night!

Grilled cuttlefish with mentaiko

The chewiness of cuttlefish and bold flavors from

the mentaiko just makes this a flawless combination

 
Juicy fat oysters drenched in goma sauce ( sesame sauce )

The ones in the background are in Japanese apple dressing

 

 
Mentaiko Oysters ..mentaikio overpower

any unpleasant oyster taste

 
Lighting at our table wasn't to our advantage ..

This is the hot plate oysters in spaghetti sauce smile

 
Some other types of oysters in the line are Panko Oyster , Oyster Shabu Shabu .Oyster Lobster Mayo Yaki..some of which I may not have eaten smile

Surely we need some sweet bites to end the evening. There is a waffles making machine for diners to prepare their own waffles!

All of us were really excited about this and were crowding around the machine taking turns to churn out waffles to our likening ..quite a fun experience ! oh but sure is a messy one too

 
Here's one of our waffles topped with

macadamia nut ice cream and coffee ice cream

* from Häagen-Dazs no less !! *

 
If waffles are not your kind of desserts, perhaps you can have some cakes and elcairs

 


Gobbled a few of these chocolate eclairs

 
Great variety for fruit lovers

 


It is truly an affordable buffet line to indulge in given the pricing !

 
Thanks to Momiji and Jaslyn for the invite smile

 
Date of Visit: Dec 07, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills

I always have a thing for checkered table cloths . They kinda appeal to me smile One of my favorite steak house uses just that! Yes, I am referring to our local steak house , Jack's Place.

My earliest memories of Jack's Place would be the outlet at Bras Basah Complex. It is the 2nd oldest outlet ! My aunt would treat me to lunch once awhile after school back then.

Well known for its sizzling beef steaks on hot plates and array of food variety, Jack's Place has launched a new hearty U.S Premium Selection menu at 2 of its selected outlets: - Great World City & The Grandstand .

Some bloggers and I were privileged to have tried some of the wonderful new dishes recently. Featuring 6 new dishes, which includes the finest Kurobuta Pork aka ' black hog' pork, USA Brandt steak cuts and trust me super delicious Char grilled baby Back Ribs

Before I bring out the meats, here are two soups we tasted at Jack's Place.

Cream of Shitake Mushroom

 
Here's the all time fav.

Lobster Bisque

Been simmered slowly to bring out that rich seafood taste!

All soups come served with toasted garlic bread

 
Meat lovers sit tight!

You will fall in love with this

Grilled Kurobuta Rack of Pork ($32)

 
We were totally caught off our guard by how tender the meat was. It was a good lean cut.

Moist and juicy with Jack's Place home made caramelized onion brown sauce coupled with mash potatoe and greens

Always love how a real German pronounces the name schnitzel! I can never get it to sound authentic!

But it's okay as long as I get to eat one!

This kurobuta fillet uses meat from the pork neck

and is coated with crushed biscuit crumbs and herbs and paired with

arugla salad and roasted almonds.

Kurobuta Pork Schnitzel ( $18.80)

 
Perhaps try not to drizzle the lemon wedge on the crust as it may leave it too soggy smile

Next up is yet another hot favorite!

Fork tender slab of ribs!

Shhh..don't tell anyone but I really love this!

 


The Chargrilled BBQ Baby Back Ribs ($36.00) has been marinated overnight with paprika spice and drizzled with pineapple BBQ sauce ( not enough sauce in my opinion) . It is served with lattice fries and greens. The fries can be better served. It was tad cold by the time we ate it..

Jack's Place is quite synonymous with steaks!

We definitely have to try the USA Brandt Striploin ($35.80)

 


It is a 365 day grain fed beef striploin steak , marinated with home made garlic and paired with special black pepper sauce . While you are at it, you 'die die' have to try the baked potato!

It's one of the few places that does justice to baked potatoes

Here's another premuim dish for beef lovers.

USA BRandt Ribeye cuts($36.80)

This gets my thumbs up smile Love the tender meat that melts in my mouth

 
A meal is not complete without some desserts ,

don't you think so? lol

Can't go wrong with a banana split!

 
I had this..coz I am a big mango fan!

Mango Jelly Delight

 
If ice cream aren't your" cup of tea "

perhaps you can have a slice of mango cake!

 
And our meal is complete!

The U.S Premium Selection is exclusively available at Jack's Place Great World City and The Grandstand outlets. Do check them out today!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chargrilled baby back ribs
 
Date of Visit: Nov 04, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good deal..but too sourish~  OK Sep 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Chinese Noodles

 
We love coming to this hawker center for breakfast and meals. It is near our place and there are many stalls that serve good hawker food at an affordable price .

Just like any other mornings, we drove to the hawker center and went around looking for food .

Husband ordered this delicious looking bowl of lor mee that comes with fried fish and other items such as egg and meat! It was truly value for money at $2.50!

He told the hawker to add a bit more vinegar but to our chagrin it was a mistake! The noodles could have already have had alot of vinegar to start with.. coz the smell of vinegar was overpowering! It was like eating vinegar noodles ..

We will still go back for this but without the vinegar! tongue
 
Date of Visit: Sep 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice waflles but tight space  OK Sep 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Ice Cream and Gelato

Creamier is a small ice cream cafe at a sleepy corner in toa payoh. We prob wouldn't have gone there if not for the hawker center lunch we had there.
It faces a playground and it's a perfect combo for a quaint cafe in the heartlands.

The wondrous fragrance of the waffles filled our sensors as soon as we pushed thru the doors. It made us ordered two waffles and two scoops of their yummy ice cream that afternoon.

We moved in cautiously to our table , trying to squeeze thru the tight space.

Can i just say the waffles is totally crispy on the outside and so so nice on the inside!! they look perfect and can withstand the weight of 2 scoops of ice cream! We had the Seasalt Gula Melaka ice cream and the other one i couldn't recall hahaa. Ice cream tasted quite nice with the waffles.

With that said.. I am not sure if I would ever go back again..

 
It's a small cafe and when filled up with humans of different sizes , there leaves not much space to breath. I like to enjoy my sweet treats in a nice place where I can "move". So yeah thanks Creamier for this one time experience smile
 
Date of Visit: Sep 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0