OpenRice Index
  
jingeileen
This is jingeileen . I like to hang out in Orchard, Kallang, Bedok. French, Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, DIm sum.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review95 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity735 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos657 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow53 Following
粉絲247 Follower(s)
jingeileen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 95 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | Bars/Lounges

Do you have that one food which you can never say no to? I know some of my foodie friends can't say no to a good juicy burger !!

There are so many places in our little island to get a burger.. but do you know where to find reasonably priced and delicious burgers at the same time?

Alex has the answer for you ..

Medzs has recently introudced their

Signature Foie Gras Burger !

 
How about some beer to go along with your food!

The prices are just so affordable!

Let me recommend the Kirin Frozen Fruit Beers to you !

 
See this big ass of a glass? The one we were served look just like this

except it's smaller of course ! lol

 


Medzs at Clifford Center is conveniently located just at the exit of Raffles Place MRT.

It has a very casual setting, with some outdoor seating that is just nice if you like to chill and people watch around Raffles Place

 
Ok, why don't we start with some drinks?

This is the Medzs Ice MelonDew Tea

Quite refreshing..would have been great if it's really

icy cold smile there are bits of melon in the tea .

 
Now you can see the melon bits ...

 
We literally went 'WOW'

when we were served with the Foie Gras Burger!!($19.90)

It comes with some greens and tortilla chips with salsa

 


Just look at at piece of foie gras on top!

Centred between the soft burger bun is a juicy gourmet beef patty
infused with

provencal herbs and special seasonings.

Topped with a
generous slab of pan-seared foie gras and layered with pesto aioli and
spicy salsa

 
Another delicious shot smile

I must say this is a yummy burger and the price wouldn't

burn a hole in your pocket!

 
We were served with the Honey Glazed Pork Ribs next.

It is also one of Medzs signature dish smile ($17.90)

 
Oven roasted pork ribs served with sauteed veggies &

truffles balsamic sauce . As much as the meat was quite tender,

we found that the meat didn't really got infused with the sauce..

nevertheless we wiped the plate off..

I was delighted to see this beautiful piece being served..

Oven baked semi-cured salmon ($18.90)

Herbs crust homemade semi cured Salmon

served with French potatoes, Micro herbs salad

& Lime vinegerette

 
Pity the fish didn't quite blow me away.. It was the least favorite dish to the 4 of us

( we shared all the dishes with the couple next to us ) We were told that the fish is slightly saltier to the

usual way salmon is cooked as this has been cured. Personally I wouldn't recommend this dish , unless you have a high tolerance for salty food or you like food with bold flavors. Another foodie friend however, found the salmon nice smile It's quite subjective ..

I think the Kirin Frozen Lychee Fruit Beer did help in washing down the food lol

I love the fruity note to this beer~has a slight sweet taste to it.

Alcohol contend is low..but still know your limits when you drink!

You can choose from Strawberry, Peach and Mango to name some smile

 
And so you thought dinner ended here? No! Hahahah...we have to end on a sweet note shouldn't we?

It's time for some desserts!

Voted one of the best Rainbow Cake in Singapore,

Medzs Rainbow Cake ($6.90) is really something!

 
Overall taste of the cake is moist and light, the cream is not

cloyingly strong ..it makes you wanna eat more..unlike some

rainbow cakes whereby you just wanna stop eating at first taste.

It's a small price to pay to enjoy a rainbow ! Plus it's so Instagrammable!

 
We also ordered a Salted Caramel Cheesecake

 
We really do have an extra stomach for desserts!

Despite being fed so much food, we still managed to polish this off..

The salted caramel goes really well with the cake ..

Texture of the cake is smooth and not really heavy bodied..

Lastly, one of our fellow foodie friends decided to try out their coffee

Little did we expect it to come with such a cute art !!

 


Everyone just wanted a piece of the cute bear!!

(Or is that a pig? )

It was quite an enjoyable evening spending with fellow foodies at Medzs. Do note that the two other Medzs restaruant has a different theme and setting to the Clifford Center one.
 
Date of Visit: Dec 08, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American

 
Home grown well liked cafe chain, O'Coffee Club brings to guests its Christmas range of confectionery this year as part of its 2014 festive collected themed " My Favorite Things"

I joined several instagrammers and bloggers at its stand alone cafe at Raffles Place for a fun filled afternoon partaking in pretty and irresistible sweet treats .

 
Guests at O'Coffee Club are in luck smile Be pampered and indugled in 4 exquisite

log cakes- White lychee Christmas, Mont Blanc Yuletide , Santa's Macadamia Noel and last but not least, Chocolate Wonderland . The first 3 are new while the last is a hot favorite at the cafe . We were treated to 2 of the log cakes smile

Top: Chocolate Wonderland 1kg $53.50 nett

Bottom : White Lychee Christmas 1kg $58.85 nett

 
White Lychee Christmas is a refreshing surprise . It's light orange sponge cake layered with fragrant lychee emulsion and raspberry jam, and with rose essence cream in the center is sure to win the hearts of those who loves fruit cakes .

Being a big chocoholic , the Chocolate Wonderland appeals to my taste buds . Luscious chocolate sponge has layers of ganache, nuggets of cream cheese and crunchy praline feuilletine. I like how the different textures comes together.

The above mentioned log cakes are available for orders and dine in ( in slices ) as well.

Can you feel the fun festive mood already lol

 
Another of " My Favorite Things " that we really enjoyed

are these Artisanal Christmas Cookies

Each type of cookies shown here are sold separately

My personal fav.is the Oats & Raisins (right side ) ( $13.50/jar)

 
These beautiful gems once again makes perfect gifts

These are O'Coffee Club's Praline . The flavours are pretty exotic!

There's Earl Grey Raspberry, Grand Marnier Seasame,

Baileys and Crispy Choclate Feuilletine .

They are packed in a box of 12 and retails at $24

 
These macarons 'colors makes me feel delighted!

Just looking at them lifts up my mood!

 
Again, these make great gift ideals. I mean you can't go wrong withsweet treats !!

They come in flavours like Earl Grey Marashallow, Gingerbread & Grand Marnier Sesame

Christmas Gift Set : Box of 4- $9.65 nett / Box of 12 - $25.70 nett

Not overly sweet ..just nice for me lol

( I am not a macaron fan..but I ate one this time! )

 
We were also treated to these slices of Traditional Fruit Cake

( it's avai.for order at $18 nett / 400g)

The fruits have been soaked in rum before baking!! ooh lala lol

 
How about some cold refreshing drinks to wash all that food down?

This is mm's pretty pink Ice Rambutan and also one

of O'Coffee Club's signature drinks!

 
Lets continue with the feasting shall we?

Here are some of the special dishes from the Christmas dine in menu ,

great as a main course or order a few and share with friends!

Do note that dish presentation will differ from the party presentation below smile

Smoked duck salad $12

Great mix of sliced smoked duck, mecslun veg, dark cherries and citrus vinaigrette

 
Turkey Roulade $18

Turkey & mushroom roulade served with buttered baby carrots,

asparagus, mashed potatoes and cranberry compote

 
Chicken Truffle Mushroom $16

This is the hot favorite that afternoon!

Spaghetti with roasted chicken , mixed mushrooms & truffle cream

 
Perhaps another cool drink to go with the savory food smile

This is the Green Apple and Moijto Mint Soda

Cool and minty! Great on a hot day smile

 
We ended the session on a sweet note!

There is always room for desserts!

Speically created for Christmas are

Jolly Mud Pie $12.20 ( left) and Joy $9.00 (right)

 
cross section of Joy

Grand marnier parfait with raspberry sorbet & sweet almond nibs

This captured my heart

 


Jolly Mud Pie is a festive version of O'Coffee Club's Mud Pie smile

Layers of strawberry sorbet honey parfait, crunchy almond & Italian mint meringue

What's not to like about something so well crafted ? smile

 
Exclusive Promotions from 13 Nov- 31 Dec 2014

O'Coffee Club Royalty Card members get to enjoy 20% off festive items & dining

DBS / POSB Card members enjoy 15% off festive items & dining

CIMB Card members enjoy 15% off festive items & dining

You can place orders for the log cakes and sweet treats at any of their 20 outlets

All orders take THREE days to process and

Last day for self collection or delivery is 31st Dec 2014

O'Coffee Club Facebook

O'Coffee Club Website

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Mushroom Truffles pasta
 
Date of Visit: Dec 01, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Seafood

Just last week, I was caught in a dilemma. It wasn't too difficult to get myself out of it..I just needed some time , a good sense of directions as well as knowledge of getting myself from Point A to Point B in the shortest of time and the least of public transport transfer.

Last week's food tasting saw me going from the east to west , spending almost an hour or so on public transportation . At the end of dinner, I was glad I made the choice of attending ~~! To be honest, I was already sold when I took the first bite of food at Joyden Canton Kitchen. Being located at a relatively new mall, HillV2, it may be daunting to travel there especially if one stays in the east.

Joyden Canton Kitchen is part of the popular Joyden Seafood Restaurant located at West Coast. Frankly, I have never tried their food before so I have no expectations whatsoever that evening.

Upon entering the spacious restaurant , I was attracted to the minimalistic interior, and I particularly like the use of wood for some of the decor. It took Joyden 6 mths that involved extensive trips to various parts of Guangdong , trying out dishes etc to conceptualized the menu.

Soups at Joyden

It is without a doubt that Cantonese love their soups. Joyden certainly lives up to expectations with its interpretation of a Foshan Classic - Chicken with Fresh Huai Shan and Wolfberry in Old Coconut Soup.

 
Can't believe how clear and light the soup is, and simply love the after taste sweetness

that comes across the palate. Great for sharing among 2-3 persons. $12.80

The 2nd dish isn't really a soup but has a broth..

Signature Sliced Grouper Fillet with Pine Mushroom &

Black Fungus in Rice Wine Broth $17.80

Freshest of ingredients ,cooked in rice wine, makes this

a very comforting dish ! I love the usage of rice wine !

 
Chickens at Joyden

There are two must try chicken dishes at Joyden. It was a tough choice if you ask me which one of the two is my favorite. Both are cooked differently and both taste equally good!

This is one of their signature dish - Soy Sauce Chicken. It looks as good as it taste!

Marinated with secret blend of supieroir light sauce and other herbs, the chicken is tender.

Rosewater is being used as well and it adds a refreshing and slight floral sweetness to this dish

 
This
may look like hainanese chicken to you but wait ..

it is actually Hakka
salt poached farm chicken ($17). It is cooked in a salt and herbal stock

and rested to fully absorb the flavours before it is eaten by us with

Joyden's homemade ginger puree !

Served at room temperature, the meat is
tender n we love it with the ginger smile

 
You will love this dish

Braised homemade beancurd coin with poached shanghai baby cabbage

if you enjoy cooked till super soft cabbage!

These are homemade patties of beancurd, seafood and veggie fried till golden brown.

I particularly enjoy the easy to eat beancurd and the milky broth that was made from

boiling pork bones for hours . The combination goes pretty well !

 


This is another NOT TO BE MISSED dish !

Just
by looking at this pic is enough to make me salivate ! Home made by
Joyden is the premium XO sauce made of dried scallops( 干贝) and jin hua
ham ( 金华火腿)which is used in this Fish Maw & Prawns with glass
noodles dish everything is mixed with this slightly spicy sauce and I
like how the tang hoon ( glass noodles ) soak up the sauce..Being a chili lover, I though this could have been spicier

 
There is no ending to Joyden's star dishes..coz it seems like the food we tried

tasted just amazingly good!

Braised pork ribs in aged mandarin peel

isn't like the usual Chinese zi char kind. The meat is "chopstick tender"

Almost like what you eat at some ribs restaurant. Cooking method is pretty interesting..

first braised, then infused with special aged mandarin peel sauce before being broiled!

 
Joyden not just serves meat dishes,

they also have seafood inspired ones!~

Signature Traditional Rice Vermicelli with Poached Egg White, Crab meat & Scallop

hehee..protein laden dish !!

The bee hoon is soaked with the gravy and I love it with lots of vinegar and pepper smile

 
Mix it all up !

 
To complement your meal at Joyden, you can try the cooling

Homemade Hawthorne and Apple Drink

山楂苹果水

 
Healthy and great for digestion!

We gotta end the meal on a sweet note shouldn't we? lol

Most of us chose the Red Bean soup with dumplings

Unlikely some places where their red bean soup is thick and overly sweet

Joyden's verions is not as thick and tasted really healthy ! I like it..plus

the tang yuans are generously filled with peanuts!

 
龟苓膏

Chilled herbal jelly

Highly recommended after the meal smile great for cooling down

and good for those with a 'heaty' disposition smile

 
One can't go wrong with ordering this classic favorite

白果薏米 Barley and gingko nuts drink.

Just the right taste of sweetness for me smile

 
Joyden Canton Kitchen is truly a gem and is the ideal location a birthday celebration,

get together with friends and family or just a meal after work !

 
It is a place I can go back again and again lol
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tang hoon prawns in xo sauce,hawthorn apple drink,soy sauce chicken
 
Date of Visit: Dec 16, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Soup | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads

 
With the kind of hectic lifestyle most of us are leading right now, it is essential that we feed ourselves well to face the daily toll . But guess what? That is usually not the case . A lot of people would turn to high sugar , high carbs kind of food during lunch time and after a long day at work.

There is a cafe right smack in the heart of Chinatown and CBD area where you can eat well , enjoy a balanced diet and yet not burn a hole in your wallet!

Foodology Fresh is conveniently located at first level of The URA Center ( just 5 mins away from Tanjong Pagar MRT station ) It has been serving healthy and tasty meals since January 2014 and has recently just revitalized its menu to cater to the growing numbers of office workers who seek a healthy and holistic lifestyle.

Bright and colorful shop front smile

 
What does Foodology Fresh has to offer?

Food offerings at Foodology Fresh is prepared fresh daily. Nothing is kept overnight . Most of the food items fulfill five health categories : - vegetarian, sugar free, lactose free, gluten free and no trans fat! . It is good for people who suffer from bloat and indigestion after a meal. These lunches are targeted to provide the much needed energy boost for a day's work. It will not leave you with a sugar rush nor will you give you a 'food coma' for sure smile I totally dislike the after lunch sluggishness ..

How does Foodology Fresh works?

Food are neatly labellbed and displayed in a orderly manner on the shelves. The main stars here are the wraps , sandwiches and salads. These mains are priced from $7 onwards and by topping up $3, you can get either a slice of quiche, a muffin or a hearty bowl of hot soup to go with your choice of mains .

 
You can either choose to eat at the cafe itself or have these

nicely packed salads to go if you are rushing for time

 
top up $3 for one of these smile

 


or choose some soups.. there is chicken stew and mushroom

* I personally love the pumpkin soup..

oops forgot to take a shot of it *

 


quite a number of drink choices

 
There is coffee too if you really must have that second cup of the day

 
The colorful and pretty appetizing wraps!

( $8.80 each )

 
Our personal favorites are the tandoori chicken and

smoked salmon! Just look at how generous they are with

the ingredients and fillings

The tandoori chicken wrap comes with a light punch of spice

and is dressed in mayo and onion chili raita & it has

slices of cucumber and lettuce to balance the taste.

 
How about some salad? Here's an idea!

I would have shared half a wrap and half a salad with a co worker!

Perhaps you would like to do that too lol

Spoiled for choices

 
Smoked duck breast salad ( $8.50)

 
salads all come with individually packed dressing

This is the Brown Rice & Pomegranate Salad

 
don't you just love the colors lol

 
Go for some desserts if there is still tummy space!

 
I would recommend the Apple Crumble!

* if you love apples just like me *

 
just look at all the food we sampled smile

I love the sweet muffins and apple crumble too!

 

 
It was an enjoyable evening mingling with fellow foodies ! Thanks Brand Cellar and Foodology Fresh for having us smile

My personal favorites at Foodology Fresh : Pumpkin soup, Smoked Salmon Wrap, Brown Rice & Pomegranate Salad and Apple Crumble smile

Supplementary Information:
They do not open for dinner
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Smoked salmon wrap,brown rice and pomegrante salad,apple crumble
 
Date of Visit: Nov 12, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The King Louis Halloween Set  Smile Oct 07, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills

Vivocity is one of my favorite shopping mall in Singapore. It certainly has lots of shopping and food options for us shopaholics and foodies alike! It's also a great centralized location that is easily accessible by buses and the MRT.

Alex and I visited Vivocity just last Thursday . Thanks to Openrice, we were invited to The King Louis Bar & Grill's for a food tasting event. It is our first time joining the Openrice team and fellow Openrice foodies for an event smile

The King Louis is located on the right side of Daiso on level 3. You wouldn't miss it!

 
Check out the castle like facade! Come! Let's go in and dine like a king!

I must mention this first. King Louis is a good place that caters to big dining group! Food serving here is meant for sharing lol

Come with me!

The King Louis is all decked out and ready for Halloween!

 

 
Great venue to celebrate an occassion or

gathering for office dept meal!

 
Here cones the food !

We are trying out their Halloween offerings for the month of October. All the food are meant for sharing among 4-5 persons ,(everyone will get a serving of soup. )

Highlandar Pumpkin Soup

This is a made from scratch soup using their own special in house recipe

Look how thick and creamy it is! Comes with a wedge of bread

 
Next up--English Style Chicken Ceasar Salad

This is pretty ordinary in my opinon, nothing to shout about..

but does provide some veggie to the evening

 
The King Louis Platter-

Onion rings, wedges , garlic sausages and small serving of greens , served

with sweet and spicy sauce. I am ok with this except the sausages,

they appeared kinda dry and shriveled. A tad salty too , but still

great as a starter before partaking of the main course !

 
( Thanks to King Louis for including both the Platter and salad for

our food tasting group. Usually for the set, you can choose from

either the platter OR the salad)

Here comes the main star of the night !

Meat galore ~ A great feast for meat lovers!!

There are baby back ribs, roasted english style queen pullet ( chicken)

Lamb steak with rosemary herbs and roast beef with black pepper sauce.

 
Personally I really enjoyed the chicken ( on the left ) and the baby back ribs

As lighting wasn't excellent, I didn't take photos of all the meat.

I must say being a lamb person, I was quite disappointed with the lamb steak.

My husband and some of the other foodies agreed that the lamb was too tough.

Perhaps it was over cooked? The beef steak was nice but there was a hint of

charred taste , else the texture was good for me.

Premium BBQ Baby back ribs

This was so fork tender and I really love it !

But the sauce may be a tad sweet haaha.

 
After resting my bursting tummy , we were served with dessert!!

Coconut ice cream with almond bits

 
It's as if we all have a separate stomach for dessert! Most of us managed to finish

this delicious coconut ice cream even thou we were very full from dinner !

I am not a coconut fan but managed to scrape everything in the glass!

I can even have a 2nd serving of it! lol

Check out the poster from King Louis

\

 


You can still choose from similar meat platter sets from the menu if you dine there on

other days of the week. They have many different sets for you to choose from !

Once again , thanks to Elly from The King Louis and Openrice for inviting and hosting us!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  pumpkin soup,meat platter,baby back ribs
 
Date of Visit: Oct 02, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0