OpenRice Index
  
jingeileen
This is jingeileen . I like to hang out in Orchard, Kallang, Bedok. French, Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, DIm sum.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review95 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity735 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos657 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow53 Following
粉絲247 Follower(s)
jingeileen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 95 Reviews in Singapore
Hidden Gem of Dakota Cresent  Smile Jun 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads | Brunch

Assumed most of you know Old Airport Road Hawker Center (near National Stadium) but do you know the old estate just 5 minutes away from it ? Alex and I visited the Dakota estate few years back and did some exploration in the area. It was truly a place where time stands still. Some of the flats are built in the 1950s and the exterior has stayed this way since!

As I was making my way to Tian Kee & Co, walking pass the very quiet playground, I am once again reminded of how important it is to conserve similar places like Datoka.

 
The former space at Tian Kee & Co. used to be a provision shop that served the estate for many years.

Current owner of the cafe, CK, decided to set up shop at this premise when he knew that Mr Lim had intentions to give up the provision shop. Up came this retro fitted old skool cafe that retained the old provision shop's signage as well as some of the fixtures.
Isn't this block quaint? Quite one of its kind.

Tian Kee is located at the end of the row.

 
A sign that has weathered many seasons
signboard

signboard

 
The cafe is sure to rekindle some childhood memories for some of us. I love the usage of restored chairs and tables smile

This is the "Snag"
Espresso and Rose Syrup milk.

 
It is totally my kind of coffee. Love the color and taste! Drink some coffee now!
Tian Kee sources some of its cakes from Cat & The Fiddle. I don't know where this Pandan cake is from, but it is delicious! I got a feeling that it might be from Bengawan Solo. Just a mere guess!

 
Snacks we adore as kids... and still love them now as adults smile
Haw flakes, lemon sweets and chocolate wafers ..
titbits

titbits

 
Decided to post this from Tian Kee's facebook: The Milo tin just shouts out the good old days!
Photo credit Tian kee & Co.

 
Before I forget, this cafe does not has air conidtioning..
just like the good old days.. fan and natural breeze !
I cooled down pretty fast when I was there last week..

 
Enjoy the place but pls don't spoil the tranquility
I love how laid back it feels..

when was the last time you sat on one of these !!?
kiddy ride~!

kiddy ride~!

 
Ok... now bring your kids, your ah ma, ah gong, mummy, daddy, your clan to enjoy this place!
Time stands still

Time stands still

 
 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pandan cake,snacks,Snag
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

love the snacks!  Smile Sep 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Halal

 
Mcdonalds at Tampines mall is very popular with shoppers and residents alike. Was getting peckish after shopping and decided to get something to munch on.

Was thankful that Mcd. came up with these affordable cheap snacks . They are great for kids too..

I bought the $2 drumlettes that day. it came packed in a paper bag . The size was just right for a quick snack. It was pipping hot and tasted so good! not too oily smile
 
Date of Visit: Sep 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Worth the money spent  Smile Sep 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hawker Centre | Rice

 
There are many stalls selling nasi lemak at this hawker center. My husband bought from this stall because they dont have a long que like some of the rest.

Surprisingly the food is nice! This place cost about $3.50 and comes with 4 items. Not too shabby! Husband said the chili is nice and rice aren't lumpy. I tried some and I quite like it myself too! The chicken wing wasn't too oily and am getting hungry as I write this!

 
Date of Visit: Sep 09, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Minimalist decor for a bakery  Smile Sep 17, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Kids-Friendly

I have read about BAO on the papers before they were open. Since I am just staying 5 mins away, I decided to check it out on the first day of biz. BAO is located on the 2nd level of a office/retail building diagonally opposite of the Singapore Casket. The nearest MRT station for now would be Lavender. I have passed by this building countless times on my way home and always wondered if the building is for commercial use. There is not much promotions with regards to the shops inside.

BAO is a collaboration between Patisserie G's Gwen Lim & ex pastry chef of Candele Christophe Grilo. The chef was presented that day and could be seen at the kitchen baking away smile Liberty coffee also had a pop up on the first day of biz serving coffee to customers.

The building below is CT Hub.

 

 
Wanted to try the croissants but sold out at 2pm . So I got these instead smile sea salt crossiants ($1.50 each) has some salty taste to it. Not overly buttery. The raisins bun was rather normal thou not as sweet as some other bakery in my opinion smile The bread offerings change from time to time as told by the friendly server.

There are no signage to the bakery. They have an open concept shopfront. it's on the 2nd level and you wouldn't miss it. They are the only shop that is open on that level for now.

 
Snapped a quick pic of the shop front from the escalator.

The food and cafe scene around Lavender and Jalan Besar is indeed thriving~
 
Date of Visit: Sep 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Love the mee pok  Smile Sep 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Hawker Centre

There are not many nice fish ball noodles around
I am glad that there is this fish ball bar chor mee near my area that has nice texture and chili is good too!

I like how everything comes together. The chili isn't too hot and they will accommodate to adding less oil or more vinegar if you wish. The ingredients used also tasted fresh.

 
I found the portion just right for me as breakfast . Will go for the soup base one next time! smile The lady who served me is friendly too!
 
Date of Visit: Sep 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0