OpenRice Index
  
jingeileen
This is jingeileen . I like to hang out in Orchard, Kallang, Bedok. French, Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, DIm sum.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review95 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity736 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos657 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow53 Following
粉絲247 Follower(s)
jingeileen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 11 to 15 of 95 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

It was by chance that I bought some Ondeh Ondeh from this stall at The Hong Lim Food Centre.

I was going around the stalls , deciding what to eat for lunch when I came across this stall that sells kueh. Ondeh Ondeh has always been my NO.1 favourite kueh. So imagine my eyes lit up when I saw boxes of ondeh ondeh lined up in front of the stall. I just couldn't resist them!

So I bought a box of 6 to try. I think it was $2 (cannot recall) It was still warm!~ You know some ondeh ondeh has very thick skin lol and the gula melaka inside is pathetic. This one is the king of ondeh ondeh! Skin is thin, and the ondeh ondeh is enough to make you cry!

Eat it whole and let the ondeh ondeh explode in your mouth.. again this taste and feeling is indeed 100% heavenly! Ok... now go get some and try!!!!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  ondeh ondeh
 
Date of Visit: Apr 07, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi

Don't blink now for you will miss seeing one of the most sinful sushi around!
My first taste of this wonderful creation goes way back to 2008. It was at their first branch at Food Republic Suntec. I have no idea if there will be one there again since they are under reno as i write this review.

I was introduce to this joint by a friend who worked in one of the offices in Suntec. There were very good reviews from the papers with regards to their Shiok Maki. IT really has to be one of the most sinful sushi ever! Imagine charcoal-grilled eel, avocado and rice wrapped with salmon and topped with generous amount of mayonnaise.. thats not all, the final icing on the cake would be the fish roe! Open your mouth wide and take it all in one mouth! It is orgasmic I tell you!!
It leaves you wanting more..hehehe. But okay, right after the 3rd piece I bet you will feel bloated. So don't overkill it !

 
Next, I also tried the pidan tufo. Again it is a sinful dish! The creamy pidan sauce is heavenly! ( to those who love pidan of coz..strictly for pidan lovers ~! ) Looking at the photo now is making me crave for some of this ~~ It is one of the best pidan toufu I have ever eaten smile

 
Another of my fav.sushi at this joint would be the pidan maki. It is almost like the pidan toufu , just that the main is changed to a sushi roll.

 
Okay, this diner also serves the usual sashimi and udon etc. Not everything is so sinful as the ones mentioned above smile

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Shiok maki,pidan tuofu
 
Date of Visit: Jun 01, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hidden Gem of Dakota Cresent  Smile Jun 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads | Brunch

Assumed most of you know Old Airport Road Hawker Center (near National Stadium) but do you know the old estate just 5 minutes away from it ? Alex and I visited the Dakota estate few years back and did some exploration in the area. It was truly a place where time stands still. Some of the flats are built in the 1950s and the exterior has stayed this way since!

As I was making my way to Tian Kee & Co, walking pass the very quiet playground, I am once again reminded of how important it is to conserve similar places like Datoka.

 
The former space at Tian Kee & Co. used to be a provision shop that served the estate for many years.

Current owner of the cafe, CK, decided to set up shop at this premise when he knew that Mr Lim had intentions to give up the provision shop. Up came this retro fitted old skool cafe that retained the old provision shop's signage as well as some of the fixtures.
Isn't this block quaint? Quite one of its kind.

Tian Kee is located at the end of the row.

 
A sign that has weathered many seasons
signboard

signboard

 
The cafe is sure to rekindle some childhood memories for some of us. I love the usage of restored chairs and tables smile

This is the "Snag"
Espresso and Rose Syrup milk.

 
It is totally my kind of coffee. Love the color and taste! Drink some coffee now!
Tian Kee sources some of its cakes from Cat & The Fiddle. I don't know where this Pandan cake is from, but it is delicious! I got a feeling that it might be from Bengawan Solo. Just a mere guess!

 
Snacks we adore as kids... and still love them now as adults smile
Haw flakes, lemon sweets and chocolate wafers ..
titbits

titbits

 
Decided to post this from Tian Kee's facebook: The Milo tin just shouts out the good old days!
Photo credit Tian kee & Co.

 
Before I forget, this cafe does not has air conidtioning..
just like the good old days.. fan and natural breeze !
I cooled down pretty fast when I was there last week..

 
Enjoy the place but pls don't spoil the tranquility
I love how laid back it feels..

when was the last time you sat on one of these !!?
kiddy ride~!

kiddy ride~!

 
Ok... now bring your kids, your ah ma, ah gong, mummy, daddy, your clan to enjoy this place!
Time stands still

Time stands still

 
 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pandan cake,snacks,Snag
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Live up to its name!!  Smile Jul 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Noodles

This hawker center is very crowded at all times. Lots of people like coming here for a meal in the morning before going for their workout at the bukit timah hills or before going to school and work smile There is a big wet market at the ground level too..

 
So yes.. this is the happy wanton noodles!

Tried this wanton mee many times and it remains one of the best I have ever eaten! It is the black sauce type... and I love it!! Not soggy and I like the amazing chilli too!
 
Date of Visit: Apr 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Best Soy Sauce Chicken  Smile Jun 18, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre

This is one of my favorite stall at the food center in my neighborhood. They have been around for close to 15 years or so. They are open from noon to about 11.30pm. They have wanton noodles, chicken feet noodles as well as shrimp dumpling noodles. What I like best is of coz their star dish- Soy Sauce Chicken Noodles ( yau kai mee) . It has been voted one of the best soy sauce chicken noodles on Hungry go where . You can say that it is my pick me up food!

There may be ques during meal times but it moves quite fast.
Reasons why i love this noodle
- lots of sauce! The stall owner is nice..and would make it very saucy when I packet it home to eat. Noodles does not become clampy like some others.
- sauce goes well with chilli and chicken. leaving u wanting more!
- Chicken is tender
- i love to ask for more veggie and they are willing to oblige me smile
- garlicky chilli makes it yummier to eat!!!

I give it 4/5 !!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Soy sauce chicken noodles
 
Date of Visit: Jun 02, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0