OpenRice Index
  
jingeileen
This is jingeileen . I like to hang out in Orchard, Kallang, Bedok. French, Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, DIm sum.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review95 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity736 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos657 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow53 Following
粉絲247 Follower(s)
jingeileen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 95 Reviews in Singapore
In love with what I see and eat  Smile Jul 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Brunch

Travelling 30 mins via public transport may seem like a short journey to some , but it does seem a tad far for me at times. I have been spoilt badly. Staying near town makes going places like Chua Chu Kang , Woodlands (you know, the far end of our island) seemed like eternity.

Comparatively, going to Bukit Timah that day seemed like a piece of cake...quite effortless smile The company and food were the draw! I was on my way to lunch and coffee with a dear friend. I really love the decor of this cafe.. The furniture used are all restored and you are able to purchase them too! You will be smitten by what this cafe has to offer, just like how my friend and I were!

The downside of this place is that it can get very noisy when it is packed. Also, the service staff may appear to be somewhat curt and 'cold' when you ask for food recommendations. We received a rather hostile vibe from her. Plus, it is after all a a cafe cum vintage fitting outfit, so there are not many tables available. You may have to use the big communal table (seems common these days at such cafes) so your heart to heart talk may be overheard by other table mates tongue

But really, you will be won over by the vintage items they have stocked in the shop and those pretty tarts and cakes waiting for you in the display shelves!!

 
Sweet isn't it? This is the Mixed Fruit Tart. The tart base was a tad hard though.
Passion fruit tart

Passion fruit tart

 
I love those peaks of the tart! This Passion Fruit Tart is not too sour.

 
In love with the whole setting... am being transported to another realm smile

For full review and more photos, visit http://providence1974.blogspot.sg/2012/08/tete-tete-with-carpenter-and-cook.html.
 
Spending per head: Approximately $20(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

crowded weekend  OK Jun 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

 
Habitat Coffee is the only cafe with coffee, food and ice cream all in a place along this area around upper thomson smile

They have been around for a few years and last wk was the first time I tried their coffee smile
I like this wall mural they have. It's a small cafe but managed to put quite a lot of seats in their shop space. It was full house when we were there around 3.30 pm on a sunday afternoon

 
We had the Irish cream coffee and Tiramisu coffee. Both came with coffee art. I love the flavours smile $6 each.

 
We also shared this ham and cheese sandwich. We like it but found it abit expensive. $8

We will still come back to this cafe if we are around this area.

 
Date of Visit: Jun 23, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

worth the calories Smile Jun 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malaysian | Chinese Noodles

 
We had our first taste of the famous Mdm Kwan Nasi Lemak on a weekday. We went around 2pm and it wasn't noisy nor crowded at this hour. The restaurant is quite spacious and tables are nicely spaced out. There is no need to worry about anyone invading your pte space smile Decor is also quite nice and feels good seated there. Was there with my other half and both of us were famished after a morning at Sentosa. Nasi lemak was the order of the day for us. He initially wanted to try the beef redang but alas! they were sold out by 2pm. smile

So yeah, we wowed when the nasi lemak was served. Rice smelled so yummy and the chicken curry was thick and good! Don't expect healthy food when you come to mdm kwan. YOu have to prepare to eat sinfully yummy food!! Else pls don't go. The curry chicken is da bomb! And that heap of sambal ikan bilis.. so so good with the rice. it is not too spicy. Not seen on the pic is a side of achar. Crunchy and spicy!

Overall we really like this nasi lemak but it is not for everyday eating. lol
Oh, the person who took our order ( manager I suppose) was very friendly and polite smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nasi lemak
 
Date of Visit: May 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lots of pie selection  Smile Aug 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes

This cafe for sure has one of the nicest shop front ever!
It is located among the hardware stores an just opp. jalan bersar stadium. Its neigbours includes a dogy looking hair salon tongue

 
That's the entrance on the bottom right..very cute isn't it smile Also seen are some pies at the display counter smile So pretty!!

The hot drink on the top left is the new coffee- Cabin cappuccino .

Here are the pies we ate.. ( owl bag is mine hehehe)

 
Coconut lime volka ( left) and funny apple . The lime one is really sour and yet very sweet at the same time!! hahaha. not really my fav. I prefer the apple one! Rasins have been soaked in rum ~! and tart base is good too~

 
I will be back to try out more pies!! lol
 
Date of Visit: Aug 05, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

It's a zoo out there!  Smile Aug 22, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian / New Zealand | Restaurant | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Brunch

smilesmile

4 of us were looking for a place to chat and have some coffee when a friend suggested Roberts timms. It's located at Orchard Shopping center, just mins away from somerset MRT and 313.

It wasn't crowded when we were there at 8.30pm but shortly after we were seated, many people came strolling in. It's good that they are open till late ~

The menu has some great snacks to offer but we were there for the coffee and cute coffee art!!

One of my friend even ask the staff to get the barista to draw all different art for us ~! hahaha...

We were really happy to see the cute animals on our coffee!!

We ordered a Flat white, 2 lattes and one vanilla latte

 
Service of the wait staff was great!

 
Date of Visit: Aug 12, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0