OpenRice Index
  
jingeileen
This is jingeileen . I like to hang out in Orchard, Kallang, Bedok. French, Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, DIm sum.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review95 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity735 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos657 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow53 Following
粉絲247 Follower(s)
jingeileen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 95 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Chinese Soup | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads

 
With the kind of hectic lifestyle most of us are leading right now, it is essential that we feed ourselves well to face the daily toll . But guess what? That is usually not the case . A lot of people would turn to high sugar , high carbs kind of food during lunch time and after a long day at work.

There is a cafe right smack in the heart of Chinatown and CBD area where you can eat well , enjoy a balanced diet and yet not burn a hole in your wallet!

Foodology Fresh is conveniently located at first level of The URA Center ( just 5 mins away from Tanjong Pagar MRT station ) It has been serving healthy and tasty meals since January 2014 and has recently just revitalized its menu to cater to the growing numbers of office workers who seek a healthy and holistic lifestyle.

Bright and colorful shop front smile

 
What does Foodology Fresh has to offer?

Food offerings at Foodology Fresh is prepared fresh daily. Nothing is kept overnight . Most of the food items fulfill five health categories : - vegetarian, sugar free, lactose free, gluten free and no trans fat! . It is good for people who suffer from bloat and indigestion after a meal. These lunches are targeted to provide the much needed energy boost for a day's work. It will not leave you with a sugar rush nor will you give you a 'food coma' for sure smile I totally dislike the after lunch sluggishness ..

How does Foodology Fresh works?

Food are neatly labellbed and displayed in a orderly manner on the shelves. The main stars here are the wraps , sandwiches and salads. These mains are priced from $7 onwards and by topping up $3, you can get either a slice of quiche, a muffin or a hearty bowl of hot soup to go with your choice of mains .

 
You can either choose to eat at the cafe itself or have these

nicely packed salads to go if you are rushing for time

 
top up $3 for one of these smile

 


or choose some soups.. there is chicken stew and mushroom

* I personally love the pumpkin soup..

oops forgot to take a shot of it *

 


quite a number of drink choices

 
There is coffee too if you really must have that second cup of the day

 
The colorful and pretty appetizing wraps!

( $8.80 each )

 
Our personal favorites are the tandoori chicken and

smoked salmon! Just look at how generous they are with

the ingredients and fillings

The tandoori chicken wrap comes with a light punch of spice

and is dressed in mayo and onion chili raita & it has

slices of cucumber and lettuce to balance the taste.

 
How about some salad? Here's an idea!

I would have shared half a wrap and half a salad with a co worker!

Perhaps you would like to do that too lol

Spoiled for choices

 
Smoked duck breast salad ( $8.50)

 
salads all come with individually packed dressing

This is the Brown Rice & Pomegranate Salad

 
don't you just love the colors lol

 
Go for some desserts if there is still tummy space!

 
I would recommend the Apple Crumble!

* if you love apples just like me *

 
just look at all the food we sampled smile

I love the sweet muffins and apple crumble too!

 

 
It was an enjoyable evening mingling with fellow foodies ! Thanks Brand Cellar and Foodology Fresh for having us smile

My personal favorites at Foodology Fresh : Pumpkin soup, Smoked Salmon Wrap, Brown Rice & Pomegranate Salad and Apple Crumble smile

Supplementary Information:
They do not open for dinner
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Smoked salmon wrap,brown rice and pomegrante salad,apple crumble
 
Date of Visit: Nov 12, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

The King Louis Halloween Set  Smile Oct 07, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steaks and Grills

Vivocity is one of my favorite shopping mall in Singapore. It certainly has lots of shopping and food options for us shopaholics and foodies alike! It's also a great centralized location that is easily accessible by buses and the MRT.

Alex and I visited Vivocity just last Thursday . Thanks to Openrice, we were invited to The King Louis Bar & Grill's for a food tasting event. It is our first time joining the Openrice team and fellow Openrice foodies for an event smile

The King Louis is located on the right side of Daiso on level 3. You wouldn't miss it!

 
Check out the castle like facade! Come! Let's go in and dine like a king!

I must mention this first. King Louis is a good place that caters to big dining group! Food serving here is meant for sharing lol

Come with me!

The King Louis is all decked out and ready for Halloween!

 

 
Great venue to celebrate an occassion or

gathering for office dept meal!

 
Here cones the food !

We are trying out their Halloween offerings for the month of October. All the food are meant for sharing among 4-5 persons ,(everyone will get a serving of soup. )

Highlandar Pumpkin Soup

This is a made from scratch soup using their own special in house recipe

Look how thick and creamy it is! Comes with a wedge of bread

 
Next up--English Style Chicken Ceasar Salad

This is pretty ordinary in my opinon, nothing to shout about..

but does provide some veggie to the evening

 
The King Louis Platter-

Onion rings, wedges , garlic sausages and small serving of greens , served

with sweet and spicy sauce. I am ok with this except the sausages,

they appeared kinda dry and shriveled. A tad salty too , but still

great as a starter before partaking of the main course !

 
( Thanks to King Louis for including both the Platter and salad for

our food tasting group. Usually for the set, you can choose from

either the platter OR the salad)

Here comes the main star of the night !

Meat galore ~ A great feast for meat lovers!!

There are baby back ribs, roasted english style queen pullet ( chicken)

Lamb steak with rosemary herbs and roast beef with black pepper sauce.

 
Personally I really enjoyed the chicken ( on the left ) and the baby back ribs

As lighting wasn't excellent, I didn't take photos of all the meat.

I must say being a lamb person, I was quite disappointed with the lamb steak.

My husband and some of the other foodies agreed that the lamb was too tough.

Perhaps it was over cooked? The beef steak was nice but there was a hint of

charred taste , else the texture was good for me.

Premium BBQ Baby back ribs

This was so fork tender and I really love it !

But the sauce may be a tad sweet haaha.

 
After resting my bursting tummy , we were served with dessert!!

Coconut ice cream with almond bits

 
It's as if we all have a separate stomach for dessert! Most of us managed to finish

this delicious coconut ice cream even thou we were very full from dinner !

I am not a coconut fan but managed to scrape everything in the glass!

I can even have a 2nd serving of it! lol

Check out the poster from King Louis

\

 


You can still choose from similar meat platter sets from the menu if you dine there on

other days of the week. They have many different sets for you to choose from !

Once again , thanks to Elly from The King Louis and Openrice for inviting and hosting us!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  pumpkin soup,meat platter,baby back ribs
 
Date of Visit: Oct 02, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hidden Gem of Dakota Cresent  Smile Jun 25, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches | Salads | Brunch

Assumed most of you know Old Airport Road Hawker Center (near National Stadium) but do you know the old estate just 5 minutes away from it ? Alex and I visited the Dakota estate few years back and did some exploration in the area. It was truly a place where time stands still. Some of the flats are built in the 1950s and the exterior has stayed this way since!

As I was making my way to Tian Kee & Co, walking pass the very quiet playground, I am once again reminded of how important it is to conserve similar places like Datoka.

 
The former space at Tian Kee & Co. used to be a provision shop that served the estate for many years.

Current owner of the cafe, CK, decided to set up shop at this premise when he knew that Mr Lim had intentions to give up the provision shop. Up came this retro fitted old skool cafe that retained the old provision shop's signage as well as some of the fixtures.
Isn't this block quaint? Quite one of its kind.

Tian Kee is located at the end of the row.

 
A sign that has weathered many seasons
signboard

signboard

 
The cafe is sure to rekindle some childhood memories for some of us. I love the usage of restored chairs and tables smile

This is the "Snag"
Espresso and Rose Syrup milk.

 
It is totally my kind of coffee. Love the color and taste! Drink some coffee now!
Tian Kee sources some of its cakes from Cat & The Fiddle. I don't know where this Pandan cake is from, but it is delicious! I got a feeling that it might be from Bengawan Solo. Just a mere guess!

 
Snacks we adore as kids... and still love them now as adults smile
Haw flakes, lemon sweets and chocolate wafers ..
titbits

titbits

 
Decided to post this from Tian Kee's facebook: The Milo tin just shouts out the good old days!
Photo credit Tian kee & Co.

 
Before I forget, this cafe does not has air conidtioning..
just like the good old days.. fan and natural breeze !
I cooled down pretty fast when I was there last week..

 
Enjoy the place but pls don't spoil the tranquility
I love how laid back it feels..

when was the last time you sat on one of these !!?
kiddy ride~!

kiddy ride~!

 
Ok... now bring your kids, your ah ma, ah gong, mummy, daddy, your clan to enjoy this place!
Time stands still

Time stands still

 
 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pandan cake,snacks,Snag
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 19, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good deal..but too sourish~  OK Sep 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Chinese Noodles

 
We love coming to this hawker center for breakfast and meals. It is near our place and there are many stalls that serve good hawker food at an affordable price .

Just like any other mornings, we drove to the hawker center and went around looking for food .

Husband ordered this delicious looking bowl of lor mee that comes with fried fish and other items such as egg and meat! It was truly value for money at $2.50!

He told the hawker to add a bit more vinegar but to our chagrin it was a mistake! The noodles could have already have had alot of vinegar to start with.. coz the smell of vinegar was overpowering! It was like eating vinegar noodles ..

We will still go back for this but without the vinegar! tongue
 
Date of Visit: Sep 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

love the snacks!  Smile Sep 24, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Halal

 
Mcdonalds at Tampines mall is very popular with shoppers and residents alike. Was getting peckish after shopping and decided to get something to munch on.

Was thankful that Mcd. came up with these affordable cheap snacks . They are great for kids too..

I bought the $2 drumlettes that day. it came packed in a paper bag . The size was just right for a quick snack. It was pipping hot and tasted so good! not too oily smile
 
Date of Visit: Sep 08, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $2(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0