OpenRice Index
  
jingeileen
This is jingeileen . I like to hang out in Orchard, Kallang, Bedok. French, Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, DIm sum.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review95 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity735 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos657 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow53 Following
粉絲247 Follower(s)
jingeileen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 36 to 40 of 95 Reviews in Singapore
Love this place~  Smile Jul 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

Popped into this cafe almost 3 wks ago..it has been around for awhile. Can you really blame me for being slow to try out the indie cafes? There are just way too many new ones just in the past one year. Coffees and cakes at these places don't exactly come cheap tongue Best way to enjoy them is to go with a few good friends! Good company and good desserts go hand in hand! We got there about 630pm. Right.. strange time for desserts.. but we had lunch at a strange time too..so yeah.. tongue It was quite packed ..but most people were just about to leave. Old mosaic tiles and a puddle of coffee!

 
Check out the old safe ..at the doorsteps

 
We were seated right smack in the middle, right next to the cake display case!

 
Oh so rich! Hazelnut Dacquoise, Rich Valrhona Chocolate and Hazelnut Meringue. All these desserts were shared by 5 of us. This is way too much for one person!

 
Soft and not too sweet
Matcha and red beans lol

 
my hot mocha and quite normal coffee art, can draw something cute?

 
Such old school charm..

 
Such a nice time spent with friends smile
 
Date of Visit: Jul 16, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Nice ramen!  Smile Jul 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

Ippudo Mandarin Gallery- 2nd overseas outlet outside of Japan with the first being in NY.

After doing my 'research' online, ie by reading various reviews on blogs as well as food websites... I decided to pay Ippudo a visit on a Thursday late afternoon.

There are a few types of soup base you can choose from . There is the Shiromaru Classic which is tonkotsu soup ( pork ) , the Akamaru Modern which is the same pork broth but enhanced with their special miso paste ( see photo below--the red/orange paste in the middle ). There is also the Shoyu ( soy sauce ) and Ippudo Karakamenwhich is served with a spicy paste. After reading so many reviews tongue it was Akamaru for me! It was served in a red bowl

You can choose to add on the egg, and pork belly ( two slices ) to your ramen ( $17 before taxes ) . The server will ask how you would prefer your noodles to be done- hard, medium or soft.. I chose medium tongue I hate noodles that are too hard and soggy.. so medium seems to be the right choice and yes it was smile I finished the whole bowl lol

What's inside?

 
Black fungus , two slices of pork belly ( yums!) lots and lots of spring onions (If you want to sound abit atas- scallion) special blend of miso (has minced meat), pieces of cabbage.

A closer look at the broth, it is thick and flavorful with garlic oil.

I love the soup.. it has crunchy onions in them too! I had a great time picking them out.. has three of my favourite! Spring onions, onions and garlic

 
I was disappointed with the egg though, I had better ones
this isn't perfect... some parts were overcooked. I would have preferred that they serve, the egg separately in a dish and also to half the egg for us..

 
As I was alone, it seemed impossible to be ordering any other side dishes or desserts.

My late lunch/ early dinner consisted of the ramen and a cool glass of ice lemon tea. I was set back by $23 after taxes. Service was prompt and smiles were aplently. Well it may be different if it it during the peak meal time periods.

During meal times :
Prepare to be seated in the communal dining area and prepare to be overheard.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $23(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Long que!!  Smile Jul 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Coffeeshop | Roasted Meat

tongue I come to Kay Lee whenever I had the craving for yummy sweet char siew
I must warn you though.. The longest time we ever que for this was 45 mins. So come prepared and don't complain if you really want to eat this smile

The coffeeshop is located next to a small road. and the express way is just next to it. Expect the sun and heat while queueing, unless it is a rainy day. Not much decor to speak of.. but lots of yummy char siew! The roast duck is okay.but really nothing to rave about.

Don't misunderstood and think that the char siew is burnt! It is not.. this is honey roasted..so of coz there will be some caramelisation of the honey on top smile Meat is tender !

 
looking at the photo makes me wanna eat it again!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 30, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good food  Smile Jul 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Dim Sum

Having already tried their other sister restaraunts such as Paradise Inn, Paradise Dynasty and Kungfu Paradise, I know Canton Paradise will not be too far off the standard of the other places.

大肚婆炒饭 was our staple for the nite.

 
It has olive, tiny bits of salted fish and chye por ( 菜扑)
It has quite an innovative name don't you think so?
But it was way too salty for us!

one of their signature dish..
Sauce was good!

 
Pity it was just very normal tuofu.will give it a miss next time

鳯爪 aka Phoenix feet aka chicken feet in abalone sauce!
how atas is that!!
The sauce goes well with the salty rice

 
There's both meat and veggie in this dish..
Tender slices of beef with broccoli and golden mushroom
The sunny side up has to be mixed in ..
Thumbs up!

 
Must show how big the claw is.. It was the biggest I ever eaten..
that's my iphone for comparison

 

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Good to look at.. Cry Jul 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes

It is not the first time I bought cupcakes from them. But it may be the last time smile I am always tempted by how pretty and well made they look at the display case.

Anyway, we bought 6 this time to celebrate an advanced birthday for me. They were really pretty to look at.

 
I ate one earlier. The cake itself was kinda dry..gotta eat it with the cream of course..to which I found it overly sweet!! Cupcakes are meant to be looked at, not eaten. They are just too sweet!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $17(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0