OpenRice Index
  
jingeileen
This is jingeileen . I like to hang out in Orchard, Kallang, Bedok. French, Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Café, Hawker Centre, Restaurant and Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot, Sushi/Sashimi, Desserts and Cakes, DIm sum.
Member 26 First(s)
No. of Review95 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity735 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos657 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant8 My Restaurant(s)
Follow53 Following
粉絲247 Follower(s)
jingeileen  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 41 to 45 of 95 Reviews in Singapore
Wholesome food  Smile Jul 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café | Brunch

Many cafes have mushroomed in our little island in the past 2 years. It's really a matter of too many cafes, too little time / too little money tongue Eating at such cafes don't come cheap. One breakfast plate can set you off by $16 .

Was at the Duxton area not long ago with my friends and we decided to pop by Group Therapy for dinner.

This cafe is located on the 2nd level of a shop house. The counter and preparation area (kitchen?) is flushed to one side of the shop house. It is not a big place but can prob.take up to 60-70 persons. There are two areas where you can sit. One area is nearer to the kitchen and the other side seem to be more spacious with sofa seating and a long dining table for bigger groups. Probably smaller groups can share the table.

Selection of food is okay. There are finger food if you just wanna chill and talk..also has some selection of beers. For meals there are breakfast sets and stews smile Here's what we ordered.

Chicken Cacciatore (Hunter’s Chicken)
Whole chicken thigh braised in traditional sauce of tomatoes, onions,
peppers & a dash of white wine.
Served on a bed of mashed white potatoes & salad leaves

Chicken is tender...quite delicious

 
delicious egg benedict served in an old school bowl!~

Poached Eggs
with thick toast, smoked salmon, gruyere, hollandaise

 
Beef Shank Stew, carrots, potatoes
served with rice.
this is quite home cooked..
okay if you like beef but nothing special

 
Would very much be going back for more at this cafe!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 25, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $20(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

从heap and yummy porridge  Smile Jul 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hawker Centre | Porridge/Congee

This particular porridge place need no introduction. They have been in operation, serving piping hot congee for years. Many people love eating here even on scorching hot sunny days. Prices ranges from $4 for the ever popular century eggs porridge to $8 for a one person serving of frog porridge. There 阿惹 also side dishes such are veggies, tofu etc.

They used to only have seatings on the ground floor. It wasn't too long ago that there are also seats availble on the 2nd storey. It does seem that not many people know about it, as it is always crowded on the ground floor but not the 2nd.

So here's our order.. frog porridge for 2 and one serving of tofu.

 
The frog is cooked in gong bao style but it was more sweet than spicy in this case. It was yummy having the sauce all over our porridge.

I have been coming here for meals for many years smile
 
Date of Visit: Jul 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not very nice coffee art  OK Jul 27, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

This is a new establishment, by the same company that brought us Jones the Grocer. It is conveniently located at Mandarin Gallery . You wouldn't be able to miss it if you come up from the escalator located outside of the mall ( facing H&M)

I was there for my first visit couple of weeks ago. We were in need of a cup of hot drink. So yup, 4 of us ordered 2 hot chocolates, a mocha and a latte. We even asked the staff if the coffee has any art to which the lady replied yup.

See for yourself what we got mad

Oh well..Yup, not the prettiest looking coffee art..but the drinks are quite nice la smile

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 14, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $6(Tea)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Restaurant | Chinese Soup

Thanks to my friend, she treated me to a delicious dinner at Soup Broth Asia with the Groupon voucher she purchased. The set as stated on the voucher consist of the milky broth as well as a pot of 3 cup chicken.

The milky soup has pieces of boneless chicken, cabbage, carrots, egg, mushroom etc. Soup is very sweet and we just can't get enough of it.

 
Below is the 3 cup chicken. they added basil leaves to this dish to make it special. The gravy is really good and goes well with the chicken. It was a pity that the chicken were quite bony and were rather small pieces which makes eating a bit difficult.

But overall it was a delicious dinner.

 
 
Date of Visit: Jul 19, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Love this soybean!  Smile Jul 26, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Desserts and Cakes

 
I was rather surprised that another company has joined the soy bean bandwagon. There were so many brands serving the same product so I was wondering why yet another.

But I was wrong.. Amasoy is different! I must say I didn't pay any attention to them..I was like wow when the collagen and fruits soybean desserts were introduced. It was the brain child of our local food blogger, Daniel. Even thou one has to fork out a few pennies more for this , it is worth it!

The soybean was smooth and not too sweet. There wasn't any powdery taste to it..unlike some other brands.. I find it easy to eat smile
The serving size is also just nice.. wouldn't be too much for a person at all~!
 
Date of Visit: Jul 18, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0