OpenRice Index
  
Jason123
This is Jason123 living in Tampines. I am a Student, work in Tampines. I like to hang out in Raffles Place, Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hotel, Restaurant and Juices, Buffet , Dim Sum.
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review83 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2150 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos550 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant141 My Restaurant(s)
Follow18 Following
粉絲129 Follower(s)
Jason123  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 83 Reviews in Singapore
Burp's Experience!  Smile Feb 26, 2016   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Bars/Lounges | Café | Burgers and Sandwiches | Brunch

Heya People! I'm back with this review on a humble cafe situated along Bedok Reservoir Road, named Burp's Kitchen and Bar! Cozy place, with a mini bar to chillax after a long day of work! What's more? With friendly bosses and delicious food... My only complain is the squeezy seats! Otherwise I'm definitely gonna go there every other day. Oh ya. Free Wi-Fis for kids, I mean students to study!

Okok. Without further ado, let me introduce the first dish of the night - Salted Egg Tofu Fries!

 
Salted Egg Tofu Fries - 3.0/5.0 Stars. The idea of replacing normal shoestring or curly fries with tofu fries is kinda cool, especially when salted egg is being accompanied. According to the friendly boss, the tofu is made from scratch, where they get those tofu, and they cut them into slices. Then, it is being coated with batter and deep fried. Lastly, they drizzle the salted egg yolk sauce onto it. Would say that the tofu batter is very normal, and just like what my fellow food reviewer mentioned - it tasted more like tau kwa than tofu. But, the salted egg sauce salvaged the dish! The boss was kind enough to bring out the Wasabi Mayo sauce, which is another alternative to Salted Egg Sauce for us to try. Its Wasabi Mayo sauce tasted pretty good as well! *According to the boss, the restaurant provides additional sauces, or a mixture (you can get both sauce), at the usual price as long as you ASK for it! Good eh?* 

Next up - Burp Kitchen Wings 

 
Burp Kitchen Wings - 4.2/5.0 Stars. Wings are usually deep fried eh? But Burp chooses to air-fry their wings, which is definitely a plus point! Accompanied the wings is its special sauce - Adobo Sauce! Sweet yet tangy refreshing sauce, which is simply indescribable! You would have to try it yourself! (I don't give 4.2/5 Stars for no reason, trust me its good!) 

Next up - Salted Egg Wings 

 
Salted Egg Wings - 3.4/5.0 Stars. Just in case I did not mention it earlier - all the marination of the wings are being done by the chef, and all the kind of sauces - be it salted egg, adobo or any sauces that I mention within this post is being made from scratch by the chef. Burp believes in making their own sauces and marinations! Ok by now, you would be asking me if the Salted Egg that appeared in the wings is the same as the one that appeared in the tofu fries. And my answer is YES! Nothing much special about the sauce to mention - everything was mentioned above in the salted egg tofu fries. Wings as per usual, GOOD! 

Next up - Chicken Quesadilla

 
Chicken Quesadilla - 4.5/5.0 Stars. This is something to die for. Cheddar Cheese, Mozzarella cheese, slow cooked pull chicken accompanied by the totrilla wrap. Its just simply amazing and I would say that this is one of the best quesadilla I've ever tried on earth! For $9, its definitely worth the price. Oh yeah, and it comes with freshly made Salsa sauce, which is made from tomato puree and tomato sauce! Definitely gonna order this again on my next visit! 

Next up - Burp's Beef 

 
Burp's Beef - 4.3/5.0 Stars. Brioche Bun, beef patty, american cheese, caramellized onions, dou miao and spicy mayo. Great combination, and of course instead of using the 'boring' lettuce, cabbage etc, Burp decided to replace it with pea sprouts, or better known as dou miao. Surprisingly, the dou miao indeed brought the whole burger to the next level.. of tastiness! Beef patty was fresh and generous as well! Oh ya. every burger comes with a side of Potato Salad, which I personally find it kinda normal. *The boss says that you can switch your potato salad to either coleslaw or corn chips for free. You can even change it to salted egg tofu fries - at a minimal charge!* 

Next up - Crabby Patty 

 
Crabby Patty - 2.6/5.0 Stars. Squid Ink Bun, lettuce, battered soft shell crab, salted egg sauce, curry leaves and chilli padi. Squid Ink Bun has no squid ink taste or any distinctive taste of squid ink. Battered Soft Shell Crab is served luke warm (ok not even luke warm, more of cold), and it seems not to have been battered. Salted egg sauce and curry leaves - ok as per normal. Not much of chilli padi either. Would not recommend this burger, especially with the price, which is on the high side - $18.00. Burp's Beef, priced at $16.00 is definitely much more price and taste-worthy as compared to this.

Next up - Pork Carnitas Tacos 

 
Pork Carnitas Taco - 4.1/5.0 Stars. Slow cooked BBQ pulled pork, apple-slaw and salsa fresca, being wrapped by tortilla tacos and served with corn chips. BBQ pull pork was addictive, especially with the distinctive taste of the BBQ sauce, and the apple-slaw made the dish less oily and gives its customer an 'healthier' opinion of the dish. 

Last but not least - Baja Fish Tacos 

 
Baja Fish Tacos - 3.7/5.0 Stars. By now, everyone of us are kind of full, and if we were to say that this dish is good, it has to really be good. Everyone on the table thought that the fish was good. Thus, it is really GOOD. Everything else was the same - apple-slaw and salsa fresca, but it comes with spicy mayo and battered fish. The fish was well battered, and it stands out amongst the dishes that I've tried today. 

The average score for the 8 dishes we tried at Burp Kitchen and Bar was 3.725 Stars/5.0 Stars, which is decent. For a cafe situated along a reservoir, I thought that the food served was really good, and it is really price-worthy. The staff and bosses were very friendly and they would try their best to accomdate to our requests - nothing is impossible! Just ASK! 

Overall a good food tasting, and definitely will be back for more at Burp's Kitchen and Bar - hopefully to try out some of their mocktails and cocktails!  
 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Burp Kitchen Wings,Burp's Beef,Pork Carnita's Taco
 
Date of Visit: Feb 25, 2016 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

My Little Spanish Place Review Smile Mar 13, 2015   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | Paella | Brunch

 
Really honoured to be part of this OpenRice Food Tasting on the 10th of March at this humble restaurant - My Little Spanish Place! Throughout this food tasting, the chef of this restaurant, Edward personally shared quite a few tips on making spanish dishes, as well as explaining the comeabout of the dishes. I got to admit, Chef Edward is really very friendly and approachable! 

 
Once settled, we were prompt to try out their signature Red Wine Sangria ($12/glass). Sangria is often being served in Spanish restaurant and this is my second time trying out Red Wine Sangria! Accompanied with strawberry and apple bites, the drink is really refreshing and goes well with the other 8 dishes that I'm going to introduce to everyone!
Fermin Serrano (white)  10 Vetas Jamon (black)

Fermin Serrano (white) 10 Vetas Jamon (black)

 
We started off with the Platter of JAMON and CHEESE, which is accompanied with riped olives. Jamon is the spanish terms for ham and at My Little Spanish Place, they do serve 5 different kinds of Spanish Ham, ranging from 18 months old ones to 48+ months old ones! Today, we got to try out the 1.5yrs old ham and the 2.5 years old ham. Personally prefer the older (2.5yrs old) one, which has a stronger taste! Goes well with baguette and cheese! 

 
Croquettas ($8/4pcs), which is one of their signature tapas was served next! Croquettas, which is the spanish term for croquettes, is stuffed with jamon and being lightly fried. Served with garlic aioli which gives the croquettas a strong favour! 

 
Next up is another tapas, Gambas al Ajillo ($14). Gambas al Ajillo, which is Garlic Prawns. The restaurant uses fresh shrimps and the sauce is made from boiling olive oil with garlic and chili pepper. I've to admit, the sauce goes really well with the baguette! 

 
Champiñones al Ajillo ($15/3pcs) which is a mushroom dish, is my favourite tapas of the night! Lightly toasted baguette, served with fresh and tender mushroom and shrimp, accompanied with garlic and olive oil. The mushroom is really juicy and goes well with the sauce! Bagus! 

 
Tortilla de Patata con Alioli ($8/4pcs), the chef recommendation. Eggs, potatoes and last ingredient (you've to find out from Chef Edward when you visit them!) will make you a step closer to making this dish! We've tried all sorts of egg omelette, but its really quite unique to have such a Potato Omelette!

 
Paella de la Casa ($49/small), the spanish version of claypot rice! Stuffed with large shrimps, mussels, chicken, langostinas and chorizo! What's my verdict? You've to try this at My Little Spanish Place! Its really sedappp! 
Black Ink Paella

Black Ink Paella

 
Arroz Negra ($44/small), which is literally black ink rice served with prawn and squid. And for the black ink version, there's cheese inside! Personally still prefer the house version though..
Churros, Chocolate Cake and Hand-churned Strawberry Ice Cream

Churros, Chocolate Cake and Hand-churned Strawberry Ice Cream

 
Chef Edward personally plated our personalized Dessert Platter, which includes the 3 signature desserts at My Little Spanish Place - Churros, Chocolate Cake and Hand-Churned Strawberry Ice Cream! Churros, served warm with cinamon sugar and warm chocolate. Churros here are just in the right size, just 2 mouthful and its gone! Chocolate Cake, served in a lollipop stick. Verdict? Real chocolaty! As for the Strawberry Ice Cream, I've to definitely give a special mention to it! Its hand-churned, in other words hand-made from scratch! Oops. I forgot to ask if Chef Edward did participate in the upcoming Gelato World Tour 2015? If yes I'd definitely be there to support! 

 
Photo with Restaurant Manager of My Little Spanish Place (left) and Chef Edward (right). Both are very friendly and approachable dudes! All in all, my experience at My Little Spanish Place had been a real pleasant one, especially with the absolute standard of Spanish food and quality service - staffs were really very prompt in their service, very alert as well. Just that I've to asked for a change of plate when my plate is pretty unclean, perhaps a point to take note maybe? Otherwise, thumbs up for its service!

 
Oh ya, before I forget, alcoholic lovers and wine lovers, My Little Spanish Place has a huge variety of wines and beers - you've to try it out! 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tortilla de Patata con Alioli
 
Date of Visit: Mar 10, 2015 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pizza Hut  Smile Nov 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Pasta | Halal

Initally wanted to book a table at Cafe Swiss, The Swissotel or Furama Hotel, but both restaurants were fully booked. So we decided to head to Marina Square to source for something good. Walked a round at Marina Square, but most of the restaurants have long queues, and we are too lazy to queue, so decided to settle for Pizza Hut. 

 
Pizza Hut had came out with a spicy based pizza, with chunks of chicken ham, sauce and onion bites on it. Personally find it pretty good, just that for spicy lovers, this might be abit too mild. Would prefer a more spicy version of this. 

 
My all time favourite, Chicken Pomorodo! With the tomato based pasta, with lots of chicken chunks accompanied with a piece of leave on top of the pasta, it gives its customer a refreshing look and it definitely taste great! Guarantee! 

 
Criss-Cut Fries! Best accompanied with its chilli sauce. For today, somehow or somewhat, I find that the criss-cut fries is abit too dry. 

 
Garlic Bread! Somehow, find that Pizza Hut's Garlic Bread standard has totally drop. The garlic bread is not as crispy as before, the amount of garlic is much lesser and the size of the bread is really shrinking. Not really something great. 

 
Had a really full meal! In fact, did not finish the whole pizza! That's the quantity that Pizza Hut serves! All in all, spent a total of $29 for 2 person, after 17% its $36. Definitely worth it. 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Garlic Bread
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $17(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Swensen's Lobster! Smile Nov 19, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Ice Cream and Gelato | Pasta | Steaks and Grills | Halal

Was looking for a place for a good lunch with my mum after shopping at Compass Point and saw the new poster for Swensen's, the new Boston Lobster Roll! Looks pretty delicious, thus decided to give it a try. 

 
If you are one who likes thick and creamy mushroom soup, you would definitely need to try out at Swensen's! They serves one of the thickest mushroom soup I ever had. Surprisingly, my mum loves its mushroom soup, thus its a must order everytime we visit Swensen's. As for me, would just say that its far too normal, the baguette that holds the mushroom soup is also way too hard to chew. 

 
Mummy decided to opt for something that is more heavy, the cornflake chicken! This is one of my favourites at Swensen's, although its a little too dry and the cornflake flavour is rather too little. Fries at Swensen's is one of my biggest nightmare. They chose to serve thick fries, thus for those who loves those shoestring fries will love this. As for those who loves those criss-cut or straight fries will not like it. The coleslaw, without fail will always refresh my mind, with the pieces of pineapple and sauce added to the mixed vegetables and carrots.

 
The limelight of the day! The Boston Lobster Roll. The portion might seems small on the picture, but its rather filling! Chunks of boston lobsters, with a sweet yet little spicy sauce, mixed well with the slightly toasted bun. The only complain I could have is its presentation. I would say its not really convenient to eat especially with fork and knife. 

All in all, spent a total of $49 after 17% charges. Fufilling lunch indeed!

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Boston Lobster Roll
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Shirokiya : Food Tasting Smile Sep 21, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Sushi/Sashimi | Sukiyaki/Shabu Shabu

Hola everyone! Apologies for not being acting on OpenRice for the past few months, but fret not, I'm offically back! From now onwards, will be posting reviews of various restaurants across the island every week! Today's review will be on Shirokiya at CHIJMES! 

Firstly, I've to thank OpenRice as well as Reka and her team for organizing this wonderful Food Tasting Session! 

We started the night off with the Cold Tofu Sprinkled in Salted Rice Malt (Shiokoji) Dressing ($8.80)! The cold silk tofu is very smooth, accompanied with the salted rice malt which gives the tofu a savoury flavour. (Recommendation Index : 3.7/5)
3.7/5

3.7/5

 
Next up is the Avocado and Seafood Salad with Hyaluronic Acid Jelly ($20.80)! Beside the greens, there's generous servings of salmon and avocados! The Hyaluronic Acid Jelly is something rather special, where we normally will not find in salads. The avocado bites gives the salad a sweet yet bitter flavour. It mixs rather well with the salad greens and hyaluronic acid jelly! (Recommendation Index : 3.9/5)

 
The third dish of the night is the Bonito Fish cooked in Hay Straw Marinated with Ponzu Sauce ($14.00). Bonito Fish is actually a kind of fish in the same family as mackerel and tuna. In Shirokiya, they cooked the Bonito Fish with Ponzu Sauce, which is a citrus-based sauce, which removes the stink smell of the fish and gives the fish a sweet and sour flavour. In my honest opinion, the fish wasn't really fresh, and the citrus-based Ponzu Sauce could not really remove the pungent smell of the Bonito Fish, thus I personally would not recommend this dish. (Recommendation Index : 3.0/5)

 
Next up is the Ultimate Fried Chicken Wings with Sweet Sauce ($18.80). Actually prior to this visit, I did some research about Shirokiya and found that this fried chicken wings was actually one of the better dishes at Shirokiya, but it turns out to be kind of disappointing. Wings were dry (yes, I meant dry), not juicy at all. Sweet sauce does not really blends well with the chicken wings. Luckily, the wings were really crispy and coated with sesame seeds. But due to its dryness, I would definitely not recommend this dish. (Recommendation Index : 2.7/5)

 
The highlight of the night is the Kurobuta Shabu-Shabu served in Collagen Soup! ($38.80 for 2-3 pax). The sliced pork belly served were really fresh! No doubt about that. This dish also boosts the amount of nutrients, with the use of collagen and chicken soup. With the generous amount of sliced pork belly, vegetables and collagen, $38.80 is definitely worth it! (Recommendation Index : 4.3/5)

 
 The sixth dish of the night is the Broiled Pressed Mackerel ($15.80) which is my second favourite dish of the night. Mackerel used was really fresh as well, accompanied with the wasabi dip. Although mackerel seems to be a simple dish, but it really requires alot of effort to make it delicious. Shirokiya serves one of the best Mackerel I ever had. (Recommendation Index : 4.2/5)

 
A good meal always ends with a good dessert. We were served with generous portions of Warabi-Machi ($7.80). To those who frequents the night markets, its better known as Muah-Chee. But definitely, warabi-machi is a more high-class version of muah chee, served with brown sugar syrup. We also understand that the soy bean used in the process are taken from Mr Bean (yes, Mr Bean!) daily. For those who has a sweet tooth will like this, but for me, I find that the brown sugar syrup is really sweet, so I would suggest just putting 1/4 of the syrup. The soy bean taste is also veru unique, just like what I've mentioned earlier, its taken from Mr Bean daily to ensure its freshness and tastiness. (Recommendation Index : 3.8/5)All in all, I would rate Shirokiya a 3.7/5 for its quality of food. Ambience wise I would rate a 4.0/5. They have two private rooms, each can accomdate up to 8 pax. Otherwise, they also have quite a number of tables available. Again, I would like to thank OpenRice as well as Reka and her team for this invitation! 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Kurobuta Shabu-Shabu Served in Collagen Soup,Broiled Pressed Mackerel,Cold Tofu Sprinkled in Salted Rice Malt Dressing,Avocado and Seafood Salad with Hyaluronic Acid Jelly,Warabi Machi with Brown Sugar Syrup
 
Date of Visit: Sep 04, 2014 

Dining Offers: 試食活動


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0