OpenRice Index
  
Jason123
This is Jason123 living in Tampines. I am a Student, work in Tampines. I like to hang out in Raffles Place, Orchard, Punggol. Japanese, Chinese are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hotel, Restaurant and Juices, Buffet , Dim Sum.
Member 9 First(s)
No. of Review83 Review(s)
編輯推介數目1 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity2150 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos550 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant141 My Restaurant(s)
Follow18 Following
粉絲129 Follower(s)
Jason123  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 21 to 25 of 83 Reviews in Singapore
Cheng Tng Smile Dec 11, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Chinese | Hawker Centre | Desserts and Cakes

Almost every table that is being occupied, you will see at least a bowl of Ye Lai Xiang's Cheng Tng. That's how good this Cheng Tng is. Was saddened by the news of the death of its owner, but nevertheless, the standards of the Cheng Tng is definitely still there. 

Its Cheng Tng, which can be served either hot or cold, for $2.50. What's so special about it? For a bowl of $2.50 Cheng Tng, you will be able to find up to 11 ingredients. Shall name a few that I found in my bowl of Cheng Tng - Dried Longan, Barley, Sweet Potato, Mung Beans, Winter Melon Strips, Sago Balls, Dried Persimmon Strips, White Fungus & Gingko Nuts. Some of the ingredients like mung beans and persimmon strips are rarely found in Cheng Tngs. 

Often, you will have to queue for 10 to 20 minutes for the Cheng Tng. Definitely worth the wait. The staff there are also very polite and courteous. 

P.S. : I would suggest that you choose the Hot Version of the Cheng Tng if you are intending to takeaway. Reason as they includes lots of small ice cubes, which are size of pebbles and it will reduce the authentic taste of the Cheng Tng.

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cheng Tng
 
Date of Visit: Dec 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $3

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Foodie time Cry Dec 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Halal

Decided to head to Streats HK Cafe for lunch after watching 'Everybody's Business'. Browsed through its menu, there's many selections to choose from. Noodles, Rices, Pastas, you name it, they have it. 

The previous time I went, I tried its Baked Fish Filiet Rice ($9.90), which is very tasty, the fish was soft, they were very generous on the amount of cheese and also the rice, but this time, it disappoints me. Ordered its Chicken Sausage Fried Rice ($8.50) , Baked Fish Filiet Rice ($9.90), Deep Fried Prawn Dumpling ($4.00), as well as three drinks - Lychee Aloe Vera Green Tea with wolfberries ($4.00), Ice Peach Tea ($3.20) and also its Ice Lemon Tea ($3.20). 

Chicken Sausage Fried Rice was delicious, with lots of chicken sausages. The colour of the fried rice is also kind of different from the normal ones - their's is black colour, which I guess they added some black soya sauce. As for the Baked Fish Filiet Rice, just like I mentioned above, it really disappoints me. It took 20-25 minutes to prepare it, but when it was served to me, the look of the baked rice already made me lost half of my appetite. There were three pieces of capiscums around the plate, which makes it looks weird. The cheese and fish is still considered acceptable. Finally something that is nice. For the Deep Fried Dumplings, they used real prawns inside and you can find two small prawns hidden inside the dumpling, and it makes a perfect combination with the salad sauce. Also, the cups used to serve the Peach Tea and Lemon Tea is very special, normally only seen in those high class bubble tea shops. 

Total, I spent $38.61, Food was $32.80, Service Charge was $3.28 and GST was $2.53. 

Frankly speaking, their service isn't really that great, they are all over the restaurant, but doing nothing. Their service is also really really slow. Actually don't think that they deserves the $3.28, but don't want to spoil their mood, thus I paid for it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Deep Fried Prawn Dumpling
 
Date of Visit: Dec 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $19(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Buns & Kwehs! Smile Dec 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bakery | Halal

This Bakery sells many varieties of buns and kwehs. As early as 7am, their buns and kwehs are all ready to serve the customer. Buns are made hot and fresh out from the oven. 

Bought its Mini Fish Filiet Buns (3 for $2.40) and some Nonya Ang Ku Kuehs (50 cents each). 

Their mini fish filiet buns are filled with mayonnise sauce, a slice of cheese and fish filiet. As for the bun, I believe they've buttered the bun before making it, which gives it a shiny look. The fish filiet taste quite normal, not really recommended though. 

As for the Ang Ku Kuehs, its a definitely Thumbs Up! For $0.50, you get a big ang ku lueh, filled with lots of red bean paste or peanuts! My favourite amongst all is the Peanut Ang Ku Kueh. The peanuts inside the kueh is really tasty and the kueh is nicely made.

As shown in the picture, the there's two type of Ang Ku Kuehs. The grey colour one contains red bean filling while the red colour ones contains Peanut feeling. Definitely worth a try!

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Ang Ku Kuehs
 
Date of Visit: Dec 08, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Curry Rice! Smile Dec 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hainanese | Hawker Centre

I've been patronising this stall since young, as I actually stay at Tiong Bahru Area previously. Although I've moved to Tampines, but I will still go back and patronise this stall at least once per month. 

This stall serves great Curry Rice, their curry gravy consists of three different type of gravy. One plate of rice is definitely not enough for those who can take spicy stuffs! Also, some dish to look out for - Pork Chop, Vegetables & Prawns. 

Its Pork Chop is very crispy, one of the dishes that almost everyone who patronise this stall will order. As for vegetable lovers, its vegetables is also one of the best sellers. Its vegetables is very soft and with the gravy, its really very delicious. As for its prawn, its battered well, and it has the prawn paste taste, which is quite unique. Also, they do sell other dishes like Squids, Assam Fish, Sunny Side Up, Fishcake and many others. You can order individually or if you're in groups, can order according to how many person you have. 

Today, queued for twenty minutes. Bought two pack of rice, one pack with extra pork chop and prawn ($4.90) and the other one with pork chop, sumny side up and vegetables for $3.20. Total $8.10. Just like what I mentioned above, pork chop is very crispy, vegetables is very soft and goes well with the gravy and also, the curry gravy is as per usual - delicious. 

For those who loves curry, its definitely worth a try. Just some gentle reminders, its closed on every Wednesday and also, most probably you'll have to queue for 15-20 minutes (off-lunch hours) and up to 45 minutes during lunch hours! But.. Its worth the wait!

 

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Curry Gravy,Pork Chop,Prawns,Vegetables
 
Date of Visit: Dec 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend

Dip & Go! Smile Dec 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Burgers and Sandwiches

This is one of the newest creations from Old Chang Kee, which is famous for its finger foods, curry puffs and chicken wings! 

Dip N Go is actually located at Woodlands MRT, beside the $0.50 Sushi Express. For each set, which costs between $3.90 to $5.90, you'll get a side dish, drink and a dip. 

For their side dish, you can choose from Chicken Skin ($3.90), QQ Fries ($3.90), Chicken Chunks ($4.90), Chicken Nugget ($4.90), Baby Squids ($4.90), Vegetables ($3.90). 

For their Dips, you can choose from Cheese Dip, Wasabi Mayo Dip, BBQ Dip, Fiery Chilli Dip, Teriyaki Mayo Dip. Addition dips are available for $1. 

For drinks, you can choose from Fanta Grape, Coca Cola, Ice Lemon Tea & Passionfruit Tea. Drinks are also available for a-la-carte at $1.70. 

For $3.90, you will be able to get 2 chicken wings with 1dip. And $9.90 for 6 chicken wings and 3 dips. 

For $1.00, you will be able to get a Hot Dog Bun and a dip. Which is a great deal to me! 

For those who are looking for meals, they do serve rice bowls (Rice, Side Dish, Dip & Drink) for $6.20. 

My recommendation for side dish will be Crispy Chicken Skin ($3.90) and QQ Fries ($3.90). Its chicken skin is fried till real crispy, and with the dips, it taste really nice! As for those who loves potatoes, you will love its QQ Fries. It's really curly and tasty. 

My recommendation for its dip will be cheese and teriyaki mayo. Their cheese is nacho cheese, which is pretty nice to go with all of its side dishes. As for the teriyaki mayo, its a little sweet, with mayo, which gives it a great taste and goes very well with Crispy Chicken Skin. As for its wasabi mayo, its also good, but not suitable for non-spicy eaters! Drinks wise... I don't think I need to do much explanation! 

Lastly, I would like to highlight that for $1, you can get a tasty Hot Dog Bun with a dip! Its hot dog bun goes well with cheese and also teriyaki mayo! For the rest of the dips, it also goes quite well with the hot dog bun!

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Crispy Chicken Skin,QQ Fries,Cheese Dip,Teriyaki Mayo Dip
 
Date of Visit: Dec 10, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $5(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0