OpenRice Index
  
hyperlicious
This is hyperlicious . Thai are my favorite cuisines..
Member 10 First(s)
No. of Review153 Review(s)
編輯推介數目5 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1323 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos393 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲100 Follower(s)
hyperlicious  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 71 to 75 of 153 Reviews in Singapore
Trying out the new contenders Cry Nov 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen

There are two new contenders at the Ramen Champion located in Bugis. Unfortunately, this is probably the most disappointing ramen experience I had in all my trips. This is probably because the new dishes don't seem to fit my flavor..

 
I should have had warning signs go off when I saw the logo, but it didn't hit home till I actually tried the ramen.. it tasted like noodles in chinese broth. I can't put a finger on it, but I feel like they had ginger or some other spice that is normally in chinese food.

 
Ramen with Lobster Sauce! Sounds amazing right? The bowl was approximately $15..and I felt that the additional price was not worth it. (There was also no onsen tamago included) It felt like ready-made lobster bisque added to my ramen which actually spoiled the flavor of the ramen. The soup was decent and noodles were thin and good, but the flavors did not complement one another.
Verdict: Ramen that tried too hard to be 'westernized'

 
The queue numbers

As a whole, 1 Ramen tried too hard to be 'westernized', the other pretty much sank into the chinese cuisine category, but using ramen noodles and the traditional hot spring egg.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 15, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Private Function Smile Nov 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Hotel | High Tea | Desserts and Cakes

I helped organized a private function at 10 Scotts to celebrate Thanksgiving. The staff were really helpful in trying to cater to our request, however, there was a slight scare a week before the actual event as the team had lost the Order Form. Luckily, that was resolved and there was no need for a change of dates. Organizing with the team was rather confusing as a different person is in charge and you would get different replies from different people.

On site though, the waitresses are very attentive and courteous. They are very good at looking at the situation and their actions are rather fast.

We organized a Thanksgiving event and the team at 10 Scotts got us a Turkey station as well as pumpkin pie, in addition to the buffet spread and free flow soft drinks & coffee/tea. Per individual, we paid about 60 USD to cover the ++.

 
Though the Turkey wasn't as savory as what it was like in the US, they did a decent job at roasting it.

 
The eggtarts were rather cold, but the rose macaroons with raspberries was an absolute delight. There is also ice cream upon request, and I'm a huge fan of their rouge tea.

Overall, it's a decent venue to organize a cosy event
 
Recommended Dish(es):  macaroon
 
Date of Visit: Nov 16, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

3 pizzas & 3 desserts OK Nov 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Pasta | Kids-Friendly

You can request for plain water to be served here. Though they have quite a number of waiters, you do need to remind them to refill your drinks.

The restaurant is rather spacious to cater for large parties ( we had 8 pax ), but the service is definitely better in the US. They had initially cut out pizza into 6 pieces. After requesting for 8 slices upon our subsequent orders, the pieces were rather unevenly cut.shocked

 
CPK's Original BBQ Chicken Pizza did not fail to disappoint in terms of flavor, however, I feel that the pizza has sized down either by condiments or size. I can't place it (from my visit a few months before)

 
Their other house special is the Peking Duck Pizza. The sauce was spot on, but the tortilla chips was a little over the top.

 
Mushroom & Pepperoni/Sausage--felt like normal usual pizza fanfare.

Desserts came with complimentary coffee/tea

 
The way they presented the Tiramisu was rather interesting. I feel that they could have added more rum into it.

 
Chocolate Souffle did not have a very good presentation as it looked rather sunken, but the chocolate was there without being overly overwhelming.

 
The Red Velvet cake was a generous serving, however, there was something missing to it that made it slightly bland.

There is also a complimentary Birthday Sundae is your birthday is in the month. Do remember to bring your photo ID to get this smile
The total bill was about $140 SGD for 8 pax.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Tiramisu, Peking Duck Pizza
 
Date of Visit: Nov 21, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lunch Sets are such a deal! Smile Nov 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Seafood | Steaks and Grills

I was initially surprised that the restaurant was quite packed, but as long as you come before 1 on weekdays, it doesn't seem like a reservation is necessary.

The interior of the restaurant is nifty, however, the prices seem somewhat exorbitant for dinner. Not sure if they use the same setup for dinner, but the plastic glasses may need to be replaced with either newer ones or glasses. The placemats would also seem to be out of place.

The restaurant have lunch sets for every day of the week! I'm sure the business must be good on the weekends. What is even better is that there is even a student meal for $8.50++ which includes a soft drink, ice cream, soup, and your main course.

I ordered the Beef Lasagna under the Student Meal and my friend had the Ribeye Steak for $19.90. The Ribeye Steak was a Lunch Set Menu choice so it also included soup, coffee/tea, and a dessert.

On the side, we ordered Rock Oysters for $19.90-- the oysters were huge and fresh. Would definitely want to come back for them oysters. lol yum!

The Cream soup was served hot, it would have been better if the bread came toasty warm too. The bread was rather cute as it looked like a chef's hat. The icecream paired well with the chocolate cake. Honestly, wasn't too fond of the chocolate cake dessert as I found it kind of dry, but it was part of the lunch package. The ribeye steak came with a pepper sauce that actually had peppercorns inside. However, I think the Beef Lasagna was a good choice.

Do remember to request for the Student Meal from your waiter and they will give you the menu upon presenting and showing your student ID to them.

 
The total bill was about $50. For the amount we ate, I would say it's very worth it.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 22, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Hotpot with a side of Duck Smile Nov 25, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Restaurant | Steamboat/Hot Pot

Ordering at MK is done via the electronic tablet system that is on each table. For those not so technologically inclined, you can order from the waiters that are bustling around the restaurant. There are also physical menus that you can flip towards. If you order through their tablet system, your dishes do arrive relatively fast.

There was a waiting line of about 8 tables but we managed to get a table within 30 minutes. However, they didn't do a good job turning the table as there were areas that they had neglected to clean ie. sauce from the previous customers and their paper tab food orders.

This time round, the waiters weren't so attentive and the condiments had to be requested by ourselves. ie. their MK sauce and garlic/chili side.

We ordered a quarter duck, one large sliced beef, one portion of vegetables, and one coconut. Th total bill racked up to be about $60 for 3 pax. Not exactly a very cheap dinner but it satisfied the hotpot craving.
beef slices (large)

beef slices (large)

 
The beef slices were finely sliced and were cooked with just a few swipes within the hotpot. The pieces were rather small though.
quarter portion of a duck

quarter portion of a duck

 
The duck was surprisingly very tasty and tender. None of the stick in your teeth sort of business.

The 3 of us decided to eat the hotpot in a new way by finishing up all the vegetables first before starting to cook the beef. (As opposed to cooking both simultaneously) It allowed us to leave feeling full, but not overstuffed.

When you head to the cashier to pay, do take the paper tab which the waiters insert upon presenting your food so that the cashier can get your table number.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 23, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0