OpenRice Index
  
hyperlicious
This is hyperlicious . Thai are my favorite cuisines..
Member 10 First(s)
No. of Review153 Review(s)
編輯推介數目5 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity1294 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos393 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant95 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲100 Follower(s)
hyperlicious  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 153 Reviews in Singapore
Naughty's the theme Smile Aug 10, 2014   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Restaurant | Steaks and Grills

It's always nice to try new places to see what types of cuisines are available in Singapore. My brother raved about this restaurant recently and we decided to go there together with a group of friends to try this restaurant out. Though it is a little inconvenient to get there by public transportation, I'd encourage you to give this restaurant a try. As we were there in a big group and my brother had called ahead of time, they had accomodated us by pulling tables together and reserving it for us.

 
When I first arrived at the restaurant destination, I really liked the atmosphere of the place. It was warmly lit in the way that it was welcoming- not too bright and not too dark.
I wished that I had remembered to take more pictures of the interior. They had different sorts of seatings: benches, chairs, and they also had a few high chairs to accomodate those in our group who had decided to bring their little ones. As they also serve alcohol and have quite a range of drink selections in their coolers, it is also a place you can consider to chill with your friends.

 
Before I get started, this is the collage of pictures that I had taken from last night. (Please secuse the light glares)

The restaurant itself is self-service so you do need to go up to the counter and take your order. They will then give you an electronic device that will light up and vibrate when your order is done. Because they do your order on the spot, you have to be patient to wait for your food. It is well worth the wait because the food is grilled on the spot and served hot! You can also take your time in line and waiting to observe the chefs hard at work in the kichen behind. There are sauces available to the side of where you would place your order. For those that like chili, they have a decent homemade chili that puts a nice kick for you.

 
Pictured here is the Naughty Ribs in the foreground ($18) and Naughty Mate - soft bone ribs ($17) in the background. THe ribs come up with salad and you can choose Rice or Mashed Potato for your carbohydrates. I like how the carbs are not huge as you are already sinfully sinking your mouth into the Spare Ribs already. I know the prices may seem a litte steep for some but the Ribs and the soft-bone ribs are actually their signature dishes. The other meat options are priced at an average $11 or so dollars and it could includes the above-mentioned side dishes. Take note that there is no additional Service or GST charge as I believe it has already been included in smile

 
I had the Naughty Mate as I wanted to try the ribs for what it's worth. I was pleasantly surprised at the presentation when the food arrived. The soft bone ribs arrived hot and marinated well- not too salty or sweet, but just right. I feel that there was no short cuts used in the preparation and cooking process because it really felt like they were fresh off the grill! (unlike some mainstream rib restaurants nowadays where reheat it for a bit before serving). I felt that the soft bone, however, could have been a little bit softer and it would have been even better lol I had requested for the mashed potato and was delighted to find out that it was made from scratch as there are tiny potato pieces and skin inside which helped with it's authentic texture. Though small, it's packed with a punch. I also liked how the salad dressing was not thousand island dressing but more similar to balsalmic dressing, hence it didn't feel very heavy.

 
Naughty Wings (above) and Naughty Fries (below) are served with 'naughty spices' which is a nice blend of salt and pepper. They were both fried to a nice light golden brown color and I would say that they are my top 2 favorite side-dishes. For those who are more sensitive to pepper, I think it may be possible to request for them to not have it. But I have to say that it really goes nicely together. If I was there drinking with friends all night, these two dishes would have to be magically replenished all night. tongue

 

 
Seafood Platter had an assortment of seafood: squid (calamari rings), prawns, and fish. It did not come with the 'naughty spices' but a generous serving of tartar sauce.
Borsch Soup

Borsch Soup

 
Naughty Soup $4 was recommended by my brother and I loved how long the soup was able the heat inside for quite a while. There was celery and carrots amongst the condiments inside. At first I thought it was beef inside but it was actually pork. It's quite savory and though the portion is not humongous, nice to share as well.
Salt and Pepper Squid

Salt and Pepper Squid

 
Naughty Squid $12 would probably be my 3rd favorite of the side-dishes if I had to rank them. The seasoning is similar to Taiwan's fried salt and pepper chicken - yan shu ji
All finished

All finished

 
Check out how clean our plates were after the meal!

 
There is the option of eggplant if you would want more vegetables in your meal.

Overall, the side dishes portions are great to have on the table and to share with good company. It's a nice place to chill with friends and perhaps a nice family meal once in a while.

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Naughty Wings,Naughty Fries with Naughty Spices,Naughty Soup,Naughty Squid
 
Date of Visit: Aug 09, 2014 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0

My favorite French Food to date Smile Jul 10, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | European | Desserts and Cakes | Steaks and Grills | Kids-Friendly

Come here for lunch! $30 SGD for a lunch set that includes appetizer, main course, dessert, coffee/tea.

The waitress was very attentive, though she might have slipped up near the end thinking we already had out tea when we had not.
When we were seated, the bread was promptly served. I don't recall them doing that last time and it makes sense for bread to be served after ordering but the bread warm and refillable. The butter that they provided wasn't the normal salted butter you'd expect; it was fresh, light, and had a fruity taste and aroma to it.

 
We added a few dollars to get the Escargot, Foie Gras, and Lamb Shank dishes.

 
Escargot served with Asparagus in Hollandaise Sauce.
The escargots were thick and big and very garlicky. The asparagus was also cooked just right.

 
The foie gras was actual large pieces and rather thick. Great if you're sharing as one piece is enough to satisfy an average foie gras lover's craving, I feel. Pairs very nicely with the refillable bread on the table, but don't fill your tummy up just yet!

 
The Spring Chicken was fresh and the mushrooms were done very well. Could have been a little more juicy but it could be considered the 'healthier' option in terms of main course

 
The Lamb Shank was served in a brightly colored pot sauteed with tomatoes and onions. The shank is a very generous portion and the gravy is just mind-blowing. I believe if I had a lamb shank craving, this is where I'd go. The tomatoes also exploded in your mouth. Very good lamb experience.

Lastly, there was dessert.

 
Raspberry Sorbet with lychees over Almond Pudding. Very light, refreshing, and perfect for Singapore's warm weather.

 
Topped up a bit to get the Bleu Cheese Platter with Honeycomb.
The Oak crackers were very nice but they could have given an extra biscuit.
The honeycomb was very sweet and sticky and it almost tasted like we were eating candy. For a second, I could imagine myself as Pooh Bear sticking his hand into his hunnypot. The blue cheese and Honeycomb combination was a mix of different flavors at the same time but paired decently well.

Would love to go back again if I would like to dish a bit more for lunch and I have the weekday off for lunch. Do be prepared to be there for around 1-2 hours so you can slowly enjoy and savor each bite.
 
Date of Visit: Jul 06, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Steamboat Lunch Smile Apr 22, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Restaurant | Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot | Buffet

The place is open for lunch till 3pm and though we walked in at 2pm, the people were courteous and did not show any attitude at all in terms of hurrying you up smileWhen we walked in, they asked what type of soup base we wanted and we decided to have the Chicken Soup & Tom Yam Base.

The Tom Yam Base was a Sour and Spicy base, but lacked the lemongrass flavor to make it more "Thai"-like. The pot is put on an electronic heater in which you can adjust the heat or have the staff assist you.

The restaurant was thoughtful in which there was tissue boxes at each table and even had hooks under the table for you to hang your bags. tongue

Though they had an affordable lunch set ($22 if I don't recall wrongly), we decided to opt to choose our own condiments. We ordered an array of dishes including Squid Ball, Shrimp Wanton, Quail Eggs, Golden Mushrooms, Fish Maw, Crab Meat, Fish Slices, Beef, and Spinach.

 
The table with the dishes we ordered

 
The pot with some of the condiments

The Beef was of decent quality and I'd definitely recommend the Shrimp Wanton that was marinated well and the right texture of skin. Their squid ball was decent too. However, I wouldn't recommend their Fish Slice as it wasn't quite to my tasting.

 
Their house chili was definitely a good addition to top off the food. You can refill the chili if you run out and for someone that doesn't eat spicy or chili, I actually finished my portion.shocked

After eating, they came out with a plate of juicy watermelon which was a good way to end the lunch.smile
 
Date of Visit: Apr 21, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $25

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Seafood | Zi Char

Had a guest visit from overseas and decided that Long Beach Seafood was the place to go!

 
Their fried baby squid was crispy like crackers. Not too salty, but a little bit was enough. Maybe I'm not too fond of the sauce.

 
Black Pepper Crab! lol
The claw was absolutely humongous and the meat was juicy and succulent. Though they only provided one of those "crackers", it wasn't really needed as the meat stayed in one piece and could easily be slid out of its shell. For the lazy, beware when trying to bite on the crabs cause your teeth might be the one breaking instead. I would totally go back to this branch for their Black Pepper Crab because they really do it well.

 
Always a kid's favorite. Despite being sinful, their Butter-Fried Frog legs is absolutely delectable. The taste of butter is soaked into the meat of the frog legs and the meat is so easily torn away from the bones. mad

Dessert was a refreshing lime and lychee combo. Loved how it didn't taste like something that came out of a can. smile
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Pepper Crab,Butter Fried Frog Legs
 
Date of Visit: Mar 30, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Pasta for the Economic Smile Apr 18, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Pasta | Paella

The staff was pleasant and patient in taking our order even though we took a while to decide..smile

Decided to get a set combo for main course + soup & main course + dessert + drink

 
The soup was cream of clam chowder over garlic bread. Though the clam chowder isn't great to write home about, it was thick and creamy and had clams inside. Thankfully it wasn't overly salty as there seems to be so many ways that clam chowder could be made wrong.

 
The Seafood Combo was chosen with the sauce that gave a tint of BBQ.

 
Clam with Thai Basil
I was surprised to hear that the sauce could be chosen for the Clam pasta as I had assumed that normally restaurants only serve Clam Pasta with White Wine

I would say that the combos that can be made here is surprising, especially since you can play around with the sauces and the choice of pasta.

 
Dessert was Apple Pie
Presentation was decent but there were nuts inside the apple pie. Would have helped my acceptance of the dish if they had mentioned it earlier. The crust is decent but not raving, maybe they had put in too much flour? But the pie did feel "home-made" which is always a bonus mad

Definitely loved that Ambush managed to have the pasta come out al dente lol
None of that overcooked pasta!
Personally would choose to eat here over Pastamania any day. tongue

Staff was considerate: gave us a plate to dispose of our clam shells and provided complimentary water too.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  linguini
 
Date of Visit: Apr 09, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0