OpenRice Index
  
orangina
This is orangina living in Pasir Ris. I am a Part timer, work in Tampines. I like to hang out in Dhoby Ghaut, Orchard, Tampines. Japanese, Malay, Peranakan / Nonya are my favorite cuisines. I also love Hotel, Restaurant and Buffet , Chinese Steamboat/Hot Pot.
Member 10 First(s)
No. of Review50 Review(s)
編輯推介數目3 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity1064 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos198 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲47 Follower(s)
orangina  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 50 Reviews in Singapore
Breakfast OK Nov 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean | Coffeeshop

 

 
Toast box has added a lot more variety of food to their breakfast menu. I tried their mee goreng yesterday, the noodles was fried with diced tomatoes and some green beans, topped with a few pieces of fried bean and garnished with fried fried shallots. I feel that it tasted ok only if compared to that selling at indian stall. A set consisted of mee goreng and drink cost $4.80.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 14, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Expensive chicken Cry Nov 15, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese Noodles | Kids-Friendly

 

 


That meagre portion of chicken in the picture costs $9.50, which I think is extremely expensive for just a few pieces of chicken. Although the chicken tasted smooth ,because it was the thigh part, it was a tad bland to my taste. I also ordered a bowl of ma la kway teow (麻辣粿条), this dish is neither ma nor la, I didn't like it. The chicken rice was not grainy enough, I don't think I will visit this restaurant again.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 15, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not really that fantastic! OK Apr 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Middle Eastern/Mediterranean | European | Hotel | Buffet

pizza and bread

pizza and bread

 
salad prawns

salad prawns

 

 
mushroom soup

mushroom soup

 
Sichuan sour and spicy soup

Sichuan sour and spicy soup

 
pistachio gelato

pistachio gelato

 
cream brulee

cream brulee

 
tiramisu, cake , peach tart

tiramisu, cake , peach tart

 
So many people rave about this restaurant, some even said it is the best buffet in Singapore, so I decided to give myself a good birthday treat in this restaurant.
I went there with my best friend for lunch today. We took a train to Orchard MRT station, from exit B, crossed the road and took bus 39, alight at the third bus stop and we found the Regent Hotel right in front of us.
(take bus 39 again at where you alight to go back to Orchard Road MRT station as it is a loop journey over there)

For our weekday lunch, it included Coffee or Tea for the price of S$48++, and for free flow of soft drinks and fresh juices, it would be $56++. The Buffet starts at 12:00 noon until 2:30PM.

We approached the front desk the moment we stepped into the restaurant and told the gentleman in suit
(don't look like a Singaporean) that we had made a reservation, he was looking at his computer. I showed him the print out of reservation slip, he just looked up without any smile and looked at the slip with his proud face. Immediately, We didn't feel welcomed. Come on, we were not using any deals voucher or enjoying any credit card discount, we were paying full rates ok! Luckily this situation was saved by a waitress that came over immediately and lead us to our table after confirming our reservation.

After we were seated, a waiter came to place order of our drinks. As we did not want to fill our stomach up with juices (juice makes you feel full), we went for ice water instead.

They had the appetizer section that consisted of many types of cheezes,hams, greens etc.
There was a roast carving station as well, the roast of the day was duck and veal. Next to the carving station was pasta, pizza, sausages,lasagne....There was an asian food section too. On the other end was the dessert section.

Personally, I find all their pizzas were hot and nice, with very thin crust that tasted crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.
The prawns salad looked fresh but they were actually quite tough to bite and lack the sweetness of seafood. There were big scallops salad too, but they tasted so fishy that both of us found them unpalatable and decided not to touch them.

The duck was very tough and tasteless. The veal was ok with the red wine sauce, lack sweetness of meat as well.

Nevertheless, the lasagne was flavourful with lots of minced beef and sauce. I had two servings of this.

We tried both mushroom soup and Sichuan sour and spicy soup. These were the only two kinds of soup at the spread today. The mushroom soup was just lukewarm, so when we brought it to our table, it actually had turned cold. The Sichuan soup tasted weird because it was much sweeter than our usual version and much diluted also.

As for the dessert, I had cream brulee, tiramisu, peach tart, pistachio gelato etc. thumbs up for their dessert!

Besides rock melons and tomatoes at the ham station, there were no other fruits . We were quite disappointed about this.

Overall we were quite happy with their service, plates were cleared away very quickly. If they would refill our glass of water without asking, it would be perfect.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  pizza,lasagne,desserts
 
Date of Visit: Apr 29, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $56(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tasteless roast chicken OK Apr 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Roasted Meat

Salads

Salads

 
Roast Ribs

Roast Ribs

 
Went there with my family for dinner . We ordered one whole roast chicken, pork ribs and four sides to go with our meal.
This was my first time trying their pork ribs, I didn't like it because the ribs tasted too sweet for my liking.

The chicken was cut into quarter, each of us got a big piece on our plate. I find the skin of the chicken full of flavour but the flesh was tasteless, I had to dip it into chilli sauce to make it more palatable, think they didn't season the chicken long enoughsad.

We liked their sides though, coleslaw tasted refreshing, cheese macaroni tasted cheezy and richsmile.

 
Date of Visit: Apr 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $25(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lousy service Smile Apr 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Pasta | Halal

mushroom soup

mushroom soup

 
prawn pasta

prawn pasta

 
hawaiian pizza

hawaiian pizza

 
seafood combo

seafood combo

 
Got a treat from a friend. We chose their lunch special because it was more cost effective than order from their ala carte menu. We had mushroom soup, prawn pasta, personal pan pizza and a seafood combo. Pizza hut has always maintained the standard of their food, mushroom soup is rich and fragrant with lots of mushroom pieces, pasta is cooked perfectly. We only had issues with their service. Food ordered was forgotten and water was not re-filled despite the waitress walking past our table so many times. When we finally caught their attention, the answer was, WAIT !

 
Date of Visit: Apr 26, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 1  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0