OpenRice Index
  
biba8169
This is biba8169 . I like to hang out in City Hall, Tanglin, Orchard. French, Italian, Japanese, American are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Bakery, Café, cakes, muffins, strawberries, coffee.
Member 8 First(s)
No. of Review35 Review(s)
編輯推介數目17 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1001 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos158 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲50 Follower(s)
biba8169  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 35 Reviews in Singapore
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Pasta

For a full story & more pictures, please read;
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/flam-singapore.html

I am excited upon learning that this original French tarte flambée has finally make its way to Singapore on April 2, 2012. Happily, I marked my calender to visit Orchard Central to try them out. Flam's adverts can be visibly seen in the mall, specifically on the escalators leading to Level 2 (next to Jewel Chocolate). Conveniently located a stone away from the escalator, it led me to this accomplished looking place which I best described it as a log cabin.

Flipping through the menu, I ordered my flammekueche one at a time. Bearing in mind the principle that says "to enjoy a hot & crisp flam each time: Make your first order, finish it & send in your second order". I hesitated on my starter but still went ahead with Farmer's Roasted Pumpkin Soup and a cup of Malango long black.

I am thrilled at the sight of the flammekueche coming at my direction. The signature flam's "The French" was served piping hot on a flat wooden board. The thin crust of dough was covered in cheese cap and topped with finely chopped beech smoked bacon and walnuts. I love the way the crème fraîche was introduced with this flammekueche, a touch of sweetness and seen oozing out as I rolled the flam with my fingers. The chef has been generous on the Camembert, I like it softened and flowy when heated. It was mild in taste with mushroom undertone, slightly salty and buttery. It did surprise me.

Near finishing The French, I quickly put in my next order for the sweet version; "The Apple Cinnamon". This was definitely the highlight of my meal. I regretted not eating all the sweet flams, they are so yummy! The scent from the cinnamon completely fills the air accompanied by the nice fire-baked dough aroma, so captivating. You really need to try this. The thin apple slice was able to retained its juiciness despite the intense temperature. I am completely sold!

For a full story, please read; http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/flam-singapore.html
Apple Cinnamon

Apple Cinnamon

 
 
Date of Visit: May 27, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A delightful lunch Smile May 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fujian/Heng Hwa

For more pictures and a full coverage: http://www.epinosh.com/2012/04/putien-nex-singapore.html

I had premium Iron Goddess of Mercy, "Tie Guan Yin" for a refreshing taste buds to accompany my meals. The tea leaves comes in whole and the oolong fragrance was very strong. Every sip sparks me up and seems to get me ready for the dishes behind the kitchen. Truly stands above the rest and I get heartened every time the tea cup was refilled with hot boiling water.

I did not opt for any starter and zoom right into the mains. I ordered the Fried Homemade Beancurd, Deep Fried Tenggiri Fish and the notorious Fried Heng Hwa Bee Hoon.

The fried homemade beancurd was delightful. It has a pronounced soybean aroma which enlivened by the sprinkled salt (resembled french fries but replacing the carbo-rich ingredient with a healthier version) . Each thinly sliced bean curd has been fried to crisp and the accompanied sweet-sour garlic dip flavors it further (it was as good on its own).

I'd always like my tenggiri fish to be fried thoroughly till golden brown. Yes, Putien's very home-cooked way which reminds me of my granny's version. The fish was fresh with the meat being moist. No traces of awful fishy taste in them which made me adored even more. No greasy after-taste was a plus factor.

For more pictures and a full coverage: http://www.epinosh.com/2012/04/putien-nex-singapore.html
Pumpkin cream with ice-cream

Pumpkin cream with ice-cream

 
Heng Hwa Bee Hoon

Heng Hwa Bee Hoon

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 29, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A bistronomic brunch affair! OK Apr 27, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | French | Restaurant | Fine Dining

Read full story here: www.epinosh.com

The ambiance was laid back but not on the service. The main courses were served in 25mins after they have been placed. First came the Coq au vin; braised chicken cooked with wine, wild mushrooms, pearl onions, few stripes of pork belly and most notable lardons. The späetzle (a form of egg noodles but small button-shaped) was served alongside in a iron cast dishware. The dish looks attempting and it gives off an exhilarating winy aroma. I immediately helped myself with the chicken thigh (it came with 2 drumsticks and a thigh) and it was all comforting. The thigh was well soaked with the thickened wine juices, leaving the skin jelly-liked. However, the meat was a bit tough and chewy. Unfortunately, the drumsticks taste similar, I'd believe it shouldn't have happened on drumsticks. I am puzzled over the meat texture, even until now. On the brighter side, the thickened gravy was heavenly and you ought to drizzle it over those späetzle to enjoy, it mustn't be wasted. The pearl onions were sweet & so fresh that they were all crunchy at each bite! The barely noticeable stripped pork belly and cubed mushrooms were thoroughly braised and yummy. I smiled at those lardon bits that made the dish taste even better just like seeing a plate of Char Kway Teow sprinkled generously with lardons, full of guilt but gratifying.

While feeling a little upset over the chicken meat, I am so delighted that I am right about Fried Eggs Lyonnaises! The "not-so-popular" egg dish was a surprise. I am amazed that the duck confit was so well done that it was so soft and delicate (the fact that the duck meat was even tender than coq au vin's chicken drumsticks, makes me felt worst over it) and the caramelized onions add an extra sweetness to the meat. It was not gamey at all! The cubed potatoes embedded underneath the layer of cheese were equally delicious. I rate it 4.5/5 if I must and Coq au vin a 3.5/5, for the meat texture was not what I would expect it to be even though the gravy was a star.

Not to be missed, you must try db's desserts! I have a soft spot for desserts and their Warm Madeleines were to die-for! ............
Fried Eggs Lyonnaise

Fried Eggs Lyonnaise

 
Warm Madeleines

Warm Madeleines

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 24, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $100(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Decent food and prompt service! OK Apr 27, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Bakery | Café | Desserts and Cakes

Read full story here: www.epinosh.comsmile

Speaking of the crowds at PAUL, I was terrified. I have heard of people making a beeline at the café entrance and that the restaurant waiting service has been poor, kitchen almost went into retardation, food quality didn't match up and the negative response goes on. That was probably 3 months ago when it first welcome its diners in Singapore. I am not totally surprised by the teething issues they faced, given the outlet is the first in Singapore.

For dinner, I ordered Croque Saumon Poireaux. The roast salmon and leeks married well! Embedded between those cheesy toasted bread, they are so moist and delicious! The whole dish was not overly bready.

Another came along; Crepe Complete. It is turkey & cheese in a pancake topped with a fried egg. Interestingly, the oozing cheese fills up your oral cavity while its aroma chalked up your nasal concha!

To polish off my dinner, I started cherry-picking on the dessert list. I could hear competing recommendations ringing in my ears, each refused to compromise. I knew I couldn't possibly eat all of them, I cleverly select Tartelette Citron for a comparison. PAUL's lemon cream tartlet taste a bit sweeter than its rival, Masion Kayser. The crust is flaky and buttery good while the lemon filling taste creamy and tangy. If you prefer something more lemony, I suggest you try Maison Kayser's as theirs will sweep you off your feet!

I must confess that PAUL is a good pick for lunches & tea-time, but you will need more choices for a good dinner. In any case, I have had a satisfying weekend meal at the French bakery. Certainly a great place not to be missed. I will be back for more banlangeries & pastries just as I have tried their plain flute, croissants and sourdough off the rack.
Croque Saumon Poireaux

Croque Saumon Poireaux

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Croque Saumon Poireaux,Hot Vanilla Milk
 
Date of Visit: Apr 16, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $60(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Seafood

See full story here: www.epinosh.com

Returning umpteen times, Shang Palace or more commonly known as 香宫, has been one of my favourite dining place. The Chinese restaurant resides on the ground floor at The Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore (adjacent to the main lobby lifts), serves authentic Cantonese cuisines with provincial specialties. Chef Steven Ng is at present, the master behind the stove. (after Chef Peter Tsang has left)

Chan Kee favorite Roast Goose has not been a let down, I am glad. The skin was crisp thin and it taste as good as their popular Peking Duck. The meat was moist and tender but not right to the bones. I'd wish I have requested for a deboned portion as it can be messy when I need to teeth the meat. The meat contained fair amount of fats but not too greasy. The flavour was good enough on its own without any helping on the plum sauce accompanied. Even though I'd prefer Yung Kee's for its juicier texture and meatiness, Shang Palace's was a close match.

As for the Croaker Omelet, it went further to rouse my taste buds. I have never had a croaker omelet and by its Chinese name, I have thought it was a crab dish! Calvin explained that it was the scrambled egg white that imitates the crab meat. According to the legend, the omelet was Dowager Empress CiXi's (Qing Dynasty) favourite. The dish came about when she wanted to have crab one day but due to the lack in immediate supply, the chef decided to use egg white as a replacement and the Empress was won over. The dish becomes popular and flourish. What interests me was the tad vinegar taste in the dish and it brings out the freshness of the croaker fish. The egg white was cottony and not chunky. I am very impressed with the modest-looking egg dish.

Dessert was an assortment of Crisp green tea dumpling filled with black sesame, Baked walnut pastry and Salted egg custard bun.

For more information on the current 1-for-1 deal, please read www.epinosh.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chan Kee favorite Roast Goose,Croaker Omelet,Crisp green tea dumpling filled with black sesame,Salted egg custard bun
 
Date of Visit: Apr 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $170(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0