OpenRice Index
  
biba8169
This is biba8169 . I like to hang out in City Hall, Tanglin, Orchard. French, Italian, Japanese, American are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Bakery, Café, cakes, muffins, strawberries, coffee.
Member 8 First(s)
No. of Review35 Review(s)
編輯推介數目17 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1008 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos158 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲50 Follower(s)
biba8169  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 31 to 35 of 35 Reviews in Singapore
Enjoyable afternoon tea Smile May 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Hotel | High Tea | Brunch

For full story cover;
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/brasserie-les-saveur-st-regis-singapore.html

Here, the afternoon tea is served daily, except on Sunday when they offer a Sunday Champagne Brunch. Like most tea rooms in Britain, the tea session starts from 3-5pm. At Brasserie Les Saveurs, you may opt for a normal high tea costing $56++ or a high tea that comes with a glass of Champagne at $66++.

By standard, you will be served a 3-tier afternoon tea which comprises of 2 scones (middle-tier): Plain & Cranberry topped with chopped pistachio while an assortment of savory finger sandwiches appeared on the last tier. The clotted creme and homemade strawberry conserves are served alongside on the top tier. If you dislike strawberries for any reason, you may request for other commercial fruit jams which I felt are not worth the substitution.

The scones were by far most well-deserving. The size was smaller than usual but a comparable thickness. It was very rich and buttery. Sturdy-looking yet crumbly and moist that melts in your mouth. It taste more delightful as you dabbed the fragments with clotted creme. The creme was very refreshing & not heavy. I most liked the homemade strawberry conserve and adamantly vouch for its freshness and the right amount of sweetness.

The pretty-looking strawberry puff named "Shael", was the winner among the 4. It has a spongy puff and the strawberry cream oozes out as you cut open. The cream was light and refreshing. It has a strong strawberry flavour and was sweet. The pastry looked so girly with that macron tiara!

The blueberry tea cake was second best. The highlight of the dessert was the rose-infused custard creme, ..............
Strawberry "Shael"

Strawberry "Shael"

 
Blueberry tea cake with rose-infused custard

Blueberry tea cake with rose-infused custard

 
 
Date of Visit: May 01, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A Picnic brunch Smile May 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

For full story, please read;
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/pique-nique-takashimaya-singapore.html

I was not at all disappointed with my Classic Benedict (S$12.00). The eggs were well poached which resulted in bouncy coagulated whites & oozy yolk at each incision. The highlight of the dish is the hollandaise sauce (sprinkled in herbs & chilli pepper) which was all rich & buttery with some cheesiness in them. But it balanced well with a strong lemony flavor than was usually mild in most Eggs Benedict served in other places. A place that I feel, serves the best Eggs Benedict among those that I have consumed. It was delectably paired with Paris ham, all tender and lean while the Pique Nique's fries were thick-cut and crisp. The portion can feed 2, given the sizable English muffins which yield 1.5 times that of McDonald's. I got to share it to make rooms for dessert!

Farmer's (S$10.00) can be somewhat improve on. A serving of thick white toast (presented in halves stack on top of each other) and whipped cream spread came alongside with the greasy-looking eggs. The omelette was done up with 3 whole eggs which I thought was excessive. The egg fold has been filled with diced ingredients, reasonably seasoned; onions, bacons, potatoes, mushrooms and fewer than none sausage bits. I'd wish the omelette had been more fluffier and not overly cooked like this while the bread can be more browned. The toast didn't appear to have been exposed to any heat, still whitish but lightly crisp when touched. The portion however, fits a gentleman.

To satisfy the sweet-toothed me, I ordered the Hot Iron Waffle (S$8.50) served with maple syrup and a scoop of vanilla bean ice-cream. Again, the sad-looking dough cake was squashed up in the barely breathable "Lasagne baker", almost breaking into 2. To rescue the poor soul, we have to ask for an additional side plate which turned out to be another petite "Lasagne bake" (jaw-dropping reaction, no normal plates here?), of which I labelled it a size 0 if the proper meal was served in a size 10! At last, a quarter of the waffle could now fit nicely in the size 0 dishware. The waffle tastes Belgian but not Liege. It has larger pockets but the cake has a mild taste, almost tasteless.....

For full story, please read;
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/pique-nique-takashimaya-singapore.html
Classic benedict

Classic benedict

 
Hot Iron Waffle

Hot Iron Waffle

 
 
Date of Visit: May 20, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Pasta

For a full story & more pictures, please read;
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/flam-singapore.html

I am excited upon learning that this original French tarte flambée has finally make its way to Singapore on April 2, 2012. Happily, I marked my calender to visit Orchard Central to try them out. Flam's adverts can be visibly seen in the mall, specifically on the escalators leading to Level 2 (next to Jewel Chocolate). Conveniently located a stone away from the escalator, it led me to this accomplished looking place which I best described it as a log cabin.

Flipping through the menu, I ordered my flammekueche one at a time. Bearing in mind the principle that says "to enjoy a hot & crisp flam each time: Make your first order, finish it & send in your second order". I hesitated on my starter but still went ahead with Farmer's Roasted Pumpkin Soup and a cup of Malango long black.

I am thrilled at the sight of the flammekueche coming at my direction. The signature flam's "The French" was served piping hot on a flat wooden board. The thin crust of dough was covered in cheese cap and topped with finely chopped beech smoked bacon and walnuts. I love the way the crème fraîche was introduced with this flammekueche, a touch of sweetness and seen oozing out as I rolled the flam with my fingers. The chef has been generous on the Camembert, I like it softened and flowy when heated. It was mild in taste with mushroom undertone, slightly salty and buttery. It did surprise me.

Near finishing The French, I quickly put in my next order for the sweet version; "The Apple Cinnamon". This was definitely the highlight of my meal. I regretted not eating all the sweet flams, they are so yummy! The scent from the cinnamon completely fills the air accompanied by the nice fire-baked dough aroma, so captivating. You really need to try this. The thin apple slice was able to retained its juiciness despite the intense temperature. I am completely sold!

For a full story, please read; http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/flam-singapore.html
Apple Cinnamon

Apple Cinnamon

 
 
Date of Visit: May 27, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A delightful lunch Smile May 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fujian/Heng Hwa

For more pictures and a full coverage: http://www.epinosh.com/2012/04/putien-nex-singapore.html

I had premium Iron Goddess of Mercy, "Tie Guan Yin" for a refreshing taste buds to accompany my meals. The tea leaves comes in whole and the oolong fragrance was very strong. Every sip sparks me up and seems to get me ready for the dishes behind the kitchen. Truly stands above the rest and I get heartened every time the tea cup was refilled with hot boiling water.

I did not opt for any starter and zoom right into the mains. I ordered the Fried Homemade Beancurd, Deep Fried Tenggiri Fish and the notorious Fried Heng Hwa Bee Hoon.

The fried homemade beancurd was delightful. It has a pronounced soybean aroma which enlivened by the sprinkled salt (resembled french fries but replacing the carbo-rich ingredient with a healthier version) . Each thinly sliced bean curd has been fried to crisp and the accompanied sweet-sour garlic dip flavors it further (it was as good on its own).

I'd always like my tenggiri fish to be fried thoroughly till golden brown. Yes, Putien's very home-cooked way which reminds me of my granny's version. The fish was fresh with the meat being moist. No traces of awful fishy taste in them which made me adored even more. No greasy after-taste was a plus factor.

For more pictures and a full coverage: http://www.epinosh.com/2012/04/putien-nex-singapore.html
Pumpkin cream with ice-cream

Pumpkin cream with ice-cream

 
Heng Hwa Bee Hoon

Heng Hwa Bee Hoon

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 29, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Seafood

See full story here: www.epinosh.com

Returning umpteen times, Shang Palace or more commonly known as 香宫, has been one of my favourite dining place. The Chinese restaurant resides on the ground floor at The Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore (adjacent to the main lobby lifts), serves authentic Cantonese cuisines with provincial specialties. Chef Steven Ng is at present, the master behind the stove. (after Chef Peter Tsang has left)

Chan Kee favorite Roast Goose has not been a let down, I am glad. The skin was crisp thin and it taste as good as their popular Peking Duck. The meat was moist and tender but not right to the bones. I'd wish I have requested for a deboned portion as it can be messy when I need to teeth the meat. The meat contained fair amount of fats but not too greasy. The flavour was good enough on its own without any helping on the plum sauce accompanied. Even though I'd prefer Yung Kee's for its juicier texture and meatiness, Shang Palace's was a close match.

As for the Croaker Omelet, it went further to rouse my taste buds. I have never had a croaker omelet and by its Chinese name, I have thought it was a crab dish! Calvin explained that it was the scrambled egg white that imitates the crab meat. According to the legend, the omelet was Dowager Empress CiXi's (Qing Dynasty) favourite. The dish came about when she wanted to have crab one day but due to the lack in immediate supply, the chef decided to use egg white as a replacement and the Empress was won over. The dish becomes popular and flourish. What interests me was the tad vinegar taste in the dish and it brings out the freshness of the croaker fish. The egg white was cottony and not chunky. I am very impressed with the modest-looking egg dish.

Dessert was an assortment of Crisp green tea dumpling filled with black sesame, Baked walnut pastry and Salted egg custard bun.

For more information on the current 1-for-1 deal, please read www.epinosh.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chan Kee favorite Roast Goose,Croaker Omelet,Crisp green tea dumpling filled with black sesame,Salted egg custard bun
 
Date of Visit: Apr 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $170(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0