OpenRice Index
  
biba8169
This is biba8169 . I like to hang out in City Hall, Tanglin, Orchard. French, Italian, Japanese, American are my favorite cuisines. I also love Restaurant, Bakery, Café, cakes, muffins, strawberries, coffee.
Member 8 First(s)
No. of Review35 Review(s)
編輯推介數目17 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity1008 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos158 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant2 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲50 Follower(s)
biba8169  Level 3
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 26 to 30 of 35 Reviews in Singapore
A Picnic brunch Smile May 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Desserts and Cakes | Burgers and Sandwiches

For full story, please read;
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/pique-nique-takashimaya-singapore.html

I was not at all disappointed with my Classic Benedict (S$12.00). The eggs were well poached which resulted in bouncy coagulated whites & oozy yolk at each incision. The highlight of the dish is the hollandaise sauce (sprinkled in herbs & chilli pepper) which was all rich & buttery with some cheesiness in them. But it balanced well with a strong lemony flavor than was usually mild in most Eggs Benedict served in other places. A place that I feel, serves the best Eggs Benedict among those that I have consumed. It was delectably paired with Paris ham, all tender and lean while the Pique Nique's fries were thick-cut and crisp. The portion can feed 2, given the sizable English muffins which yield 1.5 times that of McDonald's. I got to share it to make rooms for dessert!

Farmer's (S$10.00) can be somewhat improve on. A serving of thick white toast (presented in halves stack on top of each other) and whipped cream spread came alongside with the greasy-looking eggs. The omelette was done up with 3 whole eggs which I thought was excessive. The egg fold has been filled with diced ingredients, reasonably seasoned; onions, bacons, potatoes, mushrooms and fewer than none sausage bits. I'd wish the omelette had been more fluffier and not overly cooked like this while the bread can be more browned. The toast didn't appear to have been exposed to any heat, still whitish but lightly crisp when touched. The portion however, fits a gentleman.

To satisfy the sweet-toothed me, I ordered the Hot Iron Waffle (S$8.50) served with maple syrup and a scoop of vanilla bean ice-cream. Again, the sad-looking dough cake was squashed up in the barely breathable "Lasagne baker", almost breaking into 2. To rescue the poor soul, we have to ask for an additional side plate which turned out to be another petite "Lasagne bake" (jaw-dropping reaction, no normal plates here?), of which I labelled it a size 0 if the proper meal was served in a size 10! At last, a quarter of the waffle could now fit nicely in the size 0 dishware. The waffle tastes Belgian but not Liege. It has larger pockets but the cake has a mild taste, almost tasteless.....

For full story, please read;
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/pique-nique-takashimaya-singapore.html
Classic benedict

Classic benedict

 
Hot Iron Waffle

Hot Iron Waffle

 
 
Date of Visit: May 20, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Pasta

For a full story & more pictures, please read;
http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/flam-singapore.html

I am excited upon learning that this original French tarte flambée has finally make its way to Singapore on April 2, 2012. Happily, I marked my calender to visit Orchard Central to try them out. Flam's adverts can be visibly seen in the mall, specifically on the escalators leading to Level 2 (next to Jewel Chocolate). Conveniently located a stone away from the escalator, it led me to this accomplished looking place which I best described it as a log cabin.

Flipping through the menu, I ordered my flammekueche one at a time. Bearing in mind the principle that says "to enjoy a hot & crisp flam each time: Make your first order, finish it & send in your second order". I hesitated on my starter but still went ahead with Farmer's Roasted Pumpkin Soup and a cup of Malango long black.

I am thrilled at the sight of the flammekueche coming at my direction. The signature flam's "The French" was served piping hot on a flat wooden board. The thin crust of dough was covered in cheese cap and topped with finely chopped beech smoked bacon and walnuts. I love the way the crème fraîche was introduced with this flammekueche, a touch of sweetness and seen oozing out as I rolled the flam with my fingers. The chef has been generous on the Camembert, I like it softened and flowy when heated. It was mild in taste with mushroom undertone, slightly salty and buttery. It did surprise me.

Near finishing The French, I quickly put in my next order for the sweet version; "The Apple Cinnamon". This was definitely the highlight of my meal. I regretted not eating all the sweet flams, they are so yummy! The scent from the cinnamon completely fills the air accompanied by the nice fire-baked dough aroma, so captivating. You really need to try this. The thin apple slice was able to retained its juiciness despite the intense temperature. I am completely sold!

For a full story, please read; http://www.epinosh.com/2012/05/flam-singapore.html
Apple Cinnamon

Apple Cinnamon

 
 
Date of Visit: May 27, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

A delightful lunch Smile May 30, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fujian/Heng Hwa

For more pictures and a full coverage: http://www.epinosh.com/2012/04/putien-nex-singapore.html

I had premium Iron Goddess of Mercy, "Tie Guan Yin" for a refreshing taste buds to accompany my meals. The tea leaves comes in whole and the oolong fragrance was very strong. Every sip sparks me up and seems to get me ready for the dishes behind the kitchen. Truly stands above the rest and I get heartened every time the tea cup was refilled with hot boiling water.

I did not opt for any starter and zoom right into the mains. I ordered the Fried Homemade Beancurd, Deep Fried Tenggiri Fish and the notorious Fried Heng Hwa Bee Hoon.

The fried homemade beancurd was delightful. It has a pronounced soybean aroma which enlivened by the sprinkled salt (resembled french fries but replacing the carbo-rich ingredient with a healthier version) . Each thinly sliced bean curd has been fried to crisp and the accompanied sweet-sour garlic dip flavors it further (it was as good on its own).

I'd always like my tenggiri fish to be fried thoroughly till golden brown. Yes, Putien's very home-cooked way which reminds me of my granny's version. The fish was fresh with the meat being moist. No traces of awful fishy taste in them which made me adored even more. No greasy after-taste was a plus factor.

For more pictures and a full coverage: http://www.epinosh.com/2012/04/putien-nex-singapore.html
Pumpkin cream with ice-cream

Pumpkin cream with ice-cream

 
Heng Hwa Bee Hoon

Heng Hwa Bee Hoon

 
 
Date of Visit: Apr 29, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Hotel | Seafood

See full story here: www.epinosh.com

Returning umpteen times, Shang Palace or more commonly known as 香宫, has been one of my favourite dining place. The Chinese restaurant resides on the ground floor at The Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore (adjacent to the main lobby lifts), serves authentic Cantonese cuisines with provincial specialties. Chef Steven Ng is at present, the master behind the stove. (after Chef Peter Tsang has left)

Chan Kee favorite Roast Goose has not been a let down, I am glad. The skin was crisp thin and it taste as good as their popular Peking Duck. The meat was moist and tender but not right to the bones. I'd wish I have requested for a deboned portion as it can be messy when I need to teeth the meat. The meat contained fair amount of fats but not too greasy. The flavour was good enough on its own without any helping on the plum sauce accompanied. Even though I'd prefer Yung Kee's for its juicier texture and meatiness, Shang Palace's was a close match.

As for the Croaker Omelet, it went further to rouse my taste buds. I have never had a croaker omelet and by its Chinese name, I have thought it was a crab dish! Calvin explained that it was the scrambled egg white that imitates the crab meat. According to the legend, the omelet was Dowager Empress CiXi's (Qing Dynasty) favourite. The dish came about when she wanted to have crab one day but due to the lack in immediate supply, the chef decided to use egg white as a replacement and the Empress was won over. The dish becomes popular and flourish. What interests me was the tad vinegar taste in the dish and it brings out the freshness of the croaker fish. The egg white was cottony and not chunky. I am very impressed with the modest-looking egg dish.

Dessert was an assortment of Crisp green tea dumpling filled with black sesame, Baked walnut pastry and Salted egg custard bun.

For more information on the current 1-for-1 deal, please read www.epinosh.com
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chan Kee favorite Roast Goose,Croaker Omelet,Crisp green tea dumpling filled with black sesame,Salted egg custard bun
 
Date of Visit: Apr 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $170(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | European | Restaurant | Pasta | Kids-Friendly

For a full story coverage and more pictures, please visit:
http://www.epinosh.com/covelli-italian-bistro-wine-bar-singapore/

When was the last time you set foot in an Italian restaurant – any chance of it recently? I cannot remember mine but quite certain I haven’t had for a good few months. I relished most of the pasta dishes cooked in the kitchen of some fusion restaurant. These days, I cannot stop my counts on the number of new sprung eateries, mostly fusion and almost far from its root of origin. Should we be overjoyed at the trend? Or get upset over the lost authenticity. I don’t know.

Everyone has their inner most to feed – some prefer the traditional cuisines whilst there are those who cannot do without a twist to the original. Whichever group you belong to, a meal is a meal that critically measures the suitability of that moment in time. Do you agree with me that at times, your mood plays a part in deciding your most desired choice, a psyche dish to bring solace.

I accept the culinary creativity of today’s chef – ranging from an independent classic dish or a union between the Japanese & Italian heritage. I applaud at their bold magical stint in the making, their willingness to rediscover things that they have been taught, perhaps during their apprentice days. It is very encouraging to see them breaking away from the norm to please the crowd who is becoming more finicky in today’s world. Though I believe in Italian dishes cooked in its old traditional way, I welcome younger chefs who practice neoclassicism to woo diners with cutting edge menu - Covelli Italian Bistro & Wine Bar, is a pit stop to seek reminisce of true Italian taste (I thought but turned out otherwise) with a contemporary twist.

The restaurant week, a bi-annual event in Singapore (March & October); coax me into dining at Covelli.

Deeply rooted at the basement of Orchard Central, Covelli has cooked for many for the past 1 year. You wouldn’t missed the iconic laddering escalator along the mall’s exterior, very architectural. A direct route access to level 4 and higher level where most restaurants sit. But those who are frightful of heights, please stay away and use the elevator in the mall instead.

I am greeted by a friendly serving staff who led me into the restaurant that comes with an alley, separating the main dining area and a more private meal room joining the bar area. My table sits privately along the stone-featured wall, bathed in mood lighting with a dazzling but modest chandelier above. I rest comfortably on the padded chair, feeling the velvet seat cover on my skin. The male server who attends to my area was alert and ready though I wish having no one staring at me round the clock from a distance. Having said, I still appreciate his presence around me.

He showed me the menu designed for the restaurant week which prior to this, I have seen.

 
I was smitten by the creamed stock with artichoke and eggplant finishing. The spoonful of crab cheese cream inject a delicate touch. The addition of the black truffle oil perfumed the soup with a bit more fragrant while the croutons gave a crusty bites that awakened the jaw muscle cells.

 
The tuna carpaccio was far from my expectation yet the lime sorbet excites me greatly. The kamquat oil creates a light acidity which helps to mask the fishy taste in the paper-thin sliced tuna. The meat taste uniquely different from the usual tuna sashimi I had in any reputable Japanese restaurant – if you get my point. The dish has loads of zing in it, if not for the tuna.

 
With only 2 options in the main, we ordered both for exploration. The pork is braised in root beer until it becomes wobbly. This resulted in a moist and shattered meat. The lean portion is seen clad in between thick jellied fats that allows an almost creamy texture. Excellent eaten in small bites but to wolf down 2 massive slab like that was clearly a challenge – for a lady. The spinach gnocchi (in Pork dish) and calamari ink spatzel (in fish dish) was identical in texture. Both tasted rubbery and sterile. I remember mopping up flavorful gravy of coq au vin with the spaetzel at db Bistro Moderne but not here. The dish didn’t allow me as it was served dry and so, the glutenous morsels remained flavorless except its faint cheesy elements. I guess they exist to fill the empty gastric cavity.

 
If you insist asking what the Pan-seared Nile Perch resembles, it will be a home-cooked dish which my mum used to whip up every dinner. The deep fried fish was the least unusual to any taste buds. The crackling fish skin helps accentuate joy in eating the seemingly humble dish. I liked the fish for its freshness and appreciate the sea-urchin mango flavoured mousse for that gentle shake on my shoulder.

The Italian feast didn’t rock my palate, but it ended with a sweet note.

Pretty to admire, the plating was attractive. It reminds me of the flourishing spring with a touch of petal embellishments. Purple, yellow, pinkish hues whisper melodically, at one time chorusing and inviting me to join in. The cake – pigmented in gutsy red, was a pure enjoyment. Made using highly nutritious beet, I am more than pleased to take on a few more mouthful. I had expected it to taste earthy and raw, but was impressed by its fabulous end result. I loved the natural flavour from the beet and the extremely moist cake texture it yield. It was quite disturbing at first to learn that the cake was made using olive oil as I didn’t like the idea of tasting sharp olive oil in my dessert. I was surprised that there was no traces of it but a subtle sweetness from the garden beet. Chunks of chocolate mascarpone are making the dessert even more addictive and bits of those dark chocolate shavings were not wasted as well. Everything was packed in harmony and deposited in my almost exploded gastric pocket. Though sinful, I would definitely eat more of it for a youthful look if the claim for anti-aging benefit in the beet is valid.

If my maiden attempt at Covelli didn’t convince my palate, its service team won me over. I am prepared to return for a proper selection from its menu and most critically – it is the Dark Chocolate Lava cake that is waving at me!

Let your taste buds decide if you had an enjoyable Italian meal, at least I had a fine dessert to make it up.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 18, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0