OpenRice Index
  
envi123
This is envi123 living in Newton. I am a designer, work in Lavender. French, American, thai are my favorite cuisines. I also love Bars/Lounges, Restaurant and Burgers and Sandwiches.
Member 1 First(s)
No. of Review12 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity381 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos15 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant0 My Restaurant(s)
Follow0 Following
粉絲18 Follower(s)
envi123  Level 2
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 6 to 10 of 12 Reviews in Singapore
Wait Worth the Value Smile Jun 04, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Restaurant | Seafood | Steaks and Grills | Burgers and Sandwiches

Be warned and be fully prepared, and, by no means, come to Saveur while you are already starving and in no mood to wait in a length line. Saveur's current dining hours are almost blink-and-you-will-miss-them: from 6pm to 9:30pm. The queue outside starts growing long before the place opens, so expect to wait in line for about an hour, if not more.

With that being said, the French food and the value that you will get for your money are almsot unbeatable in Singapore. S$8.90 for an entree of duck confit and mashed potatoes? I personally have not seen any decent duck confit concoction sold for under S$15, and I've searched far and wide across the city to find a good duck confit deal.

 
An appetizer of fois gras (30oz) will cost you about $7.90. The portion is tiny and it will quickly make you realize that there is no such thing as amazing value for fois gras, but you will be more than satisfied with the succulent tenderness and a hint of outside sweetness as soon as you take your first bite.The salmon confit at S$8.90 is a true star among the appetizers, as it is tender to perfection, without any of the pesky fishy smell. A green apple side salad served as part of this appetizer is a wise addition as it distills the slight saltiness of the confit with its sweet-and-sour kick.My hope is that, with time, Saveur's dinner hours will extend to a longer period of time than just 3.5 hours and the waiting time will diminish exponentially. For now, be prepared to come on a full stomach and bring a book to read in line. You're in for a loooong wait!
 
Date of Visit: Jun 01, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Tucked-Away Gem Smile May 31, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : European | Bars/Lounges | Restaurant

A prior location of District 10, this secluded restaurant spot reopened quite recently as a new, urban-concept restaurant/lounge called Skyve. With zero pretense of the hyped-up see-and-be-seen restaurants of Singapore, Skyve is a true find, boasting both an impressive menu of spirits and wines and a menu to die for.

A romantic spot on any given day, the night of my and a friend's returning visit - a Wednesday night at 11pm - Skyve was particularly quiet, as it was shortly before closing time. Nevertheless, the staff greeted us with all the warmth we needed.

We were served our wine (a fine selection at S$15 per glass (S$10 during daily happy hour)) and shortly after we were introduced to our light fare which included Wild Mushroom Soup (S$14) and the mini burgers at S$6 a pop.

Though we were the last ones to dine and, afterwards relaxed a bit in the outdoor seating area (and ordered a beer each), we never felt rushed or pressured to pay the bill. The staff was incredibly courteous and knowledgeable about the menu, even despite the late hour.

Do grab a cab and check out Skyve!

 
 
Date of Visit: May 30, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Great Selection Smile May 27, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Pasta

Our office regularly orders from Spizza for various inter-office events and functions, just as birthdays and farewells. For one of such events, we ordered 9 pizzas and I can attest that all of them were eaten without any leftovers.

All pizzas come in 12-inch sizes and prices vary slightly from S$19 to S$23. Isabella pizza (Tomato, Mozzarella, Parma Ham, Rucola Salad) is our office favourite so we ordered 3. We also ordered 2 of Ursula (Tomato, Mascarpone, Spinach, smoked Salmon, Capers) - a surprisingly tasty combination on thin-crust dough

 
The new additions to our pizza selection were Tara, as most people in our office love the combination of bacon and eggs, Franca, which resembles Tara in almost every ingredient expect that it comes sans the egg, and Laura, a four-cheese delight.

All in all, we were more than satisfied with the pizzas and will definitely order from Spizza again for our next function.
 
Date of Visit: May 18, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Fine Drinking Establishment Smile May 24, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Bars/Lounges

Let me be frank - I went to Chupitos because I heard about their fine selection of tequila shots and I wanted to find the best one of them all. My quest was fulfilled.

With Chupitos Bar centrally located right smack in the middle of Clarke Quay, it's no wonder that this place is as popular as it gets. You simply can't go wrong with tequila shots and top club hits playing in the background on a Friday or a Saturday night.

My friends and I sampled a range of shots, all priced slightly steeply but well worth an empty wallet. We tried Milo Godzilla, even though it had not a single drop of tequila. It did not disappoint with its rich choclate-y flavor and a splash of Bailey's and vodka. Our unanimous favourite, however, was the Dead Baby shot, filled to the brim with yummy tequila and -what-not and a gummy-bear flavoured, dead baby-shaped piece of candy at the bottom of our shot glass.

Chupitos is a great place to pregame, though don't expect its interior dance floor to get filled up. Just go there for the plenitudelol of shots.

 
 
Date of Visit: Jan 06, 2012 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Not Your Typical Hot Dog Place Smile May 22, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Café

My coworkers and I were thrilled to discover a new hot dog place after the closing of Super Dog at 313. We looked at Purple Mustard's online menu before deciding to head to Tanjong Pagar and try the hot dogs for ourselves.

A bit of a trip, it was, nevertheless, worth the travel time. Purple Mustard boards about a dozen of hot dog options and wraps. While all the hot dogs range in price from S$9 to S$10, one can upgrade his or her meal to include fries and a drink for just a dollar more.

I had French Onion Soupless hot dog (a sure choice as I love French onion soup) and was suprised at how filled with goodness and yummy sauce it was when it was prepared. My friend had the Barnyard Dog with the signature purple mustard, that was just a dash too spicy upon my trying. Another coworker had Pork it!, which consisted of a simply divine concoction of bacon, pork, pulled pork and other flavorful ingredients.

At one point, what I presumed to be, the owner of the place asked us if our meal was good and if we had any suggestions for improvement. I said, "No suggestions, but I will say that I will definitely be back again!"lol
French Onion Soupless, Barnyard Dog and Pork It!

French Onion Soupless, Barnyard Dog and Pork It!

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Pork It!,French Onion Soupless
 
Date of Visit: May 22, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $10(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 5  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0