OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended3 Recommended
Popularity6595 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲173 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
Cheap & Tasty Xiao Long Bao Smile Feb 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghainese | Chinese | Coffeeshop | Noodles

This La Mian (noodle) stall actually does a very good Xiao Long Bao. and Guo Tie.
Xiao Long Bao $4

Xiao Long Bao $4

 
The Xiao Long Bao is handmade by the lady boss. It takes about 7 minutes to steam the little morsel in the bamboo basket.
For $4 you get 6 very thin skin baos. Pick up the little bao in a spoon and bit into it , pipping hot soup will flow out. The minced pork is soft and you can finish it in 2 mouthfuls.
Guo Tie $4

Guo Tie $4

 
The dumplings are also handmade by the lady boss. You can have the boiled version or the fried version know as Guo Tie. You will get 10 dumplings for the price of $4. I normally order the fried ones and the skin is fried till golden brown. The skin is crispy but the pork filling is still moist. If you love her dumpling, you can order the frozen ones for $10 a packet It has 30 pieces.

She also serves La Mian with different toppings from about $3.80 per bowl.

She starts selling for lunch till dinner time. If you are in this area, do try her version of Xiao Long Bao and Guo Tie.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Xiao Long Bao,Guo Tie
 
Date of Visit: Mar 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Delicious Malay Food. Smile Feb 03, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Hawker Centre | Noodles | Rice

This stall has opened for more than 1 year taking over the previous Malay stall and the food is tasty but more expensive than the previous stall.
Lontong $2.50

Lontong $2.50

 
The Lontong is popular here, and it cost only $2.50 a bowl. It has a piece of fried beancurd and 1 hard boiled egg and mixed vegetable. It is not very spicy and the curry gravy is light yellow but when you stir in the sambal chili it will turn into bright orange colour. The unique part of the vegetable mix is that it contains nangka (Jackfruit) added to the gravy. The Nangka is cooked until soft.
Fried Pomfret $6.50

Fried Pomfret $6.50

 
It also sells Fried Black Promfet fish with sweet Sambal. The fish cost around $5-$6 depending on sizes. The fish is marinated with salt and tumeric and fried until very crispy. Then topped with a sweet chili sauce.

On weekend the lady boss has Rendang (dried curry) which is beef or chicken. The chicken rendang is very yummy with all the spices and it is cheaper to opt for the set. The set consists of chicken, potato cutlets, sambal goreng and cost $4.50.
The Black Sotong dish is very good too but it cost at least $4 for 1 serving.

The prices of the Malay food here is pricey than most Malay stall but it is very tasty.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Chicken Rendang Set,Fried Black Promfret,Lontong
 
Date of Visit: Jan 12, 2013 

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Malaysian Food OK Feb 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Malay | Malaysian | Halal

At Changi Airport T1 you can get Malaysian flavor food. We decided to go there for lunch and try some of Malaysian Favourites. It is located on the floor about the check in counters. It is on the right side of the escalator.

The place has a open concept cafe where people walking by can look into the cafe.
Penang Fried Kuay Teow

Penang Fried Kuay Teow

 
The Penang Fried Kway Teow was fried with "Wok Hei" and tasted similar to what you get in Penang. The noodle was not soggy and stir fried with prawns and crunchy bean sprout.
Ipoh Kway Teow  Soup

Ipoh Kway Teow Soup

 
My mum Ipoh Kway Teow Soup came in a clear chicken broth with the thin Kway Teoh like what you get in Ipoh. It is topped with Prawn, shredded chicken and spring onion.
Assam Laksa

Assam Laksa

 
The Assam Laksa was not sour enough and the dark prawn paste was not enough. I had to asked for an extra serving of the Prawn Paste. I was surprised they served hard boiled egg with it. This is the 1st time I come across Assam Laksa with Hard boiled egg.
Otak Omelette

Otak Omelette

 
This is the 1st time I came acrossOtak omelette, and we decided to order it. It look like a small pancake. The
Otak inside the omelette was not spicy, The size is enough for 4 person.
Chendol

Chendol

 
The Chendol came served in a ice cream bowl. It is filled with finely crushed ice, topped with brown sugar, thick coconut milk and green chendol jelly. This combination is a cool relieve to a hot day.
Drinks

Drinks

 
The food is just ok but do not expect the same standard as what you get in Malaysia, so you will not be disappointed.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Penang Fried Kway Teow
 
Date of Visit: Aug 31, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $18(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

24hr Han's@Bedok CC OK Feb 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Singaporean Western | Kids-Friendly

If you are looking for decent Western or Asian Food, head for the Han's Cafe within the Bedok Community Centre. Recently I found out they now open 24hrs. They served decent food at affordable prices. They have Breakfast set for less than $7 and lunch set from $9.80 onward.
Garlic Bread and Cream of Mushroom Soup

Garlic Bread and Cream of Mushroom Soup

 
The lunch or dinner set comes with a Drink, Soup of the day, Toast Bread and Dessert. The dessert could be a small cake, fruit peach or slice of fruit. On that day we were given Swiss Roll. If you order a Main course and would like it to be a set, just add $3 extra. Drink you can choose Tea or Coffee, Orange Juice or Ice Lemon Tea. If you picked Ice Lemon Tea, the glass is smaller than your usual order of Ice Lemon Tea.
Grilled Pork Chop Set

Grilled Pork Chop Set

 
The Grilled Pork Chop was served with a sides of potato wedges and Baked Beans. They were Generous with 2 thick slices of pork chop. The pepper sauce has a nice peppery taste and the pork was not tough.
1/2 Roast Spring Chicken $13.80

1/2 Roast Spring Chicken $13.80

 
The Roast Spring Spring Chicken came with a side of healthy carrots and broccoli. It also comes with wedges of potato. The chicken was tender and has a nice brown color skin.
Roast Pork Rib $18.80

Roast Pork Rib $18.80

 
We ordered the Pork Ribs to share. The Ribs were cooked until very tender and the meat tear easily. The taste was ok, but cannot compare to the fantastic taste of Jack Daniel Pork Ribs at T.G.I. Friday. See earlier review. http://sg.openrice.com/singapore/restaurant/commentdetail.htm?commentid=36741
Hazenut Praline Slice $3,20

Hazenut Praline Slice $3,20

 
At the glass shelf, I saw rows of beautiful slices of cake and decide to order 1 to try. The look is like hotel standard but the taste is not up to par. It tastes more like your local bakery and prices matches that standard.

If you want a nice Air-con Place to bring the family, this place is good enough as the food is decent. It also serves Asian food like fried noodles and rice.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Set Meals.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 25, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Black & White Dessert Smile Feb 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Cantonese/Hong Kong | Chinese | Desserts and Cakes

I walked pass this famous dessert stall one week day morning on the way to the book shop. I decided to try this branch. There was no crowd as it was before lunch time.

I asked the waitress to recommend a dessert for my cough. She suggest that I take Almond Tea. As I do not like the smell of the strong Almond, she suggest I mixed it with Black Sesame Paste. I decided to take her suggestion.
Black Sesame & Almond Tea $3.90

Black Sesame & Almond Tea $3.90

 
Not long a hot pipping bowl of Black and White was served to my table. The Black color came from the Black Sesame and the white color is the Almond Tea. It cost only $3.90 for a mixed version. I was surprised that I could take the smell and taste of the Almond Tea. When I mixed both of them together it actually taste good as the black sesame has a nice fragrant and do not have the burnt taste which you sometime gets from other dessert stall. The dessert was like super smooth and milky with no lump. This is one of the best traditional that I have tasted.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Sesame & Almond Tea
 
Date of Visit: Jan 11, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately $4(Other)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0