OpenRice Index
  
sho168
This is sho168 .
Member 123 First(s)
No. of Review278 Review(s)
編輯推介數目13 Editor's Choice
Recommended6 Recommended
Popularity6611 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos669 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
My Restaurant10 My Restaurant(s)
Follow1 Following
粉絲174 Follower(s)
sho168  Level 4
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllSingapore  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 16 to 20 of 278 Reviews in Singapore
24hr Han's@Bedok CC OK Feb 01, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Singaporean Chinese | Singaporean Western | Kids-Friendly

If you are looking for decent Western or Asian Food, head for the Han's Cafe within the Bedok Community Centre. Recently I found out they now open 24hrs. They served decent food at affordable prices. They have Breakfast set for less than $7 and lunch set from $9.80 onward.
Garlic Bread and Cream of Mushroom Soup

Garlic Bread and Cream of Mushroom Soup

 
The lunch or dinner set comes with a Drink, Soup of the day, Toast Bread and Dessert. The dessert could be a small cake, fruit peach or slice of fruit. On that day we were given Swiss Roll. If you order a Main course and would like it to be a set, just add $3 extra. Drink you can choose Tea or Coffee, Orange Juice or Ice Lemon Tea. If you picked Ice Lemon Tea, the glass is smaller than your usual order of Ice Lemon Tea.
Grilled Pork Chop Set

Grilled Pork Chop Set

 
The Grilled Pork Chop was served with a sides of potato wedges and Baked Beans. They were Generous with 2 thick slices of pork chop. The pepper sauce has a nice peppery taste and the pork was not tough.
1/2 Roast Spring Chicken $13.80

1/2 Roast Spring Chicken $13.80

 
The Roast Spring Spring Chicken came with a side of healthy carrots and broccoli. It also comes with wedges of potato. The chicken was tender and has a nice brown color skin.
Roast Pork Rib $18.80

Roast Pork Rib $18.80

 
We ordered the Pork Ribs to share. The Ribs were cooked until very tender and the meat tear easily. The taste was ok, but cannot compare to the fantastic taste of Jack Daniel Pork Ribs at T.G.I. Friday. See earlier review. http://sg.openrice.com/singapore/restaurant/commentdetail.htm?commentid=36741
Hazenut Praline Slice $3,20

Hazenut Praline Slice $3,20

 
At the glass shelf, I saw rows of beautiful slices of cake and decide to order 1 to try. The look is like hotel standard but the taste is not up to par. It tastes more like your local bakery and prices matches that standard.

If you want a nice Air-con Place to bring the family, this place is good enough as the food is decent. It also serves Asian food like fried noodles and rice.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Set Meals.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 25, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Buffet Galore !  OK Jan 31, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Multi-Cuisine | Seafood | Buffet

We went to Buffet Town on a Friday Lunch time and there was a queue even before the actual starting time.
You pay before you enter and the serving staff will take you to your table. We asked for a table near the buffet, so that my elderly dad do not have to walk to far to the table. They catered to our request.

Opening Hours.
Lunch
11.30am – 3pm

Dinner
6pm – 10pm

You pay one price and you can have all the different varieties of food and drink. For a Friday Lunch it was $25.80++. Dinner is $30.80++ for week day. During weekend ad d$5++ more per head.

They serve International Seafood, Mixed Grilled & Teppanyaki. During the time we were there, they had a Nonya food promotion, where a section of the place is serving Nonya food. Some dishes where good, others where not that Great.
Satay & Chicken Wing

Satay & Chicken Wing

 
I tried their Grilled Chicken Satay and Chicken Wing. The taste is quite good and well marinated. I would recommend their Grilled item.
Seafood

Seafood

 
Near the exit is where they put the cold boiled Seafood. They have medium size prawn , scallops and wedges of lemon to good with it. There were quite a lot even though I only discovered it toward the end of my meals.
Tempura

Tempura

 
Near where I was sitting, is a station serving Tempura. It has Tempura Prawn, Vegetables, Pumpkin etc. The batch of freshly fried Tempura Prawn is gone as soon as it comes out. You help yourself to the Dipping Sauce.
Chicken Rice

Chicken Rice

 
I like the Tender White Chicken Rice and you can help yourself to the amount of rice. I wish the rice was more fragrant as the boneless chicken was tender and they have good dark sauce and ginger sauce.

 
They have a varieties of dessert from mini cake, ice cream, waffles and ice kachang etc.

The Nonya section was not good as the Nonya cake was hard and the Nonya dishes were so so.

Overall if you are a big eater or one to bring overseas friend to try different type of food, you can bring them to buffet town. Recommend the Grilled items and the Seafood. The cheapest timing is weekday lunch.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Grilled items and Seafood.
 
Date of Visit: Oct 19, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Lunch Set OK Jan 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Thai | Restaurant | Curries | Pasta

The Caffe Bar finally moved back to Parkway from Siglap. It offer set lunches from $9.80
There is a choice of Thai and Western Set. It comes with soup, main course and a drink. Initially they even offer dessert for the Thai Set.
Green Curry Set Lunch

Green Curry Set Lunch

 
For the Thai Set, the soup is not Thai soup but we had a creamy tomato soup that day. You can choose Green or Red Curry and a choice of meat such as chicken, beef or prawn. If you opt for prawns add $3 more to the set.

We picked Chicken Green Curry and it comes with steam white rice and Thai Ice Tea. The chicken curry has fillets of chicken with a yummy green curry and some egg plant. Taste authentic like what you get at Thai place. I like the orange color Thai Ice Tea which is similar to what you get in Thailand.
Red Curry Set

Red Curry Set

 
The Red Curry Chicken was equally tasty and it is more spicy than the Green Curry. You also get quite a number of chicken fillets and egg plant.
Tapioca

Tapioca

 
The dessert for the Thai Set was Tapioca with coconut milk. Tapioca is soft and drizzled with thin coconut milk.
Spaghetti Aglio Oilio

Spaghetti Aglio Oilio

 
For the western set, we had Spaghetti Aglio Olio which is pasta with oil and has sliced garlic and mushroom. This was cooked just right and it is like a dry version of pasta. The Western Set also allow you to help yourself to bread roll. It cost $13.80.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Set Meals.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 13, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Value For Money Lunch Buffet OK Jan 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Fusion | Hotel | Seafood | Buffet

Concorde Hotel was formerly Le Meridian Hotel. There used to be a French Departmental Store called Printemp below. Note that this is not the old Concorde Hotel that used to be in Havelock Road.

Outside the entrance to the Spices Cafe, there is a stall selling Nonya ceramic at much cheaper price than Katong. It is good chance to load up on Nonya Gifts.

 
It has a weekday lunch buffet for $28++ for Adult and Senior above 55 pay $22++ If you pay by UOB card you pay for 3 for every 4 dinner. It is really value for menu and they have a wide choice of food which consist of local flavors and Nonya dishes.

When we are seated, they asked if you would like a Adult Bib to prevent getting your clothes dirty. You can also order unlimited coffee or tea which is included the buffet.

 
I tried the laksa which a staff cooked on the spot for me. I love the not very spicy laksa and the taste was yummy, but I have to save room to try other food. Luckily the portion is small. I also picked the winter melon soup which you can tell has been cooked for hours. I also try the Ayam Buah Keluak, note that the Buah Keluak is served in a separate bowl with the black nutty paste removed from the shell.

 
There is a lot of choices which I cannot finished trying. I tried the made on the spot popiah and kueh Pi Ti which were not bad. The otah had spicy and non spicy fish cake version which was not fantastic. I tried the Black Pepper Crab which was good as the Black Pepper sauce has the right kick with the crabs.

 
For Dessert, there is fruits, Ice Kachang, and Nonya Kueh etc. I picked the Ang Ku Kueh and Mini Apong and hot Longan Tea.
There is 2 version of the Ang Ku Kueh, the commonly available red color ones with green bean filling and a black salty version which is seldom seen locally. Mini Apong are like mini crumpet with some blue color. It is served with a banana sauce. This is not a commonly seen Nonya snack at local stall. I also enjoy the hot Longan Red Date Tea.

 
If you go on the 2nd or last Monday of the month, there is also free entertainment thrown in. There is a blind guy playing the keyboard and a lady singing old favourite and you are welcome to dance the Joget (Peranakan Dance) after the meals.

Services
Staffs were very friendly, and attentive. They remove empty plate when you finished so that you can go to the buffet table to take new plates for other dishes. They even bother to save you money.

I have 5 adults during my New Year Eve lunch of which 2 are Seniors. They charged my UOB card for 2 Adults and 1 Senior (free 1 Adult) , so that the extra person charge is Senior instead of an Adult. The total bill for 5 persons came to about less than $120. smile This was a really good deals and New Year Eve turn out to be last Monday of the Month which they still had free performance. It is one of the cheapest New Year Eve celebration.

This is a good Weekday place for group gathering for senior as they can eat Singapore & Peranakan Food and a nice outing for them. It is cheap and decent food for company gathering. Remember to reserve in advance as it is popular.

 
Recommended Dish(es):  Black Squid,Laksa
 
Date of Visit: Dec 31, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $28(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Clean
 4  |  
Price
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0

Japaneses Noodle OK Jan 29, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Restaurant | Ramen | Kids-Friendly

We found this Ramen shop hidden in a corner of Takashimaya Food Hall. This shop is founded in Japan in 1969. On the wall has old photos printed on the wall. It has only about 25 seating and small tables.

We ordered the one Spicy & one non-spicy Ramen. For side we ordered the Gyoza
Spicy Ramen & Shio Ramen

Spicy Ramen & Shio Ramen

 
The Spicy Ramen came in an bright Orange color broth. It look very spicy but for me the spice level was just right. They were generous with the thick slice of ChaShu, Japanese Char Siu. I love the thick slices of bamboo shoot which is about the size of French Fries. A plate of bean sprouts and 1 runny boiled egg is served with this spicy noddle. The portion was also generous for the price. On that day, I found the noodle too soft for my liking, I prefer my noodle with a springy texture. The other non-spicy Shio Noodle was also big and has lots of shredded toppings.
Gyoza

Gyoza

 
The fried dumpling was fried till golden brown in a row. When you bite into it the meat filling was still juicy.
This is a nice side dish.

Overall the broth is tasty and if the noodle is cooked Al Dente I would have loved this Ramen.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Goyoza
 
Date of Visit: Sep 22, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately $15(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Clean
 3  |  
Price
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0